AMDŽ Socket-AM2/AM2+ Overclocking thread (V4), Cockcroach AMD :P

ongbs
post Jan 7 2008, 03:54 PM

Who am I ?
1,083 posts

QUOTE(jy14 @ Jan 7 2008, 03:43 PM)
Hi guys,

I just setup the F3 with the DFI NF Ultra M2 yesterday with D9gmh 512x2. Can I know is the stock bios good to use to oc it ? I set the vcore to "default" and 1.8V for the ram, DDR533, 250 x 10, FSB ratio 4, no prob to boot up to 2.5GHz, 1000 HT and 625MHz for ram at 4-4-4-12-1T.

But, if i go above 250fsb, it can't boot up even though i change the fsb ratio to x3. Need more vcore ? May I know whats the default value ? Should i set to 1.200V or higher ?

Bro -pws- and CV6149: same board as u guys, what to do next to get 3.1ghz ? Using TT V1, temp in Everest is 33C on each core.

CV6149:  this is the burnt mobo lo, hehehe, manage to replace the diode. Testing it out b4 try out on the abit NF-M2 nView.

Please help to guide noob guys.  sweat.gif

Will upload SS tonite, its at home now. idling.
welcome another DFI bro tongue.gif
Wah...u so good ah? Can repair mobo huh?

Mind to share which Diode u replaced? near the 24-pin power connector?
ongbs
post Jan 7 2008, 04:27 PM

Who am I ?
1,083 posts

QUOTE(jy14 @ Jan 7 2008, 04:21 PM)
Oh, nolar, just solder take out the burnt diode and then replace it with a straight wire lo. If burnt again, the whole mobo will be roasted lo coz the diode is no longer there to protect it. hehehe.

Its near the IEEE 1394 pins there. Since it no longer valid for warranty, just try to repair it and test lo. at 1st can't work wan, but after resetting the bios, take out the battery, then it come alive again. hehe

Now, its running in open air in my room.

Just trying to oc the F3 now, kinda easy to oc to 250 x 10, but to go higher, i think mayb need new bios or higher v-core, not sure, so need to ask for opinions.

My rams won't b bottleneck since it can do 1000MHz 5-5-5-15-2T with 2.2V without heatsink or fan. but must aircond room. hehe.
my same DFI model will go >3.2G only when use x8.5 or 9.
X10 stuck at 3GHZ rclxub.gif

Maybe u can try out lower multi.
ongbs
post Jan 8 2008, 06:20 PM

Who am I ?
1,083 posts

QUOTE(lohwenli @ Jan 8 2008, 06:11 PM)
--------------------------
Most ram heatsinks are useless la..many of them even trap heat and make overclocks worse.
unless u blow with fan on the heat spreaders/ active cooling smile.gif

This post has been edited by ongbs: Jan 8 2008, 06:21 PM
ongbs
post Jan 9 2008, 10:37 AM

Who am I ?
1,083 posts

Another OC test, custom WC.

ongbs
post Jan 9 2008, 10:50 AM

Who am I ?
1,083 posts

QUOTE(-pWs- @ Jan 9 2008, 10:42 AM)
HTT near 400 already. Nice thumbup.gif

-pWs-
It can go >400HTT actually.
I run at 390HTT to test CAS4@1100MHz DDR2 speed smile.gif
ongbs
post Jan 9 2008, 10:59 AM

Who am I ?
1,083 posts

QUOTE(-pWs- @ Jan 9 2008, 10:53 AM)
Waa...Already Vdimm max right??

-pWs-
yup, 2.5V max for our DFI mobo.
Later see can go >1300MHz@CAS5 for DDR2 smile.gif

Added on January 9, 2008, 11:12 am
QUOTE(tachlio @ Jan 9 2008, 10:59 AM)
why not using modded bios?
tested b4, didn't feel any diff sweat.gif

I will sent back this mobo for RMA soon so reload official BIOS loh smile.gif

PS/2 ports kong shakehead.gif shakehead.gif

Current running OCCT, DDR2@1312MHz,
running for 20min already, looking good tongue.gif

This post has been edited by ongbs: Jan 9 2008, 11:31 AM
ongbs
post Jan 9 2008, 11:48 AM

Who am I ?
1,083 posts

QUOTE(soulfly @ Jan 9 2008, 11:29 AM)
4400+ X2 Brisbane G2 - 3GHz @ default voltage ... huhuhu
and cheapo ProMOS KVR
which mobo u are pairing with bro?
ongbs
post Jan 9 2008, 12:22 PM

Who am I ?
1,083 posts

The beauty of Micron D9, 1332MHz@2.5V, 5-5-5-5-11 thumbup.gif
Boot from BIOS.

