128 Pages « < 41 42 43 44 45 > » Bottom

Technical LCD TV/Display Discussion Thread, technical discussion on LCD TV/Monitor

law1777
post Oct 27 2008, 04:22 PM

DreamMan
2,654 posts

lcd monitor supports wider resolution than tvs.. i also dunno why

my laptop 14inch only the resolution is already 1280 x 800

This post has been edited by law1777: Oct 27 2008, 04:26 PM
prazole
post Oct 27 2008, 04:30 PM

Sleepyhead..
1,513 posts

QUOTE(law1777 @ Oct 27 2008, 04:22 PM)
lcd monitor supports wider resolution than tvs.. i also dunno why

my laptop 14inch only the resolution is already 1280 x 800
LCD tv follow the standard 9:6 ratio la..
ruztynail
post Oct 27 2008, 04:54 PM

Acrimonious Young Man
1,886 posts

QUOTE(law1777 @ Oct 27 2008, 09:55 AM)
LOL.. i think u've got it all mixed up.. so long a LCD is capable of displaying 1080 its considered full HD. thy do it by pixel counting. . consumer LCD tv is diff frm a PC LCD. PC LCD is capable of displayin higher thn "FULL HD" on a tv.

24" normally produce 1920 x 1200 pixel resolution capable of playing full HD video as well..

if u didnt know thy also advertise 2MP LCD which essentially means 1080... that and the "full HD" is jus a consumer's gimmick.. thy trick consumers allot.. and it seems to work.. sweat.gif very well indeed

This post has been edited by ruztynail: Oct 27 2008, 04:55 PM
currypuffzz
post Oct 27 2008, 05:07 PM

QUOTE(ruztynail @ Oct 27 2008, 04:54 PM)
LOL.. i think u've got it all mixed up.. so long a LCD is capable of displaying 1080 its considered full HD. thy do it by pixel counting. . consumer LCD tv is diff frm a PC LCD.  PC LCD is capable of displayin higher thn "FULL HD" on a tv.

24" normally produce 1920 x 1200 pixel resolution capable of playing full HD video as well..

if u didnt know thy also advertise 2MP LCD which essentially means 1080... that and the "full HD" is jus a consumer's gimmick.. thy trick consumers allot.. and it seems to work..  sweat.gif  very well indeed
so hp w2408h full hd???
ruztynail
post Oct 27 2008, 05:21 PM

Acrimonious Young Man
1,886 posts

QUOTE(currypuffzz @ Oct 27 2008, 05:07 PM)
so hp w2408h full hd???
let me put this to u.. consumer TV has notin tat goes above 1080p.. in general. cause the highest ever playing consumer product now is the blueray and tats 1080p. so the manufacturers deemed it FULL HD.. 720p HD (but not full)

PC LCD has a capability of going beyond FULL HD.. cause pc monitors practically can view large pixel counts. highest ever is 1920 × 1200 or 2560 × 1600 is u're on dual..

so long u check the specs and it shows above 1080p on the 2nd numbering.. yes its capable of going full-HD..

basically any 24" PC LCD can go FULL HD..

tats why on yr ps3.. u can select 1080p output.. and the LCD would show it..

naturally u wont see much diff.. tats why TV LCD manufacturers usually use FULL HD on 40" and above.. cause its quiet irrational to use it on 32". u wont see much diff..

on a PC LCD.. u mostly work wit stuff larger thn 720p... 768 is the usual case..

hope u understand wat i said. LOL.. wiki or google.. yr best bet of understanding better
currypuffzz
post Oct 27 2008, 05:29 PM

QUOTE(ruztynail @ Oct 27 2008, 05:21 PM)
let me put this to u.. consumer TV has notin tat goes above 1080p.. in general. cause the highest ever playing consumer product now is the blueray and tats 1080p. so the manufacturers deemed it FULL HD.. 720p HD (but not full)

PC LCD has a capability of going beyond FULL HD.. cause pc monitors practically can view large pixel counts. highest ever is 1920 × 1200 or 2560 × 1600 is u're on dual..

so long u check the specs and it shows above 1080p on the 2nd numbering.. yes its capable of going full-HD..

basically any 24" PC LCD can go FULL HD..

tats why on yr ps3.. u can select 1080p output.. and the LCD would show it..

naturally u wont see much diff.. tats why TV LCD manufacturers usually use FULL HD on 40" and above.. cause its quiet irrational to use it on 32". u wont see much diff..

on a PC LCD.. u mostly work wit stuff larger thn 720p... 768 is the usual case..

hope u understand wat i said. LOL.. wiki or google.. yr best bet of understanding better
oooooooo..... now i knoe....
ok2.. tq....

now sumbody pls help me 2 recommend me d best lcd monitor in full hd for my ps3.... wif d price.. tq....

