QUOTE(sdas86 @ Nov 3 2009, 02:38 PM)
BDI - Baltic Dry Index is the Index tracks worldwide international shipping prices of various dry bulk cargoes.High Dividend Counters, Better than putting in FD
High Dividend Counters, Better than putting in FD
Nov 3 2009, 03:09 PM
2,148 posts Joined: Nov 2007 |
Nov 3 2009, 05:17 PM
198 posts Joined: Mar 2009 |
QUOTE(smartly @ Nov 3 2009, 03:09 PM) BDI - Baltic Dry Index is the Index tracks worldwide international shipping prices of various dry bulk cargoes. So, this means that due to bad economy, the BDI is low and thus MAYBULK's earnings are affected.So, MAYBULK might give low dividend or even no dividend at all. Am I right? |
Nov 3 2009, 05:51 PM
3,944 posts Joined: Jul 2008 |
Nov 3 2009, 07:19 PM
Nov 3 2009, 09:55 PM
554 posts Joined: Oct 2008 |
http://www.cnbc.com/id/33599584
In its largest acquisition to date, Berkshire Hathaway said Tuesday it will acquire the 77 percent stake in Burlington Northern Santa Fe that it doesn't already own for $100 a share in cash and stock. Wow.... this is a big buy...by Warren Buffet.... Added on November 3, 2009, 9:59 pm QUOTE(sdas86 @ Nov 3 2009, 07:19 PM) i think just observe around...if you see ppl drinks milo, nestum etc ...then go for Nestle if you see smokers who smoke like no body biz ...then go for BAT, JInter if you see ppl eating instance noodles...then go for mamee, nestle, etc if you see ppl using yellow man to make phone call...then go for DIGI if you see ppl always makan KFC...then go for KFC.... i suppose many many things we can observe This post has been edited by Kamen Rider: Nov 3 2009, 09:59 PM |
Nov 3 2009, 10:03 PM
QUOTE(Kamen Rider @ Nov 3 2009, 09:55 PM) http://www.cnbc.com/id/33599584 Wow, that is a nice list. Thanks. I will try to observe. In its largest acquisition to date, Berkshire Hathaway said Tuesday it will acquire the 77 percent stake in Burlington Northern Santa Fe that it doesn't already own for $100 a share in cash and stock. Wow.... this is a big buy...by Warren Buffet.... Added on November 3, 2009, 9:59 pm i think just observe around... if you see ppl drinks milo, nestum etc ...then go for Nestle if you see smokers who smoke like no body biz ...then go for BAT, JInter if you see ppl eating instance noodles...then go for mamee, nestle, etc if you see ppl using yellow man to make phone call...then go for DIGI if you see ppl always makan KFC...then go for KFC.... i suppose many many things we can observe |
Nov 6 2009, 03:40 AM
1,307 posts Joined: Sep 2009 |
QUOTE(Kamen Rider @ Nov 3 2009, 09:55 PM) http://www.cnbc.com/id/33599584 wah... c like this way ka? In its largest acquisition to date, Berkshire Hathaway said Tuesday it will acquire the 77 percent stake in Burlington Northern Santa Fe that it doesn't already own for $100 a share in cash and stock. Wow.... this is a big buy...by Warren Buffet.... Added on November 3, 2009, 9:59 pm i think just observe around... if you see ppl drinks milo, nestum etc ...then go for Nestle if you see smokers who smoke like no body biz ...then go for BAT, JInter if you see ppl eating instance noodles...then go for mamee, nestle, etc if you see ppl using yellow man to make phone call...then go for DIGI if you see ppl always makan KFC...then go for KFC.... i suppose many many things we can observe if I see ppl .... then Im too late ady loh.... I suppose many many things we can foresee... This post has been edited by z21j: Nov 6 2009, 03:40 AM |
Nov 6 2009, 07:17 AM
QUOTE(z21j @ Nov 6 2009, 03:40 AM) wah... c like this way ka? wait a minute.... "foresee" is like betting on something based on numbers, based on trends, based on guts, based on instinct.....if I see ppl .... then Im too late ady loh.... I suppose many many things we can foresee... means we are forecasting share markets...... forecasting some earning results...., so are we able to "foresee" correctly.... or probably >50% correctly... |
Nov 6 2009, 11:46 AM
1,307 posts Joined: Sep 2009 |
QUOTE(Kamen Rider @ Nov 6 2009, 07:17 AM) wait a minute.... "foresee" is like betting on something based on numbers, based on trends, based on guts, based on instinct..... thx u got my mean... not only can foresee, but ability to forecast it right.... betting? too negative word and i dun think it shud be applicable in share market......as share market is not the casino...means we are forecasting share markets...... forecasting some earning results...., so are we able to "foresee" correctly.... or probably >50% correctly... |
Nov 7 2009, 02:55 AM
2,335 posts Joined: Jul 2008 |
Always look at the "earnings" quarterly basis - because price followed the earnings (including growth earnings).
Always look at dividends per share & % - because that attract crowd attention. Always look the "theme" - hot stories. Always look at 'market leader factors' - example who is the market leader in Motor Insurance ? Telcos ? Good luck. Added on November 7, 2009, 2:58 am QUOTE(GregPG01 @ Oct 27 2009, 09:51 PM) Some part u r rite but some part u r not rite either. Sorry mate. This post has been edited by mazda626: Nov 7 2009, 02:58 AM |
Nov 7 2009, 10:59 AM
1,110 posts Joined: Oct 2008 |
Hi guys, I am about to make my first buy in dividend stocks. So could I be kindly pointed the way to do my due diligence? I don't know where they hide their prospectus or earning stuff or things I need to look for. Pls do point to me what I need to look out for good buys and bad buys (goodbyes). Thanks. Right now I only know tobacco and alcohol companies are better buys.
