103 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

High Dividend Counters, Better than putting in FD

cyclone9
post Jan 3 2008, 10:35 AM

War Kills Love , Love Save War
2,949 posts

QUOTE(KingRichard @ Jan 3 2008, 10:32 AM)
you get the dividend in cheque or transfer into account

i use it in my calculations as a method to reduce my average share price - you can always spend it, and not take it into account when calculating profit/loss
if i buy before exdate... i still get the dividend?
KingRichard
post Jan 3 2008, 10:46 AM

1,015 posts

QUOTE(cyclone9 @ Jan 3 2008, 10:35 AM)
if i buy before exdate... i still get the dividend?
have to buy/shares transferred before ex-date

This post has been edited by KingRichard: Jan 3 2008, 10:53 AM
cyclone9
post Jan 3 2008, 11:06 AM

2,949 posts

im pretty newbie in stock ..lol
tq for ur response...

i'm thinking buying 2 stock to play dividend biggrin.gif any recommendation?biggrin.gif
Crossbone
post Jan 3 2008, 01:53 PM

275 posts

you guys can take a look at STAR(6084) too

price quite stable and had a good history of dividend payouts
cyclone9
post Jan 3 2008, 02:40 PM

2,949 posts

QUOTE(Crossbone @ Jan 3 2008, 01:53 PM)
you guys can take a look at STAR(6084) too

price quite stable and had a good history of dividend payouts
last year 0.40sen dividend mmm
pay on april and october.. consistent...

I guess the key to buy share for dividend is buy more amount of share for smaller price but also pay more than 10% dividend?

This post has been edited by cyclone9: Jan 3 2008, 03:01 PM
KingRichard
post Jan 3 2008, 03:19 PM

1,015 posts

QUOTE(cyclone9 @ Jan 3 2008, 02:40 PM)
last year 0.40sen dividend mmm
pay on april and october.. consistent...

I guess the key to buy share for dividend is buy more amount of share for smaller price but also pay more than 10% dividend?
that's one thing too look at, but should also look at capital appreciation...otherwise they maybe giving good dividend yields, but share price keep falling...

take a look at yi-lai: one of the highest dividend yields around, at low absolute share price - but the share price has been also steadily falling - so it erodes the dividend gains

compare it with say, maybulk or ytlpower: higher share price but lower divided yield, but has steadily appreciated despite the dividends paid out

you make your decision...

cherroy
post Jan 3 2008, 03:43 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(KingRichard @ Jan 3 2008, 03:19 PM)
that's one thing too look at, but should also look at capital appreciation...otherwise they maybe giving good dividend yields, but share price keep falling...

take a look at yi-lai: one of the highest dividend yields around, at low absolute share price - but the share price has been also steadily falling - so it erodes the dividend gains

compare it with say, maybulk or ytlpower: higher share price but lower divided yield, but has steadily appreciated despite the dividends paid out

Don't solely look at dividend or dividend yield to decide. There are several major important factors to look at for those high dividend yield stock too:

1. EPS, as EPS is the main source of the dividend, one to look at its EPS whether it can sustain the high dividend payout. Some dividend payout are special (due to asset appreciation or some special gain through asset disposal)which might not repeatable on next year or in the future.

2. Company prospect or future earning, it comes to future earning or EPS as well. As if the company future is good and future EPS will be improving that will only mean higher possible dividend in the future.

Those above 2 criteria are quite important to look at when choosing high dividend stocks. If one particular share has good prospect and EPS is good and sufficient to sustain its current high dividend payout, 90% of the chance, investment in this particular of stock won't go wrong too much.

Most of the time, market is quite efficient to interpret the situation, a stock won't have too high dividend yield as there are tons of people queueing to buy when the yield is attractive enough. If a stock is having too high yield compared to market average then you need to look more in depth into it, why people don't want it? Highly possible people think their future prospect is not good so won't be sustain the previous high dividend payout. Although market sometimes can be wrong, one should always look more in depth about it before commiting.

