CLOSED

ben_panced
post Dec 18 2007, 02:16 PM

PC and MotorBicycle Enthusiast
962 posts

QUOTE(clayclws @ Dec 18 2007, 10:42 AM)
It is the temperature that warrants the purchase...no temp readings, make it hard for people to judge the feasibility of the Glaciator heatsink/cooler.
yala asus engineers must be thinking : "wow, our new glaciator cooler is t3h l33t and pwns every cooler on the planet, so why bother enabling temperature reading" laugh.gif
ben_panced
post Jan 29 2008, 10:52 PM

962 posts

hi all new 8800gt user..
upgraded recently after i sold my old elsa 8800gts 640mb..
btw mine is gigabyte 8800gt which uses the zalman vf830 hsf..

btw here's my 3dmark06 with my 3.25ghz e6300 and my 8800gt @ 756/1782/1944

ben_panced
post Feb 2 2008, 10:47 AM

962 posts

wokeh guys...
i just downloaded the OC utility for Gigabyte 8800GT with custom pcb and overvoltage chip..
now, i dont need to mod the bios or hardmod the card to give more juice to the gpu brows.gif
Gigabyte 8800gt owners rejoice rclxms.gif

ben_panced
post Feb 2 2008, 11:10 AM

962 posts

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Feb 2 2008, 11:00 AM)
nice artifact setting??
??? what is that forgive me for being slow tongue.gif
btw the stock voltage for the gpu is 1.10v
and the max voltage that can be set is 1.20v
it's not much but im aiming to break the 1.9ghz shader barrier and as im typing im still scanning artifacts @ 1.890ghz shader blush.gif

This post has been edited by ben_panced: Feb 2 2008, 11:10 AM
ben_panced
post Feb 2 2008, 11:22 AM

962 posts

QUOTE(S4PH @ Feb 2 2008, 11:12 AM)
does this utility works with asus card
no lar, the utility only works with this gigabyte card:

and this only:

btw, the chip that i circled is the overvoltage controller chip blush.gif

This post has been edited by ben_panced: Feb 2 2008, 11:23 AM
ben_panced
post Feb 2 2008, 12:25 PM

962 posts

QUOTE(vincentlaw @ Feb 2 2008, 12:21 PM)

which is urs?
mine is the 2nd one in the picture..
the one with zalman vf-830alcu hsf... rclxms.gif
more powerful hsf than vf-700alcu
ben_panced
post Feb 2 2008, 03:50 PM

962 posts

wokeh an update,
it seems the shader cannot break the 1.9ghz barrier on 1.2v..
to bad the max voltage that be set is 1.2v
so im stuck with 1.89ghz shader just 10mhz shy of 1.9ghz sad.gif
btw heres the screenshot for atitool and 3dmark06

ben_panced
post Feb 2 2008, 04:17 PM

962 posts

QUOTE(vincentlaw @ Feb 2 2008, 03:50 PM)
@ben_panced
is it worth to overvolt it?? how much performance increase from ur stock?
yup, tho the performance dont increase much, it's the satisfaction of overclocking is that matters, brows.gif
besides, if the gpu is operating in a safe temperaure range, u dont have to worry about it.. thumbup.gif
btw, my 8800gt load temp is about 70c.. and remember i overvolted my gpu core to 1.2v from 1.1v and i oced my 8800gt to 756/1890/1944
so the conclusion is, gigabyte's new 8800gt with zalman vf-830alcu rocks and worth every penny, icon_idea.gif
lucky i didnt buy 8800gt from other manufacturers icon_idea.gif

This post has been edited by ben_panced: Feb 2 2008, 04:18 PM
ben_panced
post Feb 2 2008, 04:28 PM

962 posts

QUOTE(vincentlaw @ Feb 2 2008, 04:23 PM)
overvolting too much also will spoil eventhou the temp is good.... like CPU... so be aware of it too..

others also good wat....exampl zotac,asus.... also depend on diff taste i shud say

hmmm stable in 3dmark and atitool doesnt really 100% confirm stable in game also... last time i tried with ATItool and 3dcard for my 7800GS EE... stable but go in some game, the artifact show....
no lar overvolting a little wont hurt ur gpu unless u overvolt like mad..
but it's the temperature that can kill ur cpu or gpu..
so before ocing or overvolting, make sure u have adeaquate cooling first

ben_panced
post Feb 2 2008, 04:48 PM

962 posts

vincentlaw, good clocks u got there mate, rclxms.gif
btw eventho my 8800gt uses samsung gddr3 chips..
i just cant clock it to 2000mhz, guess samsung is not better compared to qimonda afterall.. doh.gif
btw, ur asus 8800gt top vcore is not stock.. that's why the shader can be clocked past 1800mhz mark.. flex.gif
normal 8800gt shader maxed only at around 1700mhz hmm.gif
ben_panced
post Feb 2 2008, 09:11 PM

962 posts

QUOTE(TheTraffic @ Feb 2 2008, 08:22 PM)
Mine is Colorful. not gigabyte.
Is there such thing as fixed fan speed? i mean at 100%? hmm..... i'm afraid the fan spoil in no time...
urs is the card with the zalman hsf isn it??
dont worry, running a fan at 100% of it's rated speed dont mean that they'll spoil faster.
heck i even run my tt bigtyphoon vx fan 100% for more than a year now, and my 1.5 years old tt thunderblade case fan still works fine smile.gif

This post has been edited by ben_panced: Feb 2 2008, 09:14 PM
ben_panced
post Feb 3 2008, 10:35 AM

962 posts

QUOTE(vincentlaw @ Feb 3 2008, 04:10 AM)
LOL its up to people actually.... just make sure temp is good enuf and no extreme voltmod shud be no problem.... afew frames in game is actually quite alot already... if u can make it near GTS or equal GTS performance then why not?? GTS also afew FPS better than GT
yala it's not overclocking that can kill cards rather its the temperature..
just make sure the temp is in a safe range when ocing that's all tongue.gif
ben_panced
post Feb 3 2008, 11:00 AM

962 posts

QUOTE(nelienuxe_sara @ Feb 3 2008, 10:42 AM)
to day i achive the lowest idle temp
bcoz it really cold here since it raining
idle at 53 degrees
i on the computer bout 2-3 hours
does ur zotac 8800gt comes with original hsf??
btw does ur gc clockspeed goes down in 2d mode??

