For those who exercise and drinks 100 plus everyday, will it be bad for health? As far as I know, it's an isotonic drink but can it cause diabetes?
I personally drink at least a can of 100 plus everyday.
100 Plus
100 Plus
Dec 7 2007, 08:05 PM, updated 18y ago
Show posts by this member only | Post
10,459 posts Joined: Sep 2005 From: Puchong |
For those who exercise and drinks 100 plus everyday, will it be bad for health? As far as I know, it's an isotonic drink but can it cause diabetes?
I personally drink at least a can of 100 plus everyday. |
Dec 7 2007, 08:08 PM
1,269 posts Joined: Dec 2007 From: MoD ParaDisE |
not health problem at all.. i drink it most of the day.
Dec 7 2007, 08:36 PM
3,705 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
theres still sugar in it right?
Dec 7 2007, 08:50 PM
Yup, that's my question. There is sugar in it; won't it contribute to additional sugar in body?
Dec 7 2007, 08:53 PM
6,657 posts Joined: Jul 2006 |
so long u don OVER consume 100plus, it should be ok...
Dec 7 2007, 08:54 PM
1,269 posts Joined: Dec 2007 From: MoD ParaDisE |
a bottle a day, would be fine..
Dec 7 2007, 08:56 PM
6,657 posts Joined: Jul 2006 |
too much of anything is no good...
Dec 7 2007, 08:58 PM
288 posts Joined: Jun 2007 |
Recently when i got fever i would drink 100Plus. And sometimes few cans per day. How bad is 100Plus if compared to Coca Cola?
Dec 7 2007, 09:14 PM
2,272 posts Joined: Sep 2007 |
Dec 7 2007, 09:15 PM
2,272 posts Joined: Sep 2007 |
Dec 7 2007, 09:39 PM
22 posts Joined: Dec 2007 |
100 Plus was suppose to be a isotonic drink where it restore you the energy after the sports. I don't think is good to drink just like that.
Dec 7 2007, 10:18 PM
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
52,874 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
I heard a rumours that drinking too much 100+ will create a imbalance salinity. Any idea?
Dec 7 2007, 11:05 PM
130 posts Joined: Nov 2007 |
100+ alone won't cause diabetes.
You still hafta look into your other diet intake be it carbs or sugar. And don't factor out genetics... if your family has a history of diabetes, you chances of getting it is definately higher. |
Dec 8 2007, 12:04 AM
525 posts Joined: Jan 2006 From: Anywhere , Anytime |
I drink 100plus if i feel tired after sports/gym workout .. And sometimes when i feel dizzy/hot/uncomfortable , i also drink it . I feel better after drinking it
Dec 8 2007, 12:31 AM
339 posts Joined: Mar 2007 From: Isle of Pinang |
I too usually drink 100 Plus when i m feeling sick. Any comments?
Dec 8 2007, 09:12 AM
1,678 posts Joined: Aug 2005 |
100 plus is ok...
sugar salt n water mix n proper ratio... but like yew khuay said... too much is not good... |
Dec 8 2007, 06:20 PM
2,850 posts Joined: Aug 2006 From: Stellar Nursery |
QUOTE(mengsuan @ Dec 7 2007, 08:05 PM) For those who exercise and drinks 100 plus everyday, will it be bad for health? As far as I know, it's an isotonic drink but can it cause diabetes? 100 Plus reminds me of the movie Idiocracy,I personally drink at least a can of 100 plus everyday. "Cauze itz got electrolytes..!" "Itz wat ur body needz..!" Why would anyone want to drink plain tasteles toilet water when then can drink 100 plus? |
Dec 8 2007, 11:22 PM
3,577 posts Joined: Apr 2006 |
I drink 100+ or any other isotonic drinks only after heavy sweating like after cardio or badminton session. Personally I prefer Pocari Sweat which is so difficult to find in Malaysia coz it has minimal carbonated content (if any).
Dec 9 2007, 06:57 PM
42 posts Joined: May 2007 From: the Unforgetable City |
100 plus cure fever and headache.. XD
Dec 10 2007, 09:31 PM
129 posts Joined: Dec 2007 From: Negeri Sembilan |
Dec 10 2007, 09:38 PM
232 posts Joined: Aug 2007 From: RHQ |
QUOTE(m2n-e @ Dec 7 2007, 08:08 PM) It has Saccharine, excess used may contribute to diabetes and other diseases. A better option for isotonic drink, fresh coconut juice. Studies, local and abroad has shown the benefit of coconut drink as isotonic drink. The Armed Forces elite uses them often for re-hydration and other jungle survival purposes. |
Dec 10 2007, 09:44 PM
113 posts Joined: Jun 2007 |
well , my pharmachist told me that 100 plus can cause diabetes after her own research .
