9 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 >Bottom

Technical LCD TV/Display Discussion Thread, technical discussion on LCD TV/Monitor

SSJBen
post Aug 17 2009, 09:37 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(e30 @ Aug 17 2009, 09:25 PM)
will the price of h233h drop anytime soon? currently around the rm650 mark. another thing, is there an audio input jack? can i connect my 2.1 speakers to the h233h?
Price will remain at RM650+ until it phases out at the end of the year or something in Q1 2010. It could drop slightly more, but don't expect anything more than RM10-RM20 from its original MSRP.
And yes there is audio out on the monitor.
SSJBen
post Aug 18 2009, 10:31 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

Yes RM650 is about as low as you can get now.
SSJBen
post Aug 21 2009, 08:14 AM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

Price increase for Acer H233H is coming for the oncoming weeks. Most shops will hike it to RM670-RM700. Average around RM690 mark.

These are new stocks.
Most shops now are selling around RM650, can go lower if you haggle abit more. So for those who want the H233H, go ahead and get it now to save yourself a possible RM50 or maybe even more.
SSJBen
post Sep 12 2009, 09:45 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(iloveut @ Sep 12 2009, 12:25 PM)
whats the cheapest and smallest LCD tv in the market.

whats the cheapest AND smallest normal Tv?
Theres a SHARP 19" HDTV which goes for around RM1.1k.
While it is the cheapest, its not worth it.

You're better off getting a Full HD monitor.

QUOTE(Razaelx @ Sep 12 2009, 09:00 PM)
super duper noob question:

which resolution of lcd tv is better for playing ps3, 720p or 1080p ? the reason i'm asking this is bcuz at the back of all my ps3 game box it says:Supported HD video output: 720p

so does that mean that  its better to just get a hd ready tv(which is cheaper) than a Full HDtv to be used with my ps3 ?
The same still stays today.
720p for games, 1080p for Blu-Ray movies.

By contrast, if you're just going to play games then just head for a HD Ready TV.
SSJBen
post Sep 14 2009, 07:47 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(sidpunx @ Sep 14 2009, 03:15 PM)
hey guys,

what is the best full HD lcd (1080p) monitor for my PS3? any suggestion?

is the BENQ G2411HD good for the PS3? there are no speakers on the monitor.. how to output the sound?

thanks!
I've not really seen the BenQ G2411HD in action myself.
Quite interested in it, however from some response I've heard so far the G2411HD is a decent monitor. Pretty lousy scaling though....

Not so sure on this.
As to how to output sound, its in the PS3 Beginners thread and has been answered a thousand times over in this thread itself. Look back.

QUOTE(PS3NEWBIE @ Sep 14 2009, 06:54 PM)
Hey guys heres a noob question
Im using a viewsonic monitor 19" AX922 with DVI,VGA and it does support 720p but it does not support hdcp
how to get my ps3 run with my monitor without buying a new one. sweat.gif
A VGA box is your bet.

QUOTE(Razaelx @ Sep 14 2009, 07:33 PM)
so ps3 games looks better on a 720p lcd hdtv/monitor than on a 1080p hdtv.am i right ?  sweat.gif
QUOTE(toottut89 @ Sep 14 2009, 07:37 PM)
sarcastic. of course 1080p is better than 720p lah aduh.
Haha no.
Because so many PS3 games are locked in 720p, playing it on a 1080p TV will force your TV to upscale the game's resolution to your TV's native.
Many TVs has poor scalers, some higher-end TVs are decent at best. Projector is a whole different story however.

In short, PS3 games does not look better in 1080p if it is locked in 720p.
Only about a dozen or more PSN games are done in full 1080p resolution, that on a different scale does look better on a Full HD panel.
SSJBen
post Sep 14 2009, 08:25 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

LCD TVs and Plasma TVs cannot have its native resolution changed.
Its called native for a reason, this isn't plastic surgery.
SSJBen
post Oct 7 2009, 02:13 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

The best setting is the setting that looks best to your eyes. smile.gif
SSJBen
post Oct 13 2009, 06:28 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(nimloth32 @ Oct 13 2009, 03:23 PM)
I am planning to get a ps 3 soon. Due to the space restriction of my room, anything which is small size (below 25 inch) would be great. I am confused whether getting a lcd monitor would be more cost effective or vice versa. How much does it take to setup a lcd monitor for playing ps 3? It is because I read from the internet that it cost quite a bit to buy the adapter to connect the ps 3 to the lcd monitor and even more. However, if getting a lcd monitor is better, which model would be the best one to get? On the other hand, if getting lcd tv is more cost effective, which model of lcd tv is the best? My budget is around RM 900. Please advice. Thx. 

icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
Your budget is only RM900, you can forget about HDTVs.
However with that money, you can get some very good 24" (or 23.6/1) "HD" monitors.

And no you do not need to spend another RM200 on a VGA box, majority of these "HD" monitors already have HDMI input. Just plug and play.

Some good models that I'd suggest:
Asus VH242 - RM720-RM750.
Best of the bunch, this monitor's color accuracy and gamut is awesome for a TN panel. Black levels however, a little not so good but not a big deal. No input lag, which is the most critical feature.

