University -=UNITEN =-, DIscUss ABout evrything..

fruitie
post Dec 8 2007, 12:40 AM

Rise and Shine
72,804 posts

Erm.. How about opening this thread at Kopitiam?
Well, MMU thread also serves the same purpose but it is at placed at Kopitiam to prevent any unnecessary spams. smile.gif
Just a friendly reminder though. wink.gif
fruitie
post Dec 14 2007, 01:42 AM

Rise and Shine
72,804 posts

QUOTE(stupidbump @ Dec 13 2007, 11:53 PM)
UNITEN sux big time...i also from there...lecturers used to be foreigners in the late 90s but since 2002 all retired and now mostly are local lecturers who don't even know what they are doing(only emphasize on what and how to greet them i.e Dr, Ir, Prof)...i was once scolded by a female lecturer because she was an IR and i refered her as a Dr only.

my whole 5 years of exams were self studied..

accomodation are more expensive then rented master rooms outside...food court provides shit and you eat grass on weekends..facilities all damn and spoilt...miscelaneous fees are ridiculously high and you don't get what you deserved...graduation day was like hell day..

#conclusion: nothing is well organized...all they know is how to charge you for this and that..ever seen a car being summoned in a university? and the summons are more expensive than DBKL and MPPJ.

lecturers park near to the faculty and students need to park far away and spaces are limited for students and abundant for lecturers. So if you are in a hurry and park in the lecturer's parking space, you get a summon.
Like one of my lecturer Dr. Johnny said: this is unfair as we students are the ones paying the lecturers and we can be considered as their indirect boss!!

#worst lecturers: zolman, chai mei kim, adnan rosely, kannan, bashir, lariyah (all dunno what they are there for in the first place)

#best lecturers: Dr.Talal, Johnny, Lim Chin Wai (well educated and dedicted to students)

*lecturers sucks,dean sucks,admin staff sucks,facilities sucks, food court sucks, classes sucks, exam hall sucks, in the end----> results also sucks...but i manage to pass with flying colours la shakehead.gif
Is really that bad? I have two cousins who are Uniten's graduates, both are engineers now, I didn't hear them talking about all this. If not, they won't encourage another cousin to study there, who is already in his first year Degree of Engineering there... hmm.gif
fruitie
post Dec 14 2007, 07:35 PM

Rise and Shine
72,804 posts

QUOTE(stupidbump @ Dec 14 2007, 07:27 PM)
Well...what year did they grad? the 97 batch of course had the best from Uni10..
One of my cousins graduated in year 2005, an E&E grad, good pay I presume.
Another one cousin, she graduated last year with double Degree in E&E and Power Electrical. She graduated with very good results, most of the time she got 4.0 for her exams. smile.gif
fruitie
post Dec 15 2007, 01:21 AM

Rise and Shine
72,804 posts

QUOTE(skinnydude @ Dec 15 2007, 12:29 AM)
wah, i didn't expect so much of negative response.. but its the truth.. UNITEN maybe has many cons but they still do have some pros..
it is said that UNITEN is the 2nd best IPTS behind UTP. and most students would get job even before graduating.. i hope all that r the truth..  biggrin.gif
i just don't know y UNITEN doesn't get any many (+) remarks as MMU.. for me, i think UNITEN is a better institute then MMU.. for offense MMU guys..  smile.gif .. i think the main problem is UNITEN has too little girls.. so, to all UNITEN guys out there, please encourage your sisters or friends (girls) to enter UNITEN..  blush.gif it would be a life saver solution for UNITEN..
Well, MMU graduates also get jobs even before they graduate. smile.gif
MMU is not that bad. wink.gif
fruitie
post Dec 15 2007, 03:13 AM

Rise and Shine
72,804 posts

QUOTE(skinnydude @ Dec 15 2007, 02:01 AM)
sorry if i offended u... just voiced out my opinion..  notworthy.gif
No, I am fine with it. wink.gif Everyone has the right to voice out their opinions. smile.gif
fruitie
post Dec 15 2007, 03:59 AM

Rise and Shine
72,804 posts

QUOTE(Darkmage12 @ Dec 15 2007, 03:38 AM)
then where does MMU stand? behind UNITEN?
Ya, I really wish to know about that too since I have not heard about this before. wink.gif
I hope that skinnydude is able to find us the source from the Internet to support his claim. smile.gif
fruitie
post Dec 15 2007, 12:12 PM

