Should I buy the iphone now?

TSfipoch
post Dec 29 2007, 12:46 AM, updated 18y ago

487 posts

Hey all,

I have just the right enough amount of money to get my hands on and start using an iphone. I'm kinda new to the phone actually and looking forward on getting it.
With the release of the iphone just around the corner (Early 2008 i think? Correct me if im wrong) in Malaysia, do you guys think I should get the unlocked version now (As seen being sold widely in Garage Sales area) or wait for the official release in Malaysia and get it at any authorized dealer?
I'm also confused on whether the unlocked iphone would void the warranty from apple or not. Please enlighten me.

Thanks in advance.
lonewalker
post Dec 29 2007, 12:59 AM

204 posts

QUOTE(fipoch @ Dec 29 2007, 12:46 AM)
With the release of the iphone just around the corner (Early 2008 i think? Correct me if im wrong) in Malaysia

Ok i am correcting you now, during the release of the iPhone in UK, Steve Jobs said that there will be a 3G version, and earlier at mac world he mentioned 2008 as the release for the Asian markets. He did not say "early '08". Edit: 11.59pm (GMT+8) 31st Dec 2008 is still 2008

Mabey you dun care about 3G you would do well the current available iphones.

This post has been edited by lonewalker: Dec 29 2007, 08:22 PM
lokgotz
post Dec 29 2007, 01:40 AM

hehehe
2,657 posts

and the 2008 release is not "malaysia" release.....it's ASIA...asia is pretty big....

if you can wait, why not...it still beats unlocking and turbo-simming the current ones....

i'd say wait for it if u can.....if not, get one from garage sales....
boring
post Dec 29 2007, 05:31 AM

307 posts

2008 released in Asia. Asia doesn't mean Malaysia. Malaysia also never in Apple map. Most likely Japan will get it 1st, nearest maybe Singapore. Dunno what year it will come to Malaysia.

Anything you do with the iPhone like jailbreak it, unlock, install 3rd party actually void your warranty. Apple won't cover it. So unlocked iPhone owner take the risk, anyway when restore the firmware.. Steve Jobs also can't tell whether it's already unlocked previously biggrin.gif
funnyTONE
post Dec 29 2007, 05:44 AM

certified /k/ oldfag
2,949 posts

Nahh... iPhone is overhyped. For a 2k phone, you get to brag about it for a month or two at most. After that, it'll be just another phone. After 6 month, it'll arrive at our shores. And by that time, you'll just wish you had bought a better phone. happy.gif

What is your other choices anyway?
lordsharingan
post Dec 29 2007, 06:52 AM

やった!!
656 posts

maybe you should discuss it in the iphone forum instead...
Balok
post Dec 29 2007, 06:54 AM

Truly Malaysian
1,666 posts

i heard at Malaysia the price rise to RM 2.5K sad.gif

BTW when will the 2nd Generation IPhone will go out?
lordsharingan
post Dec 29 2007, 07:05 AM

やった!!
656 posts

QUOTE(Balok @ Dec 29 2007, 06:54 AM)
i heard at Malaysia the price rise to RM 2.5K sad.gif

BTW when will the 2nd Generation IPhone will go out?
lol.. if u search properly maybe u can get it cheaper but theres a very small chance.. 2nd gen iphone? u can find more about it here . Info on iphone

search for it! or just view the iphone forum.
INFeRNO
post Dec 29 2007, 07:40 AM

Lord and Master
1,754 posts

Wait for Macworld, then make your decision.
tinkerbel
post Dec 29 2007, 09:57 AM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

I too suggest holding back the purchase until it gets into Msia. Am quite sure we will get it though we're not on Apple's map smile.gif it's just a matter of time that's all smile.gif
lonewalker
post Dec 29 2007, 08:20 PM

204 posts

Plus.. its a shame if it came locked up into some crappy mobile service provider like AT&T in the US
PetroToxin
post Dec 29 2007, 11:38 PM

1,179 posts

Well. If you can wait. Then wait.

If you cant. You know what to do laugh.gif
ioriamd
post Dec 30 2007, 11:26 AM

Tok Bali RC Club
672 posts

if Buy Now
-can use this gadget immediately
-catching other eyes to our latest gadget
-use turbosim,pss,dll
-illegal..nahh...
-must install 3rd party sware to fix for asian version phone

if WAit for Asian Release
-legal
-have to wait..waiting is killin....donno when(maybe mid 2008)
-can update latest software from apple without hassle
-3g (donno yet)
-no need 3dr party sware...all setting is for asian

somthin i miss? just write what in my mind onli
blu3chip
post Dec 30 2007, 11:30 AM

447 posts

play the waiting game like me, get the 3G one which has been said to be released next year.

in the mean time get an ipod touch. smile.gif
Balok
post Dec 30 2007, 12:05 PM

Truly Malaysian
1,666 posts

i don't really use phone, so IPod Touch is good enuff smile.gif

if buy IPod Touch at least can use most of the IPhone function, without phone and camera
TSfipoch
post Dec 30 2007, 12:43 PM

487 posts

Thanks for all the feedback biggrin.gif
Looks like I'm gonna wait. Gahhh!!!
I lost my phone a few months ago, and now I'm stuck with a Nokia 1115.
I do use phone and listen to music a lot.
Thanks and thanks again, especially the comparison made by ioriamd.
QD_buyer
post Dec 30 2007, 09:33 PM

John and Paul™
2,047 posts

Bro

kalau barang ada lagi

wa kasi tau lu!
babyk
post Dec 31 2007, 12:55 AM

BANNED 101/100(tm) : Your avatar too sexy
10,052 posts

if it is going to launch in Asia, only those country with Apple Store will have it...Malaysia is excluded...so don't waste your time
gpsp
post Dec 31 2007, 01:04 AM

93 posts

If launch in Asia, most probably in China and Japan first since the "AppSupport" only support these 2 Asia countries. Since there is no EDGE in Japan, we might see 3G compatible iPhone in Japan.

If you need one, get before the new fw 1.1.3. as the jailbreaking/activating will not be easily done (encryption with RSA key now on FW). So even with *SIM, you will not be able to use the 1.1.3 phone.

Currently, the FW 1.1.2 iPhone can be jailbroken/Activated, and unlock with *SIM patcher.

Jusy my 0.0000000000000000002cts
uncleberg
post Dec 31 2007, 02:13 AM

112 posts

QUOTE(babyk @ Dec 31 2007, 12:55 AM)
if it is going to launch in Asia, only those country with Apple Store will have it...Malaysia is excluded...so don't waste your time
Quoted for truth. Just snap up a 1.1.1 iphone while you can.
TechnoDude94
post Dec 31 2007, 02:37 AM

Happiness Advocate
6,738 posts

I am waiting for the official one to come to Malaysia.
babyk
post Dec 31 2007, 03:07 AM

10,052 posts

QUOTE(TechnoDude94 @ Dec 31 2007, 02:37 AM)
keep on waiting

just grab an iPod touch for now

I am working in Apple line...I know what's Apple Marketing
boring
post Dec 31 2007, 03:25 AM

307 posts

When it come, dunno what the $$$ will look like. Tax etc, better get from outside...cheaper biggrin.gif
tishaban
post Dec 31 2007, 07:48 AM

3,615 posts

I'd listen to babyk. If you need the big screen go for the iPod Touch. If you need just audio, the iPod Nano + phone is an ok deal.

