Is migration a good choice ?, Migration (PR)

TSdr_luv
post Dec 6 2007, 04:32 PM, updated 18y ago

28 posts

Hi Folks,

Just to share my current situation and also require your expertise advice here. Here is my problem.

I am doing well in my finance job and so as my partner in software engineering in telecommucation industry. We are both late twenties, good earnings, committed in high end properties. As I studies in Australia, I also got know a migration lawyer residing there.

I just got in touch with him and he was assessing my skills and my partner and both my partner stand a change to obtain the Australian PR. It also cost RM 15k. (lawyers and PR visa fees). Not including other charges, medical, police clearance and etc which cost extra 5k. Total investment is rm 20k.

Question, Is migrating to overseas a good choice leaving all your high paid jobs and start fresh new ? Anyone here to share their experience which is similar and any advice which ease my thinking cap. We don't want to end up working supermarket for few years and than getting into medium scale jobs.

Regards
dr_luv icon_question.gif

This post has been edited by dr_luv: Dec 6 2007, 05:11 PM
cktwai
post Dec 6 2007, 04:46 PM

NaraPikamaru
541 posts

QUOTE(dr_luv @ Dec 6 2007, 04:32 PM)
Hi Folks,

Just to share my current situation and also require your expertise advice here. Here is my problem.

I am doing well in my finance job and so as my partner. We are both late twenties, good earnings, committed in high end properties. As I studies in Australia, I also got know a migration lawyer residing there.

I just got in touch with him and he was assessing my skills and my partner and both my partner stand a change to obtain the Australian PR. It also cost RM 15k. (lawyers and PR visa fees). Not including other charges, medical, police clearance and etc which cost extra 5k. Total investment is rm 20k.

Question, Is migrating to overseas a good choice leaving all your high paid jobs and start fresh new ? Anyone here to share their experience which is similar and any advice which ease my thinking cap. We don't want to end up working supermarket for few years and than getting into medium scale jobs.

Regards
dr_luv  icon_question.gif
Dude it's better surely... Look at our country... it's turning into a circus
yeechuen
post Dec 6 2007, 04:47 PM

216 posts

i think it is not bad as the aussie will stop packing things sharp at 4.30pm....will have better family n R&R lifestyle.......
not like in msia which we jus go out teabreak at 4.30 so that can work till 7++ or 8++pm......
but the tax is rather high over there......

GodsLove
post Dec 6 2007, 04:48 PM

663 posts

The grass is always greener else where. I presume you are a non-malay, and if that is the case, you would be considered as secondary citizen like in Malaysia. I also have friend in Australia and new Zealand, racial issues ain't any better over there...
deathbringer
post Dec 6 2007, 04:49 PM

I'll Pwn j00 !!
1,160 posts

follow ur instincts. if u think ur current skillz and work experience might help u land a comfortable job over there, go right ahead. however, competition is high over there, unemployment rate is not good, and they tend to favour the locals over us "Asians", if u know what i mean. unless u start ur own business, it's gonna be tough. however, aussies are a lazy bunch, so u'll never know.

if that fails to convince u, follow what your minister tells you:

"You tak suka, you keluar!"

GodsLove
post Dec 6 2007, 04:49 PM

663 posts

QUOTE(cktwai @ Dec 6 2007, 04:46 PM)
Dude it's better surely... Look at our country... it's turning into a circus
we do not know the true living environment and situation over in australia as we do not stay there long enough to know...other countries will always try to paint a nice picture of their own country. We know our country sucks bcoz we stay here long enough....
williamlee_1985
post Dec 6 2007, 04:50 PM

The Red Devils wear Nike
2,006 posts

hm..maybe try getting a job 1st before migrating?
GodsLove
post Dec 6 2007, 04:53 PM

663 posts

having said that, i actually which to migrate too but financially now i'm not able...All the best buddy
beelzebob13
post Dec 6 2007, 04:57 PM

**Newbie DeIllusionist**
591 posts

QUOTE(GodsLove @ Dec 6 2007, 04:48 PM)
The grass is always greener else where. I presume you are a non-malay, and if that is the case, you would be considered as secondary citizen like in Malaysia. I also have friend in Australia and new Zealand, racial issues ain't any better over there...
i assume you continue to live under the coconut shell (and finally after a long, happy life...a PR). but seriously, australia and NZ do not have legislation/policies drawn along racial lines.

TS, if you can go for it. no regrets. you were born here, you lived here, you don't have to die here.
KVReninem
post Dec 6 2007, 04:57 PM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(dr_luv @ Dec 6 2007, 05:32 PM)
Hi Folks,

I am doing well in my finance job and so as my partner. We are both late twenties, good earnings, committed in high end properties. As I studies in Australia, I also got know a migration lawyer residing there.

Regards
to dr-Luv..
well make it this way
if you are looking for career advancement; it is better you decide properly
in australia; it is a booming economy
very hot cake now ..but 5 to 10 yrs down the track; i`m sure it is alright unless kevin rudd do smth else bad.

to work in supermarket; medium scale job is not smth to ashame off
a proper financial planning and whr you want to advance ur career is 2 different thing
besides; since we are globalise now; jumping boat is more frequent and not many employer manage to keeping the good one
well; since you are in finance industry; you should come here and look for some contacts and try to see wat is your chance here for 5 years smile.gif

tats all i can say; as long aussie stilll need demand for the heating economy; there is still the need for migration smile.gif
it is part of supply=demand
why stay in malaysia when the grass is so much greener and you are well paid

add on :
getting PR and becoming not citizen is another thing
PR is just to give you more position in australia and helping australia
you still can be malaysia citizen if you wish; it is not tat you have to give up malaysian citizenship

give u example
our PM badawi has a property in perth and he is PR in aussie if not mistaken
but yet he is the one messing our country
so ...u know ~

This post has been edited by KVReninem: Dec 6 2007, 05:01 PM
aurora1128
post Dec 6 2007, 04:58 PM

not sure about your case whether what finance qualifications you have but I migrated to australia in a sudden without planning and I never regret migrating. higher pay more time to relax better earning power. and I got an offer not even 1 week after I touch down australia. I'm not sure which field are you looking for a job however the pay in finance is a lot in australia especially investment banking and the like. bonus easily 6 months above and salary is easily aud70k for fresh grad. well if you have experience you might fetch above 100k per annum easily or I should say even much more depends.
KVReninem
post Dec 6 2007, 05:02 PM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(aurora1128 @ Dec 6 2007, 05:58 PM)
not sure about your case whether what finance qualifications you have but I migrated to australia in a sudden without planning and I never regret migrating. higher pay more time to relax better earning power. and I got an offer not even 1 week after I touch down australia. I'm not sure which field are you looking for a job however the pay in finance is a lot in australia especially investment banking and the like. bonus easily 6 months above and salary is easily aud70k for fresh grad. well if you have experience you might fetch above 100k per annum easily or I should say even much more depends.
yea; wow..
u r super rich or aka millionaire in 10 yrs time

add to the list; aussie is a exprience based eonomy; so you want to get to top; experience count; salary is secondary smile.gif
im sure finance industry is well need of ppl now smile.gif

This post has been edited by KVReninem: Dec 6 2007, 05:05 PM
AsiaPartTime
post Dec 6 2007, 05:08 PM

311 posts

Just leave this hopeless country. Get your balance life over there. You will never get it from Malaysia.

As for human-right, you better buy your air-ticket now. If you are BUMI, better stay here to gain more $$$ from the government and other racers. Easy money and easy life.
dicxz80
post Dec 6 2007, 05:24 PM

40 posts

ehm.. if you migrate i am quite sure you need to restart your carrer

if you are still want to go better hurry.. because if you are still under 30 you are still quite young to restart biggrin.gif
dt_aiying
post Dec 6 2007, 05:35 PM

83 posts

My strongest advice: Since you're both still below 30 years old and because you do have an Australian education qualification, please leave the country and migrate to Australia!

With the country's current state (need I elaborate more?), it's most advisable for you to look elsewhere. As most of the other forumers have mentioned here, Australia is still the better choice.

All the best!
mozonia
post Dec 6 2007, 08:45 PM

As in my opinion,it is better u try a new life.Who knows u can get better life style in Australia.If in the matter of money,please leave these country,coz all the chance are giving to the bumiputra.Is very hard to for non-bumiputra to earn money.Somemore the are many limitation for the non-bumiputra entrepreneur.

This post has been edited by mozonia: Dec 6 2007, 08:48 PM
wingcross
post Dec 6 2007, 08:58 PM

603 posts

nice topic. doing my IELTS now. RM 300 for a private one to one class totalling up to 30 hours.
no regret and no turning back. and its getting harder to get in and more expensive. blink.gif blink.gif blink.gif

My agent from Ipoh charge me for AUD 2500 and AUD 3000 from KL agent. I think its getting more expensive. rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif
where ever I went to get advices, they told me to be humble there. start small.

One of my relatives that went there, earlier work with alot of international company, she has ACCA, couldnt get the right job, end up seeing a shrink.
anyway she fine now, finally got a accountant job. smile.gif so have to prepare for a little suffering. no pain no gain.

We have racial issues everywhere, but i dun think in Australia, its worst than Malaysia. I have many open-minded Malays friends planning going there also. the sad things is i am not really that qualified as I dun meet the 4 years experiences requirement.

I try to apply to go in as finance, but lack requirements. check up the sol list in their webbie. its not what ppl think.
They are looking for technical ppl.

go go go if u could. rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif

This post has been edited by wingcross: Dec 6 2007, 09:00 PM
neorelated4
post Dec 6 2007, 09:44 PM

130 posts

I support u! n dun worry.. a lot asians.. b it malaysians.. singaporeans.. indo..HK wtv also migrating there every year!
ur not the only ones..

it's ur choice..but im sure deep down u also been thinking it's a good, fresh move anyhow smile.gif

good luck in wtv path u choose!
tishaban
post Dec 6 2007, 11:01 PM

3,615 posts

Think of it as an investment. Put in some money and effort, try it out for a bit. If you don't like it you could come back and possibly with an offer in a Malaysian company with better pay too considering your experience overseas.

On the flip side however, I've known several Chinese friends who have been working overseas successfully for many years but still decided to come back for various reasons. They're certainly very brave IMO.

cyitling
post Dec 6 2007, 11:55 PM

32 posts

i think 10-20 years down the road.. working in Australia might be better for your career advancement.. it will definitely be better for your children's education and future...

if i have the opportunity.. i would apply for PR in Australia too.. just getting more working experience before i apply as I studied there as well..

the thing about Australian PR is.. for every 5 years, one will have to stay 2 years in total.. so if you hold an Australian PR but continuing working in Malaysia.. that might become a problem...
TSdr_luv
post Dec 6 2007, 11:58 PM

28 posts

Dear Folks,

Thanks a lot for feedback, anway how is the job prospects in Australia for banking/finance and telecommunication industry ?