She had some customers who drank a can of 100 plus everyday and got diabetes . But, that customers was in her 50s. Juz sharing what i have |
Dec 10 2007, 10:27 PM
4,808 posts Joined: Sep 2006 |
I only took if during and after my badminton game. I drink it cool. Dunno got any problem or not. SO heaty then straight drink it cool to cool down in each match. I bought from those vending machine..
Dec 10 2007, 10:39 PM
232 posts Joined: Aug 2007 From: RHQ |
The 'conspiracy' reason why our Olympic Council backs 100 Plus is because of heavy lobbying from Fraser & Neave, which includes $$$ and sponsor. Plain water is just as good. |
Dec 10 2007, 10:48 PM
558 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kepong |
My favourite drink is 100 plus, everytime when i going to fever / sickness, i surely drink a large bottle of 100 plus, works all the time, the side effects? i not sure, but surely got one, but never mind lar, i think this energy drink does more good then bad, because we sometimes drink less water than we need, we sweat, even if we doesnt know it, so its a kinda like a tunic for me.
Dec 14 2007, 11:13 AM
59 posts Joined: Jun 2007 |
100 plus has the same function like coconut juice. Cirit birit can drink 100plus too. I din know that fever can be relieved by drinking 100plus...got add panadol ah??
100plus will cause diabetes - first time i hear this. Interesting fact. One advice- never be an 100 plus addict. Everything consumed have to be balance. |
Dec 14 2007, 01:03 PM
Dec 14 2007, 01:52 PM
110 posts Joined: Nov 2007 |
QUOTE(1deception @ Dec 10 2007, 10:39 PM) The 'conspiracy' reason why our Olympic Council backs 100 Plus is because of heavy lobbying from Fraser & Neave, which includes $$$ and sponsor. Yeah, I second that. Plain water is just as good. Anyway, an ocassional 100 plus after a sporting session wouldn't be detrimental to your health. |
Dec 14 2007, 01:56 PM
1,860 posts Joined: Sep 2006 From: KL |
yes i owez drink 100 plus.
why got prob ? |
Dec 14 2007, 01:59 PM
599 posts Joined: Feb 2005 From: Petaling Jaya |
During workout/sports session your body burns the glucose that was stored in your body into energy for the body. After workout/sports your body will be low on fuel, thats when 100 plus should come in, because your body will suck it up like a sponge and store those glucose while burning some to gain energy for the rest of the day. Drinking 100 plus after or during workout/sports is a good idea to replenish the energy that you have lost (drink the amount of 100 plus depending on how heavy your sports session is). Drinking 100 plus everyday without working out or doing sports is gonna make you store a lot of glucose in your blood that won't be turned into energy, that's when you're asking for trouble, especially if you don't drink a lot of plain water throughout the day, your blood is gonna run as slow as KL traffic at 5pm rush hour! and the glucose gonna be stuck there like how you would in a heavy traffic jam in KL.
This post has been edited by Iliveunderwater: Dec 14 2007, 02:02 PM |
Dec 18 2007, 07:17 PM
1,047 posts Joined: Dec 2006 From: GKL/KV |
QUOTE(Iliveunderwater @ Dec 14 2007, 01:59 PM) During workout/sports session your body burns the glucose that was stored in your body into energy for the body. After workout/sports your body will be low on fuel, thats when 100 plus should come in, because your body will suck it up like a sponge and store those glucose while burning some to gain energy for the rest of the day. Drinking 100 plus after or during workout/sports is a good idea to replenish the energy that you have lost (drink the amount of 100 plus depending on how heavy your sports session is). Drinking 100 plus everyday without working out or doing sports is gonna make you store a lot of glucose in your blood that won't be turned into energy, that's when you're asking for trouble, especially if you don't drink a lot of plain water throughout the day, your blood is gonna run as slow as KL traffic at 5pm rush hour! and the glucose gonna be stuck there like how you would in a heavy traffic jam in KL. Yeah, agreed. One more thing is my P.E. instructor at school used to ask us to drink 100 Plus before any Marathon run or any heavy sports activities. It is said that it could help to prevent muscle cramp during the activity. I'm not sure how far it goes, but for me, never had muscle cramp if I went to a very proper warming up session. |
Dec 18 2007, 07:24 PM
Skymyxe, I think what your PE Instructor said only applies when you haven't eaten enough about an hour before your workout to fuel your body. In my opinion, eating an hour before a sports session is a must to get the full and best performance from our body and it applies to any sports. 100 Plus during and after workout is considered optional but recommended. What most important is you get some glucose during or after your workout cuz your body will be running out of it and need it. Not just glucose actually, all those other nutrition as well, such as protein, carbs and fats.
