103 Pages « < 23 24 25 26 27 > » Bottom

High Dividend Counters, Better than putting in FD

T_flash
post Jan 13 2009, 04:31 PM

274 posts

So public bank, let's say if at today's 9.7, 1 lot of 100 shares.
How much will I get in 2009(if how frequent this year is unkown, then could use last year's example)?? please explain..
skiddtrader
post Jan 13 2009, 06:08 PM

Suspicious
3,037 posts

QUOTE(T_flash @ Jan 13 2009, 04:31 PM)
So public bank, let's say if at today's 9.7, 1 lot of 100 shares.
How much will I get in 2009(if how frequent this year is unkown, then could use last year's example)?? please explain..
We can't predict accurately what dividend they will give. If the share prices drop to a low of RM5.00 in the middle of the year, definitely you won't be getting RM1.00 dividends as normally they try to relate it to the price.

But from past dividends we can predict the % compared to the share price at the time of announcement.

So if the % dividend for PB is for example consistently 8-10%, and the share price stay steady at about RM9.70. You can expect around 0.80 - 0.97 sens dividends a share. If they continue to make money of course.

All these are just examples, please do your own homework about the dividends yields of stocks and counters you are interested in.

TSpanasonic88
post Jan 13 2009, 08:14 PM

37,028 posts

QUOTE(skiddtrader @ Jan 13 2009, 06:08 PM)
We can't predict accurately what dividend they will give. If the share prices drop to a low of RM5.00 in the middle of the year, definitely you won't be getting RM1.00 dividends as normally they try to relate it to the price.

But from past dividends we can predict the % compared to the share price at the time of announcement.

So if the % dividend for PB is for example consistently 8-10%, and the share price stay steady at about RM9.70. You can expect around 0.80 - 0.97 sens dividends a share. If they continue to make money of course.

All these are just examples, please do your own homework about the dividends yields of stocks and counters you are interested in.
skid, i assume that is just an assumption, yeah.

cause from my understanding, PBBANK div yeild is approx 7-8% only. of course, it also depends on your cost. those who bought it during 90's, sure could easily achieve 10% or more DY.

analyst speculated PBBANK is giving 45 sens dividend plus 50 treasuries shares.

will see what's their announcement by next week then biggrin.gif
T_flash
post Jan 13 2009, 08:20 PM

274 posts

If I buy today, will I be able to get dividend and treasuries shares when they announce next week?
TSpanasonic88
post Jan 13 2009, 08:21 PM

37,028 posts

QUOTE(T_flash @ Jan 13 2009, 08:20 PM)
If I buy today, will I be able to get dividend and treasuries shares when they announce next week?
lol why not.

anytime before the ex-date.

p/s: ex-date is yet to announce.

This post has been edited by panasonic88: Jan 13 2009, 08:22 PM
skiddtrader
post Jan 13 2009, 08:43 PM

Suspicious
3,037 posts

QUOTE(panasonic88 @ Jan 13 2009, 08:14 PM)
skid, i assume that is just an assumption, yeah.

cause from my understanding, PBBANK div yeild is approx 7-8% only. of course, it also depends on your cost. those who bought it during 90's, sure could easily achieve 10% or more DY.

analyst speculated PBBANK is giving 45 sens dividend plus 50 treasuries shares.

will see what's their announcement by next week then biggrin.gif
Yeah, I'm just giving an example.

50 treasury shares is a lot eh. 50 for how many shares held?
T_flash
post Jan 13 2009, 08:56 PM

274 posts

really?? so If I get 10 lots, that means 5x dividend , which is 10x the dividend?
and in the past, PBBank has given out treasuries shares?
TSpanasonic88
post Jan 13 2009, 09:03 PM

37,028 posts

QUOTE(skiddtrader @ Jan 13 2009, 08:43 PM)
Yeah, I'm just giving an example.

50 treasury shares is a lot eh. 50 for how many shares held?
50 treasury shares for every 1000 shares.

rumour, rumour. not confirm yet.
cherroy
post Jan 13 2009, 09:20 PM

25,802 posts

Just check to see whether Pbbank has potential to give the treasury share or not.

Total sharebuyback 176,296,800
Outstanding share 2,472,348,084

7.1% shares is held under treasuries share.

So it max potential to give treasury share is 71/1000.

Please do you own due diligence. Nobody can assure or know whether they intend to give those treasuries share as share dividend or not until the board of company make the announcement. So invest on your own risk.
mo_meng
post Jan 13 2009, 09:22 PM

2,646 posts

50 shares is not alot .. but 50 shares + 45 sen is alot
cherroy
post Jan 13 2009, 09:22 PM

25,802 posts

I am a bit surprise when I found out that they had bought back so many shares from the market, which they surely spent no less than 1~2 billion cash just on buyback alone
mo_meng
post Jan 13 2009, 09:23 PM

2,646 posts

almost 10% rite
cherroy
post Jan 13 2009, 09:24 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(mo_meng @ Jan 13 2009, 09:22 PM)
50 shares is not alot .. but 50 shares + 45 sen is alot
I think dividend might be lesser or no more special dividend like previous few years (company need to perserve some cash to offset a recession economy ahead as well as potential higher NPL ahead) so they might give share dividend as a compensate. Just my speculation.
TSpanasonic88
post Jan 13 2009, 09:39 PM

37,028 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Jan 13 2009, 09:24 PM)
I think dividend might be lesser or no more special dividend like previous few years (company need to perserve some cash to offset a recession economy ahead as well as potential higher NPL ahead) so they might give share dividend as a compensate. Just my speculation.
yup, even LPI oso no give special dividend jor.

i do agree company shall reserve more cash in hand.

all i wan to see is them growing healthily smile.gif
DJWC
post Jan 14 2009, 10:49 AM

459 posts

Hi Buddy,

I'm planning to go in for PBank this time. I won't want to miss out the dividend . Is it the right time,Pana?

Long time didnt chat with you guys.

Happy New Year.
TSpanasonic88
post Jan 14 2009, 10:55 AM

37,028 posts

QUOTE(DJWC @ Jan 14 2009, 10:49 AM)
Hi Buddy,

I'm planning to go in for PBank this time. I won't want to miss out the dividend . Is it the right time,Pana?
Long time didnt chat with you guys.

Happy New Year.
it was hovering at 8.20-8.40 before it surged to today's price, about 3 weeks ago.

for long term, sure, why not. biggrin.gif
TSpanasonic88
post Jan 14 2009, 10:57 AM

37,028 posts

just to share: my accumulated PBBANK is 1 year old jor biggrin.gif

altho i am in paper loss, about -19%... blame myself for jumping in during peak price. but i am fine with it. as i have received few hundreds ringgit dividend from PBBANK since last year jor wub.gif
DJWC
post Jan 14 2009, 11:36 AM

459 posts

Hi Pana.

Good luck then. I think everyone is having a bad time as well.

Do you buy more in this coming month? smile.gif
TSpanasonic88
post Jan 14 2009, 11:37 AM

37,028 posts

nope. missed jor.

will reserve some cash to pick up after ex-date.
DJWC
post Jan 14 2009, 11:41 AM

459 posts

Yes. That's right. The price is going up drastically before they even announce it.

103 Pages « < 23 24 25 26 27 > » Top

0.0280sec    0.52    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 07:26 PM