Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

QUOTE(TrOwA008 @ Feb 1 2008, 09:46 AM)
Met up with our tai kor lohwenli last nite to consign barang to him
heard of ya guys new "project"  rolleyes.gif  rolleyes.gif  rolleyes.gif

if u guys need help in temp sensor, do call me
i can load a very reliable sensor
need thinner thermal tape though
That's a very nice fan controller..so keng wan..

QUOTE(@meno @ Feb 2 2008, 06:20 PM)
Thanx for the explanation bro.
Tat uncle in the shop is ur boss ar?
When i ask him, he just told me close d...Now left precess... doh.gif

Btw, i got an IFX-14 d, so bout the HSF i ask u, no need to rush d lar... Might consider it for daily use if the price is good...

@trowa,
Nice looking temp sensors you have there.

For those who wants to know more bout our project, let me give u guys some headsup bout it, we're still in the midst of planning on how to get it done.
It's an AM2 F3 4Ghz project on rather extreme cooling, no we're not talking about Water Cooling, but it's a step further than that. More details will be out together with the reports...(If we manage to push the F3s to 4ghz tat is, if not maybe we'll just... whistling.gif  laugh.gif )

Btw, i think me and Jaryl will be extremely interested if anyone would like to join us for a round of C2D or C2Q overclocking on this extreme method...Let's just see if it works on the F3s first, then only we plan for 2nd round... rclxms.gif

@Jaryl,
Have u got ur stuff ready, this time we should be cooking Instant Noodles on top of the XP-120 rather than eggs... laugh.gif
Not everything. Original cold box idea a bit hard to get ready so soon, working on a quicker alternative. And still need to get some pumps. If can, get everything done within this week.

Instant noodles..hmm..that would be convenient..C2Q, I'll see if can drag my friend's QX into this..but probably that would be another time.

QUOTE(tapirus @ Feb 3 2008, 05:01 PM)
@@meno
me want join ur project..just want get some experience from u all..then can contribute a bit 2 ur project 2...
Sure, why not? It'll be the first official POC event since this v3 thread was started..

This post has been edited by lohwenli: Feb 3 2008, 06:54 PM
TSlohwenli
post Feb 4 2008, 10:43 PM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

Yeah, sorry you don't really have much holiday Adrian..but anyway, once you're done with celebrating new year with your family, we can get to OCing our AM2s. I can also contibute both my Anny and my F3 as well if you can find me something to run (sempron also ok, but ram at least 1gb, DDR533 is still ok-less ram and I'll get screwed cos the PC will suddenly run so slow) vmad.gif

Date will set when Adrian confirms when he'll be free, since he's the busiest of the bunch and its also his hardware thats gonna do the rocking..damn, I feel like getting KOC's DICE pot, lolhalol is selling..I can't afford to pay for it myself, any chance we want to share out and get it?

Trying to figure out how I can get access to the LN2 supply for the NOR (Nano-optoelectronics research) laboratory in the physics school..I'm sure it shouldn't cost much, since they use so much that they need a 2 storey high tank shocking.gif ..

Adrian, see if you can get Nirox pumps when you go back. I'll keep looking over here, but I doubt I'll find any more. Worst case we ask Aoinatsume.

QUOTE(pmmonkey @ Feb 4 2008, 02:53 AM)
Yay~ oc event...
But if you all oc in jaryl's hostel... sweat.gif

Anyways, anyone know where to get metal sleeves? Or silver coloured sleeves?
Not in my hostel la..do you want me to kena screw from pengawa after my room mate reports us for causing a disturbance? (But hell, most of my hostel neighbours would be interested to watch). Plus you wouldn't be able to join us without getting me thrown out of usm..

If you want metal sleeves, the electonics shop near tesco extra has, but they call it braiding. The only thing that really sucks is that what I've seen them stock is pretty narrow, just wide enough to sleeve fan cables but little else.

