Mountain Biking, ~ version 4.0 ~, Ride Till You Puke
dickybird
Mar 7 2008, 02:13 PM
aiyoh you guys are mtb riders or ladies buying cars? they dont care what specs or even what car it is, as long as it is the right colour! walau! how much is a low end fork like a bomber xc model at ksh?
dickybird
Mar 8 2008, 11:01 AM
QUOTE(Andy Lo @ Mar 7 2008, 10:13 PM) Night...I prefer the XCR over the Dart2.. But what you think of Suntour Epicon? Lots of riders here are using and it's quite good. Added on March 7, 2008, 10:44 pmXCR is very good for the price. Reviews says it's bad maybe because they compared it to forks double its price? if you look at some online retail sites in uk, they have recommendations for components but they dont sell suntour forks at all! i think it is more an OEM player rather then aftermarket upgrades. in the latest issue of what mountainbike, they review a full suss merida with epicon shock, and it was rubbish!
dickybird
Mar 8 2008, 01:44 PM
QUOTE(akchang @ Mar 8 2008, 12:32 PM) dickybird, well...i think the reviewer saw the fork anticlimax for the package..anyway merida shud at least give a better forks... but going by the review, you would think about the giant but i really dont fancy the giant, sentimentally, i still wish for a new spez coz last time i did have a spez hardrock that got stolen in london. but i think my jamis made forgot all about my spez. now i only remember that it was blue and nimbus ex tires. i do fancy the trek fuel though but if i had 1 wish it would be spez epic!
dickybird
Mar 8 2008, 04:47 PM
QUOTE(smokey @ Mar 8 2008, 03:08 PM) hi guys... do u guys dare to cycle on LDP, seremban highway or north south highway? i wan to try to reach seri kembangan by cycling from bkt jalil...is it possible? i measured the distance using google map is about 10km... cycle LDP, been there done that and didnt have to pay toll! had to do it coz i didnt have a bike carrier, so off i went to meet my kakis at ttdi. it was ok coz the traffic is slow on sunday morning but then a really indian cow in her kelisa honked for no reason!  up yours b****! a good idea is to drive the route and mentally figure out the route and you want to take that will be least tiring. that is how i did it.
dickybird
Mar 8 2008, 07:16 PM
QUOTE(smokey @ Mar 8 2008, 07:05 PM) i only scared kena langgar by cars...all those speeding cars make me scared la... and btw, i got no armor...not even helmet, just slippers...hahaha aiyoyo! get a helmet and turn on your lights! keep to the most left lane. you really crazy la! ride naked light! what kind of color wolf are you?
dickybird
Mar 12 2008, 06:46 PM
who is using what pedals? SPDs or platforms? i am looking for some new platforms as my bearings seem to squealing! the pedals are ok but maybe i can change the axles?
dickybird
Mar 13 2008, 12:34 PM
QUOTE(me0wSter @ Mar 13 2008, 09:25 AM) Erm, normal pedals are called platforms while shoes which clip to your pedals are called clipless.. Don't ask me why.. because before clipless pedals there were toe clip pedals which had a piece of plastic in the front holding your toe in place with an adjustable strap. then came clipless lo. begitulah sejarahnya
dickybird
Mar 17 2008, 08:45 PM
QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ Mar 16 2008, 04:30 PM) 13kg for a full sus heavy? heck my hardtail is 15kg  lol.. may i recomend the small taiwanese company called Tioga?  but that depends what u wanna do... i love the Tiogas coz their threads are bi-directional so no probs when setting up and the tyres are HUGE... as in 2.3s are more like 2.4 or 2.5 and yes u can really see that its huge grip is extremely good but be warned.. do not use it on pavement else it'll be gone in ard 2 months time lol... my front tioga middle threads are very small now for obvious reasons lol... my hardtail in work commute trim is 12.1kg. it maybe 14.5 in xc trim?
dickybird
Mar 21 2008, 09:37 PM
yes we must all meet up soon and ride Frim. but just not this weekend, me working la and 2moro jaga baby.
dickybird
Mar 31 2008, 08:00 PM
QUOTE(iman_210 @ Mar 31 2008, 07:36 PM) nice, can post actual pics of that with a bike...care to share where did u get it mate? yeah if u guys going for FRIM intriductory ride pls let me know too... aiyo velo 8 you can get for rm50. no need so expensive!
dickybird
Apr 7 2008, 02:38 PM
QUOTE(me0wSter @ Apr 6 2008, 08:57 PM) Off topic: Is learning English Hard??This is worth sharing!! learn english, very hard take a lifetime! faster to learn rojak. i can speak rojak but dont really like to eat it.