Too many uncertainties with the iPhone today, particularly if you're using it in Malaysia.

funnyTONE
post Dec 31 2007, 07:59 AM

certified /k/ oldfag
2,949 posts

Yea, so true. I mean for a phone thats worth 2k, I could get me 3 gadgets that could do all iphone functions. Namely Ipod touch, iPod shuffle and a good handphone.

Buying iPhone now feels like buying AP set.....with brand like APPLE, we need security and guarantee.
aRRrgghh
post Dec 31 2007, 08:37 AM

305 posts

sheesh .. your money man, it's up to you. Can't wait? Just buy. Want to wait for iPhone in Malaysia? Crapz.. I don't think any telco ready to take the deal yet. Craving fer iPhone but feel insecure? Get iPod Touch haha the best bet!
limyusiong
post Dec 31 2007, 08:47 AM

2,815 posts

QUOTE(uncleberg @ Dec 31 2007, 02:13 AM)
Quoted for truth. Just snap up a 1.1.1 iphone while you can.
truth quote, awaiting game is not fun...dun k, grab it now 1st, then when the so called 2nd generation of iphone/3G iphone launch in malaysia, then go grab another lo, wat de big deal rite??? biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
tinkerbel
post Dec 31 2007, 10:32 AM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@limyusiong,
Dat's a possible solution if only I had loads of $ to waste! tongue.gif
babyk
post Dec 31 2007, 10:45 AM

10,052 posts

if iPhone going to be available with no contract price, do you still think that it is USD399? laugh.gif

only those without brain will think the price is RM2k below

they already launch in Germany with no contract based iPhone
it cost UK$999 laugh.gif

you want iPhone or MacBook Pro
up to you LOL
baretta
post Dec 31 2007, 10:46 AM

1,853 posts

If like that arr... Wait la until they release here maybe next year or next 3 year. Don't wasting your time also to search or study bout this iPhone. Go get HtC + iPod touch. Got gurantee sumore plus bulky handling.
megatron007
post Dec 31 2007, 11:05 AM

4,000 posts

if wan then buy

if wait can continue to wait biggrin.gif

allvin
post Dec 31 2007, 11:55 AM

4,506 posts

QUOTE(TechnoDude94 @ Dec 31 2007, 02:37 AM)
slow slow wait la dude. doh.gif sweat.gif Just get a touchy if you really "need" one. whistling.gif

This post has been edited by allvin: Dec 31 2007, 11:55 AM
strawberryee
post Dec 31 2007, 03:43 PM

55 posts

1800 in lowyat gadget sales zone .. go grab it,don wait. But u need stealthsim..if not mstake. hmm.gif

This post has been edited by strawberryee: Dec 31 2007, 03:43 PM
TeraPox
post Dec 31 2007, 04:21 PM

961 posts

2008 is for ASIA... and no matter u like it or not, when big companies mention about ASIA, Malaysia usually is one of their LAST choices... biggrin.gif ... maybe we have to wait until our wawasan 2020, to get iphone attention... wahahahaha.

strawberryee
post Dec 31 2007, 04:24 PM

55 posts

probably there will be iPhoneII ?? hahaha..
SUSmojoza.sdn.bhd
post Dec 31 2007, 06:45 PM

New iPhone v2.0 may come out around June so I may consider waiting for it since it will be much more advanced and stable.
trixx316
post Dec 31 2007, 06:52 PM

255 posts

releasing in malaysia june08?
couleur
post Dec 31 2007, 06:56 PM

188 posts

I think you should wait. The 2cd generation of iphone is coming up next year (in US, of course). My sister's room mate's boyfriend works in Apple (US) ... he said that the 3rd generation will make the biggest change of the iphone.

Just take a look at the history of ipods. That is how its going to happen. I think that the 2cd generation would be smaller in size, a faster and better OS, maybe 3.2-5 megapixel camera, and compatible software changes with Windows, new housing design and so on...

Added on December 31, 2007, 6:58 pm
QUOTE(babyk @ Dec 31 2007, 10:45 AM)
if iPhone going to be available with no contract price, do you still think that it is USD399? laugh.gif

only those without brain will think the price is RM2k below

they already launch in Germany with no contract based iPhone
it cost UK$999 laugh.gif

you want iPhone or MacBook Pro
up to you LOL
well... you never know. Take a look at the latest generation of Ipod Classic compare to Ipod Video... the price has decrease tremendously.

This post has been edited by couleur: Dec 31 2007, 06:58 PM
boring
post Dec 31 2007, 07:12 PM

307 posts

Buy now, don't wait.. tongue.gif
TechnoDude94
post Dec 31 2007, 09:07 PM

Happiness Advocate
6,738 posts

Only coming to Malaysia June '08? I cannot tahan the pain already la. I don't want the iPod Touch. Eyeing only on the iPhone. Is it true that if I buy now and next time Apple come out with patch and then I cannot use already? Sorry because I didn't carefully read all the posts.
lonewalker
post Dec 31 2007, 09:32 PM

204 posts

Added on December 31, 2007, 9:32 pm
QUOTE(TechnoDude94 @ Dec 31 2007, 09:07 PM)
Only coming to Malaysia June '08? I cannot tahan the pain already la. I don't want the iPod Touch. Eyeing only on the iPhone. Is it true that if I buy now and next time Apple come out with patch and then I cannot use already? Sorry because I didn't carefully read all the posts.
No official announcements states official release in "June 08". Quit saying June or any other dates unless you are absolutely sure of your sources

less than 3 hours to '08, waited almost a year for the iphone what more can another year be..

This post has been edited by lonewalker: Dec 31 2007, 09:35 PM
baretta
post Dec 31 2007, 10:03 PM

1,853 posts

How many time apple release new firmware and yet all iPhone owner still enjoying the iphone without a problem. U must ask to iPhone owner not to listen non iPhone user. They no nothing. They no feeling when using iPhone. Of course there will be 2nd, 3rd and so on of new version iPhone. Then again when they will release here? There will be improvement to iPhone and you will keep chasing new development until u buy nothing. Like any product, buy when you want it and start enjoying every moment. Until today, I'm very happy with iPhone than my previous nokia e90 and 02 atom.
limyusiong
post Jan 1 2008, 01:02 AM

2,815 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Dec 31 2007, 10:32 AM)
@limyusiong,
Dat's a possible solution if only I had loads of $ to waste!  tongue.gif
@tinkerbel,

this is not name as "waste", is depend on whether u willing to spend de money o nt....is de same as gal like to spend $ on LV, is de same....