We both lived and studied in Aust for couple of years. Part of the PR process, we have to live there for 3-4 years for next PR renewal or citizenship.

There are certain items which we are sure unable to obtain in Australia such as

1) Free flow or cheap mamak food at night/supper
2) Housekeeping Maids with affordable pay
3) Family closeness
4) Close friends hanging out
5) Variety of Massage, Facial parlour
6) Malaysia is heaven for food

Can't think of anything so far ! Do list if possible.

Regards
dr_luv rclxms.gif
annielee
post Dec 7 2007, 12:00 AM

294 posts

imo, if you qualify, why not try it ..if you dun like australia, you can always come back..

and if you have time, you can always apply the PR on your own..(that's what i did)..

there are lots of forums available that helped me a lot to go for the PR on my own..(PM me if you need the forum URL)

hope i can get thru by mid next year...
alex13
post Dec 7 2007, 09:12 AM

400 posts

QUOTE(GodsLove @ Dec 6 2007, 04:49 PM)
we do not know the true living environment and situation over in australia as we do not stay there long enough to know...other countries will always try to paint a nice picture of their own country. We know our country sucks bcoz we stay here long enough....
True,

I was there for 1 and a half year to study. Gotta say that they have their good and bad, just like M'sia. smile.gif

The good
1) Most of the people, at least from where I usually go (the restaurant, the shopping complex, the university and around the city) are friendly.
2) The environment is clean and more healthy, heck even the market's (Paddy's Market) washroom is so clean.
3) Oppotunities are everywhere, but remember it also comes with a cost.
4) The government technically raise your children (exp: AUD5000 when the child is born, no questions asked).
5) It's a developed country, so you can get a lot of stuffs that you wish to get easier.

The bad
1) It is not as safe as you think, at least it is safer is most part of M'sia (sad but have to admit it is true). Gangs are notorious if you are at the wrong place.
2) There are still people that think foreigners like you and me ruin their country.
3) Tax is sky high (15% - 45%) depends what you earn. On the other hand, you are entitled to the "aid fund" if you are jobless (this is only valid if you are a citizen).
4) Living standard is quite high if you stay in Melbourne or Sydney or even Brisbane. I think for a working class person, it would cost about AUD1500 just for living expense.
5) As a new immigrant, unless you got a good pay job (AUD4000 a month per person), you are subject to suffer for quite a while.
6) It might sound weird, but inefficiency is a problem that haunts Aus and New Zealand for quite a while.

Your own judgement
1) People are quite laid back, or maybe it's just they try to get a good time?
2) Normal entertainment here not equals to normal entertainment there.
3) Cars are not recommended
4) They are very down to earth and realist (personally I like this)

My plan is after I got enough money, I will apply for PR (I got an aus degree and working experience and score more than 100 points) on the PR test) but I will still work in the place which I called "Home".

Seriously, I got tears in my eyes the first time I came back from Australia and the flight attendants says "Welcome Home" through the PA.
kikurazz
post Dec 7 2007, 10:36 AM

kik.ur.azz
707 posts

i'm workin in aus now. studied in aus, work in aus.
no question about better pay and working environment in aus. you would be doing the same job in kl but definitely not as highly paid as in aus. economy booming, unemployment rate lowest in years. almost all my frens got a job over here after graduation. so just look at the opportunities here now. no joke.
but it's not easy to change whatever you're having now.
decide urself. good luck
topmankl
post Dec 7 2007, 11:42 AM

31 posts

Check out this site by Malaysian immigated overseas.

Most people there are in Aus. There are some large threads with much info on migrate, settle, and living in Aus.
tinkerbel
post Dec 7 2007, 11:52 AM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

Am I the only stoopid fool who gave up the Australian PR of mine? sad.gif

This post has been edited by tinkerbel: Dec 7 2007, 01:30 PM
hatekiasuppl
post Dec 7 2007, 12:07 PM

77 posts

how to get australia PR easily?
kikurazz
post Dec 7 2007, 12:16 PM

kik.ur.azz
707 posts

QUOTE(hatekiasuppl @ Dec 7 2007, 03:07 PM)
how to get australia PR easily?
if you have studied in aus for 2 years min, you can easily qualify, as long as u pass the 120 point mark.
since sept 1 2007, they just made it a wee bit hard, most of the changes are to the IELTS score, in which you have to score at least 7.0 on each component (not 7.0 avg)

not sure about other visa though.
as many would have know, check www.immi.gov.au

KVReninem
post Dec 7 2007, 12:21 PM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(dr_luv @ Dec 7 2007, 12:58 AM)
Dear Folks,

Thanks a lot for feedback, anway how is the job prospects in Australia for banking/finance and telecommunication industry ?

We both lived and studied in Aust for couple of years. Part of the PR process, we have to live there for 3-4 years for next PR renewal or citizenship.

There are certain items which we are sure unable to obtain in Australia such as

1) Free flow or cheap mamak food at night/supper
2) Housekeeping Maids with affordable pay
3) Family closeness
4) Close friends hanging out
5) Variety of Massage, Facial parlour
6) Malaysia is heaven for food

Can't think of anything so far ! Do list if possible.

Regards
dr_luv rclxms.gif
sometime; you have to give up those for better good.. icon_rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Dec 7 2007, 12:52 PM)
Am I only the stoopid fool who gave up the Australian PR of mine?  sad.gif
wat did you mean? you give up your PR?

QUOTE(kikurazz @ Dec 7 2007, 01:16 PM)
if you have studied in aus for 2 years min, you can easily qualify, as long as u pass the 120 point mark.
since sept 1 2007, they just made it a wee bit hard, most of the changes are to the IELTS score, in which you have to score at least 7.0 on each component (not 7.0 avg)

yea; true true..
not easy now doh.gif
TSdr_luv
post Dec 7 2007, 12:28 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Dec 7 2007, 11:52 AM)
Am I only the stoopid fool who gave up the Australian PR of mine?  sad.gif
Tinkerbel, why gave up and any particular reason ?

Added on December 7, 2007, 12:40 pm
QUOTE(topmankl @ Dec 7 2007, 11:42 AM)
Check out this site by Malaysian immigated overseas.

Most people there are in Aus. There are some large threads with much info on migrate, settle, and living in Aus.
Really, very good website. we just realise eveything is expensive in Aust and everything we earn is just nice for paying with high tax and labour charges. No savings.

This post has been edited by dr_luv: Dec 7 2007, 12:40 PM
KVReninem
post Dec 7 2007, 12:45 PM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(dr_luv @ Dec 7 2007, 01:28 PM)
Tinkerbel, why gave up and any particular reason ?

Added on December 7, 2007, 12:40 pm

Really, very good website. we just realise eveything is expensive in Aust and everything we earn is just nice for paying with high tax and labour charges. No savings.
actuallly yea in term of general..
but if yu know whr and whr to find cheap goods and do need to pay general price...u willl survive well.
provide u work hard a few years after u come in; im sure you can save..

i got a friend; whose about 30s below ...
he work hard and he can survive with his wife together..
of course u dont come and buy property straight away..
come and adapt and keep learning as wat u did when u just come out from unis ..
icon_rolleyes.gif
tinkerbel
post Dec 7 2007, 01:33 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@KVReninem,
Yes I gave up my Australian PR - i can still go back to fulfill the 2 Year term but i don't think the time is right, at least not now. My life seems to be happening here in KL so it's a little difficult to just abandon it and start anew again in Australia. Also, if I had left for Australia, I would be struggling having to start my career all over again in Australia - due to *in my opinion* age discrimation so for better or worse, I decided to stay back in KL (it'll be nice if i had another couple of years to decide.. who knows? i might just take up the offer then *grins*)

@dr_luv,
I think the above answers ur question too smile.gif
stupidbump
post Dec 7 2007, 01:42 PM

ẴẸǬÜITẴŞ
952 posts

IMHO....for god's sake...leave this country before all else comes falling apart!! being a seconded citizen there in australia is better than being a citizen here...we are being exploited in Malaysia
aurora1128
post Dec 7 2007, 04:35 PM

QUOTE(alex13 @ Dec 7 2007, 09:12 AM)
True,

I was there for 1 and a half year to study. Gotta say that they have their good and bad, just like M'sia.  smile.gif

The good
1) Most of the people, at least from where I usually go (the restaurant, the shopping complex, the university and around the city) are friendly.
2) The environment is clean and more healthy, heck even the market's (Paddy's Market) washroom is so clean.
3) Oppotunities are everywhere, but remember it also comes with a cost.
4) The government technically raise your children (exp: AUD5000 when the child is born, no questions asked).
5) It's a developed country, so you can get a lot of stuffs that you wish to get easier.

The bad
1) It is not as safe as you think, at least it is safer is most part of M'sia (sad but have to admit it is true). Gangs are notorious if you are at the wrong place.
2) There are still people that think foreigners like you and me ruin their country.
3) Tax is sky high (15% - 45%) depends what you earn. On the other hand, you are entitled to the "aid fund" if you are jobless (this is only valid if you are a citizen).
4) Living standard is quite high if you stay in Melbourne or Sydney or even Brisbane. I think for a working class person, it would cost about AUD1500 just for living expense.
5) As a new immigrant, unless you got a good pay job (AUD4000 a month per person), you are subject to suffer for quite a while.
6) It might sound weird, but inefficiency is a problem that haunts Aus and New Zealand for quite a while.

Your own judgement
1) People are quite laid back, or maybe it's just they try to get a good time?
2) Normal entertainment here not equals to normal entertainment there.
3) Cars are not recommended
4) They are very down to earth and realist (personally I like this)

My plan is after I got enough money, I will apply for PR (I got an aus degree and working experience and score more than 100 points) on the PR test) but I will still work in the place which I called "Home".