Nov 7 2009, 11:07 AM
3,037 posts Joined: Jun 2007 |
QUOTE(kaiserwulf @ Nov 7 2009, 10:59 AM) Hi guys, I am about to make my first buy in dividend stocks. So could I be kindly pointed the way to do my due diligence? I don't know where they hide their prospectus or earning stuff or things I need to look for. Pls do point to me what I need to look out for good buys and bad buys (goodbyes). Thanks. Right now I only know tobacco and alcohol companies are better buys. You can learn a lot from investopedia.com which is a great site for reference as well as education for anything related to finance/stocks/funds etc. |
Nov 7 2009, 07:21 PM
5,626 posts Joined: Nov 2004 From: Klang, Selangor |
QUOTE(kaiserwulf @ Nov 7 2009, 10:59 AM) Hi guys, I am about to make my first buy in dividend stocks. So could I be kindly pointed the way to do my due diligence? I don't know where they hide their prospectus or earning stuff or things I need to look for. Pls do point to me what I need to look out for good buys and bad buys (goodbyes). Thanks. Right now I only know tobacco and alcohol companies are better buys. kaiserwulf,Companies with stable repeat sales would most probably be the better bet for stable dividends. You have listed 2 sectors with very good repeat sales, but you forgot about staple food companies and other beverages. Snack companies do give good dividends as well, but that is more cyclical. Another bet is to look for MLM companies and petroleum giants. |
Nov 7 2009, 09:13 PM
QUOTE(Jordy @ Nov 7 2009, 07:21 PM) kaiserwulf, snack companies .... mm.... heard of mamee, apollo with decent dividends.... but my worry they are small...cap... companies ???Companies with stable repeat sales would most probably be the better bet for stable dividends. You have listed 2 sectors with very good repeat sales, but you forgot about staple food companies and other beverages. Snack companies do give good dividends as well, but that is more cyclical. Another bet is to look for MLM companies and petroleum giants. |
Nov 7 2009, 09:26 PM
2,991 posts Joined: Jun 2007 |
QUOTE(Kamen Rider @ Nov 3 2009, 09:55 PM) http://www.cnbc.com/id/33599584 Reminds me of the kid in the movie "Sixth Sense" who whispered to Bruce Willis, "I see dead people."In its largest acquisition to date, Berkshire Hathaway said Tuesday it will acquire the 77 percent stake in Burlington Northern Santa Fe that it doesn't already own for $100 a share in cash and stock. Wow.... this is a big buy...by Warren Buffet.... Added on November 3, 2009, 9:59 pm i think just observe around... if you see ppl drinks milo, nestum etc ...then go for Nestle if you see smokers who smoke like no body biz ...then go for BAT, JInter if you see ppl eating instance noodles...then go for mamee, nestle, etc if you see ppl using yellow man to make phone call...then go for DIGI if you see ppl always makan KFC...then go for KFC.... i suppose many many things we can observe He should be buying NVMULTI then? |
Nov 7 2009, 09:38 PM
3,944 posts Joined: Jul 2008 |
QUOTE(Kamen Rider @ Nov 7 2009, 10:13 PM) snack companies .... mm.... heard of mamee, apollo with decent dividends.... but my worry they are small...cap... companies ??? Apollo eventhough small cap but the dividend is sustainable. Futhermore they exports their products. When the price was RM 2.5 i wait for RM 2.2 but too bad... watching it shoot up till 3.00+ ..... |
Nov 7 2009, 10:28 PM
QUOTE(darkknight81 @ Nov 7 2009, 09:38 PM) Apollo eventhough small cap but the dividend is sustainable. Futhermore they exports their products. When the price was RM 2.5 i wait for RM 2.2 but too bad... watching it shoot up till 3.00+ ..... read before from a book, something like this ... "if you found a good company to hold, and when it price are reasonable based on PE ratio and good future return, then it would be making sense to an extra premium of buying it ......................" yes something we always wanted to buy as low as possible, but yet we may miss the opportunity of buying it at the price we discover it...and we probably may not buy it as when its price already appreciate ...... e.g. i have experienced this is apollo, mamee, hai-o, nestle, digi, etc.. |
Nov 7 2009, 11:01 PM
2,335 posts Joined: Jul 2008 |
Recent Financial Results of 9458
Revenues $205,541 P & L $2,245 EPS = 67.00 |
Nov 8 2009, 12:34 AM
5,626 posts Joined: Nov 2004 From: Klang, Selangor |
QUOTE(Kamen Rider @ Nov 7 2009, 09:13 PM) snack companies .... mm.... heard of mamee, apollo with decent dividends.... but my worry they are small...cap... companies ??? Kamen Rider,How many big cap stocks/bluechips pay good dividends? What I am trying to say here is to not judge a dividend stock by size, instead judge it by the profit sustainability. Isn't that where the dividends come from? And mind you, it's easier to accumulate small cap stocks for dividends rather than larger cap stocks. Just my opinion. |
Nov 8 2009, 09:23 AM
5,191 posts Joined: May 2009 |
I collect both small and big cap dividend counters just to spread my risk. Though it is easy to collect small cap, but we can do same for big cap as we can always accumulate it by 100 shares (1lot). Say, PBB now at rm10.90. 1 lot is rm1090. I suppose most of us still can afford, aren't we? I will not just chose one counter for dividend. Spreading the risk is equally important. Just my opinion..... |
| Change to: | 0.0238sec
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 03:47 AM |