Added on October 27, 2008, 6:15 pm1 more thing...
hp w2408h is not full hd...
benq m2400 full hd, webcam, cheap...
samsung t240 full hd....
dell s2409w full hd also but TN panel....

which 1 is da best??

prefer smsg n benq i think... opinion pls......

This post has been edited by currypuffzz: Oct 27 2008, 06:15 PM
jeerie
post Oct 27 2008, 05:30 PM

42 posts

QUOTE(kuya @ Oct 26 2008, 11:28 AM)
hi jerrie, have you fix the problem? i'd a same problem here while playing games the screen blackout suddenly for 2-3 sec on my viera 32".
belum lagi la kuya...still got this problem...tertekan betul tengah2 main nak kene set balik setting LCD TV....dah khatam manual TV aku bace, takde pun user setting, dalam manual tu suruh set jer pakat factory setting, pastu ubah...ade sape2 tau problem ape nih? boleh claim warranty tak?

This post has been edited by jeerie: Oct 27 2008, 05:32 PM
asfiezul
post Oct 27 2008, 08:47 PM

58 posts

hurm..my eyes really cant see the diff between 720p n 1080p..

but kinda disappoint to see jaggy line with games graphic on my 40" samsung.. i thought this gen game with no more jaggy line...
DDSFan8
post Oct 27 2008, 08:51 PM

1,278 posts

LCD is super clear when you sit far and watch. Buy Sharp. Cheap and reliable.

Japan chosen LCD
myqd
post Oct 27 2008, 08:54 PM

2,247 posts

i agree with ruztynail,a lcd pc monitor with 1920 x 1080 can display 1080p sources and it should consider a FullHD monitor,whereby 720P is only HDready. I just test Sony 37" HDready,40" S series FullHD and 40" V series FullHD side by side with the same BD,not much diffrent i can see,maybe only noticeable if LCD > 42" ?
ruztynail
post Oct 27 2008, 11:50 PM

Acrimonious Young Man
1,886 posts

QUOTE(currypuffzz @ Oct 27 2008, 05:29 PM)
all 24" are full HD ler.. here.. capable of displaying 1920x1200

http://www.zdnet.com.au/reviews/hardware/d...39283972,00.htm

This post has been edited by ruztynail: Oct 27 2008, 11:50 PM
Pain_X
post Oct 28 2008, 02:48 PM

244 posts

I just bought a new PS3 game and to my dismay,my sad-ass TV's resolution is not good enough to play the game. I get the Video Output error.

Right now ive only got the standard NTSC,and to play the game i need either ( as referring to the box:) PAL HD 720p 1080i 1080p.
Frankly,i dont know what this means. I tried changing the Display Settings in the Playstation options but it doesn't work as my TV only has standard NTSC and i think 480i.

I was wondering if there's any other way i can play the game on my TV ( NBA 2K9) or if i could connect to my computer screen (which isnt with me right now,ive just go its details) and play.

My computer's monitor is a Samsung SyncMaster943NWX. Thats the only thing i know about it as its in my condo room.I tried searching google but couldn't find any answers.
Say i can connect the PS3 to the monitor,what cable do i need? Where does it go and how much does it cost?

I really need your help. Thanks in advance.
ruztynail
post Oct 28 2008, 02:50 PM

Acrimonious Young Man
1,886 posts

how old is yr lcd?? it has to support hdcp or somtin.. u need a dvi to hdmi cable.
Pain_X
post Oct 28 2008, 02:53 PM

244 posts

QUOTE(ruztynail @ Oct 28 2008, 02:50 PM)
how old is yr lcd?? it has to support  hdcp or somtin.. u need a dvi to hdmi cable.
Were you asking me? If you were,my monitor should be new.It came with a comp i bought 3 weeks ago...
Is the cable called a dvi to hdmi cable?

http://www.samsung.com/my/consumer/detail/...d=LS19MYNKF/XME

Thats the product site where at the bottom it says this :- DVI interface delivers video images with high resolution and essentially perfect quality.
- You can enjoy digital contents with DVI interface (HDCP supported).