Seriously, I got tears in my eyes the first time I came back from Australia and the flight attendants says "Welcome Home" through the PA.
to answer your bad points : -
1. the safety issue happens everywhere. you just need to be alert. but compare bout robery case I think msia is worse coz of u know about currently maybe 1 chinese feed how many XXXXX. 1 day if 1 chinese feed 5 XXXXX u know wat will happen and msia is talking more on kulit-fication and not qualification.
2. that racist thingy only happen in outskirt and not in city. I mean in melbourne sydney goldcoast etc man asians are flooding the area.
3. the tax 40% is if u are earning more than aud 150k per annum.
4. as long as u have a degree your pay won't get 4k. my starting pay is far more than that when I first came here
5. msia is I pay u 1 dollar u do a 10 dollars job. australia is I pay u 1 dollar maybe u do a 2 dollar job. and more time to relax. so if u like rush rush rush type or last minute on fire then msia is still better.

well the only good thing in msia is the damn bloody entertainment and nothing else. in australia entertainment is not that common. msia is hari hari contractor bring me out to u know.. so called "gentleman's club or health centre or overseas trip". so to me I just work in australia for couple of years and then maybe go back msia and continue enjoying my life. if you are young and no family then nothing to lose. but if got family then is hard to say I want to migrate and lets pack and go. I mean just give urself some options and you can only decide where and what kind of life you want. to me I will say entertainment and life comes first and money not an issue to me coz I have no financial problem in msia so I will just go back after I'm bored of here. but well I work in australia 1hr equal I work in msia 1 day if I convert and I can save easily rm8k-10k per month after spending and taxes etc etc. depends on mood of spending on the particular month of course

jamis
post Dec 8 2007, 09:46 AM

Sometime just need to LOL.
3,385 posts

20k RM can be earned easily in aus, if u have the budget and able to get a decent job in aus, go ahead, u wont need to be working like a slave here, but bare in mind that some aussie are s ho, as well.
TSdr_luv
post Dec 10 2007, 05:24 PM

28 posts

Maybe I will do a job transfer since i am in international bank and my spouse in international telco vendor. Let's say I am in Standard Chartered and my spouse is in Ericsson.

Will it be good choice ?

This post has been edited by dr_luv: Dec 10 2007, 06:22 PM
tishaban
post Dec 10 2007, 05:48 PM

3,615 posts

QUOTE(dr_luv @ Dec 10 2007, 05:24 PM)
Maybe I will do a job transfer since i am in international bank and my spouse in international telco vendor.

Will it be good choice ?
dr luv this of course would be great, the ideal is if you stay in Malaysia and get paid in USD, GBP, Euro etc. Try and get an expat package if at all possible, you get free trips back to Malaysia etc. but unless you're in the oil and gas industry, the expat package is pretty much extinct.

TSdr_luv
post Dec 10 2007, 06:11 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(tishaban @ Dec 10 2007, 05:48 PM)
dr luv this of course would be great, the ideal is if you stay in Malaysia and get paid in USD, GBP, Euro etc. Try and get an expat package if at all possible, you get free trips back to Malaysia etc. but unless you're in the oil and gas industry, the expat package is pretty much extinct.
Thanks Tisban. Hmm not really sure if we are qualified for expat package as we still gaining working experiance hitting our 30's soon.

If either one of us get a job transfer than it will be great. Both of our working co has its branch and hq in Aust. Well lets see.
nyprinz83
post Dec 10 2007, 08:17 PM

480 posts

QUOTE(kikurazz @ Dec 7 2007, 02:16 PM)

The score of minmum 7.0 in each module for IELTS is not mandatory. Its only special because if you score at least 7 in each module you will qualify for bonus points i.e. 25 points straight away compared to 15 if you just meet the normal requirements. So in short those who are still short of points will benefit from extra points if they do well in ielts
cktwai
post Dec 11 2007, 09:46 AM

NaraPikamaru
541 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Dec 7 2007, 11:52 AM)
Am I the only stoopid fool who gave up the Australian PR of mine?  sad.gif
i think so man.... laugh.gif

at the rate Msia is going any country is better than Msia...
kikurazz
post Dec 11 2007, 10:20 AM

kik.ur.azz
707 posts

QUOTE(nyprinz83 @ Dec 10 2007, 11:17 PM)
The score of minmum 7.0  in each module for IELTS is not mandatory. Its only special because if you score at least 7 in each module you will qualify for bonus points i.e. 25 points straight away compared to 15 if you just meet the normal  requirements. So in short those who are still short of points will benefit from extra points if they do well in ielts
yeah could be. i dunno. i applied b4 1st sept 2007. does not affect me at all.
but anyhow, if you reach 120 mark, the xtra points from IELTS doesnt make any diff anyway. those who get priority processing are those with xtra points from the MODL list. it would of coz be best if you have a job offer that is on the MODL list. so there as you've said, those that are under 120, do well in IELTS.
alex13
post Dec 11 2007, 10:31 AM

400 posts

QUOTE(nyprinz83 @ Dec 10 2007, 08:17 PM)
The score of minmum 7.0  in each module for IELTS is not mandatory. Its only special because if you score at least 7 in each module you will qualify for bonus points i.e. 25 points straight away compared to 15 if you just meet the normal  requirements. So in short those who are still short of points will benefit from extra points if they do well in ielts
Just of of curiousity. How much do I need to pay for applying for Australian PR now? Last time I checked its about 1450AUD

Thank you
skinnydude
post Dec 11 2007, 10:35 AM

522 posts

Hi Folks,

I am doing well in my finance job and so as my partner in software engineering in telecommucation industry. We are both late twenties, good earnings, committed in high end properties. As I studies in Australia, I also got know a migration lawyer residing there.

Regards
i have to admit that country is turning upside down.. but for me, malaysia is a sanctuary.. i can't get better any better food or people in other countries.. i wouldn't leave my family or relatives behind.. anyway decide properly and carefully.. don't end up regretting and burning your RM20k.. maybe u should confirm your work there 1st..
kikurazz
post Dec 11 2007, 10:37 AM

kik.ur.azz
707 posts

QUOTE(alex13 @ Dec 11 2007, 01:31 PM)
Just of of curiousity. How much do I need to pay for applying for Australian PR now? Last time I checked its about 1450AUD

Thank you
mine was 2010 AUD? something like that
TSdr_luv
post Dec 11 2007, 10:54 AM

28 posts

QUOTE(kikurazz @ Dec 11 2007, 10:37 AM)
mine was 2010 AUD? something like that
Kikurazz, have you got your PR ?
kikurazz
post Dec 11 2007, 01:03 PM

kik.ur.azz
707 posts

nope. but i shud have! thanks to the mas gov coz i'm still waiting for my msia police clearance. i applied my clearance in july, it's now dec. How efficient. tongue.gif
that's the only outstanding doc left cry.gif
banana_lover
post Dec 11 2007, 02:14 PM

13 posts

I also want to migrate...
Is that very difficult to go through the process ?
TSdr_luv
post Dec 11 2007, 07:01 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(banana_lover @ Dec 11 2007, 02:14 PM)
I also want to migrate...
Is that very difficult to go through the process ?
Well u must have the followings.

1) degree or above
2) work experiance 3-4 years
3) older u are lesser points
4) good command of english

basic requirement. rest is bonus points eg, australian degree, spouse is qualified. and cost rm 20k
annielee
post Dec 11 2007, 09:24 PM

294 posts

cannot be ar..i applied my PCC during april, and got it around june...

when did you reply? which area r u going to?

btw, which clinic u went for the health check-up?

wish you all the best...

QUOTE(kikurazz @ Dec 11 2007, 01:03 PM)
nope. but i shud have! thanks to the mas gov coz i'm still waiting for my msia police clearance. i applied my clearance in july, it's now dec. How efficient.  tongue.gif
that's the only outstanding doc left  cry.gif
nyprinz83
post Dec 11 2007, 11:26 PM

480 posts

QUOTE(annielee @ Dec 11 2007, 11:24 PM)
cannot be ar..i applied my PCC during april, and got it around june...

when did you reply? which area r u going to?

btw, which clinic u went for the health check-up?

wish you all the best...
PCC usually takes 2 months in general from my own experience and understanding. so probably kikurazz wasnt so lucky
kikurazz
post Dec 12 2007, 07:22 AM

kik.ur.azz
707 posts

i was in oz when i applied. so i went thru the mas high commission in canberra.
dunno, i gotta give them a call sooner or later. !@#$ tongue.gif
cktwai
post Dec 12 2007, 09:30 AM

NaraPikamaru
541 posts

QUOTE(skinnydude @ Dec 11 2007, 10:35 AM)
i have to admit that country is turning upside down.. but for me, malaysia is a sanctuary.. i can't get better any better food or people in other countries.. i wouldn't leave my family or relatives behind.. anyway decide properly and carefully.. don't end up regretting and burning your RM20k.. maybe u should confirm your work there 1st..
well next time when you are older at 40+ and find your kids not getting what they could have gotten if you ventured overseas you will may think differently.

in my opinion it always best to spend 2-3 years overseas and then decide to come back to Msia if you really miss Msia that much. I find these 2-3 years overseas is pretty golden as on one end you can save money (if u pick the right country) and on the other get some valuable experience which will give you an edge over other ppl in Msia if u do decide to come back.

TSdr_luv
post Dec 14 2007, 03:22 PM

28 posts

Folks,

Ok, I am also have another headache which is choosing proper migration agent which also require your expertise advice again.

a) migration agent based in sydney has a office in kl run white australian lawyer.

b) migration agent based in kl has affliated office in melbourne run chinese malaysian lawyers. (could be australian migrant)

c) migration agent based in singapore affliated office in sydney run singaporean lawyer. No KL office.

Any idea whom shall we select if incase we decided to apply ? Any advice based on shall we select the migration agent ?

Regard
dr luv
s373n
post Dec 14 2007, 03:31 PM

▂▃▅▆ ♫ ♬ ♪ ⓢ③⑦③ⓝ
785 posts

Choose a migration agent whom you can trust and have confidence in succeeding your visa.

you will waste a lot of time and money couriering documents overseas

This post has been edited by s373n: Jan 20 2008, 09:32 PM
aurora1128
post Dec 15 2007, 05:43 PM

QUOTE(cktwai @ Dec 11 2007, 09:46 AM)
i think so man....  laugh.gif
at the rate Msia is going any country is better than Msia...
ahh as long as you still young then u may re-apply. I have a client in msia reapplied after he gave up because he never live there. he just made in before age 45. but u apply u never live there then waste money only.

Added on December 15, 2007, 5:46 pm
QUOTE(dr_luv @ Dec 14 2007, 03:22 PM)
Folks,

Ok, I am also have another headache which is choosing proper migration agent which also require your expertise advice again.

a) migration agent based in sydney has a office in kl run white australian lawyer.

b) migration agent based in kl has affliated office in melbourne run chinese malaysian lawyers. (could be australian migrant)

c) migration agent based in singapore affliated office in sydney run singaporean lawyer. No KL office.

Any idea whom shall we select if incase we decided to apply ? Any advice based on shall we select the migration agent ?

