128 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

University -=UNITEN =-, DIscUss ABout evrything..

naruto_kun
post Dec 15 2007, 09:58 AM

818 posts

QUOTE(stupidbump @ Dec 13 2007, 11:53 PM)
UNITEN sux big time...i also from there...lecturers used to be foreigners in the late 90s but since 2002 all retired and now mostly are local lecturers who don't even know what they are doing(only emphasize on what and how to greet them i.e Dr, Ir, Prof)...i was once scolded by a female lecturer because she was an IR and i refered her as a Dr only.
Wth? So arrogant... May I know who she is  tongue.gif

my whole 5 years of exams were self studied..

accomodation are more expensive then rented master rooms outside...food court provides shit and you eat grass on weekends..facilities all damn and spoilt...miscelaneous fees are ridiculously high and you don't get what you deserved...graduation day was like hell day..

#conclusion: nothing is well organized...all they know is how to charge you for this and that..ever seen a car being summoned in a university? and the summons are more expensive than DBKL and MPPJ.

lecturers park near to the faculty and students need to park far away and spaces are limited for students and abundant for lecturers. So if you are in a hurry and park in the lecturer's parking space, you get a summon.
Like one of my lecturer Dr. Johnny said: this is unfair as we students are the ones paying the lecturers and we can be considered as their indirect boss!!

#worst lecturers: zolman, chai mei kim, adnan rosely, kannan, bashir, lariyah (all dunno what they are there for in the first place)

#best lecturers: Dr.Talal, Johnny, Lim Chin Wai (well educated and dedicted to students)

*lecturers sucks,dean sucks,admin staff sucks,facilities sucks, food court sucks, classes sucks, exam hall sucks, in the end----> results also sucks...but i manage to pass with flying colours la shakehead.gif
agree with you one lectures tongue.gif. I'll add some:

worst: zulkifli ahmad(quite lenient though), norhalena mohd nor, meena, aidil (don't take him. details...ask 2nd, 3rd year students ), khairul salleh, eng kian hin, dr hanim
best: zarina( very good), norshah, faris (very strict ), abreeza, zaemah hassan, mikhail fong (i love his class, never ponteng also thumbup.gif )

The worst lecturer...I'd say you won't understand anything/ or will be missing anything (except for quizzes) much even though you go to the class. I think you ponteng the class for the whole sem also no problem. You are better of self study. Honestly, you can get only 1 good lecturers for each semester. Which at times made me think why am I here in the first place tongue.gif

The labs are pretty sh*tty for engineering students. Fees are getting expensive, with a lot of crappy unreasonable fees. Accommodation had increased. Even though not much, why the hell increase? Its not like they upgrade the facilities or anything. Its is still the same apartment. They also will give you all kind of stupid excuses for the increment.

Added on December 15, 2007, 10:01 amforgot to add :

Actually I want to ask any ex-ME students here who took the electives? What did you guys take last time? I would like to have some details regarding the elective you took smile.gif

This post has been edited by naruto_kun: Dec 15 2007, 10:01 AM
TSskinnydude
post Dec 15 2007, 10:30 AM

522 posts

to MMU guys, i am trying to find for the link now.. i read it before and that's what the seniors told.. once i have the link, i will post it here.. biggrin.gif but i can't deny it that MMU has more support and better unity among the students... rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by skinnydude: Dec 15 2007, 10:33 AM
TSskinnydude
post Dec 15 2007, 10:56 AM

522 posts

QUOTE(Darkmage12 @ Dec 15 2007, 03:38 AM)
then where does MMU stand? behind UNITEN?
QUOTE(fruitie @ Dec 15 2007, 03:59 AM)
Ya, I really wish to know about that too since I have not heard about this before. wink.gif
I hope that skinnydude is able to find us the source from the Internet to support his claim. smile.gif
darkmage and fruitie, congratulations.. my intial statement was wrong.. UNITEN is far behind MMU.. i have attached the south east asian university ranking.. MMU is at number 16 and UNITEN is at number 64.. sorry for the wrong facts.. i think i will print the page and paste it everywhere in UNITEN.. brows.gif

Added on December 15, 2007, 11:48 amhttp://www.webometrics.info/ is in charge of the "attachment".. some interesting facts which i quoted from the website..

