9 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Investing in US stocks, Does anyone know how?

sulifeisgreat
post Oct 22 2009, 10:37 AM

1,121 posts

QUOTE(mrPOTATO @ Oct 22 2009, 10:10 AM)
Ahaha.. i had a deprived childhood.
Hey, those analysts over in usa keep talking abt asia leading recovery. Pessimistic lot.
Is china/hk ah a better place to trade i wonder.
Or how about investing in nyse chinese stocks like unicom, china mobile etc ?
refer post #1487 stock market moves in anticipation of the future, most news u wil read is old & stale
imo, whereever can make $$$, its alwiz a good place

izit ok if we do a surprise test on u for trading & investing101 classs? drool.gif
wat is ur opinion on unicom & china mobile? come on dun be shy... we all wanna see is tis thread working? whistling.gif

in same sector,here is a sample of uptrend, breakout after $5 & supported by volume, but y can it do tat? can u find out?

in same sector,here is a sample of gap up with high volume, but y can it do tat? can u/ any volunteer find out?

come come... anyone out there can participate in this class to make thread active. there is no right or wrong answer.
if u r right, ur bank ac got lots of zero & vice versa if u r wrong. i'm not a fan of buffet, but for those buffet lovers :

In the business world, the rearview mirror is always clearer than the windshield.
Warren Buffett
US financier & investment businessman (1930 - )

This post has been edited by sulifeisgreat: Oct 22 2009, 10:59 AM
sulifeisgreat
post Oct 22 2009, 11:56 AM

1,121 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Oct 21 2009, 10:28 PM)
Bought 200 shares of TNA @ 46.50 yesterday during dip, Sold 5 mins ago @ 49.20.  Done for today.

I told you all to buy the dip, didn't I ?    laugh.gif
but u no recommend nor gave us a list to choose from in advance hmm.gif
sulifeisgreat
post Oct 22 2009, 01:06 PM

1,121 posts

QUOTE(taitianhin @ Oct 22 2009, 12:11 PM)
KONG looks like all time high. can we apply the all time high in it? wat is the hourly moving average for this stock?
CHL is experiencing 1 st day low. need to wait for the 1st hour on today trading day to justify entry point. do u have 20 DMA for these 2 stocks?
i dun hav hourly ma nor 20ma for them? we need to ask those day traders for assistance
any idea wat drives kong up? try check up google or yahoo finance message boards to see stil got roket fuel or not?
wonder when wil be the pullback? 11? imo, there r other better quality stocks in this group rolleyes.gif
maybe need to check any momo bought or adding or selling position or not?
also need to check (if got time) those momo got quality boh?

http://finance.yahoo.com/q/mh?s=KONG

in comparison to lvs

http://finance.yahoo.com/q/mh?s=lvs

can u see the difference?
so if this stock can generate earnings quarter after quarter & more momo add position
then u r early bird (but maybe it can even do a pullback to shakeout weak holders)
but if co no make money, then could be speculative or goreng stock
notis speculative stock quality difference between us & our beloved m'sia shakehead.gif

This post has been edited by sulifeisgreat: Oct 22 2009, 01:12 PM
sulifeisgreat
post Oct 22 2009, 11:06 PM

1,121 posts

QUOTE(sulifeisgreat @ Oct 20 2009, 09:52 AM)
right click on the image. save to ur pc, from there, u can open or enlarge for viewing

imo but beware, here is a stock for swing trading, as earnings due 22/10/09. 
alwiz set ur target profit & loss in advance, as if stock dun move rite, we dun wan to hold the bag & be an involuntary long term investor, also move ur trailing stop if it goes up. coz we either win some or we lose most  blush.gif

eg. a quick case study in options vs stock % movement. taking strike price of $5 & expiry on 19/3/10. of coz, we can take other expiry date & price too. whichever suit ur style 

[attachmentid=1259941]

if we think its going up
buy stock 100*5.44=544
or buy call option QQPCA.X 100*1.4=140

but if we think its going down
sell stock 100*5.44=544
or buy put option QQPOA.X 100*1=100

http://finance.yahoo.com/q/os?s=SPAR&m=2010-03-19

well if u own 100 of the stock, u can write a cover call, collect premium & the money wil be in ur ac, provided u gamble & stock move in ur direction. otherwise ur 100 stock would be sold & u collect balance of the proceeds. if u gamble rite, then u get to keep ur 100 stock & the premium collected from cover call... dream on  tongue.gif

if we think its going down
sell call option QQPCA.X 100*.85=85
coz if we sell a put option & it really moves down, our stock wil be sold

if we think its going up
sell put option QQPOA.X 100*.7=70
coz if we sell a call option & it really moves up, our stock wil be sold

taking a gamble, i think spar may move up, so i use scenario buy stock/ buy call options/ sell put options  wink.gif
as it has been beating earnings estimates, otherwise its arang batu time - jmo