Regard
dr luv
honestly speaking these agents all the same. theres no gurantee. as long as u meet the points thats it. you go through agent maybe if you have a big family father mother sisters brothers children etc then you go through the agent to save all ur hassle. because you just go to the immi website see which form u need to fill and then just fill and just attach wats requested thats it. anything less they will contact u via email and request for it. so not to worry

This post has been edited by aurora1128: Dec 15 2007, 05:46 PM
jchong
post Dec 23 2007, 12:50 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(dr_luv @ Dec 14 2007, 03:22 PM)
Folks,

Regard
dr luv
I would choose an agent that can give you the proper service here in KL. Some agents are from Australia and set up an office here in KL manned by an administrator only (and they visit a few times each year). Then there are also Malaysians here in KL who are qualified migration agents and have an office in KL (and perhaps in Australia also). I would prefer someone local so that you can easily reach them if you have any issues.
kikurazz
post Dec 26 2007, 10:03 AM

kik.ur.azz
707 posts

i would say dump the agent if you can apply urself. 1stly, are u qualified to consider a migration? what type of visa are u getting? coz i have frens over here (oz) that engages an agent and still not able to get a PR & there is no guarantee that u can have ur PR thru an agent. you could seriously save on the agent fee and spend it elsewhere. i dunno. i might be wrong. but i did mine myself using the e-visa online and seems pretty easy. but diff visa differ.
neotv
post Dec 26 2007, 10:59 AM

71 posts

What is the common practice adopted by most people?
1) Obtain a Visa, migrate and look for a job; or
2) Secure a job, work on the Visas later?

Considering the fact that a person needs to resign, move over and look for a job later, it is going to be very risky.. being jobless for god knows how long
RBR
post Dec 26 2007, 11:28 AM

keeping calm..
3,107 posts

QUOTE(yeechuen @ Dec 6 2007, 04:47 PM)
i think it is not bad as the aussie will stop packing things sharp at 4.30pm....will have better family n R&R lifestyle.......
not like in msia which we jus go out teabreak at 4.30 so that can work till 7++ or 8++pm......
but the tax is rather high over there......
If anybody wants to migrate for that reason, please think again or at least seek the opinion of people who actually know.
rexis
post Dec 26 2007, 12:25 PM

*** 7-star status Old Bird ***
3,590 posts

Someone said above one of Malaysia's good is good choice of entertainment, perhaps this is one of the main reason why we Malaysians so hard to save money here.

Go circle midvalley a round and you found that plenty of your cash just vanished into thin air.

- - -

People will go to wherever that can utilize their skill to the best, or to wherever they feel worthy to stay.

During young, she was rejected for scholarships and medical application due to quota issue. After years of hardwork, now an experienced heart surgeon, she holds a canadian PR, from where she completed her medical degree, has decided to stay in Canada and rejected M'sia gov's call to return and serve in home country.

Another case, being an experienced, capable and young heart surgeon, he rejected offer from several foreign hospital but choose to serve in Malaysia UM for 10+ years as a professor and a heart surgeon in UH before moving to Sunway Medical center, now, he is able to set up his own health screening center.

- - -

With the skills they hold, they are able to go to anywhere of the world with the local authority welcome them with open arms, why did they choose to end up differently?
kikurazz
post Dec 26 2007, 02:35 PM

kik.ur.azz
707 posts

QUOTE(neotv @ Dec 26 2007, 01:59 PM)
What is the common practice adopted by most people?
1) Obtain a Visa, migrate and look for a job; or
2) Secure a job, work on the Visas later?

Considering the fact that a person needs to resign, move over and look for a job later, it is going to be very risky.. being jobless for god knows how long
you could do the 1st choice back in the days where migration rules are not that strict. again, it depends on which visa u are trying to apply.
if you get a job 1st, then it will giv u points which will of coz will help u obtain ur PR more easily. it really depends. but i still think you betta secure a job before u apply ur visa (better if your job is on MODL list)
alxale
post Dec 27 2007, 03:42 PM

I'm thinking of submitting an application myself as well (without going through agent). There is one particular thing I found tricky about the application - We have to get "employment reference letter" from all our current and past employers to prove that we're employed, and they may call up these employers to perform verification.

This means that my current employer will be aware of my plans - may jeopardize my career in terms of increment, promotion, etc

Anybody have any experience with this ?
kianweic
post Dec 27 2007, 09:39 PM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

For offshore better to go with agent.

If onshore just do it yourself, I got mine like two weeks.

It's not difficult 2 years ago don't know about now.
wiraone
post Dec 28 2007, 12:22 PM

Who cares about all the stars?
3,892 posts

QUOTE(alxale @ Dec 27 2007, 03:42 PM)
I'm thinking of submitting an application myself as well (without going through agent). There is one particular thing I found tricky about the application - We have to get "employment reference letter" from all our current and past employers to prove that we're employed, and they may call up these employers to perform verification.

This means that my current employer will be aware of my plans - may jeopardize my career in terms of increment, promotion, etc

You could get a standard employment letter, usually needed if you want to apply for a loan etc. Do not ask your boss, go to HR smile.gif And you could specifically asked your future employer to verify your current position AFTER they've decided to hire you.

Done that actually from my previous employment .. it is actually a win-win situation. Just tell them and surely, they're willing to listen to you.

huix
post Dec 28 2007, 01:04 PM

458 posts

QUOTE(alxale @ Dec 27 2007, 03:42 PM)

I applied my NZ application by myself, total cost is around 10k including all the documents/certification etc for 4 pax in my family. For working experience, I called my ex-employer to ask for reference letter if I lost it. Some employer I still have the offer letter and letter of resignation, and the first payslip and last payslip as the documents. For current company, I used the offer letter and confirmation letter as a proof and told the case officer that I don't wish to let my current company knows about my plan about this migration coz it may jeoperdize my bonus and increament next year, she did accept that.

lots of ducoments to prepared lol

neotv
post Jan 27 2008, 06:55 PM

71 posts

guys.. i am wondering if it is possible to work there without a PR. Anything like working visa or something like that... then apply PR after a few years there?
eRiCCa
post Jan 27 2008, 08:18 PM

441 posts

i think you can get working visa but your employer gotta get it for you... i think you cant get the working visa yourself... because before you get a job, you are not working, so you cant apply for working visa...

anyway... i am working in melbourne for the money and my parents wish... they think like most of you, better future, better environment, better everything...

i think it's good that you are here with ALL YOUR FAMILY, at least your own family if you already have one... your partner and your kids... but for me myself, i am here all alone by myself, with all my family back in KL... that is a hard time here... i have to admit that my working life is pretty good here, and easy life i am having... but... when the people, the place, the food, the familiar everything is just nowhere near me... i still hope that i can go home one day... i think i will be happier eventhough it might be tougher life...
reflection_C
post Jan 27 2008, 09:09 PM

403 posts

Oh of course unless he/she have a broken family background then that's another thing. And the working attitude and positive problem solving is important, otherwise anywhere else is still the same.

ohserena
post Jan 28 2008, 01:49 PM

218 posts

Hi, i am reading this thread during lunch break thus i don't have time to read through all pages.

I have come across to webpage called sponsored skill migration, i suppose u can google this up.
For certain jobs like R&D manager, bioscientist, baker, chef; u can apply this sponsored visa.
DarReNz
post Jan 28 2008, 03:30 PM

7,496 posts

of cos it will be tough in the beginning for foreigner to be in a foreign land but soon later u will enjoy the benefits later ...... anyway ericca u coming back for cny ma ......
kikurazz
post Jan 30 2008, 10:17 AM

kik.ur.azz
707 posts

ericca going back for cny? that's good. i have to work thru cny here cry.gif
well there's a thing call TR now. check it out at immi website, i'm not that sure though since i heard it from my frens.
it's a tempoarary resident visa, allowing you here for 18 months, then after TR you can apply for your PR. but i'm not sure what the requirements are for TR. again, check it out at immi.
Gred
post Jan 30 2008, 10:52 AM

34 posts

Hi All,

I obtained my PR last year. I am planning to migrate there next year. I believe you should know the reason why you are going to migrate. Malaysia is a nice country but there are many things that made me very disappointed here. I will be going there with my wife, probably have a kid born there.

There are many ways to obtain a PR. Mine is a skilled PR Subclass 136. Unfortunately, it is better to obtain a PR first b4 you go there and work. I am currently seeking for aussie jobs too from Malaysia but it is damn hard for me. I am thinking to job hop to a MNC and probably stay 1 year more then migrate to aust.

Can you guys recommend any recruitment agency or company that have vacancies.
I am with Telco fields, mainly in GSM/3G/HSDPA RF & Optimization.

Thank you.
Rgds,
Gred
ataris
post Jan 30 2008, 10:56 AM

Eyes of a Gamer
1,635 posts

malaysia truly asia.
eRiCCa
post Jan 30 2008, 07:20 PM

441 posts

darrenz + kikurazz, yes i am coming back... how good is that when i have to sacrifice my JOB to go back? my leave wasnt approved, so i resigned... but anyway, i dont have the intention to stay in that role anymore...

TR for people outside australia is only for:
This visa is for you if you completed an Engineering degree at a recognised overseas institution in the last two years.

only engineering, last 2 years and a recognised overseas institution listed in http://www.immi.gov.au/skilled/general-ski...nstitutions.htm

gred, try to look on www.seek.com.au, there are many jobs advertised on it and at the same time you can look at what they want and what kinda jobs that you can go for... also, most of the jobs there are advertised by agents, so just grab their details and give them a call!

sinclairZX81
post Jan 30 2008, 08:08 PM

Change for the better
2,013 posts

Doing it for the kids' sake. I dunno in 15 years if they can get into Uni here in Malaysia, or I can afford to send them overseas. So, have to migrate there where edu cost is minimal.

I don't think work is hard to find if you are willing to work hard. Australia is so big and many opportunities - 'level playing field' you know. wink.gif

Will definitely miss Malaysia, but sacrifice have to be made. sad.gif

I got 9,9,8,8 for IELTS, is that good? Me alway cakap the manglish u tau cool2.gif
tishaban
post Jan 30 2008, 08:46 PM

3,615 posts

QUOTE(eRiCCa @ Jan 30 2008, 07:20 PM)
TR for people outside australia is only for:
This visa is for you if you completed an Engineering degree at a recognised overseas institution in the last two years.

only engineering, last 2 years and a recognised overseas institution listed in http://www.immi.gov.au/skilled/general-ski...nstitutions.htm
That's a fascinating list of universities where Imperial College, NUS and UiTM are on the same level biggrin.gif

I'm happy to see two Malaysian universities there, I wonder if anyone here will take advantage of it. Looks like an excellent opportunity.

eRiCCa
post Jan 31 2008, 08:06 AM

441 posts

QUOTE(sinclairZX81 @ Jan 30 2008, 08:08 PM)
Doing it for the kids' sake. I dunno in 15 years if they can get into Uni here in Malaysia, or I can afford to send them overseas. So, have to migrate there where edu cost is minimal.