QUOTE(darnell @ Feb 4 2008, 06:19 PM)
HI, all Penang bro. Happy CNY holiday ya..
So things to ask here.
May i know where can I buy the Acrylic board?
Plan to mod my casing. wink.gif
Currently I can only find 2mm acrylic, but I know of a few places where its possible to get thicker acylic and possibly even acrylic block. Just haven't had time to check them out, hoping to go this few days during CNY hols.
TSlohwenli
post Feb 6 2008, 09:50 AM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

QUOTE(cschun86 @ Feb 5 2008, 12:51 AM)
I think u can go to the shop tat do advertisment shop,
usually they have it smile.gif
I get my 2mm acylic from

QUOTE(gsan @ Feb 5 2008, 11:19 AM)
why so few people post their overclock result?  sweat.gif btw, here is my latest overclock result  smile.gif
Updated the overclock list, don't worry gsan..we're working on some record breaking overclocks soon..record breaking for penang that is..can't fight yet with those really pro fellas..

QUOTE(rainingzero @ Feb 5 2008, 04:54 PM)
huh, saw u siggy only... laugh.gif i want ur casing~!!! hahha....
ur gc also nice...

yeah, to maintain shiny alu casing abit hard la. moreover if u like to move/upgrade ur hardware frequently.
later too many finger prints all over ur casing. the case interior is the critical part...
Not really, brushed aluminium doesn't pick up fingerprints easily. Usually its acylic and glossy paint (I should know, my case can see reflections wan).

QUOTE(@meno @ Feb 6 2008, 01:47 AM)
LOL...her sexy 3850 with me, but still in the box, not even plugged it onto my PCI-Ex slot.

@Jaryl,

Sorry but i'm pretty busy for now.
Dun be surprise when i tell you, i'm now still in Penang, and yes, i'm posting this at Office...
Will have to clear off all outstanding issues before i can leave...Hopefully will be able to catch some sleep and leave home tomorrow morning around 6-7.

After this also i'll be pretty busy as it's audit period... sweat.gif

I will try my best to find some time...but no promises... blush.gif
Don't worry we'll wait for you..sorry to hear you're still so busy.
Or how about this, we do it in stages, less kanceong lo. Meet up every 2 weeks/1 month, and each time we do it differently. How about that? That way less trouble and pressure to settle everything in one night.

QUOTE(pmmonkey @ Feb 6 2008, 02:09 AM)
doh.gif That card is still virgin after more than 1.5 weeks doh.gif

And working at such hour... cny mood also gooooone lar.
No internet for me at least till sunday, unless I go lepak at starbucks.
So,
Happy CNY guys.
I want ang pow filled with $$ from all POC korkor and chai shen yeh!!
Oi, we're not married yet ok..cannot give angpow..
But can collect right brows.gif

TSlohwenli
post Feb 6 2008, 05:47 PM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

Great! Updated already, I've put the stable result up. Happy CNY everybody..best wishes to all!
TSlohwenli
post Feb 7 2008, 05:54 PM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

QUOTE(cskeong @ Feb 7 2008, 10:16 AM)
dear all. i am not sure if this is the correct place to ask but can anyone pm me some shops in penang that stocks water cooling parts such as copper blocks, radiator etc etc? thank you for your help.
There are none in penang worth buying, I'm very sure of it. Thermaltake & gigabyte watercooling sets are available in some shops, but considering the price, don't bother. For that money you can easily get aircooling that will outperform those watercooling sets. If you want to go watercooling just for the experience, get the set ngbh is selling, its a lot cheaper, and will outperform those Thermaltake sets and is probably on par with the Gigabyte despite being cheaper. It won't be able to fight with RM250+ aircooling and defintely not proper watercooling sets, but considering the price, you have nothing to complain. If you want to go watercooling for the performance, go all the way and spend the money to get a decent set from metalzone.

This post has been edited by lohwenli: Feb 7 2008, 05:56 PM
TSlohwenli
post Feb 11 2008, 09:06 PM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

QUOTE(PowerSlide @ Feb 11 2008, 04:35 PM)
guys

now wana start painting my stacker  brows.gif

but interior will easily get scratch or chip wor..how to have a tough paintjob that wont chip off easily?  sweat.gif
I'm looking for the solution to the same problem as you, but haven't found a practical one yet. Enamel paint is a good one, but can't find any.