QUOTE(megatron007 @ Dec 31 2007, 11:05 AM)
if wan then buy

if wait can continue to wait biggrin.gif
rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
=Hanxz=
post Jan 1 2008, 02:13 AM

l33t!
1,903 posts

ONCE YOU GO MAC, YOU CAN'T GO BACK! laugh.gif
aRRrgghh
post Jan 1 2008, 02:29 AM

305 posts

why not just wait for 4th or 5th generation? is gonna be better rite? *sheesh* cannot tahan pain? what pain? Go and see doctor la
strawberryee
post Jan 1 2008, 09:50 AM

55 posts

QUOTE(aRRrgghh @ Jan 1 2008, 02:29 AM)
why not just wait for 4th or 5th generation? is gonna be better rite? *sheesh* cannot tahan pain? what pain? Go and see doctor la
Yeah .. this uncle always fierce one,don't care he ..
If u got patient then u wait for it lo.. if u no,just grab it somewhere corner in Trade Zone lo.
Or else,you email Steve,when he wan release his iPhone here.. We wish to know too. biggrin.gif
darkimp
post Jan 1 2008, 11:04 AM

363 posts

QUOTE(=Hanxz= @ Jan 1 2008, 02:13 AM)
totally agree! don't wait if you really want it. iphone hack team will try their best to do all the cracking.just buy n wait n support them!!
mugenfoo
post Jan 1 2008, 11:22 AM

"Assembled Phenomena"
1,061 posts

QUOTE(strawberryee @ Dec 31 2007, 04:24 PM)
probably there will be iPhoneII ?? hahaha..
Rumoured that an iPhone-nano and a new line of MBPs might be announced at the forthcoming MacWorld in Jan ...

Added on January 1, 2008, 11:27 am
To all iPhone customers:

I have received hundreds of emails from iPhone customers who are upset about Apple dropping the price of iPhone by $200 two months after it went on sale. After reading every one of these emails, I have some observations and conclusions.

First, I am sure that we are making the correct decision to lower the price of the 8GB iPhone from $599 to $399, and that now is the right time to do it. iPhone is a breakthrough product, and we have the chance to 'go for it' this holiday season. iPhone is so far ahead of the competition, and now it will be affordable by even more customers. It benefits both Apple and every iPhone user to get as many new customers as possible in the iPhone 'tent'. We strongly believe the $399 price will help us do just that this holiday season.

Second, being in technology for 30+ years I can attest to the fact that the technology road is bumpy. There is always change and improvement, and there is always someone who bought a product before a particular cutoff date and misses the new price or the new operating system or the new whatever. This is life in the technology lane. If you always wait for the next price cut or to buy the new improved model, you'll never buy any technology product because there is always something better and less expensive on the horizon. The good news is that if you buy products from companies that support them well, like Apple tries to do, you will receive years of useful and satisfying service from them even as newer models are introduced.

Third, even though we are making the right decision to lower the price of iPhone, and even though the technology road is bumpy, we need to do a better job taking care of our early iPhone customers as we aggressively go after new ones with a lower price. Our early customers trusted us, and we must live up to that trust with our actions in moments like these.

Therefore, we have decided to offer every iPhone customer who purchased an iPhone from either Apple or AT&T, and who is not receiving a rebate or any other consideration, a $100 store credit towards the purchase of any product at an Apple Retail Store or the Apple Online Store. Details are still being worked out and will be posted on Apple's website next week. Stay tuned.

We want to do the right thing for our valued iPhone customers. We apologize for disappointing some of you, and we are doing our best to live up to your high expectations of Apple.

Steve Jobs
Apple CEO

==========================================================

I'm no fan of el-Jobso , but he is right on that if you keep waiting for technology... you'll end up with nothing.
Note especially the 3rd paragraph.... "This is life in the technology lane" ... cool.gif

This post has been edited by mugenfoo: Jan 1 2008, 11:27 AM
boring
post Jan 1 2008, 01:53 PM

307 posts

Absolutely right!!!! If you want it now, buy now. If not, keep waiting and you won't buy anything... tongue.gif
PetroToxin
post Jan 1 2008, 01:58 PM

1,179 posts

Well buy it now and hope that the Original never reaches Malaysia.

If it does, expect your Second hand value equivalent to a second hand AP phone. tongue.gif
aRRrgghh
post Jan 1 2008, 01:58 PM

305 posts

that's a good info mugenfoo. thanks fer sharing.

the evolution of technology i.e. gadgets is really fast .. hyper speed I guess. If u collect tech / gadgets magazines, try to read last years or last 6 months issue and see what's the hottest gadgets in there.

and it's definately not a hot one anymore now... =)
SUSj3rry
post Jan 1 2008, 03:53 PM

..one man, one machine
841 posts

hahahaha..... biggrin.gif
strawberryee
post Jan 1 2008, 03:57 PM

55 posts

and of cos,if Apple launch their iPhone somewhere around this year, it most probably is not the one selling in US now. May b had upgrade to 3G, bigger storage.. or something else, as reward to their loyal customer. Hope so laugh.gif
TechnoDude94
post Jan 1 2008, 03:58 PM

Happiness Advocate
6,738 posts

My favourite quote/phrase of the year 2008. Courtesy of Hanxz. biggrin.gif
sankai80
post Jan 1 2008, 04:05 PM

freakish chicken
2,019 posts

Based on apple's marketing trend, even if Iphone does make it to our shore, most likely will be tied up with one of our local telco. Another dilemma awaits whether to switch telco for the sake of having legal Ipod. Again, a BIG IF it ever comes here. tongue.gif
limyusiong
post Jan 1 2008, 05:02 PM

2,815 posts

IF story will never end....i personally dun like awaiting game...dun like the feel of unconfirm things...jus grab de opportunity when it occur...coz we never knw wat gonna happen in future
strawberryee
post Jan 1 2008, 05:28 PM

55 posts

Just do it and just grab it ...
But for me,now still kinda expensive for me sad.gif

From MacWorld:

Nvr mention our pity M'sia pun. haha wink.gif

This post has been edited by strawberryee: Jan 1 2008, 07:19 PM
PetroToxin
post Jan 1 2008, 11:23 PM

1,179 posts

QUOTE(strawberryee @ Jan 1 2008, 05:28 PM)

From MacWorld:

Nvr mention our pity M'sia pun. haha  wink.gif
That really sounds like bad news for people who are anticipating the official version of iPhone...
strawberryee
post Jan 2 2008, 12:13 AM

55 posts

毫无目标的等待是痛苦的 。。。
help me translate it .. biggrin.gif
spidey
post Jan 2 2008, 12:20 AM

14 posts

just do it
allvin
post Jan 2 2008, 01:34 AM

4,506 posts

QUOTE(strawberryee @ Jan 1 2008, 05:28 PM)

From MacWorld:

Nvr mention our pity M'sia pun. haha  wink.gif
of cos it won't mention about malaysia la. Got chance also singapore. Malaysia? Apple need to think twice whistling.gif tongue.gif
Balok
post Jan 2 2008, 11:15 AM

