126 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

LYN Guitar Phreaks Club v7 strings, Happy New Year all ... rock on to 2008 !

bartimaeus
post Dec 11 2007, 05:12 PM

20 posts

Thanks for the fast reply.
I want to play rock, metal, blues and a little bit of jazz. What about amps? any suggestions?. and how do i split my budget for guitar and amp? i got around 1400.
blacktrix
post Dec 11 2007, 05:24 PM

Scott Pilgrim Vs The World!
13,063 posts

450 for an amp will probably get you either a Roland Microcube or a Vox DA 5. Microcube is much better at Metal stuff, while the DA5 is good for classic rock stuff.

As for the guitar? I like the SA because of it's versatility, but you'll have to go and try out a few to see what you really like. Since you want to play metal and rock, go for something with a Humbucker.
echobrainproject
post Dec 11 2007, 05:43 PM

4,765 posts

QUOTE(led_zep_freak @ Dec 11 2007, 01:09 PM)
Hehe... you signed up for his lessons too? thumbup.gif Mr. San San Go. biggrin.gif
can sign up? how?

btw, did the jazz book u bought helped?
bartimaeus
post Dec 11 2007, 05:48 PM

20 posts

Ok thanks. With my budget (1000), can i get a guitar with a whammy bar?
led_zep_freak
post Dec 11 2007, 05:50 PM

5,231 posts

QUOTE(echobrainproject @ Dec 11 2007, 05:43 PM)
can sign up? how?

btw, did the jazz book u bought helped?
Newsletter I mean...

What jazz book? biggrin.gif I didn't buy lolx, can't find in Kinokuniya d. doh.gif
TSSweetTooth
post Dec 11 2007, 05:54 PM

2,650 posts

QUOTE(blacktrix @ Dec 11 2007, 03:34 PM)
F'ing hell. Selangor Holiday and the town is PACKED.
Plues HINDRAF Rally......... will have to go tomorrow sad.gif
QUOTE(Everdying @ Dec 11 2007, 04:04 PM)
no wonder goddamn stupid police roadblock so early in the morning today, causing a massive jam when there shouldnt be any.
they blocked off jalan parlimen vmad.gif
because of 1 small, short distance have to jam up damn long. grid lock all over the place. luckily traffic police were doing their jobs efficiently.

i was at bents at 2pm. wanted to buy an ms2 but they only had ms2C so i didnt buy. strings also they quote mr rm170 for a box yawn.gif
ended up buying a 6' cable only laugh.gif
good thing i let my bro drive if not i suffer man...
led_zep_freak
post Dec 11 2007, 05:58 PM

5,231 posts

ZOMG!!!
http://www.brooklynvegan.com/archives/2007...pelin_re_1.html

Plant's voice is amazing! He's much more comfortable with his current range after losing most of it at the end of the Zep years. Pagey - His grey hair actually looks great! Awesome tone. JPJ, classy as usual and Jason Bonham, definitely a worthy sit-in for his father Bonzo.

Reunion World Tour PLS!!

Added on December 11, 2007, 6:22 pmSetlist:
The setlist from their December 10th reunion show is as follows:

1. "Good Times Bad Times"
  2. "Ramble On"
  3. "Black Dog"
  4. "In My Time of Dying"
  5. "For Your Life" (live debut)
  6. "Trampled Under Foot"
  7. "Nobody's Fault But Mine"
  8. "No Quarter"
  9. "Since I've Been Loving You"
  10. "Dazed And Confused"
  11. "Stairway To Heaven"
  12. "The Song Remains The Same"
  13. "Misty Mountain Hop"
  14. "Kashmir"

Encore:

1. "Whole Lotta Love"
  2. "Rock And Roll"
And part of the celebrity audience list: Jeff Beck, Noel & Liam Gallagher, Marilyn Manson, Kate Moss, Richard Ashcroft, Roger Taylor, Pink, Mick Jagger etc...