PS: oh yeah and warmup is a definitely a must, good job and good thinking there This post has been edited by Iliveunderwater: Dec 18 2007, 07:25 PM |
Dec 18 2007, 07:47 PM
QUOTE(Iliveunderwater @ Dec 18 2007, 07:24 PM) Skymyxe, I think what your PE Instructor said only applies when you haven't eaten enough about an hour before your workout to fuel your body. In my opinion, eating an hour before a sports session is a must to get the full and best performance from our body and it applies to any sports. 100 Plus during and after workout is considered optional but recommended. What most important is you get some glucose during or after your workout cuz your body will be running out of it and need it. Not just glucose actually, all those other nutrition as well, such as protein, carbs and fats. Yeah, couldn't agree more. PS: oh yeah and warmup is a definitely a must, good job and good thinking there Glucose would be the most important as it'll become the source of energy. Scarcity or lack of glucose will lead to our body not having enough energy to go through any sports or even daily routine. In addition, drinking enough water is also a must. |
Dec 18 2007, 10:12 PM
525 posts Joined: Jan 2006 From: Anywhere , Anytime |
I just finish my basketball and i drink half of the 100 plus bottle !!
PS: 1.5Litre bottle. |
Dec 18 2007, 10:21 PM
Dec 19 2007, 09:17 AM
111 posts Joined: Jul 2007 |
The safest way is to drink plain water.....
Dec 19 2007, 01:18 PM
Dec 22 2007, 04:39 PM
747 posts Joined: Jan 2007 |
Yup!! pain water is the best...
100plus was a isotonic drink to restore the enegry after work out,one day one bottle ok lah...better than drink coke soft drink don drink too much also lah,.. |
Dec 22 2007, 07:44 PM
15,182 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Damansara Heights |
Lulz, I whack iced chinese tea from kopitiam.
Dec 22 2007, 08:42 PM
The best just drink both 100 plus and plain water dduring and/or after workout. I did that last time while working out, drink 100 plus then water then 100 plus then water LOL. Cuz if drink 100 plus only, will feel thirsty, but if drink plain water only, feel refresh but won't feel really the energy.
But you guys are mad man, 1.5 litre of 100 plus drink after workout?? thats damn big (1.5L is the biggest bottle one right? forgot), even half of it is quite a lot. I usually just drink just the small can, or the regular size bottle. |
Dec 22 2007, 09:36 PM
Yea true, iced water or similar like iced chinese tea is better for me.
Dec 22 2007, 09:49 PM
663 posts Joined: Apr 2005 |
Does taking a lot of sugars give you diabetes?
It doesn't. Increased carbs and sugars might make you obese and THAT will give you an increased chance of getting diabetes ...but for those who work out /lead a very active lifestyle, taking a lot of carbs or sugars wont give you diabetes. Look at those indon construction site workers.... Stop believeing everything you read in the papers ( ESPECIALLY our papers ) ...google it ! |
Dec 23 2007, 11:12 AM
171 posts Joined: Nov 2006 From: Ipoh, KL, Malaysia |
i drink 100 plus when i need to work till very late and when i'm about to be sick.