Truly Malaysian
1,666 posts

if Apple mention Indonesia first B4 Malaysia i will kill myself
Seaedge
post Jan 2 2008, 11:35 AM

Safe Trader since 2005.
5,172 posts

shud i ask my fren to get iphone for in Aussie?? hmmm
strawberryee
post Jan 2 2008, 12:07 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(allvin @ Jan 2 2008, 01:34 AM)
of cos it won't mention about malaysia la. Got chance also singapore. Malaysia? Apple need to think twice  whistling.gif  tongue.gif
QUOTE(Balok @ Jan 2 2008, 11:15 AM)
if Apple mention Indonesia first B4 Malaysia i will kill myself
lol.. probably Thailand before M'sia.
=Hanxz=
post Jan 2 2008, 12:24 PM

l33t!
1,903 posts

QUOTE(Seaedge @ Jan 2 2008, 11:35 AM)
shud i ask my fren to get iphone for in Aussie?? hmmm
hey bro how is viewty compared to the iphone?
i love to listen to some first hand experience tongue.gif
ezinger
post Jan 2 2008, 02:16 PM

butter cookies
1,536 posts

QUOTE(babyk @ Dec 31 2007, 12:55 AM)
come to think of it, this statement stands out. waiting is futile.

singapore has an Apple Store and Msia doesnt. we dont even have a genius bar but we have those trying to be genius.

i doubt it will even reach malaysia in 2 years time. so far only 3 countries in the europe has the iphone released.

your patience for the iphone to be released in msia is just an illusion my friends. Apple isnt big enough in msia.
megatron007
post Jan 2 2008, 03:26 PM

4,000 posts

i m preparing $ for iphone GEN. 2

hehehe
grimdevil
post Jan 2 2008, 09:41 PM

132 posts

i just got da iphone about 2 weeks ago n got romours of 2nd gen n 3g version commin out... aiyoo...
Balok
post Jan 3 2008, 10:15 PM

Truly Malaysian
1,666 posts

i was wondering.....

after hack my IPhone can buy ACPP for IPhone ka?
aRRrgghh
post Jan 4 2008, 01:43 AM

305 posts

Nope u r not eligible. Read below. Extracted from ACPP for Iphone HERE

1iPhone comes with up to two years of technical support during the term of your AT&T wireless contract. AppleCare Protection Plan benefits are in addition to any legal rights provided by consumer protection laws in your jurisdiction.
Most of us are not AT&T contract kan?

2This plan extends your service coverage to two years from the date of your iPhone purchase. The plan must be purchased while your iPhone is still under its original one-year warranty. Service coverage may be subject to certain restrictions.
We don't even covered by the original warranty haha

whistling.gif

QUOTE(Balok @ Jan 3 2008, 10:15 PM)
i was wondering.....

after hack my IPhone can buy ACPP for IPhone ka?
This post has been edited by aRRrgghh: Jan 4 2008, 01:43 AM
megatron007
post Jan 4 2008, 04:52 PM

4,000 posts

come talk more in the new forum biggrin.gif
trixx316
post Jan 4 2008, 05:09 PM

255 posts

haiyak..
now so many places to read now.. anyway bravo rclxms.gif rclxms.gif malaysian iphone community

This post has been edited by trixx316: Jan 4 2008, 05:14 PM
megatron007
post Jan 4 2008, 08:43 PM

4,000 posts

bro pls support !

mybargain
post Jan 6 2008, 09:36 PM

43 posts

I second that...where are all the mac "geniuses"? very likely, you already know more than those quota-minded apple guy in the shop.

I almost had an impulse to buy an iphone for myself... but later I parked it aside knowing I have to go through the cycle of new firmware bricking my iphone and waiting for new hacks to surface.. this will just keeping going over and over again

-z-
post Jan 19 2008, 12:02 PM

22 posts

i have some questions .. i read from somewhere saying that iphone can be upgraded once connect to iTunes and it is free... and because we need to unlock the iphone ourself and it cost us to pay for the upgrades (if we want to upgrade)

and.. once we unlock the iphone .. the warranty void ?? (to confirm)

This post has been edited by -z-: Jan 19 2008, 12:02 PM
LaskarCinta
post Jan 19 2008, 12:38 PM

?
1,651 posts

QUOTE(-z- @ Jan 19 2008, 12:02 PM)
i have some questions .. i read from somewhere saying that iphone can be upgraded once connect to iTunes and it is free... and because we need to unlock the iphone ourself and it cost us to pay for the upgrades (if we want to upgrade)

and.. once we unlock the iphone .. the warranty void ?? (to confirm)
For updating the firmware, there's no any charge imposed. It's the iPod touch that if you need to gain 5 more apps that originally came with iPhone. So nope, no charge for upgrading the iPhone. But make sure the firmware is safe (unlockable) before doing the upgrade.

Once the iPhone is unlocked, it will void the warranty. If you done hardware unlock like the GeoHot method, surely it is. But if you only doing software unlock such as AnySIM, you can revert back the baseband before sending for warranty. But remember though that you need to send the iPhone to the country of its origin. Furthermore there's no official iPhone release in Malaysia. Also note that the warranty is covered partially on AT&T and Appple (for US version) so maybe you can send it for warranty, or maybe not (considering that you unlock it and not using AT&T).

This post has been edited by LaskarCinta: Jan 19 2008, 01:44 PM
Voxe
post Jan 19 2008, 03:04 PM

Daft Punker
815 posts

You going to buy one? I was planning to do the same except I can get it cheaper because I have someone to buy it from USA so I get to buy it directly converted from USD into RM.

As for your concern, no, if you take the precaution. The unlocks are purely software and you can restore it using programes which Apple can't tell at all.
smartncy
post Jan 19 2008, 05:51 PM

62 posts

hi guys, since it is quite impossible 2 send bak de iphone 4 warranty, do u guys found or know any expert tat know 2 repair iphone?n do they hav de spare parts? another thing is de battery of de iphone, it cant b replaced by our ownself rite, yet like hardly 2 find any after market battery also....how if one of u is de unlucky one?touch wood...
jz wan 2 think n consider carefully b4 i can pursuade myself 2 get 1...tq tongue.gif
yawhong
post Jan 20 2008, 04:32 PM

ordentlichen Kerl
976 posts

i will say wait for the 3g version
feizaiII
post Jan 20 2008, 05:17 PM

***** Genuine? *****
3,310 posts

unlimit waiting would be ...
ikuwara
post Jan 20 2008, 06:39 PM

63 posts

If you decided to get new iphone now, dont get the unlocked version or try to unlocked the phone. It is because apple going to have an iPhone SDK in developers' hands this February 28 2008.

The purpose of this iphone SDK is creating a vibrant third party developer community around the iPhone and enabling hundreds of new applications for the users. Getting all the dogs n cats together.

For those with locked iphone, get xxxsim to unlocked the phone. Dont do any hardware/software modification for the moment while waiting for the SDK.