I don't think work is hard to find if you are willing to work hard. Australia is so big and many opportunities - 'level playing field' you know.  wink.gif

Will definitely miss Malaysia, but sacrifice have to be made.  sad.gif

I got 9,9,8,8 for IELTS, is that good? Me alway cakap the manglish u tau  cool2.gif
hmmm... that sounds very true, if you are migrating for your kids' education, you should... you can save really A LOT~~~!!!

about the "hard working then easy to find a job" i think this saying a bit not working... because how can you tell that you are hard working at the interview? and most of the people will tell you they need a person who has achievements and not working like a cow... most of the people here they start packing at 4.45 then they step out of the office sharp at 5pm... they dont encourage people to work late, because the company will have to pay for your OT or time in lieu, then you get to claim dinner and if you work after 8pm they have to pay for your cab charges... that will cost them even more money!! and the company wants you to have a balance working life, not NO LIFE...

OMG, your english is damn good then!!

callforiphone
post Feb 13 2008, 09:32 AM

QUOTE(sinclairZX81 @ Jan 30 2008, 08:08 PM)

I don't think work is hard to find if you are willing to work hard. Australia is so big and many opportunities - 'level playing field' you know.  wink.gif

Will definitely miss Malaysia, but sacrifice have to be made.  sad.gif

I got 9,9,8,8 for IELTS, is that good? Me alway cakap the manglish u tau  cool2.gif
my family did it, exactly for the same reason, we did our application oin Aprial 2007 and GUESS What i got our approval letter yesterday 14/02/2008 =)

As of yesterday our family is Australia PR Status - Is hard to start over but for the sake of the children is a very very good & cheap investment.

we are hopping to go in May to start our new life in Australia =)

for those that already been there please share some tips

cheers
huix
post Feb 13 2008, 11:25 AM

458 posts

Gratz! callforiphone. Well done. Wish you have a good life there...but don't get suprise when you see your first income tax statement hehehe

neotv
post Feb 13 2008, 11:27 AM

71 posts

QUOTE(callforiphone @ Feb 13 2008, 09:32 AM)
my family did it,  exactly for the same reason, we did our application oin Aprial 2007 and GUESS What i got our approval letter yesterday 14/02/2008 =)

As of yesterday our family is Australia PR Status - Is hard to start over but for the sake of the children is a very very good & cheap investment.

we are hopping to go in May to start our new life in Australia =)

for those that already been there please share some tips
cheers
Congrats... glad to hear that.. all the best
rtcw63
post Mar 19 2008, 11:49 AM

Dear all,

i just some how found this forum from Google...i am actually in the dillemma to decide whether to migrate to Australia or not...i fully agreed to the statement above whether there is really a good place for our next generation but is worrying whether we are able to find a good job over there & abit hard to give up what had built for the last few years...

another advice needed from u guys is whether u know any good agent that can help me the way through...my situation is a little bit diff from u all, i have got my PR approved about 5 years ago, right after i returned to Mal after finishing my degree there..it's now about the time the visa is going to expired (in jun 08)..i have still no spent my 2 years over there...i am now need to seek for advice from expert who can help to extend my visa, i can only able to go over 2 years later due to some personal reason...

anyone can give me some contacts to the expert whom u think may be able to help me?

thanks in advance
DeniseLau
post Mar 19 2008, 06:06 PM

324 posts

For all who is considering migration,

Migrating to another country is a tough thing to do. You'll need to start all over again, it helps if you have friends and family there.

For most people, the full benefits of migration will be felt only by the second generation, i.e. if you migrate, your children will benefit the most. You will have to work very hard to get used to the new environment, culture and build up your foundations in a new nation.

Personally I feel that even though we are seeing a new political era in Malaysia, there are deep uncertainties about the future of this country. Also, based on my personal assessments of Malaysia, I feel that this country has little chance of becoming like Singapore, South Korea, Japan or other European nations, primarily because of a lack of vision but also heavily influenced by other factors.

Australia is a good place to go if you wish to start up a family in a relatively similar environment. Similar at least when compared to mainland Europe or the United States.

However, I feel that Australia as a nation isn't on the cutting edge of stuff. By that I mean Australia to me seems like a little bit of a laid back nation as opposed to nations like European countries (UK included), Japan and United States. Europe, Japan and US is where all the latest and greatest happens in terms of education, technology, finance, politics and almost every other field you can think of, so it's absolutely fantastic to live there if you're into those kinds of stuff, but competition in these nations are incredible and you've got to really work for it or you get left behind.

All in all, I would conclude that Australia is a good choice, certainly much better than Malaysia in the foreseeable future.

(I know, I'm terribly un-patriotic, I'm just being realistic)

This post has been edited by DeniseLau: Mar 19 2008, 06:08 PM
corad
post Mar 19 2008, 11:20 PM

Hard to see, the dark side is.
2,401 posts

Think about the reasons you're migrating 1st of all .

I've seen many who say they've given up everything here just so that their children's future will be better. Fast foward to the future, the child becomes some lazy bloc who's just happy to pass his Year12. rclxub.gif

Staying back in Malaysia dosent disadvantage us in any way. It even builds a competitive spirit if you're really hoping to do your best smile.gif

(job opportunities are also plentiful in M'sia , tho not as high paying . they give you the chance to be promoted faster (skill worker shortage whistling.gif ) )

tweak
post Aug 15 2008, 12:02 AM

74 posts

hi to all,

this is a very old thread. I have been complaining that everyday to myself that i should not be here. every morning i kept saying this is is not the place i wanna be. And posted one thread here once ago, that kl is not the place that i wanna be. I dont like the hectic life. Yes, there are probelm in other country as well. those guys will look us like we look at indon and bangala...so who cares....

So to all experienced migrators, can you suggest a few local agents to me? Thanks in advance.

I have already done a online assesment with one of the oversea. But freaking expensive bout aud6K. convert and u get around 18k myr... cry.gif

I want to make changes to my life. I have checked in the jobstreet.com.my against careerone.com. 100 against 1500 for my job. Obviously my job is rare here. I m moving on. and i try to apply for penang job, sorry my job is not required there.......i hv tried for the past one year...i hv put minus 1k to my current pay and stil no interview for me even i lied bout the place i stay(sorry have to) all of u ll understand..
Gary1981
post Aug 15 2008, 12:29 PM

1,610 posts

I've been in UK for 3 years & now being back to Malaysia.Just to say i still prefer malaysia. To me, overseas country is not that great as ppl think.
yieloon
post Aug 15 2008, 01:29 PM

73 posts

I spend my final year study in Australia. Could have gotten PR if I stay another year doing my Master.

I was in Melbourne that time and I think it is a great place to stay. Nice city, you have chinatown, a greek street, an italian street and etc. Great public transport, you can go anywhere by taking a bus & train. Nice weather too besides the summer. My friends that stay back at Australia are getting at least 60k/year. The tax is around 20%+.

Getting a PR in australia doesn't mean you can't come back to Malaysia. I think to make the PR permanent you just have to stay 2 out of 5years there if i am not wrong.

tishaban
post Aug 15 2008, 08:33 PM

3,615 posts

QUOTE(Gary1981 @ Aug 15 2008, 12:29 PM)
I've been in UK for 3 years & now being back to Malaysia.Just to say i still prefer malaysia. To me, overseas country is not that great as ppl think.
I spent almost 70% of my adult life overseas and I loved it. I think different people have different preferences.

But I do agree with yieloon up there, having PR does not mean you're cutting off ties with Malaysia. You do have more options however.

This post has been edited by tishaban: Aug 15 2008, 08:34 PM
Tfoo
post Aug 15 2008, 09:00 PM

33 posts

I'm chinese, non bumi, no degree but diploma. Being developing software for 11 years in Malaysia. Then, go Australia for 3 years until *%^$x@ Microsoft took over! Got retrenched, went back to Malaysia, went jobless for a year by the useless quotas and bumi only vacancies. Being rejected by Malaysian companies because I only have diploma. Most of them prefer degree even from UiTM??. Luckily, a Chicago IT company took me in and spend two years developing aeronautic apps. Now in London, software engineers for robotic company. I don't have any relatives or friends or recommendation when I went to OZ, US or come here to London. Most of them are trust between the companies and their investment in you if they think you're good enough for them, they'll help you all the way from accomodation and work permit but make sure your English and Maths are tough as well.
davidghc
post Nov 4 2009, 12:50 PM

37 posts

Any good migration agents to recommend? To Australia...
dream-painter
post Nov 10 2009, 02:38 PM

84 posts

QUOTE(Tfoo @ Aug 15 2008, 09:00 PM)
I'm chinese, non bumi, no degree but diploma. Being developing software for 11 years in Malaysia. Then, go Australia for 3 years until  *%^$x@ Microsoft took over! Got retrenched, went back to Malaysia, went jobless for a year by the useless quotas and bumi only vacancies. Being rejected by Malaysian companies because I only have diploma. Most of them prefer degree even from UiTM??. Luckily, a Chicago IT company took me in and spend two years developing aeronautic apps. Now in London, software engineers for robotic company. I don't have any relatives or friends or recommendation when I went to OZ, US or come here to London. Most of them are trust between the companies and their investment in you if they think you're good enough for them, they'll help you all the way from accomodation and work permit but make sure your English and Maths are tough as well.
Big salute. thumbup.gif
nakTT
post Nov 17 2009, 06:50 PM

Fair Price Advocate
1,604 posts

QUOTE(Gary1981 @ Aug 15 2008, 12:29 PM)
That's what worry me when thinking of migrating. Any new development in immigration requirement?
quintessential
post Nov 25 2009, 10:55 PM

ilha formosa
2,919 posts

QUOTE(Tfoo @ Aug 15 2008, 10:00 PM)
I'm chinese, non bumi, no degree but diploma. Being developing software for 11 years in Malaysia. Then, go Australia for 3 years until  *%^$x@ Microsoft took over! Got retrenched, went back to Malaysia, went jobless for a year by the useless quotas and bumi only vacancies. Being rejected by Malaysian companies because I only have diploma. Most of them prefer degree even from UiTM??. Luckily, a Chicago IT company took me in and spend two years developing aeronautic apps. Now in London, software engineers for robotic company. I don't have any relatives or friends or recommendation when I went to OZ, US or come here to London. Most of them are trust between the companies and their investment in you if they think you're good enough for them, they'll help you all the way from accomodation and work permit but make sure your English and Maths are tough as well.
hats off to you icon_rolleyes.gif
nakTT
post Feb 5 2010, 01:00 PM

