TSlohwenli
post Mar 1 2008, 08:09 PM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

Later that night

Rig all set to roll. All this just above the hostel cafeteria brows.gif
In my hurry that day, I actually forgot the power cable..had to go back upstairs to my room to get it doh.gif

That's me, call me a AMD/ATI fanboy if you like, but I couldn't resist putting on that t-shirt just for this night (come on, we're running a Barton and a X1950 nod.gif )

Mistake no 2 of the day..didn't install windows earlier..wasted half an hour..sorry again guys sweat.gif

Some people who wanted to kill me for it
Tha's pmmonkey by the way..photo included to kill some allegations that she's a guy pretending to be a girl..

We reached 2.4Ghz using the stock cooler, I should show the SS here, but unfortunately I left all the SS behind in my hostel PC (I'm at home now). Will update later.

This post has been edited by lohwenli: Mar 1 2008, 08:11 PM
TSlohwenli
post Mar 1 2008, 08:10 PM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

Setting up watercooling after the stock cooler OC. Wanted to do a comparision between the Apogee GT and the LR Cascade, (we were almost taking bets at this point) but the Apogee GT got disqualified because it couldn't fit on the board due to the VR capacitors being too near the CPU socket. So could only use the LR cascade..

Filling the system & bleeding air out of the system

Leak testing with the system off turned up some problems, the crack in the LR Cascase's acrylic top was more serious than originally thought, it was slowly leaking water drop by drop. Loosening the screw near the crack eliminated the problem, but hat to remove the waterblock to dry the motherboard.
Oh well, that's what happens when you're too noob to remember check the system beforehand... yawn.gif

Even the rad had a few problems, it wouldn't stand on the table properly. So had to put the other rad we weren't using on top of it to stabilise it.
TSlohwenli
post Mar 1 2008, 08:10 PM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

Finally down to some serious OCing.

A vcore reading..damn, I haven't tested a single Abit board that doesn't overvolt (Its supposed to be 1.85v). Abit may be cheap, but its really for overclockers.

Managed to hit 2.6Ghz, but not stable (could not get into windows), had to settle for 2.5Ghz. Benchmarks revealed another problem which we couldn't figure out then, the nforce 2 chipset is not compatible with the X1950AGP when using recent drivers (man it really sucked cry.gif ). All 3d benchmarks wouldn't run, 3Dmark 2001SE, 2003, 2005, 2006 & Aquamark all turned up Direct3D errors. Only a few days ago did I find out the answer. Anyway, I'll like to thank all you guys (and girl) who came, and hopefully we'll have a better OC party next time. In the meantime, I'll put up the screenies once I go back to hostel tomorrow (which is in a terrific mess, with the my AN7/Barton & IS7/Northwood in parts all over my bed) and get the screenshots to put up here. Having some tests coming week, after which I'll set up the system again in my room and try again.

Mistakes in this OC party
-windows not installed beforehand
-did not leak test watercooling
-did not test for hardware/software conflicts
-did not find out max vcore of processor (which was 2.00v) which severely limited overclocking (should have reached at least 2.6Ghz stable, and 2.7Ghz should have been quite possible)

Checklist for future OC Party
-Make sure all hardware (including cooling) is fully functional. Everything should be 100% stable at stock settings, or its faulty (no point OCing in that case).
-Install windows, drivers and all benchmark & OC tools. Preferably a clean install with no other programs, but not compulsory.
-Make sure all programs & benchmarks work with no crashes or conflicts.

Added on March 1, 2008, 8:11 pmOne of the posts went missing when I uploaded (typed all in one go). Going out for dinner now, then coming back to retype it.

Added on March 1, 2008, 9:28 pmDone. Missing post restored.