More info at ......http://developer.apple.com/iphone/devcenter/
LaskarCinta
post Jan 20 2008, 06:57 PM

?
1,651 posts

It seems that firmware 1.1.3 is already breaks the unlock by sim solutions such as psssim or turbosim. So if u use the 'white' version of the firmware 1.1.3 iPhone, u can't unlock it by sim solutions anyway.
It is also not a harm if using software based unlock. If there's need to use clean version of phone, we can just revirginise the phone and hence, reverts the modified baseband.
Also the jailbreak method doesn't work anymore with new firmware. But they already got the way but it is not released to the public yet as to avoid Apple from revising their firmware so the new jailbreak doesn't work on the SDK enabled iPhones.
Hence, i think there's still need to unlock and jailbreak the iPhone. The SDK is a sandboxed environment and it surely not directly touching the critical processes. But in the other hand, the jailbreak can serve its purpose in allowing critical services to be touched, therefore enabling software based unlocks. If there's no unlock, even the sim solutions can't be used on firmware 1.1.3. Yeah the cat and mouse game continues. And it's best to get both sides : get the jailbreak + get from SDK. That's sweet.

This post has been edited by LaskarCinta: Jan 20 2008, 07:04 PM
lordsharingan
post Jan 20 2008, 06:59 PM

やった!!
656 posts

hardware unlock seems dangerous though.. can't do it by yourself if your not pro.. must call those experienced people to do it.. but can't get warranty after that. =/
iphonegizmo
post Jan 24 2008, 10:48 PM

321 posts

yes best time get now>..
i waiting for you smile.gif
kkshe
post Jan 25 2008, 06:52 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(iphonegizmo @ Jan 24 2008, 10:48 PM)
yes best time get now>..
i waiting for you smile.gif
will get my i phone soon, where can unlock it, pls email me email la. ohaiyoloh@yahoo.com rclxms.gif

mugenfoo
post Jan 25 2008, 07:17 PM

"Assembled Phenomena"
1,061 posts

Anytime is a good time to buy an iPhone !!

Just remember, if you buy a "week 44" or earlier iPhone ( can tell by the serial number punya 4th and 5th digits). you're very lucky!!

If you bought a week 45+ iPhone (aka 112 OTB aka 4.6BootLoader version or any European iPhone), you'll need a SIM proxy device to "trick" the iPhone into thinking your DiGi/Maxis/Celcom SIM is still a "AT&T" Sim.

Most sellers of week 45+ iphones will bundle that SIM thingy with the deal, of sell the iPhones slightly cheaper , but you'll need to get the thingy yourself.

On how to unlock / jailbreak the iPhone so you can install 3rd party apps ... Google is your best friend (but beware, alot of scam sites as well, trying to sell you stuff and all).

Best place to start are:

http://iphone.unlock.no

http://www.hackthatphone.com

BTW, i happen to have a spare one of those SIM thingies. if you're in need of one, pls PM me.

(How I ended up with one ... sad story .. kena FFK by some people !)

Added on January 25, 2008, 7:21 pm
QUOTE(LaskarCinta @ Jan 20 2008, 06:57 PM)
It seems that firmware 1.1.3 is already breaks the unlock by sim solutions such as psssim or turbosim. So if u use the 'white' version of the firmware 1.1.3 iPhone, u can't unlock it by sim solutions anyway.
It is also not a harm if using software based unlock. If there's need to use clean version of phone, we can just revirginise the phone and hence, reverts the modified baseband.
Also the jailbreak method doesn't work anymore with new firmware. But they already got the way but it is not released to the public yet as to avoid Apple from revising their firmware so the new jailbreak doesn't work on the SDK enabled iPhones.
Hence, i think there's still need to unlock and jailbreak the iPhone. The SDK is a sandboxed environment and it surely not directly touching the critical processes. But in the other hand, the jailbreak can serve its purpose in allowing critical services to be touched, therefore enabling software based unlocks. If there's no unlock, even the sim solutions can't be used on firmware 1.1.3. Yeah the cat and mouse game continues. And it's best to get both sides : get the jailbreak + get from SDK. That's sweet.
1.1.3 jailbreak available already... thanks to Nate True (the guy who brought us iBrickr)

http://cre.ations.net/blog/post/iphone-113...lbreak-released

rclxm9.gif icon_idea.gif rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by mugenfoo: Jan 25 2008, 07:21 PM
LaskarCinta
post Jan 25 2008, 08:16 PM

?
1,651 posts

QUOTE(mugenfoo @ Jan 25 2008, 07:17 PM)
1.1.3 jailbreak available already... thanks to Nate True (the guy who brought us iBrickr)

http://cre.ations.net/blog/post/iphone-113...lbreak-released
rclxm9.gif  icon_idea.gif  rclxms.gif
Yeah it's newly available. Haha...just updated my iPhone to 1.1.3. Nice, the unlock survived the firmware update, thanks to the new method that excluding update on baseband firmware.

And yes, you need unlocked phone on fw 1.1.1 or 1.1.2, only after that you can do the update. And yes, still if u done clean 'white version' update to 1.1.3, it can't be unlocked even with sim solutions.

And also, OTB 1.1.2 can already unlocked by hardware method (involves opening the iPhone). maybe not long from now, the software version will be made available. Yeah!
xY.amPang
post Jan 26 2008, 06:56 PM

Announcement:
an Apple MacBook LapTop has been stolen but the thief did not take the charger. Since apple charger is a bit unique and not many Apple reseller around. kindly take note. For those who come across people wanting to sell an Apple MacBook LapTop with serial#" 1PMA700ZA/A (N) or wanting to buy a charger for Apple Laptop... They are possibly the thief or related to the thief or harboring the thief. So kindly send me the necessary eMail (pleassssssseeeeeeeeeeee). I have made report to the police station on this.
Another thing since MacOS is hardly pirated, I am pleading to anybody who knows how to block using any technique possible.
tyc03
post Jan 27 2008, 11:03 AM

218 posts

Anyone know how much an unlocked IPHONE costs in Malaysia?Can we unlock IPHONE without using the Turbosim?
Samanoske Akechi
post Jan 27 2008, 11:31 AM

Itanium Solutions Inc.
625 posts

QUOTE(tyc03 @ Jan 27 2008, 11:03 AM)
Anyone know how much an unlocked IPHONE costs in Malaysia?Can we unlock IPHONE without using the Turbosim?
It depends on who you're getting the phone from. The forum traders now have them going for at least RM2.3k together with the xSIM unlocking solutions. The necessity of the xSIM methods depend on the phone's bootloader and firmware. Anything that came with Bootloader 4.6, AKA 1.1.2 OTB and above can only be unlocked using the xSIM method or the recently added hardware mod.
tyc03
post Jan 27 2008, 11:42 AM

218 posts

QUOTE(Samanoske Akechi @ Jan 27 2008, 11:31 AM)
It depends on who you're getting the phone from. The forum traders now have them going for at least RM2.3k together with the xSIM unlocking solutions. The necessity of the xSIM methods depend on the phone's bootloader and firmware. Anything that came with Bootloader 4.6, AKA 1.1.2 OTB and above can only be unlocked using the xSIM method or the recently added hardware mod.
ok...let say now i bought an Iphone from US,can I upgrade it to the latest firmware without using any xsim?
Samanoske Akechi
post Jan 27 2008, 12:57 PM