QUOTE(cschun86 @ Feb 11 2008, 05:53 PM)
bring whole case to anodise tongue.gif
then it is scratch proved tongue.gif
Damn mahal la..
If DIY also not that easy..need a bit of stuff and also

QUOTE(cschun86 @ Feb 11 2008, 07:40 PM)
haha, perai branch then maybe is me,
u are the handsome one sembang with rafe?
@pmmonkey,
how much u got the his iceq3 3850?
i am thinking to downgrade to 3850,
dun really need the 3870 for me >.<"
I think she got for just over RM700.
Sell your 3870 to @meno lo...
TSlohwenli
post Feb 12 2008, 09:17 AM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

QUOTE(cschun86 @ Feb 11 2008, 09:45 PM)
haha, maybe will up for sale later,
thinking to downgrade,
need to fund some money,
now pokai coz i langgar kereta yesterday >.<"
Langgar kereta? Ouch..be more careful next time ok?
TSlohwenli
post Feb 12 2008, 10:12 AM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

Ok fellas, here's an update on the planned OC Party. Adrian will be too busy nearly whole of this month, so I will be contributing my own system (a Pentium 4 Northwood) for the first OC party. Here's what I'm gonna do.

1. Strip off the IHS & run naked. This also means there will be no overclocking done on air, as the mounting for most 478 aircoolers gives for a high chance of cracking the CPU core.

2. Test out 2-3 waterblocks to see which is the best of the lot.

3. Hit at least 4GHz on ordinary watercooling and run some benchmarks.

4. And here's the really fun part-Max overclock on iced watercooling. If possible, there might be another 'cooler' event included brows.gif

Confirmed details
Venue : Somewhere near USM. If majority are from USM, then we'll most probably have it in one of the cafeterias.
Time : Most likely at night, so its cooler cool2.gif

What's not confirmed is the date. You guys suggest. For me preferably any day except saturday, as I will usually be at home. The watercooling stuff is arriving later this week, so I can have it as early as this weekend. It would be nice if a whole bunch of us come, but even if ends up only 2-3 people I will still go on with it.

For the next OC party, it will be either Adrian's(@meno) Windsor F3 or my mobile Barton. For Adrian's OC, I will contribute the watercooling, a pair of Crucial Annys, and perhaps my own F3 as well. If you guys have anything to contribute you're welcome to as well. This goes for future OC parties, here's your chance to try OCing your system with the best stuff we can pull together, stuff which you may not have. Any system is fine, even an ancient SDRAM-based system is ok, as long as it can be overclocked go ahead and bring it.
TSlohwenli
post Feb 13 2008, 02:21 PM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

QUOTE(rainingzero @ Feb 12 2008, 01:16 PM)
put my name in..i want to join us guys. but dunno want to contribute what. just want to gain some experience from u guys...

let me know when u already decide the ETA...nod.gif
QUOTE(cschun86 @ Feb 12 2008, 04:37 PM)
I am in,
let see how the 1st OC party going 1st,
then only see what I can contribute for 2nd OC party ^.^
QUOTE(coolice @ Feb 12 2008, 10:03 PM)
hopefully its after 20th tongue.gif
QUOTE(tapirus @ Feb 12 2008, 11:13 PM)
@lohwenli
i join u to...if got my cooler can contribute to u...can see a different between 120 xtreme and ifx @meno...
Thanks for the support guys. Basically I'm having this OC party as a chance for us to get together and have some fun and share ideas. Hopefully we can make this a regular thing, each time someone will bring a different rig/stuff to OC. At the moment this is the list of people interested to bring stuff (mostly for future OC party)

myself
-my 478 rig (P4 2.8Ghz (Northwood & Prescott), Abit IS7, OCZ Platinum EL DDR400, HIS X1950 Pro Iceq3 Turbo)
-water cooling (Swiftech Apogee GT waterblock, Little River Cascade waterblock, syscooling CPU, NB, VGA waterblocks, 120mmx4 rad).
-NMB server 460W PSU
-Crucial 10th Anniversary (for future OCs using DDR2)
-I'll try to borrow a friend's super-highend rig to OC, but no promises. All I can say is that its stock spec is nastier than anything else in our OC database

@meno
-his Windsor F3 & AN9 SLI will probably be the next rig to be overclocked. Also includes an IFX-14 & 2 Delta triblades.

pmmonkey
-her rig will also be a potential rig for OC party, but not confirmed
-HIS 3850 Iceq3 Turbo

For the upcoming one its just my 478 P4 rig. A few small changes.
-The processor I got from dj.eRicZzz is a Prescott, not a Northwood as I was led to believe. So there is a slight change in what will be done.