Fair Price Advocate
1,604 posts

Anyone have any new experience to share?
hairyLGS
post Aug 18 2010, 02:25 PM

209 posts

I wish to migrate as well. There are many things here I really do not like. And looking towards Australia... I should have taken an Australian degree instead of a UK one... cry.gif
mread
post Nov 11 2010, 04:15 AM

20 posts

Guys, the grass is not always greener on the other side. I was in Aussie before, yes it's a good country but not necessarily better than malaysia in terms of employment. Not many can land a job at reputable companies esp for PR. While there is no racial law as stated by one forumer here, but they definitely prefer whites in general. In Malaysia, I bet you can join reputable companies (except GLCs to some extent) quite easily if you are smart enough (no matter what race are you). The chances to climb a rank is much brighter hence your career development and prospect will be more secured. Look, when I was back here after couple of years experiences in Aussie, immediately I was offered a great role at reputable company. There were many hopping afterwards from one to another and now settling down at MNC with decent position, benefits and salary. Well, I guess experiences in Aussie might help to be where I am today but reflecting about it makes me wonder if I would get the same opportunity if I opted to stay in Aussie. I got one close friend (second generation PR) who couldn't secure a good job even after graduated at good uni, came back to Malaysia and being offered a decent job at Shell. Now after 8 years, he is still here. So, please think wisely before migrating. I would say if you have nothing to lose, then it would be a good experiences to gain while at Aussie but if you have everything to lose, think thoroughly before you give up everything you have built over here. Please note, I'm only discussing and comparing about employment market here smile.gif....
Tfazuin
post Nov 11 2010, 09:33 AM

54 posts

When the whites own a company they could not explicitly say that that they will discriminate. They do that by inventing stuff like for oil and gas companies, co-efficent and hiring point as well as cost of living, so even when you make RM20K here which is big for a local, the whites will make 30K USD with all taxes paid by the company. No one is stopping anyone from migrating, but look at it this way, the grass is always greener on the other side. Australian taxes aren't cheap it cost together with their employee's provident fund, as much as 50% of your salary. I should know I'm in charge of the finanicals for the operations in Australia. I'm running in remotely from Malaysia.

You may be a big fish in a small pond over there, but once you're into your 2nd and 3rd generation, they will loose all their hard work, strong will and character. That's when they become australians, americans and brits. Think long term... not short term. If you want to make your money insist on making malaysia your base and travel everywhere. That is what a real good job allows you to do.

This post has been edited by Tfazuin: Nov 11 2010, 09:35 AM
dreamer101
post Nov 11 2010, 10:37 AM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(Tfazuin @ Nov 11 2010, 09:33 AM)
When the whites own a company they could not explicitly say that that they will discriminate. They do that by inventing stuff like for oil and gas companies, co-efficent and hiring point as well as cost of living, so even when you make RM20K here which is big for a local, the whites will make 30K USD with all taxes paid by the company. No one is stopping anyone from migrating, but look at it this way, the grass is always greener on the other side. Australian taxes aren't cheap it cost together with their employee's provident fund, as much as 50% of your salary. I should know I'm in charge of the finanicals for the operations in Australia. I'm running in remotely from Malaysia.

You may be a big fish in a small pond over there, but once you're into your 2nd and 3rd generation, they will loose all their hard work, strong will and character. That's when they become australians, americans and brits. Think long term... not short term. If you want to make your money insist on making malaysia your base and travel everywhere. That is what a real good job allows you to do.
Tfazuin,

So??

1) Case A:

Discrimination is ILLEGAL. You can sue and fight back in court if you can prove it. You have a FIGHTING CHANCE.

2) Case B:

Discrimination is LEGAL and SUPPORTED by the government.

Which is WORSE??

<< You may be a big fish in a small pond over there, but once you're into your 2nd and 3rd generation, they will loose all their hard work, strong will and character. That's when they become australians, americans and brits. >>

3) So?? I see PLENTY of LAZY and COMPLACENT Malaysians too... And, as per my own first hand observations, I would say the percentage of LAZY people in Malaysia is much much more than those countries...

Dreamer

This post has been edited by dreamer101: Nov 11 2010, 11:12 AM
xjumper24
post Nov 11 2010, 11:11 AM

agree with dreamer, try to read this link.
http://www.bloomberg.com/news/2010-11-10/s...e-in-tears.html
I guess all the statistic shows how hard the situation is in Malaysia. No drastic change will be implemented in neither short term nor long term. pathetic...
carmenk
post Dec 3 2010, 06:27 PM

QUOTE(Tfoo @ Aug 15 2008, 09:00 PM)
proud of ya! I wish I can do so ... but my degree isn't recognized else where other than Malaysia ; (
kl_mouse
post Dec 3 2010, 06:57 PM

87 posts

QUOTE(Tfazuin @ Nov 11 2010, 09:33 AM)

rclxms.gif I agree with Tfazuin. Make Malaysia your base and sell to the world smile.gif
Currylaksa
post Dec 3 2010, 07:03 PM

1,616 posts

Why Australia ah?

Aren't the taxes insane?
Nemesis1980
post May 3 2013, 05:06 PM

1,066 posts

Ozzie tax is insane, but they give back to the people who are in need. I don't mind to pay higher tax if it is manage by a good government.
Please do homework on what is the benefit you can get with PR status.
IMRecon
post May 3 2013, 05:56 PM

183 posts

but it's hard to get a job there, isn't it?
Kravo
post May 3 2013, 05:58 PM

1,230 posts

why you bring/follow up a thread dated back to year 2010, 3 years ago?

if you have question, start a new thread.
SUSrobertchoo
post May 3 2013, 06:01 PM

5,753 posts

QUOTE(Nemesis1980 @ May 3 2013, 05:06 PM)
Ozzie tax is insane, but they give back to the people who are in need. I don't mind to pay higher tax if it is manage by a good government.
I mind paying ~30% tax while seeing Australians lining up at centrelink for their unemployment benefits but with no real intention to get a job. ie. living off unemployment benefits (paid by my taxes)
Nemesis1980
post May 4 2013, 11:57 PM

1,066 posts

QUOTE(robertchoo @ May 3 2013, 06:01 PM)
I mind paying ~30% tax while seeing Australians lining up at centrelink for their unemployment benefits but with no real intention to get a job. ie. living off unemployment benefits (paid by my taxes)
I see your point. Most people don't wanna pay high tax, including me either.
Yeah, i just went to register medicare and centrelink and do saw so many people lining up almost everyday.
However, just that maybe restrict a bit on the unemployment but increase the higher chance of getting a job.
I know ah moh is quite laid back but does this affect their productivity?
TSOM
post May 5 2013, 01:46 AM

2,145 posts

QUOTE(robertchoo @ May 3 2013, 06:01 PM)
QUOTE(Nemesis1980 @ May 4 2013, 11:57 PM)
I see your point. Most people don't wanna pay high tax, including me either.
Yeah, i just went to register medicare and centrelink and do saw so many people lining up almost everyday.
However, just that maybe restrict a bit on the unemployment but increase the higher chance of getting a job.
I know ah moh is quite laid back but does this affect their productivity?
Taxes are more than just unemployment benefits ... you need to check what proportion of it goes to unemployment benefits.. I think a huge portion goes to health care and childcare...

Unemployment benefits are inevitable. Yes, there are ppl who exploit them, but there are also ppl who are genuinely couldn't find a job. Unemployment benefit is better to exist than not ... if these ppl don't get what they need for bare survival, they will rob. It will just create more social problems!! So it's either, unemployed + less crime; or unemployed + more crime. Take your pick.

Also, unemployment benefits protect you too when you're fired.. think of it as your own job insurance..

This post has been edited by TSOM: May 5 2013, 02:03 AM
tsi_sam888
post May 6 2013, 06:51 PM

630 posts

normally how do ppl get their PR?
Is it certain requirements that u need to work there for a numbers of years? or is there any kind of agents that do this stuff for u??
thanks in advance
empire23
post May 7 2013, 12:04 PM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(TSOM @ May 5 2013, 01:46 AM)
Also, unemployment benefits protect you too when you're fired.. think of it as your own job insurance..
Common misconception.

No, if you own property and your savings are above a certain amount you get 0 from Centrelink. This is called "means testing"

Thus if you have a mortgage and a car to pay off and lose your job. You're on your own bucko. That's why I still fork out nearly a thousand a year on unemployment, redundancy, injury and disability insurance.

QUOTE(tsi_sam888 @ May 6 2013, 06:51 PM)
normally how do ppl get their PR?
Is it certain requirements that u need to work there for a numbers of years? or is there any kind of agents that do this stuff for u??
thanks in advance
Usually it depends on what visa you come in with in the first place. You can get a PR upon arrival if you've been granted a permanent visa offshore.

Generally Australia's new system doesn't take into account how many years you've lived here to grant you a PR. You can work here for 10 years, but after your visa is up, balik kampung tanam jagung. It only takes into account verifiable work experience.

So if you come here on a 2 year temp visa and spend 1 year looking for professional work and after 1 year of work you want to apply for PR, you might be short on points. Best is to come via sponsorship, whereby a relative or company sponsors you. (Relatives include siblings, parents or children)
SUSrobertchoo
post May 7 2013, 12:33 PM

5,753 posts

QUOTE(empire23 @ May 7 2013, 12:04 PM)
Common misconception.

No, if you own property and your savings are above a certain amount you get 0 from Centrelink. This is called "means testing"

Thus if you have a mortgage and a car to pay off and lose your job. You're on your own bucko. That's why I still fork out nearly a thousand a year on unemployment, redundancy, injury and disability insurance.

Then that is worse.
Imagine if that unemployment system is implemented in Malaysia....finish.
That is why many young Aussie are exploiting the system, not wanting to work and living off centrelinks benefits!

This post has been edited by robertchoo: May 7 2013, 12:34 PM
empire23
post May 7 2013, 01:38 PM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(robertchoo @ May 7 2013, 12:33 PM)
Then that is worse.
Imagine if that unemployment system is implemented in Malaysia....finish.
That is why many young Aussie are exploiting the system, not wanting to work and living off centrelinks benefits!
Aye. Dole bludgers are everywhere. And now being overweight is a "disability" which you can now get disability pension/payments for. Shit.

Mind you I pay 37.5 percent tax. Soon to go up with 1 percent increase. Well, thank gawd for negative gearing with the ATO.
SUSrobertchoo
post May 7 2013, 01:59 PM

5,753 posts

QUOTE(empire23 @ May 7 2013, 01:38 PM)
Aye. Dole bludgers are everywhere. And now being overweight is a "disability" which you can now get disability pension/payments for. Shit.