http://www.reuters.com/finance/stocks/esti...s?symbol=SPAR.O
here is the post mortem for spar doh.gif

if u had did earnings play, ie sold before earnings, would gain 6-5.44=.56 (careful as got some stock never move after earnings)

refer above purchase example on arang batu case study, below is the results for 20/3/10 options expiry rclxub.gif

bought call option & now close position QQPCA 1.4-.85=.55 lost

bought put option & now close position QQPOA 1-.05=.95 gain before comm

sold call option QQPCA & collected 85 in advance, if want to close position, need to buy back at 130, lost 45 (but normally we do nothing as we had already collected 85. now we waiting to see would open interest person exercise this option or not?) unless we want to keep the stock in hand now

sold put option QQPOA & collected 70 in advance, if want to close position, need to buy back at 175, lost 105 (but normally we do nothing as we had already collected 70. now we waiting to see would open interest person exercise this option or not?) unless we want to keep the stock in hand now

sulifeisgreat
post Oct 22 2009, 11:12 PM

1,121 posts

QUOTE(mynewuser @ Oct 22 2009, 07:56 PM)
TA cannot use in DJI.

so how do we play dji then?

Added on October 22, 2009, 11:21 pm
QUOTE(redken @ Oct 22 2009, 06:10 PM)
If falling below long term MA its time to buy already. U should sell before it breach long term MA threshold coz from there onwards, its gonna freefall. If its approaching long term MA from below, then its time to sell, the reverse is true.
hmm... that means 95% of my ramblings could not be understood cry.gif
ok, in future more pictures, less talking
if can, u got to try the theory & see how it fits to ur study plan

basically 50>200 means its in uptrend
u can note some charts, the price just above 50 & ride up along the trend

so 50<200 means downtrend
u can note some charts, the price just below 200 & ride down along the trend

see how is 50 trying to move, notis it tries to move up, while still under 200

refer dia, qqqq & spy chart. the candlesticks charts & volume is giving u some kind of a clue, where the support & resistance r located
dia = dow jones, qqqq = nasdaq & spy = s&p500

the key point to watch is when 50 intersect with 200 & vice versa, who will win the fight? bulls or bear. u can either wait for confirmation or gamble on its next path rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by sulifeisgreat: Oct 22 2009, 11:48 PM
sulifeisgreat
post Oct 22 2009, 11:39 PM

1,121 posts

QUOTE(mrPOTATO @ Oct 22 2009, 05:25 PM)
I didn't even know the importance of technical analysis until lately. After reading yr link about MA and looking at the charts, i learnt that it is useful to compare the short term MA against long term MA and once the short term MA goes lower than the long term one, its time to run ?  blush.gif

Other parts of the technical analysis i haven't touched yet. Only use common sense to judge that the bottom blue bars are for volume, if they are on top its a good sign. Once it turns upside down, its not such a good sign anymore.  brows.gif

Sifu, right or not ? What other things to read in conjunction with the above ?  rclxub.gif
imo, nothing much to read in conjunction with above , as it seems there is an information overload laugh.gif
its like walking in the forest & looking for a way to the gold mine
of coz u wil wish there r signboard & a highway that leads to there
so i just give some ideas to engage ur mind & show some signs to there
all the best in your trading journey, anything - u can alwiz ask in the thread icon_rolleyes.gif

sulifeisgreat
post Oct 22 2009, 11:55 PM

1,121 posts

QUOTE(mH3nG @ Oct 22 2009, 11:43 PM)
Imo the 50 and 200 is too slow. Its more like whether or not the market is bullish or otherwise. the 10 and 30 days is more useful if you're looking at a shorter timeframe of say a few days.
refer post#1483
agree, so how u use it & wat u wan to use depends on wat u r looking for
but my portfolio includes short, medium & long term stocks/ etf
for me, i see from overall picture, then i drill deeper down into individual stocks
everyone has diff opinion, as long as wateva makes $$$, its fine thumbup.gif
sulifeisgreat
post Oct 23 2009, 12:47 AM

1,121 posts

QUOTE(mH3nG @ Oct 23 2009, 12:02 AM)
Very true. All the TA in the world won't help if someone suddenly decides to downgrade a certain bank stock.  whistling.gif

The market seems to be quite ambivalent today thanks to the rise in jobless claims.
haha... for the market, stil hard to say... its still earnings season - opinion wise, it does seems lethargic
sulifeisgreat
post Oct 23 2009, 08:34 PM

1,121 posts

QUOTE(redken @ Oct 23 2009, 01:21 AM)
Haha. Good. I did not say what he should do with short term MA. But truly, i do not understand u as well as your wife  tongue.gif