Objectives of the Webometrics Ranking of World's Universities

The original aim of the Ranking was to promote Web publication, not to rank institutions. Supporting Open Access initiatives, electronic access to scientific publications and to other academic material are our primary targets. However web indicators are very useful for ranking purposes too as they are not based on number of visits or page design but global performance and visibility of the universities.

As other rankings focused only on a few relevant aspects, specially research results, web indicators based ranking reflects better the whole picture, as many other activities of professors and researchers are showed by their web presence.
Four indicators were obtained from the quantitative results provided by the main search engines as follows:

Size (S). Number of pages recovered from four engines: Google, Yahoo, Live Search and Exalead.

Visibility (V). The total number of unique external links received (inlinks) by a site can be only confidently obtained from Yahoo Search, Live Search and Exalead.

Rich Files ®. After evaluation of their relevance to academic and publication activities and considering the volume of the different file formats, the following were selected: Adobe Acrobat (.pdf), Adobe PostScript (.ps), Microsoft Word (.doc) and Microsoft Powerpoint (.ppt). These data were extracted using Google.

Scholar (Sc). Google Scholar provides the number of papers and citations for each academic domain. These results from the Scholar database represent papers, reports and other academic items.

The four ranks were combined according to a formula where each one has a different weight but maintaining the ratio 1:1:

Webometrics Rank (position)= 4*RankV+2*RankS+1*RankR+1*RankSc

The inclusion of the total number of pages is based on the recognition of a new global market for academic information, so the web is the adequate platform for the internationalization of the institutions. A strong and detailed web presence providing exact descriptions of the structure and activities of the university can attract new students and scholars worldwide.

This post has been edited by skinnydude: Dec 15 2007, 11:48 AM

Attached File(s)
Attached File  SEA.pdf ( 85.08k ) Number of downloads: 195
fruitie
post Dec 15 2007, 12:12 PM

Rise and Shine
72,807 posts

QUOTE(skinnydude @ Dec 15 2007, 10:56 AM)
darkmage and fruitie, congratulations.. my intial statement was wrong.. UNITEN is far behind MMU.. i have attached the south east asian university ranking.. MMU is at number 16 and UNITEN is at number 64.. sorry for the wrong facts.. i think i will print the page and paste it everywhere in UNITEN..  brows.gif

Added on December 15, 2007, 11:48 amhttp://www.webometrics.info/  is in charge of the "attachment".. some interesting facts which i quoted from the website..
There is nothing that to congratulate me. smile.gif

Wow, that is a good searching! Even as a MMU student, I didn't come across that thing. sweat.gif
Thanks for the source! thumbup.gif
TSskinnydude
post Dec 15 2007, 12:26 PM

522 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Dec 15 2007, 12:12 PM)
There is nothing that to congratulate me. smile.gif

Wow, that is a good searching! Even as a MMU student, I didn't come across that thing. sweat.gif
Thanks for the source! thumbup.gif
hahaha... but i really don't get the ranking thing.. its not really based on education, facilities and all right? correct me if i'm wrong.. icon_rolleyes.gif
fruitie
post Dec 15 2007, 12:37 PM

Rise and Shine
72,807 posts

QUOTE(skinnydude @ Dec 15 2007, 12:26 PM)
hahaha... but i really don't get the ranking thing.. its not really based on education, facilities and all right? correct me if i'm wrong..  icon_rolleyes.gif
I've just went through the whole thing, I don't think it is reliable... sweat.gif It is based on webometric and webometric means "A directory of world universities ranked according their presence on the Web". sweat.gif

MMU is no.17 and not 16, actually.
TSskinnydude
post Dec 15 2007, 01:03 PM

522 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Dec 15 2007, 12:37 PM)
I've just went through the whole thing, I don't think it is reliable... sweat.gif It is based on webometric and webometric means "A directory of world universities ranked according their presence on the Web". sweat.gif

MMU is no.17 and not 16, actually.
does it mean UNITEN still has hope? wahh.. great.. sorry for the wrong info.. should have read it carefully before posting it.. rclxub.gif but MMU is far more popular than UNITEN..
fruitie
post Dec 15 2007, 01:07 PM

