13 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Investing in US stocks, Does anyone know how?

epalbee3
post Sep 25 2009, 09:35 PM

1,345 posts

I guess it is going to be bearish starting now for some time, may be there is no good news and.. the DJIA is higher than it should be seeing US economic.
But after the corrections, we can reap again.. wink.gif
epalbee3
post Sep 25 2009, 10:49 PM

1,345 posts

QUOTE(jeremyhiew @ Sep 25 2009, 10:34 PM)
im trading US by using CIMB cross border..damn expensive...all the sifu here....izzit the sogotrade or mbtrading safe ? may wan to try... can giv further info how safe izit ?? tqtq
http://myinvest89.blogspot.com/ THE RISE OF NEW BLOG
still new, i think should be safe gua...
but the point is you can save 90% brokerage..
epalbee3
post Sep 26 2009, 07:53 AM

1,345 posts

I have just known that Sogotrade does not allow check withdrawal for non-US citizen, you can only use wire transfer which costs USD50 once.

So if you want to play with Sogotrade, your fund must stay longer..
epalbee3
post Sep 27 2009, 05:57 PM

1,345 posts

QUOTE(瘟神 @ Sep 26 2009, 01:05 AM)
sorry for the incomplete info, i should write it as "adviced". tongue.gif  25k is for pattern daytrading PDT accounts, such as in mbtrading, specially for day-traders. IMO, 3k is enough as capital to trade, only with LOW commission, such as US brokers mentioned in previous posts. with larger capital, traders could split their trades into few counters/ industry or different ETF (diversify risk), and as "extra bullet" when want to averaging down certain positions.

p/s: zaman98 is an expert in trading. should learn from him.  notworthy.gif  biggrin.gif
i heard you have direct CDS account with HLebroking.
But I asked my remisier and he said HLebroking only has nominee account.
or you need to go to HL investment bank?
epalbee3
post Sep 28 2009, 09:40 PM

1,345 posts

QUOTE(GHz @ Sep 28 2009, 07:58 PM)
Do you heard about Citibank Global Transfer? You can transfer between Citibank account worldwide with on USD10 charge & the money credited instantly. No charge on receiving end. Unfortunately, Citibank Malaysia are yet to implement this feature. Citibank SG already have this feature.

The great thing about this feature is you do not need to be their Citigold member. Citigold member will get free transfer.
I should open an account when I was in US for a few months.
But one thing is: can we get free transfer from local to US bank? e.g. Citibank malaysia to Citibank US and back.?
epalbee3
post Sep 28 2009, 10:31 PM

1,345 posts

QUOTE(mynewuser @ Sep 28 2009, 10:19 PM)
For this case, it better just open sogotrade account and wired transfer the money direct to them and from them. The charge a bit expensive.

No need to waste time to transfer from sogotrade to us-bank and then transfer to malaysia.
Is it better to apply check or wire back?
check is free of charge, but don't know will it come. Anyone try before?
epalbee3
post Sep 29 2009, 09:47 PM

1,345 posts

QUOTE(zamans98 @ Sep 29 2009, 12:35 PM)
Will wait for 15th October, when CitiGroup results announced.

Quote" October 15th earnings...8 am eastern....Conference call: 10:45 am
10/15....877-700-4194...conference code: 28581886....I think we're
gonna hear some good things....maybe not great....but good.  A good
start.  Phone numbers, dates and times are off Citi's web site. "

C right now trading at 4.62 after hours.

BAC flying high. FAZ positive, so that is safe to assume that DJIA will open GREEN again and stay GREEN all the way.

GE +14c.
Ok. we can call in using skype. By the way, do they use microsoft conferencing?

Added on September 29, 2009, 9:50 pmC performance is incredible. is it a trap?

This post has been edited by epalbee3: Sep 29 2009, 09:50 PM
epalbee3
post Oct 1 2009, 12:01 AM

1,345 posts

QUOTE(mH3nG @ Sep 30 2009, 11:58 PM)
CIT is either going to go boom or bust.
Anyone brave enough to go in?  smile.gif
1 cent i will try. dumping money in the sea.

Added on October 1, 2009, 12:04 ammy account is activated. but i dun think it is a right time to buy.
perhaps it will be bear one whole month. not yet have short capability.

This post has been edited by epalbee3: Oct 1 2009, 12:04 AM
epalbee3
post Oct 1 2009, 08:02 AM

1,345 posts

QUOTE(motolola @ Oct 1 2009, 01:40 AM)
i'm in the process of creating a sogotrade account also, gonna mail them the things they requested including the w8 form tomolo..
they will ask you to fill in the w8 form and mail it to them.. i'm not sure how the tax thing works as well, but the w8 form is the tax withholding form, which i'm taking it as "foreigners don't need to pay tax" form drool.gif
epalbee if i remember correctly u are using sogotrade too right?
i have a sogotrade, but not actively used. Now i used firstrade.
you only have to pay tax for dividence distributed.

i also mailed the W8BEN form using normal postal mail. Please do not use normal postal mail, the registered mail reached US < 2 weeks while normal postal mail has taken 3 weeks but still not arrived.
epalbee3
post Oct 1 2009, 08:16 AM

1,345 posts

QUOTE(zamans98 @ Oct 1 2009, 08:13 AM)
Not sure, my trade are on CASH basis, even my account is Margin account. In short, exactly like local broker.
However, I'm not sure if there's such thing as T+3 or T+2.