Ayo CITI is not doing well leh. Plus we have no idea when the reverse split is coming. As investors are growing tired of the government interference in CITI, my guess is soon. If it takes a plunge after split just like AIG, then we better have more bullets in hand to whack it to the moon.
appreciate those who tried the trading & investing101 class. nod.gif
oh well, since participation really sux doh.gif time to gulung tikar laugh.gif
but i'll continue post case study whenever i pick up anything la

from now, i'll post gambling101 instead, but as usual, caveat emptor whistling.gif
for those who long, fix ur own buy, profit & cut loss level + vice versa when short
i don't set any limit order, i monitor it & when price hit, i do the necessary
i not licensed investment advisor & is just to show u all a glimpse of usa for ur entertainment purpose
do note, the stocks may or may not be part of my portfolio & this is not a recomendation nod.gif

gambling101 tongue.gif

buy if hit above 51 or pullback to 45 (whichever hit first)
holding period, few days before analyst earnings or when got signs to sell
call option +CLWDJ cost 10.70
if all fails, can be a short candidate blink.gif

wait pullback $24

buy at market open (options not available)
holding period, few days before analyst earnings or when got signs to sell

wait pullback $20

sulifeisgreat
post Oct 23 2009, 08:47 PM

1,121 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Oct 23 2009, 12:58 AM)
Man. BAC so red. Wish I have more bullet to average down.
imo for this range trading, options won't help, as direction still uncertain, it'll just decay its time value

hmm... 16.5-17.5 range trading? i sense greed & fear from the thread laugh.gif
wat the heck, buy market open & gamble vmad.gif ...caveat emptor

sulifeisgreat
post Oct 23 2009, 11:07 PM

1,121 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Oct 23 2009, 11:02 PM)
This crazy market is about to sell off..again.

Remember, if it drops below 10K, BUY the dip.    biggrin.gif

I'm getting ready to buy another batch of TNA again.
ya man & pls go lower so can activate my cut loss sweat.gif
sulifeisgreat
post Oct 23 2009, 11:10 PM

1,121 posts

QUOTE(mrPOTATO @ Oct 23 2009, 10:01 PM)
Yap, sori me bad  blush.gif
Yah, entering now takes nerves of steel, for me its very true cos i'm for medium term. Should have went in when buffet took GS. I think even now buffet will not say go in when other ppl dare not enter.

Earlier financial sector figures might not reflect the economy but i would say with consumer trade AMZN & heavy machinery sales CAT recovering, its a matter of time before other sectors slowly create jobs too.

I'm betting my $ on green shoots growing icon_rolleyes.gif December christmas sales ought to give some indication.

Added on October 23, 2009, 10:03 pm

Sulifei, is the BAC band reflective of C's condition now ?
imo, i dun think so, coz the f-ing bac is way too close too overhead, bac its qucikie trade, i no balls for long term on it laugh.gif

sulifeisgreat
post Oct 23 2009, 11:51 PM

1,121 posts

QUOTE(miuk @ Oct 23 2009, 10:26 PM)
For some reason even though GE beat estimates, the stock super tanked. Now i'm not sure if to take the lost or continue holding for long.
Bought at 16.79
gee...i understand its a hassle icon_question.gif but if u can read some of the previous post, lots of faq r there shocking.gif
there was some discussion abt buy price, cut loss & target profit - so wats yours?
wat was the reason u buy? r the reason stil valid?
if u can't make up ur mind, i'll quote William Buckingham: "you'll be like a deer in the headlights."

so dun just stand there... evaluate & decide coz its ur hard earned $$$
if u wanna lose it with style, the stock market wil giv u a lesson u wil never forget
who knows? maybe u r lucky & bless & stock can go roket to moon...

50>200ma & looks up, but u gotta ask urself (imo trading takes common sense too icon_rolleyes.gif )
if u r those lucky fellows who bought during nov08-jan09
wat is ur game plan now whistling.gif

currently, we're having a fun time watching our frens call fear & greed in front of our monitors thumbup.gif
hope to hear from u & share around here wink.gif
sulifeisgreat
post Oct 24 2009, 12:03 AM

1,121 posts

btw, if u wanna put range trading from theory into practice, maybe got a slight chance it can swing trade up, but ur buy point makes it hard a bit

This post has been edited by sulifeisgreat: Oct 24 2009, 12:04 AM
sulifeisgreat
post Oct 24 2009, 03:52 AM

1,121 posts

QUOTE(sulifeisgreat @ Oct 23 2009, 08:47 PM)
imo for this range trading, options won't help, as direction still uncertain, it'll just decay its time value

hmm... 16.5-17.5 range trading? i sense greed & fear from the thread  laugh.gif
wat the heck, buy market open & gamble  vmad.gif ...caveat emptor
haha... got stuck & next range trading is 15.4-18.1, if it goes below 14.5, i've to say adios sweat.gif
well, hope it can continue downtrend nex week, so stop loss can be activated on the case study nod.gif
buy the dip, ge fulfils at 15.17 hmm.gif
sulifeisgreat
post Oct 24 2009, 01:06 PM

1,121 posts

QUOTE(mrPOTATO @ Oct 24 2009, 09:42 AM)
Hey sulifei, how come the yahoo & stockcharts 50d/200d MA line position not same one ?