1. Max benchmarkable OC of both processors on aircooling (I have an XP-120). Vcore capped at 1.65V for the Northwood, and 1.5v for the Prescott.

2. OC repeated on watercooling, using several blocks to see which is the best.

3. Prescott will have its IHS stripped off, and OCed to the max. No vcore limit, target is to max out mobo's FSB (known to be 300MHz or 1200FSB), resulting in a max overclock of 4.2Ghz.

4. Find the max overclock for the OCZ Platinum DDR400. Target is DDR550-600.

4. Run benchmarks at several speeds including the max OC for the Prescott.

The difference is that Prescott is known to overclock a lot better than the Northwood, especially when cooling is sufficient to allow the vcore to be increased substantially. Even then, normal watercooling should be sufficient to hit the max possible that the board can go. Original idea was to suicide clock a cheap Northwood to find the highest safe vcore possible to use on my precious 30 cap MO Northwood, but now that I end up with a Prescott we'll be checking out the mobo and ram's max clock instead since I can't use a Prescott to find a Northwood's safe voltage.

Venue will most likely be at USM if most of those coming are USM students. Don't need to have a lot of people coming, but the more the merrier. Fellas, please mention here what days are you free at night. Tentatively I'll put it on next Friday. You can bring whatever you want to bring, but if you bring your rig keep in mind we might or might not have enough time to OC it. Depends on how late you're willing to stay.

This post has been edited by lohwenli: Feb 13 2008, 02:32 PM
TSlohwenli
post Feb 15 2008, 05:40 PM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

QUOTE(pmmonkey @ Feb 13 2008, 03:36 PM)
I have classes at night on tuesdays and wednesdays on alternate weeks.

Yes, my rig will be for oc since I need you guys to help me max it out and I'll bring fans... I currently have 6 120mm fans and 2 92mm fans in my room.
If you ever need SDRAMs, they're still in Penang.
QUOTE(rainingzero @ Feb 13 2008, 06:18 PM)
friday night will be ok for me, except if got emergency case regarding my FYP. and USM would be reachable for me since i will travel all the way from nibong tebal...far woo...nod.gif
QUOTE(tapirus @ Feb 13 2008, 10:35 PM)
if this week i cannot..coz need to back to hometown...but if next week for sure can..i will be at main campus for SUKAD..so i can come for oc party at night...
QUOTE(gsan @ Feb 14 2008, 09:41 PM)
if the date and venue confirm already, please do let me know ya smile.gif
Looks like next Fri nite is the best then. I've listed you fellas as coming, pls confirm. Date and time as follows

Venue : USM (probably at Tekun cafeteria, where its slightly cooler)
Date : Fri, 22 February 2008
Time : 11pm (I have astronomy observation till 11pm, so can't be earlier. Besides, the air will be colder laugh.gif )

Another update on what will be done:-

The proc that dj.eRicZzz passed to me turned out to be faulty vmad.gif , so we won't be OCing my P4. Instead we will be OCing my mobile barton and maybe @meno's AthlonXP 3200.

Full setup
mobile AthlonXP 2600+ socket A (Barton)
Abit NF7-S v2
OCZ Platinum EL DDR400 512mbx2 (Samsung TCCD)
HIS X1950 IceQ3 Turbo 256mb AGP
WD Raptor 74GB
LG H10N DVDRW
NMB 460W Server PSU
stock AMD Athlon HSF (lapped to 1500 grit)
Syscooling watercooling set
Little River Cascade waterblock
Swiftech Apogee GT waterblock
Radiator modded by CV6149
Pump (still looking)

Other hardware that may or may not be included
-@meno's AthlonXP 3200
-130W peltier

Other hardware being requested
-@meno's PC cooler chipset cooler
-pmmonkey's 17' LCD

1. AthlonXP's don't have an IHS, so no more IHS removal. But, if you want to see how a P4 can be stripped naked, then I'll bring the faulty P4 from dj.eRicZzz to show you how its done. First OC will be done on the lapped stock cooler, then benchmarked at the highest benchable speed. We're not going to be looking for 100% stable, or we'll be up till morning. Limit is 55C, or 1.75vcore.