Mind you I pay 37.5 percent tax. Soon to go up with 1 percent increase. Well, thank gawd for negative gearing with the ATO.
Serious?!?!
The i should migrate to Aus and enjoy my overweight disability payments on top of my unemployment benefits!!!!
empire23
post May 7 2013, 05:04 PM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(Nemesis1980 @ May 3 2013, 05:06 PM)
If you mean being in need as in some fat bogan chick with 4 sprogs at a tender age of 21 living with her "defacto" to milk benefits then yes, the government is very good at giving out the dole laugh.gif

Remember that all PR benefits have a waiting period of 2 years. But you do get Medicare straight up.

QUOTE(robertchoo @ May 7 2013, 01:59 PM)
Serious?!?!
The i should migrate to Aus and enjoy my overweight disability payments on top of my unemployment benefits!!!!
That was my plan too after getting my citizenship, but packing that many pounds on has proven to be a serious challenge.

Either way, means testing will mean that anyone with a middle class income is on their own if shit hits the fan. Suggest insurance, I mean I already have home loan insurance, home and contents insurance, income protection insurance, health insurance (after you get 80k a year if you don't have this the government gets Julia Gillard to personally come to your house and punch you in the nuts), car insurance dan lain lain lah.
TSOM
post May 7 2013, 06:58 PM

2,145 posts

Common misconception.

Usually it depends on what visa you come in with in the first place. You can get a PR upon arrival if you've been granted a permanent visa offshore.

That sounds alright ... If you own IKEA and unemployment, the government can't be giving you unemployment benefits right??? icon_idea.gif icon_idea.gif icon_idea.gif

have to start checking my country liao and see what's the limit .... sad.gif sad.gif

Then start voting and change your government (AUS version) .... tongue.gif

This post has been edited by TSOM: May 7 2013, 07:01 PM
tsi_sam888
post May 7 2013, 07:55 PM

630 posts

Common misconception.

Generally Australia's new system doesn't take into account how many years you've lived here to grant you a PR. You can work here for 10 years, but after your visa is up, balik kampung tanam jagung. It only takes into account verifiable work experience.

So if you come here on a 2 year temp visa and spend 1 year looking for professional work and after 1 year of work you want to apply for PR, you might be short on points. Best is to come via sponsorship, whereby a relative or company sponsors you. (Relatives include siblings, parents or children)
wow.. i never knew there are various types of visa.. different country different visa??
to be honest bro, i have never ever been to oversea either..so actually how to apply and where?? sorry
TSOM
post May 7 2013, 09:26 PM

2,145 posts

empire23

For a PR-holder, how many days per year does he have be in Australia in order to qualify for a citizenship??
empire23
post May 8 2013, 04:53 AM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(tsi_sam888 @ May 7 2013, 07:55 PM)
wow.. i never knew there are various types of visa.. different country different visa??
to be honest bro, i have never ever been to oversea either..so actually how to apply and where?? sorry
Yes, different visas exist for different purposes.

Your visa will determine how long you can stay, what you can or cannot do and so forth.

If you wish to apply, go to www.immi.gov.au

Different visas have different requirements, some visas need you to have 5 million AUD to invest before residency is granted, some merely need you to graduate from say UITM or something liddat.

QUOTE(TSOM @ May 7 2013, 09:26 PM)
empire23

For a PR-holder, how many days per year does he have be in Australia in order to qualify for a citizenship??
A total of 3 years with a minimum of 1 year (365 days) as a PR visa holder. The other 2 years can be under a Temp visa.
Nemesis1980
post May 9 2013, 04:35 PM

1,066 posts

QUOTE(empire23 @ May 7 2013, 05:04 PM)
If you mean being in need as in some fat bogan chick with 4 sprogs at a tender age of 21 living with her "defacto" to milk benefits then yes, the government is very good at giving out the dole laugh.gif

Remember that all PR benefits have a waiting period of 2 years. But you do get Medicare straight up.
That was my plan too after getting my citizenship, but packing that many pounds on has proven to be a serious challenge.

Either way, means testing will mean that anyone with a middle class income is on their own if shit hits the fan. Suggest insurance, I mean I already have home loan insurance, home and contents insurance, income protection insurance, health insurance (after you get 80k a year if you don't have this the government gets Julia Gillard to personally come to your house and punch you in the nuts), car insurance dan lain lain lah.
I just got my PR January 2013. Went to Perth 2 weeks ago to apply centrelink and medicare. When i step into centrelink, saw lots of 'refugee' type people and bogans everywhere. Not that i'm discriminating or what, it's just that a cash handout, who don't want?
Queuing up for medicare is crazy rclxub.gif ....so many people!!! Queue for 1 hour end up can't register coz not residing in Oz yet, so balik rumah come 4 2nd time when you have permanent address.
Heard my friends paying loads of insurance too. GOvernment tend to lift up their loads to the people. doh.gif
monev88
post May 9 2013, 04:42 PM

47 posts

I am actually a fresh grad PR in Sydney but returning to KL to work. Have been hunting for a decent job for about 5 months now without any success.

Do you think I'm making a mistake?

My plan is to return in about 2 years time once I've accumulated some work experience though..

SUSrobertchoo
post May 9 2013, 05:03 PM

5,753 posts

QUOTE(monev88 @ May 9 2013, 04:42 PM)
I am actually a fresh grad PR in Sydney but returning to KL to work. Have been hunting for a decent job for about 5 months now without any success.

My plan is to return in about 2 years time once I've accumulated some work experience though..
What for?
If you're comming back and doing well in Malaysia, is there a need to go back to Australia and start all over again?
And If you're not doing well in Malaysia, what makes you think you can do well in Australia?

You will forfeit your 2 years of experience in Malaysia if you return to Australia (as Australia does NOT recognise non-Australian work experience) and you will STILL end up battling hordes of unemployed fresh grads, foreigners, etc.

And yes, I think you did make a mistake if you are sincere in asking for opinion.
You wasted 5 months of your life looking for a job in Australia. Time which you will never get back.

Nemesis1980
post May 9 2013, 05:06 PM

1,066 posts

QUOTE(monev88 @ May 9 2013, 04:42 PM)

Well my friend. Your this decision i did it 10 years ago. I came back from Sydney end up working salary at RM1600/mth. Look for job like 1mth +
I didn't apply PR thinking that malaysia is a place for me to fulfill my dream. 10 years past...luckily i got my PR this year.
You could try to work in malaysia environment but don't expect they pay you same salary in Aust. Stress and humiliating words from work is normal. Working long hours and don't expect any union fight for your rights.
5 months job hunting in malaysia is not a norm. i guess maybe your expected salary is abnormal?!? biggrin.gif
monev88
post May 9 2013, 05:41 PM

47 posts

QUOTE(robertchoo @ May 9 2013, 05:03 PM)
What for?
If you're comming back and doing well in Malaysia, is there a need to go back to Australia and start all over again?
And If you're not doing well in Malaysia, what makes you think you can do well in Australia?

You will forfeit your 2 years of experience in Malaysia if you return to Australia (as Australia does NOT recognise non-Australian work experience) and you will STILL end up battling hordes of unemployed fresh grads, foreigners, etc.

And yes, I think you did make a mistake if you are sincere in asking for opinion.
You wasted 5 months of your life looking for a job in Australia. Time which you will never get back.
Well I would love to continue living in Australia(and keeping my PR), hence the 2 year timeframe before I return to fulfill my visa requirements.

Unfortunately not having a professional job is not an option for me - my justification is I'd rather build up professional skills in Malaysia than work in a dead-end part-time job with no prospects of progression. After looking for about 3 months in Sydney with no success, I started applying for jobs in KL at the same time and recently secured a job in KL.

Do you think Australian companies use the non-Australian work experience as an excuse to prevent non-PRs from applying for the job? Also what is the underlying reason for not recognizing overseas work experience? Is it the culture-fit or the industry knowledge?

The reason I ask is because the area I will be working in is sort of specialized, and the regulatory bodies around the world adopts a standardized framework.

QUOTE(Nemesis1980 @ May 9 2013, 05:06 PM)
Well my friend. Your this decision i did it 10 years ago. I came back from Sydney end up working salary at RM1600/mth. Look for job like 1mth +
I didn't apply PR thinking that malaysia is a place for me to fulfill my dream. 10 years past...luckily i got my PR this year.
You could try to work in malaysia environment but don't expect they pay you same salary in Aust. Stress and humiliating words from work is normal. Working long hours and don't expect any union fight for your rights.
5 months job hunting in malaysia is not a norm. i guess maybe your expected salary is abnormal?!? biggrin.gif
Did you secure a job before you moved back to Australia? If you did, was it difficult to secure one?

I was actually job-hunting in Australia. I could not apply to any grad programs before because I got my PR too late. And I was unsuccessful in applying for ad-hoc full time jobs after..

This post has been edited by monev88: May 9 2013, 05:47 PM
Nemesis1980
post May 9 2013, 05:52 PM

1,066 posts

QUOTE(monev88 @ May 9 2013, 05:41 PM)
Well I would love to continue living in Australia(and keeping my PR), hence the 2 year timeframe before I return to fulfill my visa requirements.

Unfortunately not having a professional job is not an option for me - my justification is I'd rather build up professional skills in Malaysia than work in a dead-end part-time job with no prospects of progression. After looking for about 3 months in Sydney with no success, I started applying for jobs in KL at the same time and recently secured a job in KL.

Do you think Australian companies use the non-Australian work experience as an excuse to prevent non-PRs from applying for the job? Also what is the underlying reason for not recognizing overseas work experience? Is it the culture-fit or the industry knowledge?

The reason I ask is because the area I will be working in is sort of specialized, and the regulatory bodies around the world adopts a standardized framework.
Did you secure a job before you moved back to Australia? If you did, was it difficult to secure one?

I was actually job-hunting in Australia. I could not apply to any grad programs before because I got my PR too late. And I was unsuccessful in applying for ad-hoc full time jobs after..
I have to re-phrase my sentence. I got PR recently only, means that i have yet secure any job in Oz besides Malaysia.
In 2 months time, i'll be heading perth for job hunting. Did some research and saw quite a number of jobs in my profession. Now, the question is do they recognize my experience here in Malaysia?
The feedback given to me so far is that they don't really recognize besides Ozzie experience. So this should answer your overall question.
I think you're still young and still can continue job hunting in Oz. If not, might end up like me with 10 years experience not recognise by Oz company eventhough i'm graduate and working the same profession.
empire23
post May 9 2013, 06:05 PM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(robertchoo @ May 9 2013, 05:03 PM)
What for?

Yes, you're right. Most employers will disregard non-Australian experience and for good reasons especially in the technical field. We use very different standards, methodologies and requirements than the rest of the world.