Viewsonic VX2433wm - RM680-RM700
Absolutely no input lag, the black levels is the best of the bunch. The blacks are just deep, hands down. Colors on the other hand, is far from as good as the Asus, it is still "good" though. A little bit of backlight bleeding too, but isn't too much of a deal.

AOC 2434pw - RM690
Supposedly to have the best contrast ratio of this pack, however it is only dynamic. The colors are better than the Viewsonic but no where near the Asus yet. Very good black levels too. This monitor is a good pick up, although it only has HDMI and VGA inputs. If you're not going to run a PC (or don't mind connecting it to a VGA), this monitor is a fine choice.

Other choices that you can look out for:
Samsung 2494HS - RM780-RM800
Acer H233H - RM650
Acer P244W - RM800

This post has been edited by SSJBen: Oct 13 2009, 06:29 PM
SSJBen
post Oct 13 2009, 10:31 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(Thrust @ Oct 13 2009, 08:19 PM)
Upgrading from SHARP 32" HD Ready to SONY BRAVIA 40" KLV40V550B. Brother's out there, if possible, try to get at least a 32" HDTV instead of a PC monitor. You'll never be satisfied of the size... I've upgraded from:-

22" DELL HDMI Monitor (1680x1050)
32" SHARP AQUOS LC32A33M HDTV (1366x768)
40" SONY BRAVIA V series KLV40V550B (1920x1080)

50"??? anyone???  rclxms.gif
SSJBEN, what setup you're currently using anyway? I see you must be an ULTRA gamer.. look at those Platinum throphies  notworthy.gif
Far from an ultra gamer.... only 8 platinums, that pales in comparison to many other forumers here, and of course a joke to those who has like what... 40+ platinums? laugh.gif

I've got 2 setups.
In my office I'm using a fairly old inFocus IN76, taking up a 60" space. Shared by all my colleagues.

At home in my room, I'm just using the Viewsonic VX2433wm.
Using a 4.2 speaker setup, 4 satelites and 2 woofers. Space is a big issue in my room.... so gotta make do with this at the moment, but I'm very happy with it.

50" perhaps can look at Samsung LEDs? laugh.gif

QUOTE(nimloth32 @ Oct 13 2009, 09:19 PM)
thx man u r the champ
No problem, good luck with your selection. icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by SSJBen: Oct 13 2009, 10:35 PM
SSJBen
post Oct 14 2009, 04:18 AM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(nimloth32 @ Oct 13 2009, 11:49 PM)
btw, is it possible to connect my laptop to a lcd monitor whilst the monitor is connected to the ps 3 at the same time?
Yes it's possible.
But obviously you can view both at the same time.

You'd need to switch inputs on the fly and also considering the monitor has atleast both HDMI and VGA inputs of course.
SSJBen
post Oct 14 2009, 01:36 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(nimloth32 @ Oct 14 2009, 08:30 AM)
on the fly meaning u do that in ur window?

I read some websites on the internet. It seems that some people encounter some issues like their character look bloated or some also encounter 4-5 seconds lag issues when using lcd monitor for their ps 3. What are your comments on those issues?  hmm.gif
Rhadykall just answered your question on the first one.
As for the input lag, all the models that I've recommended has none of them, rest assured as I've personally test them all.

Characters looking bloated, it is simply because they're playing on a 16:10 aspect ratio. Image will be stretched to fit the entire screen.
Some monitors has the option to go for 1:1 pixel mapping (these are usually the high-end 24-inchers though) or has a 16:9 zoomed in view so that the image don't distort.
SSJBen
post Oct 15 2009, 04:01 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

Tak perlu guna Monster Cable.
Tapi kalau beli HDMI cap ayam, beli yang baik sikit daripada pasar malam.

Lots of HDMI cable are made with shoddy quality now a days.
Atleast 24AWG HDMI cable will be good enough.

SSJBen
post Oct 15 2009, 07:46 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(nimloth32 @ Oct 15 2009, 06:27 PM)
@SSJBen

oh yea, as for sound, what can i do with it? should i buy speaker in order to have sound? if i need to buy one, can i get pc speaker or otherwise? Thx

p.s: sorry, i am a noob when it comes to this
You can use PC speakers.

For more info, just check this thread:
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1118828

It'll answer most of your questions.
SSJBen
post Oct 19 2009, 10:34 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(g05sping @ Oct 17 2009, 03:45 PM)
Any recommendation on HDMI->DIV cable? I just got mine a cheap @RM25 HDMI->DVI cable from a computer shop lyn. The display color quality is very bad.

btw, my lcd monitor is Dell 2407WFP
I doubt getting a better made cable would do much of a difference.
I suggest you go back and change the cable instead, just to make sure it isn't defective.

You can also try to turn on RGB Full Range under the Display Settings to run your monitor at 0-255 Full Dynamic Range for perhaps, a more vibrant color fill.