Ahhhh.... the fanboy in me is screaming already! laugh.gif

This post has been edited by led_zep_freak: Dec 11 2007, 06:22 PM
blacktrix
post Dec 11 2007, 06:31 PM

13,063 posts

bartimaeus, Not worth getting a RM1000 guitar with Whammy because the trem will SUCK.

And will be headed to Bents HOPEFULLY around 1 tomorrow....... if all goes well.
quarantined
post Dec 11 2007, 07:28 PM

Create Not Imitate
3,396 posts

Whoa.. Robert Plant really sounds good there. But tht Black Dog footage is too short!! Another up for the WORLD TOUR!!
RustReaver4D1
post Dec 11 2007, 07:31 PM

1,100 posts

QUOTE(bartimaeus @ Dec 11 2007, 05:48 PM)
Sure can one... but if you're talking about floating tremolo ala Floyd Rose, better not. I've seen some pretty funky looking "Falcon" and "Pyramid" guitars... got floating trem, siap got sharkfin triangle inlay... laugh.gif
led_zep_freak
post Dec 11 2007, 08:44 PM

5,231 posts

QUOTE(quarantined @ Dec 11 2007, 07:28 PM)
Whoa.. Robert Plant really sounds good there. But tht Black Dog footage is too short!! Another up for the WORLD TOUR!!
More clips:

I must say, Jason Bonham is very impressive! I'm sure Dave Grohl himself would agree. biggrin.gif
And Plant... where did he channel all that classic Zep screams from? shocking.gif
Looks like they really put in lots of effort for this 'one-off' gig. biggrin.gif I reckon a full tour is in the works. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by led_zep_freak: Dec 11 2007, 09:33 PM
soulfly
post Dec 11 2007, 08:56 PM

revving towards 10,000 rpm
15,903 posts

QUOTE(bartimaeus @ Dec 11 2007, 05:48 PM)
Ibanez GSA60 has a SAT10 bridge (classic tremolo). Not bad, but not for aggressive playing. The transparent black one is awesome, as I dun like the sunburst finish.
bartimaeus
post Dec 11 2007, 09:07 PM

20 posts

Alright thanks blacktrix, you're very helpful.
blacktrix
post Dec 11 2007, 11:30 PM

13,063 posts

No prob. I tested out the GSA60 and bought one for a 10 year old beginner. It's a decent enough guitar and the trem wasn't so bad, but it does go completely out of tune when I tried to do a full dive....... just use it to color your sounds abit. I told him to take it off until he can properly play the guitar.

Bought it with the Roland Microcube for a notch below 1500 with a case, spare set of strings and a strap.
oxalato
post Dec 11 2007, 11:35 PM

609 posts

blacktrix, ask you something.
i've always wondered, since you're constantly forking out whole lotta money for high end gears,
do you gig alot?
gapnap
post Dec 12 2007, 01:01 AM

1,782 posts

QUOTE(oxalato @ Dec 11 2007, 11:35 PM)
blacktrix, ask you something.
i've always wondered, since you're constantly forking out whole lotta money for high end gears,
do you gig alot?
high end ? blink.gif
oxalato
post Dec 12 2007, 01:08 AM

609 posts

QUOTE(gapnap @ Dec 12 2007, 01:01 AM)
high end ?  blink.gif
okay maybe not THAT high end blush.gif tongue.gif

blacktrix
post Dec 12 2007, 01:39 AM

13,063 posts

er, nope tongue.gif
I just like to be surrounded by shiny toys!
enteryourusername
post Dec 12 2007, 09:36 AM

entermyusername
1,000 posts

QUOTE(blacktrix @ Dec 12 2007, 01:39 AM)
er, nope tongue.gif
I just like to be surrounded by shiny toys!
give it to us when they're not shining anymore. rclxms.gif
Everdying
post Dec 12 2007, 10:01 AM

Two is One and One is None.
30,735 posts

a guitar to please everybody tongue.gif

Galveston Triple Neck 6/7/12 - USD680.00

126 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top