jasontoh
post Jan 19 2010, 06:33 PM

8,432 posts

QUOTE(banana @ Jan 19 2010, 04:19 PM)
Ermmm... can you show me the details calculation?  sweat.gif

Thanks in advance !!!
Special Single Tier 75¢ TE  20-Nov-09  07-Dec-09  09-Dec-09  17-Dec-09  124¢ 188¢

Interim 49¢ single tier TE  22-Jul-09  01-Sep-09  03-Sep-09  18-Sep-09  49¢ 188¢

Final single tier 53¢ TE  07-May-09  03-Jun-09  05-Jun-09  12-Jun-09  188¢ 227.75¢
Assume div no changes Interim + Final = RM1.02
So DY = 1.02/21 * 100 = 5%

Assume with Special = RM1.02 + 75c = 1.77
So DY = 1.77/21 * 100 = 8%

jtleon
post Jan 20 2010, 12:04 PM

266 posts

QUOTE(rayloo @ Jan 19 2010, 12:12 PM)
Star Business Online, register first and you will see what you want.
in Star, we got to see each company one by one, but i meant like we can go to a sector, and sort by DY value for those counters
ThanatosSwiftfire
post Jan 20 2010, 12:07 PM

Irregular
2,787 posts

uh, as far as I know I can export m2u's data into excel for my analysis, so sorting by DY is very easy imo. However, we must then further drill down into the compoenents of the DY figure provided because it may not be valid anymore

(special dividends which are one off, any bonus/right issue that may dilute DY, etc etc)
jtleon
post Jan 22 2010, 10:24 AM

266 posts

QUOTE(ThanatosSwiftfire @ Jan 20 2010, 12:07 PM)
uh, as far as I know I can export m2u's data into excel for my analysis, so sorting by DY is very easy imo. However, we must then further drill down into the compoenents of the DY figure provided because it may not be valid anymore

(special dividends which are one off, any bonus/right issue that may dilute DY, etc etc)
m2u means maybank2u?
i don't have any account with maybank.

simplety
post Feb 23 2010, 02:11 PM

147 posts

Dear sifus,
I got one noob question, hope you all can recommend.

I have RM 1M cash, which I dun need to use for the time being (4-6 years).
I do not know anything about shares.
If I want a low-risk, high dividend shares, what should I buy?
Can recommend maybe 2-3 counters??

1. Nestle?
2. BAT?
3. Digi? - can last good dividends for another 6 years?
4. BJToTo? - can last good dividends for another 6 years?
cherroy
post Feb 23 2010, 02:24 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(simplety @ Feb 23 2010, 02:11 PM)
Dear sifus,

1. Nestle?
2. BAT?
3. Digi?    - can last good dividends for another 6 years?
4. BJToTo?    - can last good dividends for another 6 years?
Do know anything about shares, then keep the money in FD.
End of story. smile.gif

1)2)3) are indeed good dividend stocks.

But as said, if one doesn't know anything, better don't touch anything. Knowing and understand the risk you are taking is the first priority thing to do.

htt
post Feb 23 2010, 03:24 PM

4,305 posts

Dear sifus,

1. Nestle?
2. BAT?
Better get some pros to help you then...
Oracles99
post Feb 23 2010, 10:57 PM

984 posts

Dear sifus,

1. Nestle?
2. BAT?
Everything in the stock market is not cast in stone. The prices of shares are not stable. It moves up or down due to investor expectations. Are u able to withstand the pressures of price fluctuations?

You must not be emotionally attached to yr investment. If the hint of an economic storm appears on the horizon, u would have to make a hard decision whether to hold on or to sell yr investment. In short, u must know what u are buying.

For example, in 1997/1998 the entire stock market collapse irrespective of whether the share is paying good dividends or not.

No one can guarantee that the share which is paying good dividends now will continue to do so in the future. It only make the chances of the company failing less likely.

For example BAT is good stock but the tobacco industry is a sunset industry. In 4 to 6 years time, what would happen to the industry?
Kamen Rider
post Feb 24 2010, 08:54 AM

554 posts

QUOTE(Oracles99 @ Feb 23 2010, 10:57 PM)
Everything in the stock market is not cast in stone. The prices of shares are not stable. It moves up or down due to investor expectations. Are u able to withstand the pressures of price fluctuations?

You must not be emotionally attached to yr investment. If the hint of an economic storm appears on the horizon, u would have to make a hard decision whether to hold on or to sell yr investment. In short, u must know what u are buying.

For example, in 1997/1998 the entire stock market collapse irrespective of whether the share is paying good dividends or not.

No one can guarantee that the share which is paying good dividends now will continue to do so in the future. It only make the chances of the company failing less likely.

For example BAT is good stock but the tobacco industry is a sunset industry. In 4 to 6 years time, what would happen to the industry?
Yes just like recently financial meltdown, most of the market plunged during last year March time frame, and guess what all counters going south including all the blue chips ..... and whoever grab it that time will get a handsome gain.................

for tobacco industry, you can said it is a sunset or probably over matured biz....the main factors contributed to it such as illicit cigaratte is trending up, heavy tax imposed almost every years, some scary pictures, soon to face out 14-sticks packaging............ thus resulted contraction in overall market demand...........................................

i have been tracking the dividends for years...and also getting some of the dividends and below are some info