Just my 2 cents.

This post has been edited by cherroy: Jan 3 2008, 03:48 PM
munchu87
post Jan 7 2008, 02:00 AM

161 posts

QUOTE(panasonic88 @ Dec 29 2007, 09:15 AM)
muahaha,

Remiser: har Appllo? buy from grocery or supermarket biscuit section la laugh.gif
hahah yalo... apollo bisuit... thats funny..
raZorblAde
post Jan 11 2008, 08:47 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(warbamboo @ Dec 29 2007, 02:50 PM)
it's not that hard razorblade, go to any of those investment banks and open a CDS account, they will normally assign a remisier or agent for you.

that's the best way to start, talk to those remisiers, see how you can start with a small capital and what are the right stocks to put your money in.

most of these investment houses have analysts that would constantly let these guys knw the upcoming trend and so on, so you can be a lot more safer that way.

thanks, dude...
theforest
post Jan 12 2008, 12:04 PM

How about PBBank ?
smartly
post Jan 13 2008, 12:08 AM

2,148 posts

PBBANK is expected to announce its dividend very soon. Watch out for it, i expect a good one from them, take a look at thier payout so far...
Jordy
post Jan 13 2008, 12:37 AM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(KingRichard @ Jan 3 2008, 03:19 PM)

Yi Lai has one of the highest DY, based on the previous year, but is the dividend consistent?
Most of the counters have high DY, but are the 'one-off' type, just a gimmick to lure traders eyes.
Maybe a track record of it would reveal the average payout of it? smile.gif
beginner
post Jan 13 2008, 01:35 AM

374 posts

QUOTE(smartly @ Jan 13 2008, 12:08 AM)
PBBANK is expected to announce its dividend very soon. Watch out for it, i expect a good one from them, take a look at thier payout so far...
the % indicated is % of EPS being paid out ke?
klsestockreview
post Jan 13 2008, 02:17 AM

33 posts

BJTOTO is brilliant for dividends. Its even more than PBBank although I would certainly recommend it too. LPI is another stock you can look at. I've done few posts on dividend paying stocks which might interest you. Links are below....

http://klsestockreview.blogspot.com/2007/0...jtoto-1562.html
http://klsestockreview.blogspot.com/2007/0...h-dividend.html

Jordy
post Jan 13 2008, 10:58 AM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(beginner @ Jan 13 2008, 01:35 AM)
the % indicated is % of EPS being paid out ke?
The % payout is calculated based on its par value.
If the counter has a par of RM1 and assuming a payout of 10%, it means a dividend of RM0.10.
smartly
post Jan 13 2008, 01:35 PM

2,148 posts

QUOTE(Jordy @ Jan 13 2008, 10:58 AM)
The % payout is calculated based on its par value.
If the counter has a par of RM1 and assuming a payout of 10%, it means a dividend of RM0.10.
To further add on, a dividend of RM0.10 mean RM100.00 before tax to you.
Same thing a dividend of RM0.20 means RM200.00 before tax and so on n so forth.......
SKY 1809
post Jan 14 2008, 11:13 AM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(Neo18 @ Dec 24 2007, 11:44 AM)
ya

REIT - 50k
Bond - 40k
Stock - 150k
Structured product - 200k
UT - 80k

but at the moment, i'm losing money!!! cry.gif  vmad.gif
The way i see you know investments well like putting in REIT, BOND and so on, what could go wrong ? By the way, what is structured product ? that you put a high weight on it, are they performing ok ? Mind to share, and want to learn from you.

Added on January 14, 2008, 11:50 am
QUOTE(chinkw1 @ Dec 24 2007, 12:35 PM)
Pana,

Maybulk dividend is TAX-EXEMPTED.
BJtoto need to deduct 27% tax leh

Maybulk is better actually
2nd opinion :-

Maybulk's profit could be affected by high oil price and quite cyclical. The investment cost to buy or maintain a ship is high compared to BTOTO. THE GOOD PT is it is linked to Robert Kuok WITH big palm oil land and commodities to support this shipping company. Listed not long ago.