This post has been edited by lohwenli: Mar 1 2008, 09:28 PM
ktek
post Mar 1 2008, 10:17 PM

小喇叭
13,191 posts

wow ! good one thumbup.gif
pics are finally up
coolice
post Mar 1 2008, 10:23 PM

Team OCD!
1,857 posts

tomato sauce? rolleyes.gif
@meno
post Mar 2 2008, 02:36 AM

It's "A Meh Noh" not Meno!!!
2,386 posts

QUOTE(coolice @ Mar 1 2008, 10:23 PM)
tomato sauce? rolleyes.gif
Ya tats it.
U can use coke instead... biggrin.gif
KenDiriwan
post Mar 2 2008, 02:14 PM

2,277 posts

Hi all, i got a trip coming in weeks. Any IT shopping venue @ Penang? biggrin.gif
rainingzero
post Mar 2 2008, 02:22 PM

I miss my student life~
2,497 posts

Nice party...at last, able to see the queen of POC...laugh.gif

i believe this would be nicer if posted at overlocking threads..so all will know our POC events...brows.gif
pmmonkey
post Mar 2 2008, 02:53 PM

485 posts

sad.gif I thought I requested for "no monkey pics" cry.gif
Nutrex
post Mar 2 2008, 03:08 PM

110 posts

Noob enlightened nod.gif

This post has been edited by Nutrex: Mar 2 2008, 03:08 PM
@meno
post Mar 2 2008, 06:05 PM

It's "A Meh Noh" not Meno!!!
2,386 posts

QUOTE(pmmonkey @ Mar 2 2008, 02:53 PM)
sad.gif I thought I requested for "no monkey pics" cry.gif
whistling.gif
Jaryl, should have posted more pics of this greedy monkey.
Wahahahahahahahahaha...
Hey, u know after this nobody's gonna say you're transexual anymore, ain't that good... laugh.gif

Ok, just for thos who doesn't know who is who.
In darker orange-Tapirus
In white with Blue and Red stripe- Gsan
In White and Green: Jaryl@Lohwenli
In VR Zone T-Shirt: Coolice
The only one who's different from the others: Greedy Monkey
The one in Singlet: Sonicscourge(Sleeping POC member, only appears when there's fun)
In Yellowish Orange: Gsan's friend

@KenDiriwan
You can check out one-stop, Perangin Mall and also Bukit Jambul complex for IT stuff in Penang.
But don't get surprised by the puny size of these IT zones compared to KL.
Don't expect too much from these shops...For higher end stuffs, you'll need to contact Karom and CsChun...
pmmonkey
post Mar 3 2008, 01:43 AM

485 posts

cry.gif Monkey is still greedy. Wants all the stuffs all poc korkor have which monkey cannot afford.

I'm not transsexual to begin with... it's just peoples' simple thoughts that girls don't usually play much with computers.

Meh... next time should either wear mask, or dress more properly. tongue.gif
PowerSlide
post Mar 3 2008, 06:28 AM

----------
6,035 posts

pmmonkey certified female overclocker..this is something good for our club tongue.gif

looks like u guys have alot fun brows.gif
AceCombat
post Mar 3 2008, 09:19 AM

5,434 posts

not only monkey jiejie,me also mah wub.gif
mfcm
post Mar 3 2008, 11:48 AM

2,765 posts

haha ace mei mei kept by hisher parents dat nite..kekkeke cant go out tongue.gif
AceCombat
post Mar 3 2008, 01:05 PM

5,434 posts

cry.gif cry.gif
cschun86
post Mar 3 2008, 01:29 PM

Heading towards 2000~
1,972 posts

QUOTE(mfcm @ Mar 3 2008, 11:48 AM)
haha ace mei mei kept by hisher parents dat nite..kekkeke cant go out tongue.gif
U think ace mei mei so guai meh?
I think she went out with some boy boy tat night tongue.gif
PowerSlide
post Mar 3 2008, 04:00 PM

----------
6,035 posts

what laa u guys..ace mui mui is with me that night..we r soooo bz whistling.gif

looks like our USM guys can soon be world record holders brows.gif tongue.gif
AceCombat
post Mar 3 2008, 09:53 PM

5,434 posts

QUOTE(PowerSlide @ Mar 3 2008, 04:00 PM)
what laa u guys..ace mui mui is with me that night..we r soooo bz  whistling.gif

looks like our USM guys can soon be world record holders  brows.gif  tongue.gif
why u revealed our secret? vmad.gif
but that night u and i were so enjoy and wonderful wub.gif
pmmonkey
post Mar 3 2008, 10:48 PM

485 posts

QUOTE(AceCombat @ Mar 3 2008, 09:53 PM)
why u revealed our secret? vmad.gif
but that night u and i were so enjoy and wonderful wub.gif
mad.gif Meimei, you lied!!
You said ur father don't let you out...