Rise and Shine
72,807 posts

QUOTE(skinnydude @ Dec 15 2007, 01:03 PM)
does it mean UNITEN still has hope? wahh.. great.. sorry for the wrong info.. should have read it carefully before posting it..  rclxub.gif but MMU is far more popular than UNITEN..
laugh.gif I don't know about that. No problem. wink.gif
Maybe our publicity is better? tongue.gif
TSskinnydude
post Dec 15 2007, 02:00 PM

522 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Dec 15 2007, 01:07 PM)
laugh.gif I don't know about that. No problem. wink.gif
Maybe our publicity is better? tongue.gif
hahha.. maybe.. i hope the next ranking would side uniten.. HIDUP UNITEN.. biggrin.gif
fiqir
post Dec 15 2007, 02:41 PM

BE YOURSELF
3,810 posts

QUOTE(skinnydude @ Dec 15 2007, 01:03 PM)
does it mean UNITEN still has hope? wahh.. great.. sorry for the wrong info.. should have read it carefully before posting it..  rclxub.gif but MMU is far more popular than UNITEN..
popularity is important?.. maybe biggrin.gif
TSskinnydude
post Dec 15 2007, 06:06 PM

522 posts

QUOTE(fiqir @ Dec 15 2007, 02:41 PM)
popularity is important?.. maybe  biggrin.gif
don't tell me that u r another MMU student.. hahah.. popularity is important..

Added on December 15, 2007, 11:10 pmv r having christmas musical drama : "no greater love"

date: 17th dec 2007 (monday)
time : 8pm
venue : mph (multi purpose hall), UNITEN, putrajaya
admission : free

its not about Christianity but just a wonderful and great play to entertain us for christmas..

everyone is welcomed to join the excitement

hope to see u all there.. nod.gif

This post has been edited by skinnydude: Dec 15 2007, 11:13 PM
stupidbump
post Dec 18 2007, 08:15 PM

ẴẸǬÜITẴŞ
952 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Dec 14 2007, 07:35 PM)
One of my cousins graduated in year 2005, an E&E grad, good pay I presume.
Another one cousin, she graduated last year with double Degree in E&E and Power Electrical. She graduated with very good results, most of the time she got 4.0 for her exams.  smile.gif
In UNITEN, you just have to do your assignments and homework then attend quizes and you will pass even though you sleep thru the entire final exams la...

And at the end of every semester, you just need to ask for tips from lecturers and you will pass with FLYING COLOURS.

I even met one lecturer, a female one, she directly gave out all questions for my Engineering Dynamics Subject.
and in the exam, we wrote down the answer first then start doing the calculations from down to up...just imagine that...4.00 in UNITEN is just as easy as kacang....

in UNITEN, you just need to add a LITTLE BIT MORE effort to pass with good results... shakehead.gif
stupidbump
post Dec 18 2007, 08:26 PM

ẴẸǬÜITẴŞ
952 posts

QUOTE(naruto_kun @ Dec 15 2007, 09:58 AM)
agree with you one lectures tongue.gif. I'll add some:

worst:  zulkifli ahmad(quite lenient though), norhalena mohd nor, meena, aidil (don't take him. details...ask 2nd, 3rd year students ), khairul salleh, eng kian hin, dr hanim
best:  zarina( very good), norshah, faris (very strict ), abreeza, zaemah hassan, mikhail fong (i love his class, never ponteng also thumbup.gif )

The worst lecturer...I'd say you won't understand anything/ or will be missing anything (except for quizzes) much even though you go to the class. I think you ponteng the class for the whole sem also no problem. You are better of self study.  Honestly, you can get only 1 good lecturers for each semester. Which at times made me think why am I here in the first place tongue.gif

The labs are pretty sh*tty for engineering students. Fees are getting expensive, with a lot of crappy unreasonable fees. Accommodation had increased. Even though not much, why the hell increase? Its not like they upgrade the facilities or anything. Its is still the same apartment. They also will give you all kind of stupid excuses for the increment.