BTOTO is consumer stock ( laymen buying ekor) and is more defensive in view of current US economic uncertainty. linked to Berjaya Group ( not very popular with old time investors at one time ) We used to call this type of co as CASH COW, meaning they keep a lot of cash or less borrowings. If US were to go into recession this year, then investors will park their money here. Got online bettings outside Malaysia.

BTOTO declared windfall dividend of rm1/share before, but that is not the point. Consistently pay out good dividends (got track records ). Islamic fund cannot invest in this counter.

There is one good counter that in the past, investors tend to ignore now it is doing well, i.e Asiatic. The share is oledi doubled up ( one year period ). If a small timer with only investment in this counter, he can out perform our fund managers ( in return of % return over a year )

This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Jan 14 2008, 01:31 PM
cherroy
post Jan 14 2008, 01:42 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(SKY 1809 @ Jan 14 2008, 11:13 AM)
The way i see you know investments well like putting in REIT, BOND and so on, what could go wrong ? By the way, what is structured product ? that you put a high weight on it, are they performing ok ? Mind to share, and want to learn from you.

Structured investment product is also type of closed ended fund which is one off that will be run a period of time, like 1 years 2, 3 years which can be investing in certain stock (mostly overseas), options, derivatives product etc depends on the nature of structured product.
Most banks impose a min of Rm250K while a few at Rm100K.

Added on January 14, 2008, 1:44 pm
QUOTE(SKY 1809 @ Jan 14 2008, 11:13 AM)
BTOTO is consumer stock ( laymen buying ekor) and is more defensive in view of current US economic uncertainty. linked to Berjaya Group ( not very popular with old time investors at one time )
It is because the historical issue of inter-company loan that draining the BJtoto cash pile which only being settled after 7-8 years recently. Can't blame the old investors not willing to pick up it.

This post has been edited by cherroy: Jan 14 2008, 03:09 PM
SKY 1809
post Jan 14 2008, 03:10 PM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Jan 14 2008, 02:42 PM)
Structured investment product is also type of closed ended fund which is one off that will be run a period of time, like 1 years 2, 3 years which can be investing in certain stock (mostly overseas), options, derivatives product etc depends on the nature of structured product.
Most banks impose a min of Rm250K while a few at Rm100K.

Added on January 14, 2008, 1:44 pm

It is because the issue of inter-company loan that draining the BJtoto cash pile which only being settled after 7-8 years recently. Can't blame the old investors not willing to pick up it.
Thank you for yr explanation.

I personally dislike Berjaya Group. Cannot talk too much here, otherwise could end up in legal case.

Seldom people talk about Cash Rich Companies now a day. Personally l love these companies. These counters would not likely to go bust when the market plunges.

This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Jan 14 2008, 03:18 PM
cherroy
post Jan 14 2008, 03:21 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(SKY 1809 @ Jan 14 2008, 03:10 PM)
Thank you for yr explanation.

I personally dislike Berjaya Group. Cannot talk too much here, otherwise could end up in legal case.

Seldom people talk about Cash Rich Companies now a day. Personally l love these companies.
Yup, in the credit tighten environment, just like credit crunch in US recently, cash rich company will always cruise through the bad time (if happened).

Cash rich + high dividend yield company is always good to have one.
It is not people don't talk about those company as those people that have bought one is aim for long term holding, they don't care much about daily price movement of the stocks, what they care the most is the dividend yield that they are getting and company remains high profitibility to sustain its high dividend.
Just like myself, I don't monitor much about those high dividend yield stock I have, only when they released their financial result nor I talk about it, (only talk when people ask to raise some issue regarding it), as they are kind of 'boring' stocks.

This post has been edited by cherroy: Jan 14 2008, 03:23 PM

103 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0338sec    0.30    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 11:01 PM