Oh.. found the answer, 1 is logarithmic.
Better to use linear/loga ?

mrPOT, frankly speaking, in terms of 50-200ma, i hav no idea rclxub.gif i like the yahoo, as i use KISS method
i heard some others found stockcharts helped them le, so how? doh.gif

imo, dun get overloaded with book, virtual trade, over reading too deep FA, TA & analyst reports, high chance to get confused
as all wil giv conflicting signals when is time to take action

This post has been edited by sulifeisgreat: Oct 25 2009, 09:37 AM
sulifeisgreat
post Oct 25 2009, 05:31 PM

1,121 posts

to recap last week adventure

gone with the wind : cbst, ebs, aixg & med
watching : rtk 1.57, spar 5.44, bac 16.65, ge 15.17, wms 48.88, fuqi 27.17, gymb 47.78, clw 51, clwdj 10.7, ddrx 30.04

would u all want some other stocks? but it need ur feedbacks & time to analyse it for expected range trading... shakehead.gif
as usually i hav some stocks which breakout-then pullback or it swing trades up - then i don't bother
but there's too many for me to monitor, if yes, need 4 volunteers, what price range u all prefer?
i dun like penny stocks or low volume type, normally takes long2 time to move hmm.gif
or u all prefer status quo? ie stay back & watch entertainment as usual, haha cool2.gif

This post has been edited by sulifeisgreat: Oct 26 2009, 11:49 AM
sulifeisgreat
post Oct 26 2009, 10:12 AM

1,121 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Oct 26 2009, 08:19 AM)
I get this from chart advisor. What does it mean? Very deep financial language for me.  blush.gif
well, sprinting on treadmill means a person running on the track mesin in fitness first
wat is the difference if u go joggin at ur taman or fitness first?
in ur taman, u can move from point a to point b, the timing or distance depends on ur speed (speed=energy=volume=buying power)
on track mesin, u remain at point a, no matter how fast u run, so u feel tired, but at end, remains there

eg. bhi, so much volume but so slow price moves

"The best analogy I can think of for the markets this week is that they have been sprinting on a treadmill. There were some volatile moves back and forth, but in the end, the markets ended up going nowhere."

eg. expe, refer the volume & compare price movement with this. so they wonder y no see this

"The promising breakouts from last week have basically stalled, although most of the indexes remain above their breakout areas.". "There are some clear signals of weakness appearing in the markets, but as of yet there is still not a valid reversal signal. The market remains above prior support and in a near-term lateral range. This coming week should offer additional clues."

eg. refer clw, it has broken out, but stil cannot be push higher yet, so this week wil hav some idea on its movement

"If the indexes fail their breakouts, they could be in for a more prolonged consolidation or lateral trading range. The key level on the downside remains the September lows; if these are breached, it could signal a more protracted correction."

eg. ek breakout $4 with high volume. next breakout is to breach $6 level. however looking at chart, seems wil range trade. if not, can go lower to $3

sulifeisgreat
post Oct 26 2009, 10:48 PM

1,121 posts

QUOTE(epalbee3 @ Oct 26 2009, 09:36 PM)
Anyone can tell me what to buy today?
bac may sell tomolo or today to cut loss, say 15.3 vmad.gif
hope u guys/ gals get ur virtual swing trade profit target set for those in watchlist flex.gif
this thread has TA & analyst report, we seem to be lacking FA specialist hmm.gif care to share icon_question.gif
anyway, after reading thru the lyn forum & its related links. it seems 99% of u all r FA buffet lovers & they're able to wipe the floor clean agst TA laugh.gif

hope those FA can follow their master sifu buffet method & invest in USA, i believe they can make it too
i would really appreciate feedbacks from them on how to analyse EPS, PE, fair value & etc - for the benefit of this thread lurkers drool.gif
r the stocks in my watchlist overvalued & too risky? sweat.gif
any other stocks in usa which is undervalued & can be place on our radar, when/if the correction happens... tq

sulifeisgreat
post Oct 27 2009, 12:13 AM

1,121 posts

QUOTE(danmooncake @ Oct 26 2009, 11:31 PM)
C'mon,  C isn't dead.  Just watch.  biggrin.gif

Swing trading for TNA again, sold 46.50.

Will buy again if it dips to low 44 or below.  rclxms.gif
can tna hit 40 within this week? can consider... but see how low market goes first

9 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0659sec    0.30    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 01:46 AM