Mercedes-Benz W123, Still a good car???

TSSensui
post Dec 10 2007, 10:58 PM, updated 19y ago

482 posts

In a few years time, if I plan to get a car I was thinking that I don't want a local car or a Japanese car.

People say that the Mercedes-Benz W123 is still a good an solid car. Furthermore it is said to be a "reliable workhorse".

What is your opinion? Is the car still worth it? Some people say it is better to get this car than paying higher for a new local car.

What about maintenance and replacing old parts?
kevin613
post Dec 10 2007, 11:30 PM

2,236 posts

QUOTE(Sensui @ Dec 10 2007, 10:58 PM)
In a few years time, if I plan to get a car I was thinking that I don't want a local car or a Japanese car.

People say that the Mercedes-Benz W123 is still a good an solid car. Furthermore it is said to be a "reliable workhorse".

What is your opinion? Is the car still worth it? Some people say it is better to get this car than paying higher for a new local car.

dont u think the W123 is a little too old?
reliable workhorse has got it's limit also, no matter how reliable it is..
i think the maintenance is gonna be heavy, and the FC shouldnt be too good considering it's age and the technology back then..
look out for rusty body too for a car of this age..

did a little search, and seems like the smallest CC is 2.0, and are only 8v, means 1 in 1 out only.. producing 108hp for 2.0.

i think u better get something else..
Andy0625
post Dec 10 2007, 11:42 PM

Certified Newbie
3,910 posts

QUOTE(Sensui @ Dec 10 2007, 10:58 PM)

W123 is still a much better car if you able to choose a good seller which takes a good care of it.
For the range of price , i bet W123 is the best car you could get.

There'll be very very minimal maintenance if those useful worn out parts is replaced.
By mentioning very minimal maintenance , for sure you must find a reliable workshop .

If you're in Ipoh area , i can recommend it to you. biggrin.gif
Jackie Leong
post Dec 10 2007, 11:55 PM

Feel da Gs!
7,355 posts

try checking out mybenz.org cuz owners of such model would be able to provide you answers smile.gif
Deja Vu
post Dec 11 2007, 09:12 AM

1,863 posts

W123 is a rather ol unit. Y dun u consider a W124? Almost as tough as d W123 also.

Merc is general (esp those dated b4 d mid 90s) were designed for comfort n not 4 rubber burnin performance. Plus d Black Engines though ancient r quite reliable.
arcana83
post Dec 11 2007, 09:21 AM

198 posts

cheap to buy, service not sure....depending on availability of parts.....but cost of running the car, fuel wise...ouch!
emechelmi
post Dec 12 2007, 02:36 PM

367 posts

W123 is good car terms of reliability and comfort. Otherwise it won't be used as a taxi in many parts of Malaysia.

FC is not so good if you want to compare with modern cars (90's and above).

Parts are relatively cheap compared to other Benz models. Some parts can be obtained from scrapyards.

Engine is particularly strong and reliable. Most of W123 we seen running today probably already passed 500K kms on its clock. A testimony to the great German engineering feat.
Aggronax
post Dec 12 2007, 02:39 PM

I'm bored !
6,339 posts

yeah ~ W123 reliable are unquestionable. only problem is FC wise and spare part hard to find
jong52yuara
post Dec 12 2007, 03:20 PM

Forex is the best business you can do.
1,704 posts

try get a very lousy/rusty one then restore everything, that way you can guarantee its reliability..?
Aggronax
post Dec 12 2007, 03:31 PM

I'm bored !
6,339 posts

QUOTE(jong52yuara @ Dec 12 2007, 03:20 PM)
try get a very lousy/rusty one then restore everything, that way you can guarantee its reliability..?
reliability of car was measure on ratio of part / cars. Problem and over the years.

that the ratio of reliability.

if you compare another 20 years old car put in similiar parts, you will find ratio of the reliability, same theory to measure up.
jong52yuara
post Dec 12 2007, 04:34 PM

Forex is the best business you can do.
1,704 posts

QUOTE(Aggronax @ Dec 12 2007, 03:31 PM)
reliability of car was measure on ratio of part / cars. Problem and over the years.

that the ratio of reliability.

if you compare another 20 years old car put in similiar parts, you will find ratio of the reliability, same theory to measure up.
i was thinking like, hes going to get w123 so since doesnt really matter if he found a well-maintained or old rusty car one. its hard to find out whats the problem if problem occur? so my opinion is its best to get a cheapest bodywork or old/rusty one compare to well-maintained because both is old car, then take everything apart and restore everything, that way you can sure the car most likely will be less trouble for many years.
Aggronax
post Dec 12 2007, 04:39 PM

I'm bored !
6,339 posts

wow ~ tat like renew a whole car...... hahaahaha

better buy new 1 . beside if body chassis rusty , cannot really replace it
emechelmi
post Dec 12 2007, 05:57 PM

367 posts

QUOTE(jong52yuara @ Dec 12 2007, 04:34 PM)
i was thinking like, hes going to get w123 so since doesnt really matter if he found a well-maintained or old rusty car one. its hard to find out whats the problem if problem occur? so my opinion is its best to get a cheapest bodywork or old/rusty one compare to well-maintained because both is old car, then take everything apart and restore everything, that way you can sure the car most likely will be less trouble for many years.
full restoration is the best option for any old car. But how many of us can afford its cost. An average full restoration cost for a typical car could cost something close RM10K or more. If the car is a rare model, the cost would be even higher.