2. Compare all the waterblocks to see which is the best, using the aircooling OC settings.

3. Hit at least 2.7-3.0Ghz on the mobile barton on watercooling. OC must be benchable.

4. Max out the ram & VGA to achieve the highest benchmark score possible.

5. Hit highest OC on ice+salt watercooling. CPU-Z screenshot only. Vcore limit yet to be determined.

6. For a bonus, one more item-underclocking the system. Target is lowest power consumption on idle (<50W) and load (<100W).

This post has been edited by lohwenli: Feb 15 2008, 05:42 PM
TSlohwenli
post Feb 15 2008, 05:42 PM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

rainingzero, bring my stuff ok? I'll have your fan controller done by then. Probably at least 4 channels, and maybe something 'extra'.
TSlohwenli
post Feb 18 2008, 05:59 PM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

QUOTE(rainingzero @ Feb 15 2008, 08:10 PM)
orait dude. if turn out i can't come, i'll pass the items to whoever come that night.... smile.gif
4channel?? thats awesome... rclxm9.gif
not competition lor, just some gathering for exchange knowledges and also trying to get best benchmarking result from the rigs involved that night.... smile.gif
As far as benchmark results go, it won't really be anything fantastic, as its an old system. But we might still be able to get close to the best benchmarks an AGP/DDR system can achieve.

QUOTE(tapirus @ Feb 15 2008, 10:58 PM)
yeah..thats good..we having oc gathering..hope all poc member will join us too...

@rainingzero
u better join us...

@lohwenli
u want me bring anything to there???
Bring anything you feel like bringing, if feel like bringing whole PC also no problem.

QUOTE(limhongwoon @ Feb 16 2008, 10:24 AM)
anybody can go in to watch???
No problem with that, though you'll have to park just outside the gate (its a short walk to the cafeteria). Security these days is a little tighter, but visitors can still come in without much trouble, only can't park inside.

QUOTE(AceCombat @ Feb 18 2008, 12:34 AM)
@limhongwoon

i have no pc,i know nothing about pc.
tongue.gif
Bullshit yawn.gif

QUOTE(titan-x @ Feb 18 2008, 02:05 AM)
Since I also from penang.. may i join the club?  tongue.gif

Titan-X : Core 2 Duo E8500 (Wolfdale C0) : 4410Mhz@1.50Vcore : Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3 : 2 x 1GB OCZ Reaper HPC DDR2-800 : DDR2-980@5-5-5-15 2T, 2.2 vdimm : Cooler Master Hyper 212
QUOTE(@meno @ Feb 18 2008, 09:03 AM)
Welcome Titan-X.

@Jaryl, here are some updates on my OC:

Proc all on stock. Mems running 2v.

I love my Value rams... tongue.gif
Ultimate target: 1200Mhz@2.1v 5-5-5-15...I know they can do it...Just the matter of tweaking and testing.

Did not run orthos...But i was on FM2008 for a couple of hours, so i assume it's at least at an acceptable stability.
I'll update you guys on the OC list after the OC party. Titan-X, your overclock will be included, but marked as unverified until you show proof that its stable.

Either

1. 1 hour prime95/orthos (1 instance per core for prime, 1 instance per 2 cores for orthos)
2. 32M super pi (1 instance per core, not counted if stress test takes less than 30 mins)
3. 1 hour OCCT (this may be revised to 30 mins)
4. Other stress tests may also be accepted, as long as they can stress ALL cores 100% and are at least 30mins-1 hour long.

TSlohwenli
post Feb 22 2008, 05:25 PM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

A final teaser for tonite's OC

The stuff we're gonna use

WTF??? For REAL???!!