Added on December 15, 2007, 10:01 amforgot to add :

Actually I want to ask any ex-ME students here who took the electives? What did you guys take last time? I would like to have some details regarding the elective you took smile.gif
i took ICE, PPC, Mechatronics and Environmental Eng.
i recommend you to choose environmental...no need attend class also can score A.
dun choose Mechatronics or you will die with Dr Farrukh Nagi (another ass lecturer)

If you really want to learn, choose lecturers like Dr Norshah, Dr. Ibrahim and those you know who la...u study uniten sure know one la who good who ass!
12bDreamChaser
post Dec 19 2007, 12:29 AM

44 posts

QUOTE(ahsin @ Dec 10 2007, 04:47 AM)
as i know uniten hostel is 1 person 1 room.. not bad.... not like mmu... 2 or 3 share in a small room and charge high.... sigh
got 2 type of hostel..one is like mentioned by u: 1 person 1 room(CENDEKIAWAN). and another 1 is 2 person 1 room.(AMANAH) basically, new students are placed in AMANAH...
stupidbump
post Dec 19 2007, 11:45 PM

ẴẸǬÜITẴŞ
952 posts

QUOTE(12bDreamChaser @ Dec 19 2007, 12:29 AM)
got 2 type of hostel..one is like mentioned by u: 1 person 1 room(CENDEKIAWAN). and another 1 is 2 person 1 room.(AMANAH) basically, new students are placed in AMANAH...
and you walk a whole 2 km to class everyday if you don't have transport.... brows.gif

dun bloody get cheated by claims that UNITEN provide shuttle service..if you depend on that...be prepared to missed at least half a sem of classes...the drivers are all pigs!
fruitie
post Dec 19 2007, 11:52 PM

Rise and Shine
72,807 posts

QUOTE(stupidbump @ Dec 18 2007, 08:15 PM)
In UNITEN, you just have to do your assignments and homework then attend quizes and you will pass even though you sleep thru the entire final exams la...

And at the end of every semester, you just need to ask for tips from lecturers and you will pass with FLYING COLOURS.

I even met one lecturer, a female one, she directly gave out all questions for my Engineering Dynamics Subject.
and in the exam, we wrote down the answer first then start doing the calculations from down to up...just imagine that...4.00 in UNITEN is just as easy as kacang....

in UNITEN, you just need to add a LITTLE BIT MORE effort to pass with good results... shakehead.gif
Wow, I didn't know UNITEN is that bad. sweat.gif
Then, I can proudly say MMU is much better in term of the produced results. wink.gif

So, I may presume that you got 4.0 every semester? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by fruitie: Dec 19 2007, 11:53 PM
stupidbump
post Dec 20 2007, 12:06 AM

ẴẸǬÜITẴŞ
952 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Dec 19 2007, 11:52 PM)
Wow, I didn't know UNITEN is that bad. sweat.gif
Then, I can proudly say MMU is much better in term of the produced results. wink.gif

So, I may presume that you got 4.0 every semester? hmm.gif
Haha..you ought to be proud though...but then the MMU exams are tough...

And i was one lazy geek who never attended class for the first 2 months normally in a 4 month semester...so i only manage second class upper at 3.2
haahaaa........... brows.gif
Darkmage12
post Dec 20 2007, 12:26 AM

shhhhhhhhh come i tell you something hehe
17,053 posts

QUOTE(skinnydude @ Dec 15 2007, 10:56 AM)
darkmage and fruitie, congratulations.. my intial statement was wrong.. UNITEN is far behind MMU.. i have attached the south east asian university ranking.. MMU is at number 16 and UNITEN is at number 64.. sorry for the wrong facts.. i think i will print the page and paste it everywhere in UNITEN..  brows.gif

Added on December 15, 2007, 11:48 amhttp://www.webometrics.info/  is in charge of the "attachment".. some interesting facts which i quoted from the website..
it seems like crap to me lol
stupidbump
post Dec 20 2007, 09:30 AM

ẴẸǬÜITẴŞ
952 posts

QUOTE(Darkmage12 @ Dec 20 2007, 12:26 AM)
it seems like crap to me lol
Well....UNITEN is just ONE BIG CRAP!! tongue.gif
Darkmage12
post Dec 20 2007, 10:03 AM

shhhhhhhhh come i tell you something hehe
17,053 posts

QUOTE(stupidbump @ Dec 20 2007, 09:30 AM)
Well....UNITEN is just ONE BIG CRAP!! tongue.gif
Well i meant that ranking that he posted but maybe UNITEN is just the same laugh.gif

128 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0278sec    0.31    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 03:42 PM