i dont know is me not wat. but do u all try this b4? when u r about to be sick, u drink 100 plus the taste is different, a bit bitter. but drink it when u r normal is a bit sweet. does anyone have tt b4? |
Dec 23 2007, 07:08 PM
QUOTE(Anonymousmich @ Dec 23 2007, 11:12 AM) i drink 100 plus when i need to work till very late and when i'm about to be sick. I think it's because your taste buds will taste things differently especially when you have a fever. Same goes to Sprite and 7-UP. My mum used to ask me to drink Sprite when I caught a fever. But now, 100 Plus. i dont know is me not wat. but do u all try this b4? when u r about to be sick, u drink 100 plus the taste is different, a bit bitter. but drink it when u r normal is a bit sweet. does anyone have tt b4? |
Dec 23 2007, 07:12 PM
561 posts Joined: Apr 2007 |
QUOTE(Anonymousmich @ Dec 23 2007, 11:12 AM) i drink 100 plus when i need to work till very late and when i'm about to be sick. yeah! the taste is diff. bitter. i just caught fever. i dont know is me not wat. but do u all try this b4? when u r about to be sick, u drink 100 plus the taste is different, a bit bitter. but drink it when u r normal is a bit sweet. does anyone have tt b4? QUOTE(skymyxe @ Dec 23 2007, 07:08 PM) I think it's because your taste buds will taste things differently especially when you have a fever. Same goes to Sprite and 7-UP. My mum used to ask me to drink Sprite when I caught a fever. But now, 100 Plus. same same. she will buy a big bottle of 100 plus for me. lol |
Dec 23 2007, 11:37 PM
QUOTE(nikeshock @ Dec 23 2007, 07:12 PM) yeah! the taste is diff. bitter. i just caught fever. I think all in all bout pros and cons of drinkin 100 plus, 100 Plus does have more pros than cons. Just don't overdo it and drink too much. Drink moderately or according to you needs. same same. she will buy a big bottle of 100 plus for me. lol |
Dec 24 2007, 03:48 PM
I only drink 100 Plus when I do heavy work load or under the hot sun for too long, seldom drink carbonated drink.
Dec 24 2007, 04:19 PM
204 posts Joined: Nov 2007 From: City of Devils |
Whenever I have fever, the doctor advise me to drink 100 plus.
Dec 24 2007, 06:35 PM
Dec 24 2007, 07:19 PM
Dec 24 2007, 08:50 PM
1,281 posts Joined: Dec 2007 |
There were more than couple of hot days in the past 2 months and it is more rejuvenating to drink 100Plus than just normal filtered water.
Dec 24 2007, 10:55 PM
Yea, 100 plus can drink if you are sick. Or get those cooling water from hypermarket.
Dec 24 2007, 11:59 PM
Dec 25 2007, 01:29 AM
Gu Ling Gao jelly, FTW!
Dec 25 2007, 02:25 AM
100 plus - it's said so much that the company has even put it in their ads .... c'mon, its sweetened oral rehydration salts. You can make your own!
Dec 25 2007, 03:33 AM
2,850 posts Joined: Aug 2006 From: Stellar Nursery |
I never drink carbonated stuff, the only canned drink I buy is coffee which is just as diabesity inducing as every other soda out there.
This post has been edited by Polaris: Dec 25 2007, 03:34 AM |
Dec 25 2007, 06:51 AM
QUOTE(Polaris @ Dec 25 2007, 03:33 AM) I never drink carbonated stuff, the only canned drink I buy is coffee which is just as diabesity inducing as every other soda out there. In that case just try 100 Plus, Added on December 25, 2007, 6:52 am QUOTE(cntrecycling @ Dec 25 2007, 05:26 AM) Can 100 Plus cure dengue? I doubt it. This post has been edited by skymyxe: Dec 25 2007, 06:52 AM |
Dec 25 2007, 07:12 AM
37 posts Joined: Nov 2006 |
Dec 25 2007, 09:43 AM
QUOTE(cntrecycling @ Dec 25 2007, 05:26 AM) I find it difficult to believe a doctor would recommend the drink as treatment for dengue.. another case of the doc just pandering to the patient's insistence that the carbonated drink provides health benefits? What the hey, as long as the patient get some fluids in him, right? |
Dec 25 2007, 10:16 AM
3,141 posts Joined: Nov 2006 |
100 plus helps with reducing your body temperature...thats y the doctor recommended it
Dec 25 2007, 10:32 AM
Dec 25 2007, 10:52 AM
Cold plain water also cools down your body temperature.
Dec 25 2007, 11:16 AM
i should have made my meaning plainer.. 100 plus = salt.. salt attracts water... cold water = bad for ur bones...
Dec 25 2007, 02:48 PM
Dec 25 2007, 03:12 PM
Dec 25 2007, 05:19 PM
1,429 posts Joined: Sep 2006 From: Trance MUsic |
100 plus cure my tiredness,a little sugar contains only..better than cola o others drinks
Dec 25 2007, 06:22 PM
conclusion.. 100 plus > cold water
Dec 25 2007, 06:25 PM
19 posts Joined: Jan 2007 |
i also always drink alot of100plus when i'm feeling sick or like having fever. Do helps for me
Dec 25 2007, 07:35 PM
Hmm
Dec 25 2007, 11:31 PM
Heck man, i should give up, lots of 100 plus supporters ..... go google la. See how an isotonic drink can be an anti pyretic... |
Jul 6 2020, 05:28 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
1,277 posts Joined: Jul 2013 |
Got really bad fever last week. Drank 4 bottles of 100 plus 1.5l (3 days).