But when i check the specs,it says this :Video Signal Analog RGB
Sync. Signal Separate H/V, Composite, SOG
Connector 15pin D-SUB

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Can it be used to play the PS3..?

This post has been edited by Pain_X: Oct 28 2008, 03:19 PM
vorchiel
post Oct 28 2008, 03:10 PM

ლ(ಠ_ಠ ლ)
666 posts

QUOTE(Pain_X @ Oct 28 2008, 02:48 PM)
I just bought a new PS3 game and to my dismay,my sad-ass TV's resolution is not good enough to play the game. I get the Video Output error.

Right now ive only got the standard NTSC,and to play the game i need either ( as referring to the box:) PAL HD 720p 1080i 1080p.
Frankly,i dont know what this means. I tried changing the Display Settings in the Playstation options but it doesn't work as my TV only has standard NTSC and i think 480i.

I was wondering if there's any other way i can play the game on my TV ( NBA 2K9) or if i could connect to my computer screen (which isnt with me right now,ive just go its details) and play.

My computer's monitor is a Samsung SyncMaster943NWX. Thats the only thing i know about it as its in my condo room.I tried searching google but couldn't find any answers.
Say i can connect the PS3 to the monitor,what cable do i need? Where does it go and how much does it cost?

I really need your help. Thanks in advance.
I'm using the same monitor in my office. The problem is described here. Sadly, it only have VGA-in. You'll need something like this for your 943nwx:

I think ps3 can only do upto 720p via component

kazasho
post Oct 28 2008, 03:17 PM

カザショ!
1,964 posts

can I use this lenovo 9227 - AC1 with ps3?

must buy dvi - hdmi converter

unrealweapon
post Oct 28 2008, 03:20 PM

it's painful.
865 posts

QUOTE(vorchiel @ Oct 28 2008, 03:10 PM)

PS2 can too.... biggrin.gif GT4 at 1080i. on component..
Pain_X
post Oct 28 2008, 03:26 PM

244 posts

QUOTE(vorchiel @ Oct 28 2008, 03:10 PM)
I'm using the same monitor in my office. The problem is described here. Sadly, it only have VGA-in. You'll need something like this for your 943nwx:

Thanks for the post. That cable looks weird...where do the colored wires go...?
Ive been reading through your posts in the link provided,it seems the game NBA2K9 is a PAL coded and my TV is really old so it cant be used.

Our monitor however should at least be able to run the game,regardless of quality...
So i was wondering,from the HDMI port behind the PS3,to connect to the samsung 943NWX monitor, which cable should be used and where do the wires go...?

vorchiel
post Oct 28 2008, 03:33 PM

ლ(ಠ_ಠ ლ)
666 posts

QUOTE(unrealweapon @ Oct 28 2008, 03:20 PM)
PS2 can too.... biggrin.gif GT4 at 1080i. on component..
i didnt mean only ps3 can do it

i used "only 720p" to compare it to the higher-res 1080p.
720p > 1080i anyway

QUOTE(Pain_X @ Oct 28 2008, 03:26 PM)
Thanks for the post. That cable looks weird...where do the colored wires go...?
Ive been reading through your posts in the link provided,it seems the game NBA2K9 is a PAL coded and my TV is really old so it cant be used.

Our monitor however should at least be able to run the game,regardless of quality...
So i was wondering,from the HDMI port behind the PS3,to connect to the samsung 943NWX monitor, which cable should be used and where do the wires go...?

That is component -> vga converter.. Component cable has 3 cables for video and 2 cable (red white) for audio.

So you'll need PS2/PS3 component cable + "the component -> VGA converter"..

I dont know whether there is any direct AV -> VGA cable for PS2/PS3.. sad.gif
Pain_X
post Oct 28 2008, 03:38 PM

244 posts

QUOTE(vorchiel @ Oct 28 2008, 03:33 PM)
i didnt mean only ps3 can do it

i used "only 720p" to compare it to the higher-res 1080p.
720p > 1080i anyway
That is component -> vga converter.. Component cable has 3 cables for video and 2 cable (red white) for audio.

So you'll need PS2/PS3 component cable + "the component -> VGA converter"..

I dont know whether there is any direct AV -> VGA cable for PS2/PS3..  sad.gif
Wow,this really is confusing...
Does this mean ill first need to connect the PS3 component cable(no idea how it looks like) to the back of the PS3 (HDMI port) and then connect this same cable to the "component>VGA converter" which goes into the monitor?

128 Pages « < 41 42 43 44 45 > » Top

0.0186sec    0.47    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 02:49 AM