dickybird
Apr 21 2008, 08:46 PM
QUOTE(mudz @ Apr 21 2008, 05:09 PM) any of u guys know where can i get a nice bike around kepong or segambut area ?? budget around rm 600 , hope i can get disc break , double rim , aluminum frame.. is it possible to get a nice one around that price ?? and can u guys give me more info about those frame type , etc aluminum or steel , what are the difference ?? at that price point, double walled rims can la, but not discs and definitely not deore groupset. it will be aluminium though but not any of the major brands. go survey the local bike shops la, where do you live in kepong or segambut? This post has been edited by dickybird: Apr 21 2008, 08:47 PM
dickybird
Apr 21 2008, 09:25 PM
just for commuting then just a cheapo bike with a rigid fork and normal wheels and V brakes will do la. since you not really going off road then no need fancy fancy one la. just stick with your budget and resist all efforts to get you to try and buy something else. v brake is the most common now and puts the brake pad on the rim while disc brake puts the brake pad on a disc like cars. not too many bike shops in the kepong segambut area, if you know taman sri sinar than can go to kim mun next to the toto 4d outlet. there are some more bike shops in kepong baru but generally all sell low end stuff la, good enough for your case. got one high class shop in desa park city sell branded bikes like in the pj area.
This post has been edited by dickybird: Apr 21 2008, 09:35 PM
dickybird
Apr 24 2008, 10:13 PM
QUOTE(mudz @ Apr 22 2008, 08:19 PM) but it looks like that wor , i go and confirm again tomorrow and im wondering izit possible to get cheaper ones in kampar -.- well maybe cheaper or more mahal up there. anyway look to pay about 500 to 600 enuff la, as long as the bike is not too heavy and you got money left to buy a helmet and lock. like i said already, no need discs since you not doing MTB, even i do not use discs when i go frim and since i dont go to kiara much i dont need on my current mtb that also serves as my commute bike. which reminds me, kesian my mavic Xrides and camelbak sittting doing nothing the last 2 months. must try and go ride this weekend before i go penang next week.
dickybird
Apr 26 2008, 11:24 AM
anybody riding tomorrow? in frim or sg buloh?
dickybird
May 1 2008, 01:51 PM
QUOTE(Andy Lo @ Apr 30 2008, 09:46 PM) 70km on mtb with Wormdrive 1.95 tire. Not so bad ler... Worst part is PUNCTURE!!! And I didnt have a spare tube. Luckily was near the shop so pushed to the shop to fix. Dreamwerkz. But have to wait for the shop to open in the morning. Haha.. YOU SHOULD try kenda kontenders 1.0s they is fast! done nearly 400k on them commuting to work. love them.
dickybird
May 5 2008, 01:58 PM
QUOTE(ober @ May 2 2008, 09:22 AM) welcome welcome. don''t mind these people. they are all evillllll. they all eat Noobs for breakfast. don't befriend with themmm. muwahahaha. i live with noobs and i help noobs. and since ure around putrajaya, do u know ur route to puchong? we can ride around here cuz im from puchong. couldn't agree more. work sucks. haha. ive only been in this company for 5 weeks. and i feel like shit. p/s: WHU vs MU this saturday. F*** ya all red devillians! im gonna screw you guys at Hartamas or Asia Cafe. Welcome me good! yes we are going to win the league! and when i see you, i ma get you with my park tool! muahahaha
dickybird
May 5 2008, 02:37 PM
QUOTE(Andy Lo @ May 3 2008, 12:12 AM) WTF?? I missed out all the action... Well sometimes we answer ur querries/questions indirectly. U just have to catch up. Haha... If no reply then it usually means that nobody knows the answer, or perhaps it will also mean that you better get that lazy mind up and check for the answer urself! Internet? Whatever.. Aduih..  Added on May 3, 2008, 12:17 amWant a good example? I think not many people have answered Nightstalker's queries on the Epicon fork. You can check back for those few pages back. The reason? Nobody is using that fork, and we cannot acctually tell whether a fork is good or not, because every rider likes a different fork. I don't see Nightstalker getting frust or sulking at all also. He eventually checked out those from the Internet, did his own research, and is happily riding with that Epicon now. nightstalker is a such a cool usuername too! do you ride in the dark? muahaha
dickybird
May 11 2008, 02:00 PM
QUOTE(mushr00m @ May 11 2008, 01:10 PM) you guys are in facebook? ahahaha.. so do I.. i am on facebook too.
dickybird
May 16 2008, 11:50 AM
QUOTE(ober @ May 15 2008, 04:33 PM) omg. 2pm? u wanna fry me up aye? hahaha. its okay then. i only do morning rides.  ive seen the sync pink bike before. already 1++ yrs already. still havent manage to sell it off? yeah! and your you bike will melt also in the afternoon malaysian heat, better to go have siesta. haha, i am just having to have a little to take my mind off the pain in the back of my knee, dunno why suddenly got pain. woke up on wednesday with it, think maybe my wife kicked me while i was sleeping. anyways, anybody know where i can get a pair wellgo LU987 which are mtb flat pedals? it's either them or shimano dx???