CREDIT Card Thread v2, Everything about the world of plastic

danlhct
post Mar 22 2008, 08:52 PM

170 posts

Today I just applied an EON Bank Mastercard Platinum from their branch, the sales staff wants me to support them. They are having promotion now, on-the-spot-approval. They told me will inform me by today and let me know whether my application is being approved or rejected. But till now have not received any call yet. sad.gif
danlhct
post Mar 22 2008, 10:15 PM

170 posts

QUOTE(danlhct @ Mar 22 2008, 08:52 PM)
Today I just applied an EON Bank Mastercard Platinum from their branch, the sales staff wants me to support them. They are having promotion now, on-the-spot-approval. They told me will inform me by today and let me know whether my application is being approved or rejected. But till now have not received any call yet.  sad.gif
Hi Guys, I had received a sms confirmation from EON Bank quoting "Yr Platinum Credit crd is approved. Collect yr free gift fr the branch upon receipt of our crd collection". Wow... it was fast! This is my first Platinum card. rclxms.gif
danlhct
post Mar 22 2008, 10:25 PM

170 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Mar 22 2008, 10:17 PM)
Any particular reason? Our cards are not secured enough? I thought we have chip based card.
I encountered this before. I use Malaysia credit cards to make purchase at some International online merchant before, but was unsuccessful. I feel weird so I call bank and they cannot do anything.
danlhct
post Mar 23 2008, 12:02 AM

170 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Mar 22 2008, 11:01 PM)
what documents you need to apply on-the-spot ?
Just photocopies of IC and Gold Credit Card with at least 2 years and with minimum credit line of RM15k

Added on March 23, 2008, 12:05 amI just canceled my Direct Access gold card 2 months ago. kekekekeke ... ...

This post has been edited by danlhct: Mar 23 2008, 12:05 AM
danlhct
post Mar 23 2008, 12:30 AM

170 posts

I'm using PayPass a few times liao. I thought no signature is required? How come all merchants requested the card holder to sign the sales draft although the sales amount less than RM110?? shakehead.gif
danlhct
post Mar 23 2008, 12:56 AM

170 posts

[quote=David83,Mar 23 2008, 12:36 AM]
You're not the only one who encountered that situation. I experienced it at KFC.

wah...lau..eh... must well next time pay by cash easier.

danlhct
post Mar 23 2008, 04:12 PM

170 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Mar 23 2008, 06:20 AM)

Added on March 23, 2008, 6:23 am

Did you get a credit limit upgrade or did they retain the old limit ? (How much is your old limit ?)
hehe... not sure yet, coz it is on-the-spot approval. The card will be sent out when ready.
My old limit for HSBC Visa Gold is RM15k (separate limit).
danlhct
post Mar 23 2008, 11:11 PM

170 posts

QUOTE(siutimtim @ Mar 23 2008, 10:36 PM)
rhb website mentioned platinum credit minimum rm20k but you can apply already with RM5k/month income... so low requirement ?

do RHB offer free for life card ?
RM5k/ month, per annum is RM60K. Standard Chartered Platinum Master Card also having the same requirement.
Application is simple, just using prompt card. If you have Gold Card 15K (maybe less, not sure) of credit line and more than a year of usage, you are eligible to apply for SCB Platinum MasterCard. My friend already got his SCB Platinum Mastercard. But the credit line is even lower than his Ctb Gold Card.

Added on March 23, 2008, 11:28 pm
QUOTE(mrcloud9 @ Mar 23 2008, 10:30 PM)
which branch you went?
I went to Penang branch. I think most of the branch is having this kind of promotion during off banking day - Saturday. Somemore got free gift, one set of thermo mugs in a nice packaging. The free gift for Platinum CC is better than Gold CC.

Approval is fast, I received sms notification from EON Bank same day in the late evening.

This post has been edited by danlhct: Mar 23 2008, 11:28 PM
danlhct
post Mar 24 2008, 12:50 AM

170 posts

QUOTE(siutimtim @ Mar 24 2008, 12:39 AM)
my father got scb gold card with rm20k limit but still not platinum card... if got platinum card but with no enough annual income can apply any bank platinum card is it ? after getting SCB plat card but income less than 5k/month can apply alliance bank or hsbc card ?
It depends on which bank. HSBC and Citbank's Platinum card is not easy to get. They really look at your annual income.
Whereas, some local bank's Platinum CC requirement is not that strict.
danlhct
post Mar 26 2008, 12:29 AM

170 posts

QUOTE(aeronlim @ Mar 24 2008, 06:08 PM)
hi everyone, i m looking for a credit card.