QUOTE(Masamune @ Oct 19 2009, 07:51 PM)
Hey does my LCD supports PS3?
Cause i thought of getting one..
Dell 2206WA..
I'm not so sure on this model.
General rule of the thumb is if the monitor has atleast DVI and is HDCP compliant, the PS3 should work on in it fine.

QUOTE(kabuto rider kick @ Oct 19 2009, 08:09 PM)
noob question,lcd monitors with 1920x1080 means they are full HD?
Yes.
Though Full HD is just a market monicker.

Because when you think about it, 720p would simply mean what..? Half HD? rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(rizal77 @ Oct 19 2009, 08:36 PM)
hi guys,
i really hope someone here can help me on my problems..
ok actually there was this one time, in a shopping complex, there was this big lcd tv showing batman 2(bluray)
the picture was really like popping out u know, how should i say. it's like the actor is like 3D or something.
its like the images were like popping out of the lcd screen!! like some cardboad being paste on top it is almost like fake already.
my question is,
a) what kind of lcd tv that can produce that kind of effect?
b) is it some kind of technologies? like 200Hz motion something, i forgot or
c) is it due to some tweak in existing normal lcd tv.

please help me im such a noob as im planning to buy 1 lcd tv and i want to have that kind of effect when i watch my bluray later.
thanks guys!!!

ps: SSJBen..im sure u are laughing at me now...
Where did you see it?
It simply takes a 120hz capable panel to display 3D. However you're going to need superman eyes to actually see them...
Which is why we have 3D glasses still.

We aren't at an age where 3D can be displayed as holographic videos yet (don't tell me about prototypes now, laugh.gif ).
SSJBen
post Oct 31 2009, 08:21 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

Your remarks pointing to who then?
Me? rolleyes.gif
SSJBen
post Nov 1 2009, 05:37 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(faidzul @ Nov 1 2009, 03:00 PM)
hey guys, just got my ps3 slim. have no idea to connect my lcd monitor acer x203h with dvi no hdmi to my ps3..need big help here.thanks a lot..
Simple, use a DVI-to-HDMI cable.
Problem solved.
SSJBen
post Nov 16 2009, 12:50 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(urb7 @ Nov 16 2009, 11:59 AM)
Hi guys,

Am thinking of connecting my PS3 to my Vaio, but it's only got S-VIDEO in port. Do you guys know what cable can do this?

You answered your own question.
S-video cable.

This post has been edited by SSJBen: Nov 16 2009, 12:50 PM
SSJBen
post Nov 16 2009, 04:13 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(urb7 @ Nov 16 2009, 04:06 PM)
The S-VIDEO cable that came with the Console has got 3 seperate outputs.

This S-VIDEO port looks different.

Sorry, very illiterate when it comes to cables!
Uhmm... the cable that comes with the PS3 is composite cables.
Not S-video.

Just head out and get a S-video cable for your PS3.
SSJBen
post Nov 16 2009, 05:16 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(miyamoto_musashi @ Nov 16 2009, 04:45 PM)
Thanks Joey. My lcd tv has two hdmi ports. As I've said I'm not sure whether my TV has HDCP even though it has HDMI ports. My only worry is if my TV is without HDCP then the video displayed for ps3 games might be 480p(instead of 720p) which some gamers have mentioned will not look good.

Also, as regard to your comment on connecting speakers to the ps3 OR the tv, I read that you can do either, but not sure what the difference will be, if there is any. I'm also not an expert in this  smile.gif

Anyway thanks for your help.
Dude... if your TV has HDMI, it is a known standard it is HDCP compliant.
So it will work, one way or the other.
SSJBen
post Dec 14 2009, 01:18 AM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(nimloth32 @ Dec 13 2009, 10:32 PM)
I am looking for these monitors..

Asus VH242, Viewsonic VX2433wm

but i have a few questions to ask

1) As far as i know, these monitors can go with ps3 well without much problem. However, i got a ps 2. Can i use these two monitors for my ps2 as well? What do i need to do to get my ps2 to run using these monitor?

2) Are there any stock left for these monitors in lowyat atm?

please advise..thx..
1) You can get a VGA - Component adapter, around RM15-20 or so. Then connect using component cables from your PS2, just bear in mind the quality will be absolutely horrendous.
2) Yes there are, plenty. Check The Hub/Viewnet. VH242 at around RM730 and VX2433wm at around RM680.

QUOTE(yeahh @ Dec 13 2009, 11:51 PM)
if im using a computer LCD monitor specifically HP w2207h which supports HDMI ... and i wanna get a ps3

is there anywhere which sells switches so i can switch between PC and PS3 usage?
HDMI switch.
But not easily found here, so your best bet is to get online.

QUOTE(franstormer @ Dec 14 2009, 01:10 AM)
im using toshiba 42RV500E
http://www.toshiba.com.my/product/product_...ductid=42RV500E
but for some reason im not quite satisfy with the quality sad.gif sometimes still can see some pixels while playing game
By pixels, what do you mean?
Dead pixels?
"jaggies"?

Or what?
Be more specific.

9 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 >Top

0.0391sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 05:57 PM