Rise and Shine
72,804 posts

QUOTE(skinnydude @ Dec 15 2007, 10:56 AM)
darkmage and fruitie, congratulations.. my intial statement was wrong.. UNITEN is far behind MMU.. i have attached the south east asian university ranking.. MMU is at number 16 and UNITEN is at number 64.. sorry for the wrong facts.. i think i will print the page and paste it everywhere in UNITEN..  brows.gif

Added on December 15, 2007, 11:48 amhttp://www.webometrics.info/  is in charge of the "attachment".. some interesting facts which i quoted from the website..
There is nothing that to congratulate me. smile.gif

Wow, that is a good searching! Even as a MMU student, I didn't come across that thing. sweat.gif
Thanks for the source! thumbup.gif
fruitie
post Dec 15 2007, 12:37 PM

Rise and Shine
72,804 posts

QUOTE(skinnydude @ Dec 15 2007, 12:26 PM)
hahaha... but i really don't get the ranking thing.. its not really based on education, facilities and all right? correct me if i'm wrong..  icon_rolleyes.gif
I've just went through the whole thing, I don't think it is reliable... sweat.gif It is based on webometric and webometric means "A directory of world universities ranked according their presence on the Web". sweat.gif

MMU is no.17 and not 16, actually.
fruitie
post Dec 15 2007, 01:07 PM

Rise and Shine
72,804 posts

QUOTE(skinnydude @ Dec 15 2007, 01:03 PM)
does it mean UNITEN still has hope? wahh.. great.. sorry for the wrong info.. should have read it carefully before posting it..  rclxub.gif but MMU is far more popular than UNITEN..
laugh.gif I don't know about that. No problem. wink.gif
Maybe our publicity is better? tongue.gif
fruitie
post Dec 19 2007, 11:52 PM

Rise and Shine
72,804 posts

QUOTE(stupidbump @ Dec 18 2007, 08:15 PM)
In UNITEN, you just have to do your assignments and homework then attend quizes and you will pass even though you sleep thru the entire final exams la...

And at the end of every semester, you just need to ask for tips from lecturers and you will pass with FLYING COLOURS.

I even met one lecturer, a female one, she directly gave out all questions for my Engineering Dynamics Subject.
and in the exam, we wrote down the answer first then start doing the calculations from down to up...just imagine that...4.00 in UNITEN is just as easy as kacang....

in UNITEN, you just need to add a LITTLE BIT MORE effort to pass with good results... shakehead.gif
Wow, I didn't know UNITEN is that bad. sweat.gif
Then, I can proudly say MMU is much better in term of the produced results. wink.gif

So, I may presume that you got 4.0 every semester? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by fruitie: Dec 19 2007, 11:53 PM
fruitie
post Dec 21 2007, 03:13 AM

Rise and Shine
72,804 posts

QUOTE(dgrebel @ Dec 21 2007, 01:56 AM)
whats the point comparing? let's compare cgpa then?  tongue.gif

btw, final exams at UNITEN is damn tough seriously. many had flunked. and we are too thoery-centric i believe, lack practicals. but we do have alot of clubs to support on this.
But stupidbump mentioned before that the exams at UNITEN are like kacang. To get full 4.0 pointer is not something hard in UNITEN.

What is the real situation then? laugh.gif
fruitie
post Dec 21 2007, 08:57 AM

Rise and Shine
72,804 posts

QUOTE(dgrebel @ Dec 21 2007, 08:33 AM)
bullshit. it's either u walk the talk or just talk the talk. of course it's not hard to get 4.0 if u only take all LAN subjects in one sem.  tongue.gif

but, i believe to get A depends on lecturer, some are very strict with their markings and some are just too linean. this is a universal truth everywhere around the globe. but still, we are not in america, where they allow open book exams.

as far as i remember, i have never got A during degree except for C programming for engineering, Comparative Religion and Digital Logic. other than that, it's all A- and below. and these 3 subjects that i score is because of it's lecturer which gives alot of quizzes and assignments to backup our grades. other than that, they are just too reluctant to give out points especially those who play truant with their classes.

it has come to my concern that, grades are not that important really. unless u wanna go for masters degree and Permanent Head Damage (Ph.D)  biggrin.gif
Wait LAN subjects in UNITEN are counted in for CGPA?
We all in MMU, only considered as pass or fail... I thought it supposed to be that way. sweat.gif

0.0431sec    0.89    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 05:24 PM