This post has been edited by ongbs: Jan 9 2008, 12:43 PM

ongbs
post Jan 9 2008, 12:43 PM

Who am I ?
1,083 posts

QUOTE(soulfly @ Jan 9 2008, 12:26 PM)
not yet prime... wasting electric only  tongue.gif

Added on January 9, 2008, 12:28 pmthat should be D9GMH.

D9 just means Micron DDR2 ... it doesn't indicate stepping/revision. not all D9 are as good as GCT/GMH/GKX
you are right bro, it is D9GMH tongue.gif

Me always forgot D9GMH or D9MGH doh.gif
ongbs
post Jan 9 2008, 01:29 PM

Who am I ?
1,083 posts

QUOTE(dblooi @ Jan 9 2008, 01:24 PM)
ha ..ic ...8.5x multiplier nod.gif
try use 1.95v and oc to 3.6GHz with 800 divider...
you will find out that your ram still stable at that speed  brows.gif
it's memory controller bug of 90nm proc, bro  notworthy.gif
huh bro, I tot only got bugs in 9.5x?
You mean all x.5 multi got bugs?
ongbs
post Jan 9 2008, 05:40 PM

Who am I ?
1,083 posts

QUOTE(-pWs- @ Jan 9 2008, 02:03 PM)
Yea. But for my case, after my bios flashed to Brisbane enabled bios, my Windsor F3 able to do the half multi.
Not sure bout F2 though.
Anyone here can clarify??

-pWs-
Damx!!! bro dblooi is correct!

If I use 8.5x multi, Proc at 3.4GHz and DDR2 around 1150MHz the Super PI 1M took around 32s to finished!!! shakehead.gif
If using 9.0x multi, Proc@3GHz and DDR2 around 1000MHz the Super PI just need 30s to finish! tongue.gif

Look like all x.5x multi got bugs with our F3 doh.gif

When use X.5x multi, the proc speed and power consumption everything just shown normal but processing power drop! rclxub.gif

Added on January 9, 2008, 5:43 pm
QUOTE(dj.eRicZzz @ Jan 9 2008, 03:15 PM)
tried b4...in bios 60 degrees

Added on January 9, 2008, 3:16 pm

400 for abt 2 hours..then 1500 for 5 minutes then metal polish...then clean properly and rub with thermal paste
Walau eh bro, I took 10 to 15 min to lap but u need >2hrs ah?
Wanna lap till u see the IHS kah?

This post has been edited by ongbs: Jan 9 2008, 05:46 PM
ongbs
post Jan 9 2008, 05:46 PM

Who am I ?
1,083 posts

QUOTE(tachlio @ Jan 9 2008, 05:43 PM)
I think this ady prove very long time ago~

0.5 multiple will lower our proc's performance
I tot only happen with 9.5X multi, my bad tongue.gif
ongbs
post Jan 9 2008, 05:53 PM

Who am I ?
1,083 posts

QUOTE(dj.eRicZzz @ Jan 9 2008, 05:48 PM)
my hands like bamboo stick ma..not like urs so mascualr  wub.gif
ya kah? Send me your photo then wub.gif

When u wanna lap till see the IHS bro?

This post has been edited by ongbs: Jan 9 2008, 05:53 PM
ongbs
post Jan 9 2008, 06:00 PM

Who am I ?
1,083 posts

QUOTE(dj.eRicZzz @ Jan 9 2008, 05:55 PM)
dun wan la...paiseh  blush.gif

'i still cant find the thickness of the ihs..if can i sure lap again liao...really cant tahan the temp
Gasak with those 200/400 sand paper till yr IHS bocor then slowely using fine grade lor....should be able to see the core.
The IHS still attach...the only one F3 in the world maybe tongue.gif
ongbs
post Jan 9 2008, 06:12 PM

Who am I ?
1,083 posts

QUOTE(dj.eRicZzz @ Jan 9 2008, 06:03 PM)
u give me ur f3 i gasak for u lo  brows.gif
no prob, mang2 tang lah! tongue.gif

Just wonder how many C drop after gasak away the IHS... brows.gif
ongbs
post Jan 10 2008, 12:04 AM

Who am I ?
1,083 posts

QUOTE(soulfly @ Jan 9 2008, 10:57 PM)
i currently have two sets of ram (2x1GB kingston and 2x512mb crucial) and both are value ram. different people may have different insight about overclocking.

to me, it's always about price per performance ratio. i can't afford expensive performance parts, that's why overclock comes into the picture. get the cheapest parts and overclock to match performance part rating.

but as usual, overclockable cheap stuffs are considered gems.

some other people just want to push stuffs to the limit, that's why they buy high performance stuffs.
Bingo, me got this type of thinking too smile.gif
That is why I never invest into those high performance RAM tongue.gif