Itanium Solutions Inc.
625 posts

QUOTE(tyc03 @ Jan 27 2008, 11:42 AM)
ok...let say now i bought an Iphone from US,can I upgrade it to the latest firmware without using any xsim?
Well, without an xSIM, you'd have one very expensive iPod Touch. Even then, it depends whether you bought yourself an OTB 1.1.2 or 1.1.3 unit. If it's 1.1.2, then you need to get yourself an xSIM to use the phone and SMS features. If it's an OTB 1.1.3 unit, you'll have to wait for the soft-unlock by the iPhone Dev Team after the SDK is released by Apple. Get the idea?
stan001
post Jan 27 2008, 05:50 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(Samanoske Akechi @ Jan 27 2008, 12:57 PM)
Well, without an xSIM, you'd have one very expensive iPod Touch. Even then, it depends whether you bought yourself an OTB 1.1.2 or 1.1.3 unit. If it's 1.1.2, then you need to get yourself an xSIM to use the phone and SMS features. If it's an OTB 1.1.3 unit, you'll have to wait for the soft-unlock by the iPhone Dev Team after the SDK is released by Apple. Get the idea?
Not really, if you purchase from US at US$435 ( US$399 + tax ) when converted to RM is RM1450+

The ipod touch is selling in Malaysia for like RM1300+. So it it only like RM150 more expensive for the phone functionality + bluetooth + camera ( yeah crappy camera from apple )

I read in SG Newspaper that it would be a loooog time before legal iphone hit our shores or SG shores due to the following reasons :-

- SG IDA do not allow phone to be sim Locked.. I think same for Malaysia

- Apple wants like 20-30% of ALL iphone minutes revenue from the iphone. I do not think Telco here or in SG would agreed to that revenue sharing agreement

- Our market is too small for Apple to focus compared countries like China, Japan, etc..due to small population.

So after the above facts, I decide to go ahead and get myself a unit.

The iphone is cool but the innovative apps are even cooler like those accelerometer apps, touch screen apps and really nice to read news & articles on the iphone as an Internet device, zoom in and out using the touch screen.

The only drawback compared to US is that most of our wifi hotspot are NOT free... so for US ppl, 3G is not important as long as they have wifi..

LaskarCinta
post Jan 27 2008, 09:30 PM

?
1,651 posts

QUOTE(stan001 @ Jan 27 2008, 05:50 PM)
Not really, if you purchase from US at US$435 ( US$399 + tax ) when converted to RM is RM1450+

The ipod touch is selling in Malaysia for like RM1300+. So it it only like RM150 more expensive for the phone functionality + bluetooth + camera ( yeah crappy camera from apple )
haha...actually this is not the real case that he wants to mention. What he really wants to tell is that if u don't unlock it with sim solutions what u will have is a very expensive iPod Touch.

owww...btw u can get a Touch now at around RM14xx for 16GB version. huhu...
tyc03
post Jan 28 2008, 11:58 AM

218 posts

ok...so I just have to get an OTB 1.1.3 Iphone and wait for soft-unlock by the iPhone Dev Team then i can use the Iphone with xSim ,right?
Anyway are you an iPhone owner? Is there any service centre at Malaysia or profession who know how to fix an Iphone?
xaw5126
post Jan 28 2008, 01:59 PM

3,488 posts

even if those guys were here, i doubt they'd advertise and risk being known by Apple Malaysia.
LaskarCinta
post Jan 30 2008, 12:48 AM

?
1,651 posts

QUOTE(tyc03 @ Jan 28 2008, 11:58 AM)
ok...so I just have to get an OTB 1.1.3 Iphone and wait for soft-unlock by the iPhone Dev Team then i can use the Iphone with xSim ,right?
Anyway are you an iPhone owner? Is there any service centre at Malaysia or profession who know how to fix an Iphone?
Mmm...if it is fw1.1.3 OTB myb it will be a little prob. Ok let's consider this case :

Fresh 1.1.1 OTB = can use xxxSIM
Fresh 1.1.2 OTB = can use xxxSIM
Fresh 1.1.3 OTB = reportedly can't

Unless the dev team can develop a way to make it unlockable again via xxxSIM using special utility, or u need to revert system firmware and baseband to 1.1.2 and then perform 1.1.3 softjailbreak.

Ok as for the software unlock, they need to extract secpack from a newer version of fw and then apply that to make the predecessor version unlockable. Ok consider this matter, only after fw1.1.2 is released, the OTB1.1.1 can be unlocked. This also considering there's no further encryption method that makes it harder to be unlocked. That's the case of 1.1.2 now. So for OTB 1.1.3, maybe we need at least 1.1.4 or 1.x.x to be released first.

Or maybe there's another way. If they can make software modification of bootloader, or maybe a custom bootloader, there's no problem. The latest method of hardware unlocking is to achieve downgrading bootloader 4.6 to 3.9 by force. Only if that can happen by software-only means, there will be more possibilitoes on next firmware revisions.
adriantai
post Jan 30 2008, 04:23 PM

Yeah..No Need to wait, Get a iphone from 'garage sales'
Just have fun with it, show of abit...
Its just sum big boy's toy u wanted to impress around..
So think about it boyy..

Added on January 30, 2008, 4:26 pmYeah..No Need to wait, Get a iphone from 'garage sales'
Its just sum big boy's toy u wanted to impress around..
So think about it boyy..

This post has been edited by adriantai: Jan 30 2008, 04:26 PM
Samanoske Akechi
post Jan 30 2008, 06:24 PM

Itanium Solutions Inc.
625 posts

QUOTE(adriantai @ Jan 30 2008, 04:23 PM)
Yeah..No Need to wait, Get a iphone from 'garage sales'
Its just  sum big boy's toy u wanted to impress around..
So think about it boyy..

Added on January 30, 2008, 4:26 pmYeah..No Need to wait, Get a iphone from 'garage sales'
Its just  sum big boy's toy u wanted to impress around..
So think about it boyy..
Lol, this 'no need to wait' does have it's compensations. It's a big investment, or expenditure to consider, plus the fact that the BL 4.6 phones are being obstructed at almost everything which involves firmware and baseband upgrades. So, I'd say to be more specific, don't wait for the phone to come here just to avoid hacking, as adrian mentioned, coz it's quite a pointless wait, plus the bragging rights factor laugh.gif laugh.gif Still, wait just a bit to study up on the phone's most recent updates in the jailbreaking/unlocking scene before getting one, or you'll end up being flamed left and right when you ask old answered questions.

bola
post Jan 31 2008, 12:59 PM

222 posts

dear iphone gurus,

Newbie questions:

been reading the forums and various sites but still, unsure so here goes:

for a 1.1.2 OTB 4.6 bootloader-ed iphone, i understand that the only way to unlock the iphone is by using a xSIM (StealthSIM,TurboSIM, HyperSIM, NextSIM etc).

my confusion is :
1. once slotted in between the SIMcard and the phone contact points the xSIM would dupe the iphone into thinking that its still an AT&T SIM. would the unlocking still be necessary?

