103 Pages « < 17 18 19 20 21 > » Bottom

High Dividend Counters, Better than putting in FD

darkknight81
post Oct 10 2008, 08:09 AM

$$$$$$$$$$
3,944 posts

QUOTE(kingkong81 @ Oct 9 2008, 11:20 PM)
With recent bears in the global market roaming around...all good dividend counters are looking delicious...

I was also looking around... wink.gif

Just a quick survey...

Wat is your Top 5 dividend counters that you plan to buy in??

I was thinking on PBBANK, BJTOTO, GUINESS, REITS (still looking).....
JTINTER
YTLPOWER
PUBLIC BANK
GUINESS
REITS
IceBikers
post Oct 10 2008, 08:33 AM

960 posts

Hi i would like to take out 1k from unit trust and to invest 1k in high pay dividen stock? is it feasible? for 1k, is it still better in FD?
kingkong81
post Oct 10 2008, 08:51 AM

1,351 posts

QUOTE(IceBikers @ Oct 10 2008, 08:33 AM)
Hi i would like to take out 1k from unit trust and to invest 1k in high pay dividen stock? is it feasible? for 1k, is it still better in FD?
It is possible to sell ur unit trust anytime....
darkknight81
post Oct 10 2008, 08:56 AM

$$$$$$$$$$
3,944 posts

QUOTE(IceBikers @ Oct 10 2008, 09:33 AM)
With 1k in hand you are not enuff to buy any dividend stock...
skiddtrader
post Oct 10 2008, 09:41 AM

Suspicious
3,037 posts

QUOTE(darkknight81 @ Oct 10 2008, 08:56 AM)
With 1k in hand you are not enuff to buy any dividend stock...
Well I wouldn't say not enough, but the costs of buying the stock with such a small amount may make the dividend payouts looks small and comparable to the amount of charges you pay for the initial transaction. But if you can forget that initial fee, then keep it for a long time. The % amount you earn from your RM1k in a high dividend yield counter is definitely better than fixed Deposit. But the risks of capital depreciation (share drops) is there.
SKY 1809
post Oct 10 2008, 10:09 AM

23,851 posts

I think generally companies cannot afford to pay out good dividends from now on or next year. CASH could be the mere weapon for them to survive in bad times.

They could also consider the chances that they could miss if big bargains coming next year or so.

Just 2sen opinion.

This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Oct 10 2008, 10:14 AM
darkknight81
post Oct 10 2008, 10:27 AM

$$$$$$$$$$
3,944 posts

QUOTE(SKY 1809 @ Oct 10 2008, 11:09 AM)
I think generally companies cannot afford to pay out good dividends from now on or next year. CASH could be the mere weapon for them  to survive in bad times.

They could also consider the chances that they could miss if big bargains coming next year or so.

Just 2sen opinion.
Seeing the type of business the company doing is very important .
hackwire
post Oct 10 2008, 10:28 AM

4,256 posts

What is the company name own by robert kuok.
espree
post Oct 10 2008, 10:34 AM

1,214 posts

Robert Kuok:

Shangri-La Asia listed in singapore and Hong kong

This post has been edited by espree: Oct 10 2008, 10:35 AM
fergie1100
post Oct 10 2008, 10:54 AM

1,345 posts

QUOTE(hackwire @ Oct 10 2008, 10:28 AM)
What is the company name own by robert kuok.
PPB -> Perlis Plantation Berhad
darkknight81
post Oct 10 2008, 11:22 AM

$$$$$$$$$$
3,944 posts

QUOTE(fergie1100 @ Oct 10 2008, 11:54 AM)
PPB -> Perlis Plantation Berhad
Maybulk
Transmile
dolphine_chan
post Oct 10 2008, 05:07 PM

36 posts

Been eyeing on Guiness, anyone own this stock?

Notice that it hardly move. always around RM5-RM6.
TSpanasonic88
post Oct 10 2008, 05:13 PM

37,028 posts

QUOTE(dolphine_chan @ Oct 10 2008, 05:07 PM)

yup, very steady counter. anything below $5 would be a good grab.
next monday (13/10) should be announcing Final Dividend.
buy & keep, alchohol-related counters tend to surge during CNY time.
you may sell into rallies by Jan/Feb 2009 biggrin.gif
fergie1100
post Oct 10 2008, 05:16 PM

1,345 posts

GUINESS less liquid... so tis "fat" div counter's price wont fluctuate much... same goes for BJTOTO, JTINTER, CARLSBG, people will not sell cause they r giving handsome div flex.gif
cherroy
post Oct 10 2008, 05:16 PM

25,802 posts

No longer own, got it for a long time, one of my favourite. Sold off when it reached 5.80-6.00 back then.

It seldom moves on both way, a pure dividend income stock. Even it moves, it tends to stuck in tight range.

Dividend wise is indeed quite good, from previous around 36 cents, 39 cents, 42 cents, 45 cents. But if you wish to have significant capital appreciation like others ordinary stock, then it most probably will disappoint you.

TSpanasonic88
post Oct 10 2008, 05:17 PM

37,028 posts

i'm delighted when i see GUINESS at 4.98 tongue.gif
cherroy
post Oct 10 2008, 05:19 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(panasonic88 @ Oct 10 2008, 05:17 PM)
i'm delighted when i see GUINESS at 4.98 tongue.gif
With this kind of market condition, people drink more Tiger Beer, haha. biggrin.gif
TSpanasonic88
post Oct 10 2008, 05:20 PM

37,028 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Oct 10 2008, 05:19 PM)
With this kind of market condition, people drink more Tiger Beer, haha.  biggrin.gif
drink drank drunk!!! hehhe, drunk liao no need to worry about the market. tongue.gif
fergie1100
post Oct 10 2008, 05:21 PM

1,345 posts

hahha, but CARLSBG better rite? cheaper + the div not much differ frm GUINESS... no?
SKY 1809
post Oct 10 2008, 05:57 PM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(fergie1100 @ Oct 10 2008, 05:21 PM)
hahha, but CARLSBG better rite? cheaper + the div not much differ frm GUINESS... no?
Tiger is betting on Chinese sentiment like funding for Chinese education. Carlsbg on games like footballs.

Tiger does capture some of Carl markets.

103 Pages « < 17 18 19 20 21 > » Top

0.0248sec    0.27    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 07:03 AM