Whatever I bought must equal to cash in hand, so that I can sleep without much hassle at night.
like what say, the market is unpreditable.

mid night news is dangerous because we cannot react.

C has changed position from -12cents to +14 cents during the mid-night.
epalbee3
post Oct 1 2009, 08:39 PM

1,345 posts

QUOTE(zamans98 @ Oct 1 2009, 09:02 AM)
W8 form is standard. I used 1 form for multiple Broker. Downloaded 1 form, fill it in (Acrobat Form format) and signed it. http://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/fw8ben.pdf

I'm not sure why you worry too much about tax.
Only time the TAX being charged if you earn the DIVIDEND from your holding Share. I don't care much about the DIV as most of the time, a good share will appreciate in value.

Come on, after all, do you buy 10,000 shares of Microsoft, Apple etc? Not all companies will give DIV.

Added on October 1, 2009, 9:11 am
True, any BOURSE in the world is the same, not only US market. Even KLSE can reverse trend in matter of minute. As long as there's no bad news about the company, then its a safe bet. DJIA was -125 and C was 4.51-4.52. When DJIA was -75, C was 4.58-4.62. So, based on that logic, DJIA recovered to -25, C is positive.

Not only C, all the rest follow-suit with DJIA movements.
So, you should be able to trade next week? Or still hoping for C to drop to $3?
Congrats - Mine not yet, URE TP 6.25 UYG TP 6.15 (need to cover comm, damn, it was filled x50 and x100, not the whole x150)
Placing order to buy 110 C today @ 4.72.
Will it be too high? I think it will still have rooms.

Added on October 1, 2009, 8:45 pm
QUOTE(epalbee3 @ Oct 1 2009, 08:39 PM)
Replacing order to buy 110 @ 4.65

Added on October 1, 2009, 8:53 pm
QUOTE(epalbee3 @ Oct 1 2009, 08:39 PM)

Added on October 1, 2009, 8:45 pm

Replacing order to buy 110 @ 4.65
oh no.. the price roses to 4.80 already..
seems like have to make the order when the market open..

This post has been edited by epalbee3: Oct 1 2009, 08:53 PM
epalbee3
post Oct 1 2009, 09:17 PM

1,345 posts

QUOTE(GHz @ Oct 1 2009, 09:02 PM)
If want to buy now, maybe I suggest you to buy small position. From yesterday chart, price spike during the last few minutes before market close. It may go down but I could be wrong.

Anyway I gonna throw mine if price >4.80
GHz staying awake? Thanks advising.

My order price @ 4.65 for 110 shares.

Will see how when market opens.
epalbee3
post Oct 1 2009, 09:29 PM

1,345 posts

QUOTE(7CY @ Oct 1 2009, 09:28 PM)
has anyone tried www.thinkorswim.com to trade before?
no one use that.
epalbee3
post Oct 1 2009, 10:57 PM

1,345 posts

pull out..
wait and see..

Added on October 1, 2009, 11:12 pmC has dropped to 4.60. Still haven't bought. my remisier said the bearish will for long time..

This post has been edited by epalbee3: Oct 1 2009, 11:12 PM
epalbee3
post Oct 2 2009, 07:20 AM

1,345 posts

QUOTE(zamans98 @ Oct 2 2009, 12:22 AM)
your remisier? means through local bank. Anyway - just my comments. Read the Expert Analyst- can be found on many popular website and judge yourself.
See who is correct, your remisier or thousand of analyst who born, breed in US.

LONG 460 x500. TP 480
US is going to announce the employment rate on Friday.

Heard that it will greatly affect the share prices.

Ok, will read the more expert analyst.

Added on October 2, 2009, 7:22 am
QUOTE(redken @ Oct 2 2009, 02:58 AM)
The US market is gonna be bearish for the short term since DJIA support is already breached.
I have hold back my buy order until further notice. wink.gif

See what happen tonight. smile.gif

This post has been edited by epalbee3: Oct 2 2009, 07:22 AM
epalbee3
post Oct 2 2009, 07:24 AM

1,345 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Oct 2 2009, 07:23 AM)
Wow!  Gone for 1 week.. came back.. stocks on sale..  rclxms.gif
yeah.. it is for sale, not buying now..
welcome back from holidays. smile.gif
epalbee3
post Oct 2 2009, 08:35 PM

1,345 posts

QUOTE(mH3nG @ Oct 2 2009, 08:16 PM)
CIT is back from the brink of death from USD1.06 and is now trading at USD1.25 which is 18% higher than yesterday's closing price.  blink.gif
it is smoke.. beware.
epalbee3
post Oct 2 2009, 10:30 PM

1,345 posts

QUOTE(rosdi1 @ Oct 2 2009, 10:14 PM)
I had run out 50% last nite and now happily 100% out.
It will be the start of another waiting game for me.
I will not move in until Dow make another 150 swing in a day.
what do you mean by "150 swing in a day."?
epalbee3
post Oct 3 2009, 12:42 AM

1,345 posts

bought 115 C @ 4.49

set to sell it @ 5.02
epalbee3
post Oct 5 2009, 10:02 PM

1,345 posts

I start to earn for my first US stock - C..

I guess it will raise to USD5++.. Be tuned.. should be within this week. smile.gif

13 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0449sec    1.00    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 08:36 AM