TSlohwenli
post Feb 23 2008, 07:08 PM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

QUOTE(AceCombat @ Feb 22 2008, 08:19 PM)
@Jaryl
i miss my barton-M cry.gif

anyway,whose pot is it?
The pot is mine..
But only adrian knows about it..its a secret till next OC party..featuring Adrian's rig or pmmonkey's rig

QUOTE(coolice @ Feb 23 2008, 12:24 PM)
almost gotten 2.6ghz,superpi 1m 41s
we got some issue to get the 3d benchmark run,so only superpi result
Dunno why, will retry in my room coming week using th AN7 I just collected today.

QUOTE(rainingzero @ Feb 23 2008, 02:47 PM)
i believe lohwenli still preparing the full report of last nite ocing party... brows.gif
too bad no dry ice, next time maybe??
yeah, do pm me after u bank in the money. will send the item to u after that... brows.gif
Yeah, woke up around 9 this morning due to habit, spent half the morning clearing up all the stuff from last nite, then KO straight for a couple of hours then just came home around 4pm. Took a bath, then visited a friend in hospital, now going for dinner. No time to prepare report till tonight, even then I think tomorrow afternoon only can post up.

QUOTE(AceCombat @ Feb 23 2008, 02:50 PM)
u got ask me thigns meh?
rclxms.gif
2.6GHz,almost god-like for Barton,smoke P4 4GHz already laugh.gif
anyway,coolice koko,what's the issue with 3DMark06?
GC run in 2D mode?
Not really, with HT enabled a 4GHz P4 can still pull even.
But if hit our target of 3.0Ghz, then P4 can bungkus already..but as it is, after looking at some other barton overclocks, we did pretty ok considering my reluctance to increase the voltage beyong 1.8v.
TSlohwenli
post Mar 1 2008, 08:07 PM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

reserved for a missing post

Here's the promised OC log, sorry it took so long..been having a week of hell..

Earlier before the OC party I was cleaning the WC stuff. Here's the Apogee GT

And the Little River Cascade

Both stripped apart for cleaning. There's quite a bit of residue stuck between the diamond pins of the Apogee GT from when cv6149 was using it.

My secret weapon against tarnish (guess what is it?)

Around this time I found out there was a water outage to my some parts of the hostel, (like my area's toilet)..and I had to wash the WC stuff vmad.gif vmad.gif vmad.gif

Anyway, while I was looking for another source of water, I filled & soaked the radiator in hot vinegar

Seriously, you don't want to imagine what was inside until it lead to this..

This post has been edited by lohwenli: Mar 1 2008, 09:27 PM
TSlohwenli
post Mar 1 2008, 08:09 PM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

Later that night

Rig all set to roll. All this just above the hostel cafeteria brows.gif
In my hurry that day, I actually forgot the power cable..had to go back upstairs to my room to get it doh.gif

That's me, call me a AMD/ATI fanboy if you like, but I couldn't resist putting on that t-shirt just for this night (come on, we're running a Barton and a X1950 nod.gif )

Mistake no 2 of the day..didn't install windows earlier..wasted half an hour..sorry again guys sweat.gif

Some people who wanted to kill me for it
Tha's pmmonkey by the way..photo included to kill some allegations that she's a guy pretending to be a girl..

We reached 2.4Ghz using the stock cooler, I should show the SS here, but unfortunately I left all the SS behind in my hostel PC (I'm at home now). Will update later.

This post has been edited by lohwenli: Mar 1 2008, 08:11 PM
TSlohwenli
post Mar 1 2008, 08:10 PM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

Setting up watercooling after the stock cooler OC. Wanted to do a comparision between the Apogee GT and the LR Cascade, (we were almost taking bets at this point) but the Apogee GT got disqualified because it couldn't fit on the board due to the VR capacitors being too near the CPU socket. So could only use the LR cascade..

Filling the system & bleeding air out of the system

Leak testing with the system off turned up some problems, the crack in the LR Cascase's acrylic top was more serious than originally thought, it was slowly leaking water drop by drop. Loosening the screw near the crack eliminated the problem, but hat to remove the waterblock to dry the motherboard.
Oh well, that's what happens when you're too noob to remember check the system beforehand... yawn.gif

Even the rad had a few problems, it wouldn't stand on the table properly. So had to put the other rad we weren't using on top of it to stabilise it.
TSlohwenli
post Mar 1 2008, 08:10 PM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

Finally down to some serious OCing.