The most expensive I will invest in a PC system is the LCD coz no one teach me how to OC LCD doh.gif

Added on January 10, 2008, 12:07 am
QUOTE(lohwenli @ Jan 10 2008, 12:01 AM)
I have a micrometer, you can borrow it if you can figure how to get it from me in penang and return it when you're done..
Try to beat my HTT record on the nview..hoping you can reach 400.
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=14603943
It can clock a lot better than G1(3.0Ghz with stock cooler & stock voltage is quite possible), and the heat & power consumption barely rises even when overclocked.
I'm not sure about this, but the cache latency seems to be unchanged from G1.
Lol..almost like removing the IHS, but with the edge remaining as a shim..
May have some slight contact problems though, you gotta be very even on all sides.
Coz many ppl said nowadays those IHS were laser welded, very high risk to cause core damage when remove.
If lap till see the core I will still sand those remaining IHS lower to get better contact to the core tongue.gif

This post has been edited by ongbs: Jan 10 2008, 12:07 AM
ongbs
post Jan 11 2008, 10:53 PM

Who am I ?
1,083 posts

QUOTE(dj.eRicZzz @ Jan 11 2008, 09:59 PM)
ur hear i near lol...sit bus to sentral..50 minutes..sit monorail 10 minutes...back from lowyat to hime(monorail + bus) = 1hr 20 minutes...

go there and back home need 2hour 20 minutes....near ah?  laugh.gif
If u really2 wanna grab the mobo, call Eric now, bank in $$$+postage...no need to waste time mah.....

ongbs
post Jan 12 2008, 09:16 PM

Who am I ?
1,083 posts

QUOTE(dreaming @ Jan 12 2008, 12:38 PM)
@DevilMan,
as u know, the max cpu voltage available in bios is just 1.49v.
so, i think this board is not suitable for exetreme oc until the new release bios support > 1.5v.
currently i'm running:
CPU 3.2ghz, 320 fsb, mutiple 10 @ 1.389v;
RAM either 800Mhz, 4-4-4-12, (533 strap) or 1066Mhz, 5-5-5-15 (667 strap) @ 2.2v ,
HTT link x4 (1280Mhz) or x5 (1600Mhz) also no problem,
NB and HTT voltage is using DEFAULT voltage.

i did tried 3.3ghz and 3.4ghz before, but it need 1.49v. However, i notice that the pwm and mofset are DAMN HOT!! like boiling water...
i guest this is the reason why they limit the max voltage at 1.49v.
>1.5v might burn ur cpu and mobo IF WITHOUT PROPER COOLING FOR THAT AREA!
If OC F3 >1.5V 3.4G and above, I believe it will draw >120W.
This will drive the PWM like nut, try orthos and yr PWM really can fry eggs liau tongue.gif
ongbs
post Jan 12 2008, 09:46 PM

Who am I ?
1,083 posts

QUOTE(AoiNatsume @ Jan 12 2008, 09:22 PM)
this depends on the chipset bro, my board runs very very very cool, even at load @ 3.4Ghz. Idle 31 and max load 38 only. ATI 790FX chipset uses very little power.
the temp 31C and 38C u mean for proc or PWM?
Most of the power generated from PWM is for proc and GC(those power hunger)

Stock F3 running full load will draw 90W, so OC >3.4G i believed it draws >120W!

Added on January 12, 2008, 9:49 pm
QUOTE(tachlio @ Jan 12 2008, 09:24 PM)
bro do u think, we can find the way to measure our PWM tem??

really like to know the idle n load tem of PWM nod.gif
Only possible to estimate with external thermometer or thermal probe.
btw, the internal temp is higher than what we measure from external.

I loaded my DFI mobo PWM to >85C before (1.6Vcore), just for a short period, takut mobo kena hangus tongue.gif
Even the caps I can't touch with my finger for >10 secs sweat.gif
Those MOSFET/ COIL <5Secs...... shocking.gif

If without extra cooling at the PWM area I will run at 1.4V@3GHz max....temp seem a lot cooler than 1.6Vcore.

This post has been edited by ongbs: Jan 12 2008, 09:55 PM
ongbs
post Jan 16 2008, 12:05 PM

Who am I ?
1,083 posts

QUOTE(dblooi @ Jan 16 2008, 12:01 PM)
wahhh .....i tot you already sell all ur stuffs?  laugh.gif
change to phenom pulak  brows.gif
dia cakap rugi teruk baik sendiri keep tongue.gif

Hehe bro db, now dun want u write anything else except the review/test results of yr new toy...770+ brows.gif brows.gif

This post has been edited by ongbs: Jan 16 2008, 12:08 PM

5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0425sec    0.63    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 07:25 AM