Jordy
post Jan 31 2008, 07:05 PM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(TopGunn @ Jan 31 2008, 12:11 PM)
You will entiltle dividend as long as you hold/buy before ex-Date. Pls take note that the share price will be adjusted after the ex-Date.
Example - PBBank RM11.30 (before ex-date) dividend 0.20
Next market day, price will adjusted to RM11.10 and you will received you cheque on 0.20 dividend.
Yes, it does not matter when or how long you hold the shares, you still get the same amount of dividend.
If you do this though, you could have lost out to those who have held it even longer, because prices tend to appreciate higher when investors anticipate a payout soon.
Buying a stock just before dividend is not doing you any much good, plus you need to consider the 26% tax on your dividend smile.gif
skiddtrader
post Jan 31 2008, 11:14 PM

Suspicious
3,037 posts

Yeah you have to take into account the moment the accountings are done, anyone who has seen the profits from the lowly accounting clerk to the auditor will know at least 1 month before the actual announcement how much the company is making profit.

So normally you can see some counters who are about to announce high dividends or special dividends tend to have high volume because the some people are buying up based on the insider news.
fantasticneo
post Feb 6 2008, 10:37 AM

HOw come i dint see anyone discuss about Protasco(5070)which is a mid-cap construction company??
It pays a good dividend yield as well which was around 10% based on the current market price.
cherroy
post Feb 6 2008, 04:14 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(fantasticneo @ Feb 6 2008, 10:37 AM)
HOw come i dint see anyone discuss about Protasco(5070)which is a mid-cap construction company??
It pays a good dividend yield as well which was around 10% based on the current market price.
Dividend history seems not bad. What is this company business? relatively unknown in the market, may be mainly due to low liquidity and low cap.

Gen-X
post Feb 6 2008, 07:15 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(fantasticneo @ Feb 6 2008, 10:37 AM)
Haven't heard of this company before, was projects they have currently and for the next 5 years? What is the dividen yield for the past 5 years?
fantasticneo
post Feb 6 2008, 09:13 PM

U guys can check out more info about this company at http://www.protasco.com.my/
normanTE
post Feb 9 2008, 09:39 PM

259 posts

only this two counter high yeild dividend what about public bank and genting? anyone got it history? thanks for sharing

Added on February 9, 2008, 9:40 pmonly this two i refer to bjtoto and maybulk

This post has been edited by normanTE: Feb 9 2008, 09:40 PM
drsaleh
post Feb 20 2008, 05:18 PM

629 posts

hi
how du u guys look for dividend history under starbiz? i've already become a member, but still cant see them anywhere

pleasuresaurus
post Feb 22 2008, 11:33 AM

spin spin sugar
2,586 posts

Go to biz.thestar.com.my and move the cursor over Market Intelligence, 4th box down.

After reading this thread I figure that generally, vice stocks (booze, ciggies & gambling) and direct selling like Amway and zhulian tend to yield fairly decent dividend returns?

Would this be considered investing on fundamentals? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by pleasuresaurus: Feb 22 2008, 11:36 AM
Jordy
post Feb 23 2008, 11:59 AM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(pleasuresaurus @ Feb 22 2008, 11:33 AM)
Go to biz.thestar.com.my and move the cursor over Market Intelligence, 4th box down.

After reading this thread I figure that generally, vice stocks (booze, ciggies & gambling) and direct selling like Amway and zhulian tend to yield fairly decent dividend returns?

These non-Syariah stocks are considered stable because their earnings are based on addiction.
That is why they are able to pay out very high dividend yield.
Their prices might not appreciate much because their business is fairly stable, and the risk of higher taxes on them.
SKY 1809
post Feb 23 2008, 07:30 PM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(pleasuresaurus @ Feb 22 2008, 12:33 PM)

Perhaps you may want to consider the consumer stocks ( non cyclical ) that are defensive in time of economic uncertainty like now. Sometimes, we ask people to defend their wealths at current situation. Amway and Zhulian are parts of them.

The non-cyclical stocks , also called defensive stocks, experience profit regardless of economic gyrations because they produce or distribute goods and services we always need: food, power, water and gas.

The Concept
The difference between cyclical and non-cyclical industries is simply the difference between necessity and luxury. There are certain items we can't live without and won't likely cut back on even when times are tough. The stocks of companies producing these things are non-cyclical and are "defended" against the effects of economic downturn, providing great places to invest when the economic outlook is sour. For example, household non-durable goods - a fancy term for the things you use up quickly around the house - such as toothpaste, soap, shampoo and dish detergent may not seem like essentials, but you can't really sacrifice them. Most people don't feel they can wait until next year to lather up with soap in the shower.

