5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Magic: The Gathering - Duels of the Planeswalker, Classic CCG in your computer

TSquarantined
post Dec 16 2007, 01:08 PM, updated 18y ago

Create Not Imitate
3,396 posts

Magic: The Gathering is a computer game published by MicroProse in April 1997 based on the collectible card game Magic: The Gathering. It is classified as abandonware. [1]

The game takes place in the plane of Shandalar, where the player must travel the land and fight random enemies to gain cards, and defeat five wizards representing the five colors. The player must prevent one color from gaining too much power, and defeat the planeswalker Arzakon, who has a deck of all five colors. Adventure game and role-playing game elements are present, including inventory, gold, towns, dungeons, random battles, and character progression in the form of new abilities and a higher life point total. An oversized version of Aswan Jaguar was included in the game box.

-From Wiki

Duels of the Planeswalker is basically an upgrade with more cards and it allows online play. Anyone hungry for some (FREE!!) MTG action?? biggrin.gif PM me if you want to get the game.

This post has been edited by quarantined: Dec 16 2007, 01:18 PM
Scavengers
post Dec 16 2007, 02:22 PM

380 posts

dude..if can run on winxp.. i would really appreciate if i can get a copy
last time i check, it can only be run on win98 smile.gif
n changes need to be done b4 running on winxp
kudos if u can make it work~

This post has been edited by Scavengers: Dec 16 2007, 02:26 PM
TSquarantined
post Dec 16 2007, 03:40 PM

Create Not Imitate
3,396 posts

No worries. It work in XP. smile.gif
jimmythw
post Dec 16 2007, 03:53 PM

308 posts

Last time i play this game using Pentium 166Ghz only. After few years i wan to play then install to Pentium 4 1.7Ghz, then the motion of the games are like flying. Is it too fast for a new computer to run this game. So i quit already the game. If i'm not mistaken it also is winxp.
Guardian
post Dec 16 2007, 05:01 PM

819 posts

Eh,with those new expansions?If it's,I am interested,thanks.
TSquarantined
post Dec 16 2007, 06:17 PM

Create Not Imitate
3,396 posts

Nope it's all old skool. Until Chronicles/4th Ed only.
ashburn98
post Dec 16 2007, 10:12 PM

Runaway train
1,570 posts

It works on XP all right. Played probably hundred of hours until sicked of it. Black Vise is broken, trust me.

I made so many decks that raped the pc until I made a rule for myself everytime I played the story mode, I have to try something new (and ban TimeWalk, for pc to stand half a chance).

The last 2 decks I had with this game is a 40 card B/W land denial deck with Black Vise as win condition. Balance, Lotus, Moxes, Mine Strip, Demonic Tutor, Sword to Plowshares, Land Tax, Neryewell Disk, Armaggedon, Ivory Tower.

The other deck is just plain bully. Moxes, Lotus, Recall, TimeTwister, Regrowth, Demonic Tutor, Sword to Plowshares (and Distingerate, in case), Animate Artifact, Kormus Bell, Sleight of Mind, Ivory Tower, Library of Alexendria, Jeweled Bird (in case ante screws me). Pure bully, remove from the game all his creatures, artifacts and lands. Win condition can be anything, I'll usually just use a 4/4 Bell to kill it off.

Good times, but how I wish for a new Shandalar game (MTG:Battleground s*cks royally).

Added on December 16, 2007, 10:14 pm
QUOTE(quarantined @ Dec 16 2007, 06:17 PM)
Nope it's all old skool. Until Chronicles/4th Ed only.
Correct, even sealed deck tournament I'd played till bored.