2. jailbreak is still a necessity if you want to install 3rd party apps.
so if one were to wait for the STK to be released come Feb'08 does that mean that we can install apps via iTunes then?

3. if i were to jailbreak which is the right option for a xSIM-ed 1.1.2 4.6 bootloader iphone ? been looking around and its really confusing.

4. i understand that someone with an xSIM / OTB iphone cannot update to 1.1.3 using iTunes but via the Nate True iBrickr Special 1.1.3 Jailbreak Edition or iphone Dev Team. is that correct?

5. which iTunes versions should i have? should i upgrade to the latest? does it matter? currently i have 7.3 installed smile.gif

Samanoske Akechi
post Jan 31 2008, 04:33 PM

Itanium Solutions Inc.
625 posts

QUOTE(bola @ Jan 31 2008, 12:59 PM)
dear iphone gurus,

Newbie questions:

been reading the forums and various sites but still, unsure so here goes:

for a 1.1.2 OTB 4.6 bootloader-ed iphone, i understand that the only way to unlock the iphone is by using a xSIM (StealthSIM,TurboSIM, HyperSIM, NextSIM etc).

my confusion is :
1. once slotted in between the SIMcard and the phone contact points the xSIM would dupe the iphone into thinking that its still an AT&T SIM. would the unlocking still be necessary?

2. jailbreak is still a necessity if you want to install 3rd party apps.
so if one were to wait for the STK to be released come Feb'08 does that mean that we can install apps via iTunes then?

3. if i were to jailbreak which is the right option for a xSIM-ed 1.1.2 4.6 bootloader iphone ? been looking around and its really confusing.

4. i understand that someone with an xSIM / OTB iphone cannot update to 1.1.3 using iTunes but via the Nate True iBrickr Special 1.1.3 Jailbreak Edition or iphone Dev Team. is that correct?

5. which iTunes versions should i have? should i upgrade to the latest? does it matter? currently i have 7.3 installed smile.gif

1. No, the anySIM/IPSF soft-unlocking methods will not be required after using an xSIM. However, a jailbreak is still required in order to bypass activation and gain access to the iPhone's file system.

2. There is still no exact idea on HOW official apps will be installed on the iPhone with the SDK coming Feb '08. But yeah, it will basically replace the jailbreaking + Installer.app system we're relying on at the moment...

3. The jailbreaking method for ANY 1.1.2 is the same, may it be BL 4.6 or 3.9. The only difference is that BL 3.9 phones can be soft-unlocked after the jailbreak, whereas 4.6 phones will have to rely on the xSIM method. Basically, it involves RESTORING the phone back to 1.1.1, jailbreaking 1.1.1, installing Oktoprep, the UPDATING back to to 1.1.2, where it'll be jailbroken with the Java jailbreak file. I've attached the mentioned Java file to this post, in case anyone may need it. smile.gif An full guide can be found HERE

4. Yes, phones that came with 1.1.2/1.1.3 OTB mean they have the dreaded BL 4.6, which cannot be upgraded using the special patching system used by both Nate and the Dev Team's methods. This is because the baseband 04.02.13_G used by these methods cannot be soft-unlocked in the phone itself, while the 1.1.3 firmware nulls the use of xSIMs. Just FYI, both these methods involve splitting up the firmware and baseband inside the original 1.1.3 restore file and patching up only the firmware to 1.1.3 without affecting the unlocked baseband 04.02.13_G in unlocked 1.1.2 phones on BL 3.9 >>> UPDATE : I may be wrong here, checking sources now..... <<<

5. So far, 7.4.3 is considered the safest for iPhone synchronizing. Several new protocols were added in the AppleMobileDevice.dll for the 7.5 release, which had some minor effects on the phone's connectivity with a PC, buit it's still working fine overall for me. As for the latest 7.6 release, one of the most noted changes is the disabled ability to detect iPhones in restore mode, meaning we would no longer be able to restore our phones without it being set up nicely in iTunes.... sad.gif

This post has been edited by Samanoske Akechi: Jan 31 2008, 05:09 PM

Attached File(s)
Attached File  1.1.2_jailbreak_UPDATED.zip ( 5.86mb ) Number of downloads: 2
LaskarCinta
post Feb 1 2008, 04:36 AM

?
1,651 posts

QUOTE(Samanoske Akechi @ Jan 31 2008, 04:33 PM)
As for the latest 7.6 release, one of the most noted changes is the disabled ability to detect iPhones in restore mode, meaning we would no longer be able to restore our phones without it being set up  nicely in iTunes.... sad.gif
remember though that we can still doing force restore on 7.6 using iPHUC with extra RELEASE.dfu file. And it accesses the phone using older version of iTunes Mobile Device Service included. Just google for 'Downgrade 1.1.3' if you need that kit. Only after doing that the iTunes will then detect iPhone in Restore mode.

Of course there's no need to go to iTunes 7.6. Unless if you prefer to manually transfer tracks (not only syncing playlist) and u really need iTunes Movie Rental (hohoho...), there's really no need to make that shift.
hengwoon
post Feb 1 2008, 04:42 AM

48 posts

I would wait till Apple comes out with an iPhone that is catered to the Asian wireless market, ie 3G, MMS, nice to have built in GPS, etc. Pretty sure they will only offer it to certain providers, but then again there's probably going to be unlock programs not long after the release.

LaskarCinta
post Feb 1 2008, 05:18 AM

?
1,651 posts

But if it's really comes here, and it comes locked, myb there's no need for me to unlock then. Yup, myb there's still need for jailbreak, but for SIM unlocking I think I don't need one. As if i'm going to unlock it to switch to other provider, some features will be lacking already (such as Visual Voicemail, etc etc). Also think about network full compatibility with iPhone.

Hehehe...don't worry, it is only my opinion. Yeah everything's good if it comes unlocked. Yeah, IF it really comes here. A big IF.

Oh, also it's not about 3G and MMS that it's not to cater Asian market. Take example of Europe release of iPhone. Many of their areas are covered by 3G, but EDGE penetration is rather low. And still, iPhones are released there. Think about it.

Yup it is better if it really does come to Malaysia. As in the meantime it doesn't have covered by warranty (concerning our unlocked iPhone), it is difficult for me to recommend anyone else in my family to use iPhone. If it is really here, then it's another story. Maybe it will be here as the current gen, or maybe when gen 2 is already available. So maybe it is 3G or maybe not.
terencetoo
post Feb 1 2008, 11:05 AM

3,246 posts

so guys basically should get the fully unlocked iphone or the unlocked ones?

make any differences?
LaskarCinta
post Feb 1 2008, 03:23 PM

?
1,651 posts

QUOTE(terencetoo @ Feb 1 2008, 11:05 AM)
so guys basically should get the fully unlocked iphone or the unlocked ones?

make any differences?
mmmm...what do you mean by fully unlocked or unlocked?

ok basically iPhone locking mechanism comes with 2 layers, which is Activation Lock and SIM Lock.

for bypassing activation, it can be achieved with using jailbreak.