This post has been edited by ben_panced: Feb 3 2008, 11:00 AM
ben_panced
post Feb 3 2008, 01:19 PM

962 posts

hmm.gif but maybe colorful using 6 layer pcb for it's 8800gt..
from my experience i tried eagle's 8800gt with 6 layer pcb and the temp is damn hot..
eventho eagle disabled the temp sensor doh.gif when i touched the hsf and the pcb it's damn hot..
way hotter than normal reference pcb 8800gt.. sweat.gif
so avoid 6 layer pcb 8800gt at all cost
ben_panced
post Feb 3 2008, 01:49 PM

962 posts

QUOTE(Oxburg @ Feb 3 2008, 01:46 PM)
how to know izit 6 layer pcb? palit 88GT is wad type?
usually u can find the marking on the edge of the pcb hmm.gif
but reference 8800gt pcb is already 10 layers if im not wrong

This post has been edited by ben_panced: Feb 3 2008, 01:50 PM
ben_panced
post Feb 3 2008, 04:28 PM

962 posts

QUOTE(TheTraffic @ Feb 3 2008, 04:08 PM)
I found out something weird about my GC...
The first time i tested 3DMark06 it was 9700+
Now.. i tested it again.... to my surprise.. it has dropped to 9100+

How could this happen?

Pls advice....
i think u accidentally turned on antialiasing or anisotropic filtering..
try to double check and disable it through rivatuner or the nvidia control panel

QUOTE(vincentlaw @ Feb 3 2008, 04:08 PM)
i tot 8800GT dont have 2d/3d mode 1? they will just running full speed all the time at 3dmode.... am i wrong?
it all depends on ur bios, u can mod ur bios so ur card runs at different speed..
as an example, my stock gigabyte 8800gt turboforce has 2 settings..
2d mode: 450/1200/1400
3d mode: 700/1700/1900
but when i oc using gigabyte gamer hud, the software forces my card to run @ the same speed for 2d and 3d mode..
if want to manually set my own separate 2d and 3d clockspeed i have to flash my gc's bios which im feeling too lazy to do brows.gif
ben_panced
post Feb 4 2008, 04:14 AM

962 posts

QUOTE(vincentlaw @ Feb 4 2008, 03:25 AM)
maybe he is right... coz im not sure about AMD.... im more to intel...

anyway bottleneck happens.... if minor then nvm.... if major then i feel its not worth it.... its like u buying an aeroplane but u install KANCIL engine inside.... up to u to judge...
no la it's like a car having a powerful engine but only using 3-speed gearbox brows.gif

ben_panced
post Feb 4 2008, 08:02 PM

962 posts

QUOTE(Breaktru @ Feb 4 2008, 12:55 PM)
It wouldn't be major enough to warrant a new purchase . At 1680x1050 , 4XAA , 8xAF the difference is minimal , just couples of frames .

Besides , I don't think using a Toms Chart for 3dmark06 just to look at the cpu score is a wise choice . 3Dmark06 already leaning to more CPU dependant , having Quad core will just churn out doubled CPU scores , but this doesn't apply to current games .  wink.gif
yup it's true to a certain degree..
but for cpu intensive games such as world in conflict, even at 1680x1050 u still can see cpu bottleneck..
why don u check the goldfries' article about bottlenecking at his blog, btw i just read it rclxms.gif

ben_panced
post Feb 6 2008, 10:54 PM

962 posts

QUOTE(capiche @ Feb 6 2008, 10:33 PM)
second to acecombat.. i believe engineers over at nvidia should know the heat problem of their product.. since they never actually rectify it.. haha.. so i  think it should be safe.... hehe.. just my thought.. smile.gif
paham2x la bro..
the g92 is a high end gpu..
720+ transistors.. 65nm manufacturing..
of cosla heat will be an issue, btw i think nvidia should revise their stock 8800gt coolers from 1 slot to 2 slots brows.gif
that will help to keep the heat problem in check..
btw, my zalman vf-830 alcu hsf is quite good, load temp is around 70 but with my gc runs @ 756/1890/1944 @ 1.2vcore, quite nice eh brows.gif
ben_panced
post Feb 7 2008, 01:57 AM

962 posts

QUOTE(capiche @ Feb 7 2008, 01:38 AM)
haha.. maybe i think they r able to sell 88gt at such an attractive price because of the cooler gua.. implement single slot = reduce cost.. hahaha.... tongue.gif
yup to reduce cost, but now, there are many manufacturers offering 88gt with all kinds of cooler but with the price comparable to ones with the stock cooler..
there're even 8800gt with custom pcb but with upgraded 3-phase power regulator circuit such as xv 8800gt sonic, gigabyte 8800gt turboforce with custom 2 slot hsf selling at price comparable to reference 8800gt blush.gif

0.0407sec    0.55    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 11:14 PM