This post has been edited by ashburn98: Dec 16 2007, 10:27 PM
TSquarantined
post Dec 16 2007, 11:41 PM

Create Not Imitate
3,396 posts

Some cards are overly powerful while some are *beep*! And I kept getting stupid rares from the sealed boosters/starters. LOL
Scavengers
post Dec 17 2007, 12:24 AM

380 posts

well... since most of my MTG frens turns to WoW or console gaming,
i guess this is the program i can turn too.
already played 30 duels. black n blue rulez smile.gif
lck
post Dec 17 2007, 07:58 AM

~^happy^~
591 posts

Hi quarantined, this games is good as last time I do have the game in my shelf and sadly I could not find it and I am looking forward to get this game's...
temptation1314
post Dec 17 2007, 08:29 AM

Specials : 1,000,000 Spam Post Attack
2,287 posts

w00t!!! sure brings back old memories when I still own a win98 rig..
For the lulz... Black and blue rulez forever... sweat.gif
lck
post Dec 17 2007, 12:51 PM

~^happy^~
591 posts

Hi All, I just wanna ask that does anyone have any CD for this MTG...if you do please pm me for the info...tq
shyghost
post Mar 13 2010, 12:35 PM

113 posts

I'm sorry to revive this old game thread. Just wondering if anyone check out the latest revision to this game made by fans. Here is the Readme file in spoilers... notworthy.gif

To those who played this game before, Please leave your comment about the new revision.

I've just installed the game and trying to play it again. Quite a lot of new cards and i appreciates if a diehard MTG fans give your opinion...

Thanks...

PS: Now if i can only get my Jagged Alliance (mod by fan) Open source game to work... It would be a great start to the 2010 year. nod.gif
ashburn98
post Mar 13 2010, 12:52 PM

Runaway train
1,570 posts

Thanks for the PM, shyghost.

Will download and try it but since you got it installed, can you give us the step by step installation guide? Appreciate it.
shyghost
post Mar 13 2010, 01:02 PM

113 posts

Err... Installed the directX 9c and after restart, I've installed it by clicking autorun.exe. Don't forget to unrar first.

Now i haven't overwrite the xtra folder into the game directory yet but it seems that i can start the game without doing it.

There are a lot of cards I've never seen before but then I'm not very good with the game in real.

Hope this helps!

This post has been edited by shyghost: Mar 13 2010, 01:03 PM
ashburn98
post Apr 1 2010, 09:42 PM

Runaway train
1,570 posts

Bumping this thread with question.

First off, there are new cards, fantastic. The non fantastic part is how to install even more the new cards.

(1) You can already play MTG: Duels of Planewalker after installing the ISO.
(2) The extra cards is in the Deck Builder. However, not all the extra cards are in the Deck Builder. This is where the problem starts. I do not know if there was another zip file of all the cards.
(3) The mods are fixing more and more bugs of all the cards and you cannot just simply bantai/copy paste because it crashes the program.

Need someone who was able to install all the cards to give some pointers.

Added on April 7, 2010, 4:59 pmOk, I got the game up and there might be a few of the forumers interested in getting back into this game.

I'll edit this post with installation instructions later tonight.

This post has been edited by ashburn98: Apr 7 2010, 04:59 PM
eehtsitna
post Apr 15 2010, 11:01 AM

356 posts

Fellow planeswalker.

Can anyone point out the exact program we should get? I managed to download Mok's manalink 2.0 but my antivirus identify it as a trojan horse.
Instant_noodle
post Apr 15 2010, 01:19 PM

nyaaa~~
2,780 posts

OMIGOSH!!! blink.gif shocking.gif

MUST... RESIST... TEMPTATION...

anyways,

any tourney-like rules being applied? can i haz powder 5 in the deck for it's OH-PEE-ness?
alex82
post Jun 2 2010, 01:15 PM

^_^
371 posts

it out on steam @ $9.99

http://store.steampowered.com/app/49400/

so gonna buy it
Deimos Tel`Arin
post Jun 2 2010, 01:24 PM

The LYN Kondom Man
4,202 posts

eh no pricing yet la.

available june 2010
already june liao wor.

sheet i want it too.

Added on June 2, 2010, 1:26 pm9.99 only? O_O

eh, got pricing in the list, but not on the product page itself?

but, 9.99?
it gonna milk us dry on the cards is it lol.

This post has been edited by Deimos Tel`Arin: Jun 2 2010, 01:26 PM

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0241sec    0.72    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 01:56 PM