Ok, now for the SIM locking part. iPhones come with two versions of bootloader which are BL 3.9 (for iPhone 1.1.1 OTB and below) and BL 4.6 (iPhone with 1.1.2 OTB and above). So for iPhone with BL 3.9, they can be fully unlocked (provided that the jailbreak version and baseband modifier for the firmware is available). As for BL 4.6, you need to resort to sim solutions (TurboSIM, PSS SIM, HyperCard, etc etc) as this BL makes it difficult to do modifications on the baseband (the module that controls wireless connectivity), so it can't be SIM unlocked.

So if u r using fully unlocked phone, u don't need to use xxxxSIM method. But this version is rare in market now as the BL revision is done in November last year.

Ok as for recent progress, there is a way to downgrade the bootloader. it involves opening the unit itself, which might be pretty scary for us.

So, it will be not that easy to get a fully unlocked unit. maybe 9/10 of iPhones u found in market are already on BL 4.6. And the price of BL 3.9 iPhones are jacked to an unimaginable extent (found it with RM3xxx price tag).
terencetoo
post Feb 1 2008, 05:09 PM

3,246 posts

@LaskarCinta

Appreciate your clarification there now i get the picture what is going on what 3.6 and 4.6

btw what is the version for iPhone in the M'sia market now? Most of them from US or other places?

Which SIM is good to use? there are so many different unlock sims Turbo/PSS/Hyper/Nex/Gpps something. What are the main differences between them?

will be too late to get iphone? i mean is first Q in yr2008...wait another while more will be 2nd batch of iphone parallel seller will bring in...

let say I get the 1.1.2 able to upgrade to 1.1.3 since the latest version has came out? confuse

LaskarCinta
post Feb 1 2008, 05:51 PM

?
1,651 posts

QUOTE(terencetoo @ Feb 1 2008, 05:09 PM)
@LaskarCinta

Appreciate your clarification there now i get the picture what is going on what 3.6 and 4.6

btw what is the version for iPhone in the M'sia market now? Most of them from US or other places?

Which SIM is good to use? there are so many different unlock sims Turbo/PSS/Hyper/Nex/Gpps something. What are the main differences between them?

will be too late to get iphone? i mean is first Q in yr2008...wait another while more will be 2nd batch of iphone parallel seller will bring in...

let say I get the 1.1.2 able to upgrade to 1.1.3 since the latest version has came out? confuse
In malaysia, most of the iPhones are from US. Coz it is cheaper and many of the sim solutions such as TurboSIM are programmed to emulate AT&T US ICCD code.

A lot of unlocking solutions are available. Some can support dual simcard, which will be more convenient. But TurboSIM is superduper expensive here. But i can't tell what's the best as i'm not using sim solution (i'm on BL3.9). But cheap alternatives are HyperCard (dual sim), PSS Sim, 3gpp Sim, etc etc. Also they may differ in its way of sim cutting.

About the timing to get the iPhone, i dunno. There's so much speculation that maybe there will be next generation of iPhone. Or maybe not.

So for updating firmware, it is not straightforward as clicking Update button in iTunes (as we want to get jailbreak working). For 1.1.1 to 1.1.2, we need to install OktoPrep first and only after that, we r safe to proceed for the Update button. As for 1.1.2 to 1.1.3, we are not updating it inside iTunes. We need to split the package into fw and bb, and then just installing the firmware without baseband being modified. FYI the baseband update inside 1.1.3 package already blows unlock from sim solutions.
shamnemesis
post Feb 2 2008, 04:31 AM

540 posts

i think apple iphone would official launch by end of this year probably at sep or november .. and price at Rm 2999,00 .. but not sure maybe humors only
LaskarCinta
post Feb 2 2008, 05:22 AM

?
1,651 posts

hehehe...still remains as rumour. Still no real sign or even a small hint of its availability here.
terencetoo
post Feb 2 2008, 01:56 PM

3,246 posts

alright seems no need to wait ~

i would like to know what im going to face while getting now iphone? (now) smile.gif

does alot of unresponsive programs cant be use?
Edge connectivity? seems Apple thread there many user facing this prob?....

any other things i should take note while using iphone~ pls enlight me where im going to get it real soon~

LaskarCinta
post Feb 2 2008, 02:33 PM

?
1,651 posts

QUOTE(terencetoo @ Feb 2 2008, 01:56 PM)
alright seems no need to wait ~

i would like to know what im going to face while getting now iphone? (now) smile.gif

does alot of unresponsive programs cant be use?
Edge connectivity? seems Apple thread there many user facing this prob?....

any other things i should take note while using iphone~ pls enlight me where im going to get it real soon~

ok let's start with firmware. usual firmware that we can find are 1.1.2 and 1.1.3 (considering new iPhones comes with 1.1.2 OTB already)

some applications are made for earlier version (such as 1.1.1) so maybe it will run or maybe not on newer fw. but no need to worry coz usually installer will tell on the app page that it is not compatible etc etc.

now about updating firmware. do not just click that shiny Update button in iTunes if u haven't done your research yet. ok as for now, you can't just update from 1.1.2 to 1.1.3 in iTunes as it will lock your phone even if you are using sim solutions such as TurboSIM etc etc. The new baseband update already recognizes this type of sim bluffing and it will not access the network using that simcard. And yes, no way of turning back yet.
terencetoo
post Feb 2 2008, 02:36 PM

3,246 posts

so u mean i cant use iTunes?

can i use iTune just to transfer MP3 to iPhone?

Added on February 2, 2008, 2:37 pmsorry add on, what about applications that come with iphone able to use most of them?

Added on February 2, 2008, 2:39 pmn another 1 hour im going to get mine set!
thanks for ppl whom reply my question~ biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by terencetoo: Feb 2 2008, 02:39 PM
LaskarCinta
post Feb 2 2008, 03:04 PM

?
1,651 posts

mmm...u can still use iTunes to transfer media, phone numbers, pictures.
but as for now, u can't straightaway update to 1.1.3 inside iTunes.
Samanoske Akechi
post Feb 4 2008, 08:13 PM

Itanium Solutions Inc.
625 posts

QUOTE(terencetoo @ Feb 2 2008, 02:36 PM)
so u mean i cant use iTunes?

can i use iTune just to transfer MP3 to iPhone?

Added on February 2, 2008, 2:37 pmsorry add on, what about applications that come with iphone able to use most of them?

Added on February 2, 2008, 2:39 pmn another 1 hour im going to get mine set!
thanks for ppl whom reply my question~ biggrin.gif
Wow, that's another awesome gadget into your whole stockpile of cool stuff listed in your sig. Enjoying it so far, mate? Quickly report in your current status. Working perfect?

0.0488sec    0.77    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 10:17 PM