A vcore reading..damn, I haven't tested a single Abit board that doesn't overvolt (Its supposed to be 1.85v). Abit may be cheap, but its really for overclockers.

Managed to hit 2.6Ghz, but not stable (could not get into windows), had to settle for 2.5Ghz. Benchmarks revealed another problem which we couldn't figure out then, the nforce 2 chipset is not compatible with the X1950AGP when using recent drivers (man it really sucked cry.gif ). All 3d benchmarks wouldn't run, 3Dmark 2001SE, 2003, 2005, 2006 & Aquamark all turned up Direct3D errors. Only a few days ago did I find out the answer. Anyway, I'll like to thank all you guys (and girl) who came, and hopefully we'll have a better OC party next time. In the meantime, I'll put up the screenies once I go back to hostel tomorrow (which is in a terrific mess, with the my AN7/Barton & IS7/Northwood in parts all over my bed) and get the screenshots to put up here. Having some tests coming week, after which I'll set up the system again in my room and try again.

Mistakes in this OC party
-windows not installed beforehand
-did not leak test watercooling
-did not test for hardware/software conflicts
-did not find out max vcore of processor (which was 2.00v) which severely limited overclocking (should have reached at least 2.6Ghz stable, and 2.7Ghz should have been quite possible)

Checklist for future OC Party
-Make sure all hardware (including cooling) is fully functional. Everything should be 100% stable at stock settings, or its faulty (no point OCing in that case).
-Install windows, drivers and all benchmark & OC tools. Preferably a clean install with no other programs, but not compulsory.
-Make sure all programs & benchmarks work with no crashes or conflicts.

Added on March 1, 2008, 8:11 pmOne of the posts went missing when I uploaded (typed all in one go). Going out for dinner now, then coming back to retype it.

Added on March 1, 2008, 9:28 pmDone. Missing post restored.

This post has been edited by lohwenli: Mar 1 2008, 09:28 PM
TSlohwenli
post Mar 23 2008, 04:42 PM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

Fuh! Been gone quite awhile and the thread has been moving quite a bit since.. rclxms.gif

QUOTE(rainingzero @ Mar 23 2008, 09:30 AM)
maybe they all very busy. final exam is in the corner.and some of us are busy with our FYP thesis.
for example tachlio, didn't see him posting here recently.... blush.gif
Same here bro, same here..

QUOTE(@meno @ Mar 21 2008, 11:06 AM)
My Ahlian ar, is the grandfather of the PC-007.
Silver in colour, wanna grab?
I sell cheap cheap only... sweat.gif
Ya, but the price steep lor... sweat.gif
If they selling that high, i think maybe i'll consider other case d...
What i need now is a cheap Full Tower case only.
Not enough room to work around for my IFX in my small case...
I can't even reach my hands to plug in the SATA cables to my optical drive if i put the IFX in first.
I might be interested in your ah lian, but only after I'm done with my casemods (except the F3's extreme mod)..

QUOTE(AceCombat @ Mar 21 2008, 03:19 PM)
yo bro karom,u can simply find all those u need in hardware shop.
for me,i'll do the perfect one with from 400,800,1000,1200,1500,2000 and lastly 2500,cost u rm20 like that if u buy real good quality one.
Where did you find 2500 sandpaper?
TSlohwenli
post Mar 25 2008, 09:36 AM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

QUOTE(@meno @ Mar 24 2008, 09:55 PM)
Cheap cheap clear mari...RM5 perstick include postage... tongue.gif
Wrong comparison KC...
Should be Barcelona Vs Xeon... thumbup.gif
Then lets see who's faster by then...

(Too bad Barcelona Server chips never really hit the market even after it's official launch...It still triumphs over the Xeon i believe...)
Depends lo..
If 1P then Xeon still win..
But if 2P, 4P or 8P then no need Barcelona, even K8 also can tarpau Woodcrest Xeon already..
Even power consumption also apom balik already..Intel server procs don't scale well with multi-processing, some more the chipset goddamn hot. Whatever power the procs save, the chipset makan semua (so much for C2D/C2Q being power efficient)..all the multiprocessing chipsets need a solid copper heatsink with a screamer on top.. shocking.gif

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0477sec    0.83    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 01:17 PM