Too much lehh I din realised also.keep spamming |
Jul 6 2020, 10:19 PM
307 posts Joined: Mar 2011 |
Yikes. Necro 2007 thread.
Anyway good thing is a blog post by Dr Nur Hidayati in The Malaysian Medical Gazette back in 2014 writes QUOTE Myth 2 – Try taking guava juice, papaya leaves, 100 plus, crab soup etc. to increase your platelet count ...I do not advise them to take soft drinks (isotonic or not) as most of these drinks are very sweet. Taking them in large amount might cause diuretic effect, which makes you to urinate more frequently, and subsequently causing you to be dehydrated and feeling weaker instead.... How about an opinion from a columnist in The Malay Mail (also 2014) instead? QUOTE 3. Drink water, not 100 Plus I’m not sure who started the whole “Drink 100 Plus” routine but you’re much better off drinking lots of water. Just water. Most carbonated drinks, including isotonic drinks, have high sugar content. Curing myself of dengue by giving myself diabetes doesn’t sound fun now, does it? Of course, some would argue that "opinions" are a weak form of evidence, however I wasn't able to find any research paper regarding this topic. Personally, I don't see how an isotonic drink is going to help with dengue BESIDES replacing fluids loss through heavy sweating/vomitting. That's all. This post has been edited by nivlanauk: Jul 6 2020, 10:22 PM |
Jul 6 2020, 10:46 PM
281 posts Joined: Feb 2018 |
QUOTE(nivlanauk @ Jul 6 2020, 10:19 PM) Yikes. Necro 2007 thread. Frankly, I don't really agree with what the doctor said. Yes, drinking lots of 100 plus is not beneficial, but an adequate amount of it helps. When people fall sick, they have no appetite to eat, so the minerals in their bodies are not gonna get fully replenished if they only drink water and water will dilute the mineral level in their bodies as it will 'flush' them out of their bodies through urination. Isotonic drinks, in this case, will help the patients replenish the minerals and at the same time maintain the water concentration. Besides, directly linking diabetes to sugar intake is strictly not professional IMO when the truth is: High sugar intake ---> Increase body fats ---> Causes obesity ---> Affects endocrine system ---> Causes diabetes. From this flow, you can clearly tell obesity is the factor affecting it, not sugar intake alone.Anyway good thing is a blog post by Dr Nur Hidayati in The Malaysian Medical Gazette back in 2014 writes How about an opinion from a columnist in The Malay Mail (also 2014) instead? Of course, some would argue that "opinions" are a weak form of evidence, however I wasn't able to find any research paper regarding this topic. Personally, I don't see how an isotonic drink is going to help with dengue BESIDES replacing fluids loss through heavy sweating/vomitting. That's all. |
Jul 7 2020, 12:57 AM
307 posts Joined: Mar 2011 |
QUOTE(Yenactiet @ Jul 6 2020, 10:46 PM) Frankly, I don't really agree with what the doctor said. Yes, drinking lots of 100 plus is not beneficial, but an adequate amount of it helps. When people fall sick, they have no appetite to eat, so the minerals in their bodies are not gonna get fully replenished if they only drink water and water will dilute the mineral level in their bodies as it will 'flush' them out of their bodies through urination. Isotonic drinks, in this case, will help the patients replenish the minerals and at the same time maintain the water concentration. Besides, directly linking diabetes to sugar intake is strictly not professional IMO when the truth is: High sugar intake ---> Increase body fats ---> Causes obesity ---> Affects endocrine system ---> Causes diabetes. From this flow, you can clearly tell obesity is the factor affecting it, not sugar intake alone. The diabetes comment is not from the doctor btw! so yea, take it with a grain of salt! The doctor did mention that high glucose intake may cause increased urination although this is probably more prevalent in diabetics. Anyhoo, the clinical practise guideline for dengue management(2015) by MOH does recommend the following QUOTE Adequate fluid intake (more than 8 glasses or 2 litres for an average person). - Milk, fruit juice (caution with diabetes patient) and isotonic electrolyte solution (ORS) and barley water. - Plain water alone is not sufficient and may cause electrolyte imbalance. For glucose content comparison, ORS ~20g/L 100 plus ~66g/L Again, the purpose of taking ORS is to prevent dehydration in the event of excessive sweating, nausea, vomitting or diarrhea. |
| Change to: | 0.0354sec
5 queries
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 08:34 AM |