For somebody who is on tight budget, my suggestion is to find an old car that has a good chassis, a running engine, and complete (or almost complete) trims. Do step by step restoration.

1. get a car that you like
2. service it properly (engine oil, brakes, carb).
3. treat the rust (if you not going to paint the car now)
4. replace worn parts (suspension, steering, electrical etc)
5. Go hunt for the replacement for missing/ageing trim parts (signal lens, chrome lining, grill, dashboard etc)
6. Paint the car
7. Refurbish the interior

Usually the price of trims (new) far exceeding the price for mechanical parts (bushings, bearings, gaskets etc) as these items are very low in circulation especially for a discontinued model. If possible find a car with minimal trim lost/damage.

This post has been edited by emechelmi: Dec 12 2007, 06:03 PM
lelonglelong
post Dec 14 2007, 02:37 PM

hi guys,
any recommendation which year of W124 or onward's engine is fit to be transplan to my 1981 W123 manual transmission ?

do i have to convert my transmission from manual to auto if i fit engine that original with auto transmission ?
Aggronax
post Dec 14 2007, 02:42 PM

I'm bored !
6,339 posts

QUOTE(lelonglelong @ Dec 14 2007, 02:37 PM)
hi guys,
any recommendation which year of W124 or onward's engine is fit to be transplan to my 1981 W123 manual transmission ?

do i have to convert my transmission from manual to auto if i fit engine that original with auto transmission ?
for W124, engine bay completely diff, but still can posibble to fit in due to ur large engine bay. some welding might required.

no specify year of engine since is diff version.

yap, u may convert it but if you brought a half cut W124 which come with auto. then u safe more money.
phas3r
post Dec 14 2007, 02:44 PM

1,206 posts

hmm w123 engines are underpowered... the fastest one is 280e which i dont even think is available in malaysia.. try swap engine from 260e w123 or something... just a recommendation n dun have any experience..some ppl put japanese engines on w123.. i dun really like it
Aggronax
post Dec 14 2007, 03:40 PM

I'm bored !
6,339 posts

QUOTE(phas3r @ Dec 14 2007, 02:44 PM)
hmm w123 engines are underpowered... the fastest one is 280e which i dont even think is available in malaysia.. try swap engine from 260e w123 or something... just a recommendation n dun have any experience..some ppl put japanese engines on w123.. i dun really like it
no choice since Japanese engine were easy to get and more economy.

even more the performance and FC are better.
lelonglelong
post Dec 21 2007, 12:37 PM

i abit headache now dunno to overhaul my 27yrs engine / to swap a half cut engine which may also a 15-20yrs old engine as well.
Afraid of after swap it, use for few yrs then need to overhaul again :s
i heard ppl swap cefiro engine inside.....

any more recommendation / idea for me ?
Aggronax
post Dec 21 2007, 09:43 PM

I'm bored !
6,339 posts

QUOTE(lelonglelong @ Dec 21 2007, 12:37 PM)
i abit headache now dunno to overhaul my 27yrs engine / to swap a half cut engine which may also a 15-20yrs old engine as well.
Afraid of after swap it, use for few yrs then need to overhaul again :s
i heard ppl swap cefiro engine inside.....

any more recommendation / idea for me ?
how much for overhual ? then how much total u swap engine ?

hmm.gif see see the price 1st ~ if 1-2k extra then swap ~ better. if more then just overhual
StormZ
post Dec 21 2007, 10:14 PM

160 posts

QUOTE(phas3r @ Dec 14 2007, 02:44 PM)
can i know from where u got such information, that the engines underpowered???....have u ever owned or drove a W123 b4??...and pls la...there is plenty of 280E available in Malaysia ....and there is no such thing as W123 260E

QUOTE(Aggronax @ Dec 21 2007, 09:43 PM)
how much for overhual ? then how much total u swap engine ?

hmm.gif  see see the price 1st ~ if 1-2k extra then swap ~ better. if more then just overhual
A good overhaul will cost u in the region of 5k to 8k...an used engine will cost about 3k or less...and its recommended if u want to keep your car for a long period. Swapping an engine is always a risk , coz u nvr know when the engine is goin to fail...it might just be as bad as ur current one.

I myself own a W123. The car is good. In terms of maintainence , is kinda low , provided you know a good/reliable parts shop , and service centres. Fuel consumption is not THAT bad ...mine is a manual , so , its more efficient....Prices of the W123 are very low now , and it will be a good buy. But its better if you bring along a friend who is familiar with the model and send the car for a checkup with a mechanic b4 finalising the deal.

Do join up Mybenz.org , local merc community, u will get loads of info...

0.0171sec    0.69    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 10:15 PM