I heard of UOB VISA got many rebate on the cash spending, may i know is UOB bank service good?

And i also looking for a MASTERCARD, any Bank can be suggested?

I would recommend HSBC Mastercard. Good customer service. You can enjoy many privileges with HSBC credit card, from shopping to dinning. The validity of the reward points is 3 years. Wider range of gift redemption, special point knockdown on certain items from time to time.

Maybank Mastercard is not bad too, but sometime customer careline very hard to get through. Point wise, so far I find CIMB and Maybank are having the widest range of gift redemption. Maybank also have many on-the-spot redemption center such as SenQ, etc. Best of all, Maybank treatpoints are never expires. Furthermore, the point mark-up is not too high. It is the best in the market.

Although CIMB has many choices for the gift redemption, but the points only valid for one year.

danlhct
post Mar 26 2008, 12:39 AM

170 posts

QUOTE(joenjill @ Mar 26 2008, 12:34 AM)
anyone here have apply Maybank Petronas Card? How long you all wait for the processing? if they wish to reject this application, the bank will inform us?
I'm not sure about the Maybank Petronas cc. But last year I applied for Maybank Visa Gold, it takes a month for processing from the day you submit the application form. Almost every bank will send out the letter to the customer should the card gets approved or declined.
danlhct
post Mar 26 2008, 11:36 PM

170 posts

QUOTE(mrcloud9 @ Mar 26 2008, 09:01 PM)
only citibank offers separate limit to its mastercard and visa cardholders. so, normally the agent would suggest you to apply just the visa. after about a year if your payment and spending pattern is good, they would offer you a mastercard with similar limit. so this way, you get double limit!
Not really, HSBC do offer separate limit cc to its card holder. For instance, I'm having HSBC Visa and MasterCard with separated credit line.
danlhct
post Mar 26 2008, 11:48 PM

170 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Mar 26 2008, 11:40 PM)
BTW ... does anyone here knows whether the banks here practice a temporary credit application blackout after you have canceled your cards with them ?

- Which banks practices this ?
- What's the duration of the blackout before you can attempt to make a fresh application for their card again ?
I think most of the bank have this kind of practices.
Example:
- 7 years ago my appl to MBF been declined, the agent told me I can have a second attempt after 2 weeks. Then I just followed her advise, finally I got my first ever cc in my life.
- For ctb, you hav to wait for 3 months then only can reapply. But if the declined was due to the document issue, such as incomplete docs, or they suspect about the genuine of the documents (risk), then you can have your second attempt after a month.

danlhct
post Mar 28 2008, 01:10 AM

170 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Mar 27 2008, 08:44 PM)
MBB is my primary credit card and I have been using for almost every CC transaction. Now with no longer having my HSBC, I only use both MBB.
Huh..?? You only use both MBB? No other card for backup? What if Maybank server down and the transaction gets declined, and you don't hav enough cash on hand at that time?

Added on March 28, 2008, 1:19 am
QUOTE(hye @ Mar 27 2008, 10:55 PM)
Good question. I had the same scenario as yours until recently when I picked up the HSBC card again. The device came in handy again. But if you plan not to have anything to do with HSBC in the future then maybe you can cancel the security device & cancel the Internet Banking account.

The security device is powerful but it's something I dislike carrying around.
I also dislike to carry the security device around, very troublesome. Without the security device, cannot login to HSBC internet banking vmad.gif
How I wish HSBC cud give us an option login to internet banking without using the security device. The security device only require when come to critical transaction such as fund transfer, add new bill payee, etc.

This post has been edited by danlhct: Mar 28 2008, 01:19 AM
danlhct
post Mar 28 2008, 10:50 AM

170 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Mar 28 2008, 07:24 AM)
I have another card (CIMB DA) but I don't carry that around much.
Wow, u are so royalty to Maybank tongue.gif
danlhct
post Mar 28 2008, 10:57 AM

170 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Mar 28 2008, 10:53 AM)
It's loyalty lah not "royalty". Different people have different preferences - it's perfectly alright.
oppsss.... thanks for correcting my mistake biggrin.gif

0.0312sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 07:22 AM