This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Feb 25 2008, 08:44 AM
Neo18
post Mar 4 2008, 10:57 AM

1,850 posts

Dear Cherroy,

AXIS is now 1.67.. time to buy?

This post has been edited by Neo18: Mar 4 2008, 10:57 AM
Merubin
post Mar 4 2008, 11:16 AM

53 posts

Hello Guys,
I m a little confuse from the star dividen section
BAT showing

Final 15¢ + 62.90¢ single-tier TE

what is single tier TE and lets say now i get 100 unit. How much will i get? for the dividen?

cherroy
post Mar 4 2008, 11:31 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Neo18 @ Mar 4 2008, 10:57 AM)
Dear Cherroy,

AXIS is now 1.67.. time to buy?
That's why I call for profit taking at Rm1.75. Time for me to buy again. icon_rolleyes.gif
The reason I call for profit taking because I don't see any dramatic turn around for the market in near term. You need to hold long in this kind of market.

It depends how much 'bullet' you have, if one is sitting with high cash position, then nipping a bit, no harm done, as yield at 7.+% is reasonable, much better than FD already. If one is cash tight one, then different case liao as market may still long way to find the bottom.

Just my opinion.

Judge your own.
skiddtrader
post Mar 4 2008, 03:35 PM

Suspicious
3,037 posts

QUOTE(Merubin @ Mar 4 2008, 11:16 AM)
Hello Guys,
I m a little confuse from the star dividen section
BAT showing

Final 15¢ + 62.90¢ single-tier TE

what is single tier TE and lets say now i get 100 unit. How much will i get? for the dividen?
I believe the 15 sens need to minus 27% tax but the 62.90 sens no need. So total maybe 73.85 sens per share.

If you have 100 shares, means it's RM0.7385 x 100 = RM73.85
Merubin
post Mar 4 2008, 05:50 PM

53 posts

what does it means by single-tier TE?
skiddtrader
post Mar 5 2008, 09:34 AM

Suspicious
3,037 posts

QUOTE(Merubin @ Mar 4 2008, 05:50 PM)
what does it means by single-tier TE?
Single tier 'Tax Exempt".

I'm not going to bother explaining the single tier system as I think it really is not well thought out yet. You can read about it more when you Google for it. Basically whenever you see this Single Tier Tax Exempt, means you get a tax free dividend (without having to pay 27% in advance).
cherroy
post Mar 5 2008, 11:46 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(skiddtrader @ Mar 5 2008, 09:34 AM)
Single tier 'Tax Exempt".

I'm not going to bother explaining the single tier system as I think it really is not well thought out yet. You can read about it more when you Google for it. Basically whenever you see this Single Tier Tax Exempt, means you get a tax free dividend (without having to pay 27% in advance).
It is to do with the new dividend taxation announced last year budget (for 2008).

It is not 'free tax' actually that we had discussed it before.

Under new dividend taxation rules, all dividend are being taxed at corporate level before giving out to shareholders.
So what you get is net already, you can't claim back any tax which had been deducted at corporate level.
But in your dividend voucher won't show any tax deducted, already net one, so it gives an impression of 'tax free' but in actual fact, not really.

The old system is imputation, new system call single-tier.

This post has been edited by cherroy: Mar 5 2008, 11:48 AM
TopGunn
post Mar 5 2008, 12:12 PM

134 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Mar 5 2008, 11:46 AM)
It is to do with the new dividend taxation announced last year budget (for 2008).

It is not 'free tax' actually that we had discussed it before.

Under new dividend taxation rules, all dividend are being taxed at corporate level before giving out to shareholders.
So what you get is net already, you can't claim back any tax which had been deducted at corporate level.
But in your dividend voucher won't show any tax deducted, already net one, so it gives an impression of 'tax free' but in actual fact, not really.

The old system is imputation, new system call single-tier.
guys,
Where i can have detail of dividend taxation (budget 2008). I heard from my college that we can't claim back minus tax 27% (for those income <2,000/mth, retiree).Is that true?

zenquix
post Mar 5 2008, 12:28 PM

Life is short!
2,552 posts

Depends on which system the company use.

Old system can (BSDREIT cut 13% from the dividend i received recently)

You can't claim the 27% tax back if the single-tier is used because there is no tax deducted from the dividend before it is given to u (but u have to pay tax on that dividend when declaring under personal tax). In simpler terms, what the company declares is the net dividend. You pay the tax for it.

103 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Top

0.0353sec    0.46    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 03:43 AM