1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009
Turnover 1,964.0 1,947.0 2,036.0 2,772.0 3,010.0 3,073.0 3,199.0 3,236.7 3,564.2 3,612.5 3,830.0 4,135.0 3,923.0
Profit 483.0 629.0 380.0 506.0 607.7 662.9 758.2 782.1 592.8 719.7 731.0 811.0 746.0
EPS 169.0 220.0 133.0 177.2 212.8 232.2 265.5 273.9 207.6 252.0 256.3 284.3 261.5
Net DPS 154.0 155.0 100.8 170.0 245.4 216.0 310.0 248.4 250.1 254.0 256.5 265.0 236.0

1. Over the 1997 to 2009, average dividends at 220.1 cents and total payout of 28.61
2. Revenue going up trends due to price increase, even though demand is going down

Digi.............recently seeing and up trend in dividends... 54 cents on the way will be expired on 4-Mar-2010

thumbup.gif

fryguy14us
post Feb 24 2010, 09:05 AM

23 posts

why dont u just give me the 1m and i will play 4 u in the market..hehe i take small cut...how?? hehe
Oracles99
post Feb 24 2010, 08:14 PM

984 posts

QUOTE(fryguy14us @ Feb 24 2010, 09:05 AM)
why dont u just give me the 1m and i will play 4 u in the market..hehe i take small cut...how?? hehe
Ha ha, u can guarantee u won't make a loss? biggrin.gif

PikachuPikachu
post Feb 25 2010, 04:53 PM

175 posts

hey folks.. i'm having a prob here.. i bought gamuda on jan 2010 b4 the ex date but until now i have yet to receive the divvy cheque from them.. what should i do?? the payment date should be b4 cny..
smartly
post Feb 25 2010, 05:02 PM

2,148 posts

QUOTE(PikachuPikachu @ Feb 25 2010, 04:53 PM)
hey folks.. i'm having a prob here.. i bought gamuda on jan 2010 b4 the ex date but until now i have yet to receive the divvy cheque from them.. what should i do?? the payment date should be b4 cny..
Call your remisier else call the registrar office.
simplety
post Feb 25 2010, 05:13 PM

147 posts

1. I wun be emotional la... Extra money, not my savings.
2. If let you play, I better buy Nestle, BAT, Digi and wait.
3. If let you play, I better play forex and properties. My expertise. biggrin.gif thumbup.gif
hanif444
post Feb 25 2010, 05:24 PM

1,523 posts

i still love to buy REIT rather than FD/bond...
jasontoh
post Feb 25 2010, 10:03 PM

8,432 posts

Write letter, at least that was what my mum did. Or maybe call to double confirm first. Btw, are you sure it will send you the cheques, instead of direct bank to your CDS account if you are using nominal account.
mo_meng
post Feb 25 2010, 10:22 PM

2,646 posts

haniff which reit u buying now n hv high div yield?
pikachu .. u buy b4 ex date .. but did u sell it b4 ex date also haha n what type of account ur having?
David_Brent
post Feb 25 2010, 10:53 PM

Caveat Emptor
3,423 posts

First: call the Share Registrar (Symphony - or whoever) and tell them your situation. They probably won't give a **** about your problem and they may not even pick up the phone.... hmm.gif

So then your next move is to call the company direct and tell them you are a shareholder and ask to speak to the head of Treasury. It's the Treasury Department in the company responsible for the divvy payments. nod.gif

Tell them your situation and they should be able to check the records and get you your divvy cheque.... rclxm9.gif

P.S. If that doesn't work, suggest you call Jason's Mum and she may tell you what to do...... laugh.gif

This post has been edited by David_Brent: Feb 25 2010, 10:58 PM
cherroy
post Feb 25 2010, 11:43 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(David_Brent @ Feb 25 2010, 10:53 PM)
First: call the Share Registrar (Symphony - or whoever) and tell them your situation. They probably won't give a **** about your problem and they may not even pick up the phone.... hmm.gif

So then your next move is to call the company direct and tell them you are a shareholder and ask to speak to the head of Treasury. It's the Treasury Department in the company responsible for the divvy payments.  nod.gif

Tell them your situation and they should be able to check the records and get you your divvy cheque.... rclxm9.gif

P.S. If that doesn't work, suggest you call Jason's Mum and she may tell you what to do...... laugh.gif
Most share registrar is quite professional in dealing this kind of issue. Comopany registrar is appointed solely for dealing this kind of issue.

Phone them directly and with a formal letter sent generally will do the job.

David_Brent
post Feb 26 2010, 01:12 AM

Caveat Emptor
3,423 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Feb 25 2010, 11:43 PM)
Most share registrar is quite professional in dealing this kind of issue. Comopany registrar is appointed solely for dealing this kind of issue.

Phone them directly and with a formal letter sent generally will do the job.
Not in my own experience with my WEIDA divvy cheque. That is why I advised the OP accordingly.

Symphony were completely useless - especially as we know that around CNY a lot of staff jump ship......which was the case with them....I got stories of cheques sent out and "lost" and stories of 'Rachel has left the company' and every story immaginable from Symphony... what a dreadful bunch of charlatans they are....

It took me 90 days to get my dividend payment from WEIDA and the share registrar people were useless.....They could NOT care less....

Promised to "look into it"....promised to "call back"....promised to "speak to the boss"......The usual run around.... Nobody did anything they said they would do. This is the sign of a very bad organisation....

Maybe your experience is better than mine but I can guarantee that the best way to get what's owing is to deal directly with the people who have a legal responsibility to pay you what is owed to you....and if they don't - then escalate from there.

Just my view...others may have been luckier than me...

icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by David_Brent: Feb 26 2010, 01:16 AM

103 Pages « < 40 41 42 43 44 > » Top

0.0358sec    0.66    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 03:15 AM