If you want to look for a job, you either go back on day 1 or keep looking till you get a job.

QUOTE(Nemesis1980 @ May 9 2013, 05:06 PM)
Depending on what industry you work in if you're expecting a stress free environment then that is hard. In mining and resources we work everyday. 7am to 7pm Monday to Sunday is quite common. If you're unlucky and get a shitty roster like 21/7, well, you're outta luck.

Also humiliating words are regular. We do not pussyfoot when it comes to giving people shit and we will give most people hard times if they don't perform, thus the regular use of "get your head outta ya arse mate!" as a form of motivation. We also give "lembut" people shit all the time.

As a professional, your choices of union are very very very small and next to none will take up most cases for you. That's why even though I'm an engineer, I'm still a member of the Electrical Trades Union by virtue of the fact I have an apprenticeship and restricted electrical license.

Job hunting for 3 months is relatively short. Set aside 1 year. I did, I just cleaned jambans and supermarkets in the mean time while going for my licenses and courses. Remember that your degree is the least valuable of your education, it is a requirement, but the most basic one that people don't really look at.

eg; If you want to get into OnG / Mining people look for the below aside from a degree
- BOP Multi-Level Training
- Shotfiring Ticket
- EEM/MEM Qualification
- MR/HR Drivers License
- Hazardous Materials License
- First Aid + CPR Qualification
- Standard 11 Coal Induction
- TUV Rhineland Safety Cert
- BOESIET
- Confined Spaces Qual

Remember that depending on the general industry you aim for, you will have to tailor your skill set. I'm an engineer, but I can weld, drive a forklift and do EEHA assessments. That's the value people here look for, because labour is so expensive.
monev88
post May 9 2013, 06:25 PM

47 posts

QUOTE(Nemesis1980 @ May 9 2013, 05:52 PM)
I have to re-phrase my sentence. I got PR recently only, means that i have yet secure any job in Oz besides Malaysia.
In 2 months time, i'll be heading perth for job hunting. Did some research and saw quite a number of jobs in my profession. Now, the question is do they recognize my experience here in Malaysia?
The feedback given to me so far is that they don't really recognize besides Ozzie experience. So this should answer your overall question.
I think you're still young and still can continue job hunting in Oz. If not, might end up like me with 10 years experience not recognise by Oz company eventhough i'm graduate and working the same profession.
Oh okay. That is pretty brave of you. Good luck in the job hunt!

I have a cousin who was in a similar situation as you and she managed to secure a position in one of the big 4s in the end (albeit she had to work in a shitty job for a year first)
SUSrobertchoo
post May 9 2013, 08:00 PM

5,753 posts

For once you made a good choice of not working in a dead end-part time job with no prospects.

As empire23 has mentioned, Australians don't recognise experience outside of Australia unless you're a noble prize winner or smtg like that. Its actually not an excuse but they tend to have what i call "Island Mentality", "we do things different here" kinda attitude (an example would be their own brand of english) no offence to them. But take comfort that returning Australians too, face a difficult time to re-adjust to these kinda mindset.

But most importantly why do you want to go and live in Australia assuming you are having a promising career in Malaysia?

TSOM
post May 10 2013, 12:09 AM

2,145 posts

QUOTE(Nemesis1980 @ May 9 2013, 05:52 PM)
Australian system is so different from the rest of the world...
Normally you need to be in a country for a few years before applying to for a PR...
Other countries will only issue you a work permit if you've never lived in the country..

How do you qualify for a PR?? Where do you score??
Nemesis1980
post May 10 2013, 08:13 AM

1,066 posts

QUOTE(TSOM @ May 10 2013, 12:09 AM)
Australian system is so different from the rest of the world...
Normally you need to be in a country for a few years before applying to for a PR...
Other countries will only issue you a work permit if you've never lived in the country..

How do you qualify for a PR?? Where do you score??
I applied offshore, subclass 175 just before skillselect. I graduated from sydney but the main score is from work experience which i score 15points.
I just try luck if it hit a jackpot and yes we had it.
I just feel worried by now coz job hunting is the main concern to any new immigrants. Startup with shitty jobs 1st, other hand looking on your job profession.
But the main reason is the children education. I don't mind to work shitty jobs but just that children education is much more important.
My main question is since Ozzie job is so hard to get, how come the government still listing short skill? To earn immigrants money? sad.gif
TSOM
post May 10 2013, 08:49 AM

2,145 posts

QUOTE(Nemesis1980 @ May 10 2013, 08:13 AM)
I applied offshore, subclass 175 just before skillselect. I graduated from sydney but the main score is from work experience which i score 15points.
I just feel worried by now coz job hunting is the main concern to any new immigrants. Startup with shitty jobs 1st, other hand looking on your job profession.
But the main reason is the children education. I don't mind to work shitty jobs but just that children education is much more important.
My main question is since Ozzie job is so hard to get, how come the government still listing short skill? To earn immigrants money? sad.gif
then why don't you start your own company, like opening a malaysian restaurant?? icon_idea.gif icon_idea.gif
Nemesis1980
post May 10 2013, 09:55 AM

1,066 posts

QUOTE(TSOM @ May 10 2013, 08:49 AM)
then why don't you start your own company, like opening a malaysian restaurant??  icon_idea.gif  icon_idea.gif
haha, good idea!i was thinking that way too. Saw they sell wantan mee or laksa got so many branch around!The raw food material is cheap somemore but selling good price per dish rclxms.gif
empire23
post May 10 2013, 10:51 AM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(Nemesis1980 @ May 10 2013, 08:13 AM)
7-11 nightshift pays pretty well. And I'm not kidding.

Kids education will cost money and remember that as a new migrant you cannot claim FTB (Family Tax Benefit) via Centrelink (waiting period tested), so your costs will be high. I personally would save up enough money for 1 year of living. That's the around the time taken for most to get a job.

The government is listing those skills because the mining industry wants to drive costs down, so business lobbying groups keep pushing for more migration because they don't want to pay the prevailing rate for engineers. I'm lucky to have started with 80k a year when I graduated, but now, you're lucky if you can get 50k as a freshie engineer even while working in the field.

Also migration is good for the government. Why?

- No need to pay for your childhood education
- No need pay for your university fees
- No need to pay for your social welfare
- No need to chase HECS debt
- Instant tax paying citizen

Because it costs the government around 1 million dollars in investment to bring an Aussie into the professional workforce from birth. An immigrant costs 0 dollars. They pay the government lol.
Nemesis1980
post May 10 2013, 11:55 AM

1,066 posts

QUOTE(empire23 @ May 10 2013, 10:51 AM)
7-11 nightshift pays pretty well. And I'm not kidding.

Kids education will cost money and remember that as a new migrant you cannot claim FTB (Family Tax Benefit) via Centrelink (waiting period tested), so your costs will be high. I personally would save up enough money for 1 year of living. That's the around the time taken for most to get a job.

The government is listing those skills because the mining industry wants to drive costs down, so business lobbying groups keep pushing for more migration because they don't want to pay the prevailing rate for engineers. I'm lucky to have started with 80k a year when I graduated, but now, you're lucky if you can get 50k as a freshie engineer even while working in the field.

Also migration is good for the government. Why?

- No need to pay for your childhood education
- No need pay for your university fees
- No need to pay for your social welfare
- No need to chase HECS debt
- Instant tax paying citizen

Because it costs the government around 1 million dollars in investment to bring an Aussie into the professional workforce from birth. An immigrant costs 0 dollars. They pay the government lol.
Yeah, there's 2 years period. Anyway, maybe work for nightfillers.
You're right on the government. They're quite calculative on this. Professional immigrants is a ready-trained and contribute to the country with lifestyle in return.
When you claiming more from centrelink, they'll start making noise. One of my friend who actually stayed in Tasmania and sending children for education. He's not working but claiming centrelink. I don't know how he do it but it's true that centrelink calling almost every week asking him to look for job. Yet he's not that rich but the children is in uni now.
empire23
post May 10 2013, 12:26 PM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(Nemesis1980 @ May 10 2013, 11:55 AM)
Yeah, there's 2 years period. Anyway, maybe work for nightfillers.
You're right on the government. They're quite calculative on this. Professional immigrants is a ready-trained and contribute to the country with lifestyle in return.
When you claiming more from centrelink, they'll start making noise. One of my friend who actually stayed in Tasmania and sending children for education. He's not working but claiming centrelink. I don't know how he do it but it's true that centrelink calling almost every week asking him to look for job. Yet he's not that rich but the children is in uni now.
Gahmen not stewpid one. I mean Dullard isn't the sharpest tool in the shed and Abbott is the whole tool shed but they both know that they have to keep big business happy and to do so they have to keep the labour market flowing.

Either way, good luck with your job hunt. If you don't like WA there's always NT and QLD.
SUSrobertchoo
post May 10 2013, 01:06 PM

5,753 posts

QUOTE(Nemesis1980 @ May 10 2013, 09:55 AM)
haha, good idea!i was thinking that way too. Saw they sell wantan mee or laksa got so many branch around!The raw food material is cheap somemore but selling good price per dish rclxms.gif
It might not be as good as you think.
Businesses in Australia runs on high opex.
Imagine, labour alone will cost you a bomb at A$15 p/h for waiter and more for cooks.
Then there is the maintenance of your shop and equipments which also cost way more than in M'sia.
Rental is also not cheap. Labour is also erratic and some people just don't turn up for work (happens frequently)

Nemesis1980
post May 10 2013, 01:57 PM

1,066 posts

QUOTE(robertchoo @ May 10 2013, 01:06 PM)
It might not be as good as you think.
Businesses in Australia runs on high opex.
Imagine, labour alone will cost you a bomb at A$15 p/h for waiter and more for cooks.
Then there is the maintenance of your shop and equipments which also cost way more than in M'sia.
Rental is also not cheap. Labour is also erratic and some people just don't turn up for work (happens frequently)
Yeah, that's a common problem there. Well, that can be settle no problem
kamilnu
post Jul 7 2013, 11:12 PM

1,170 posts

QUOTE(empire23 @ May 9 2013, 06:05 PM)
Yes, you're right. Most employers will disregard non-Australian experience and for good reasons especially in the technical field. We use very different standards, methodologies and requirements than the rest of the world.

If you want to look for a job, you either go back on day 1 or keep looking till you get a job.
Depending on what industry you work in if you're expecting a stress free environment then that is hard. In mining and resources we work everyday. 7am to 7pm Monday to Sunday is quite common. If you're unlucky and get a shitty roster like 21/7, well, you're outta luck.

Also humiliating words are regular. We do not pussyfoot when it comes to giving people shit and we will give most people hard times if they don't perform, thus the regular use of "get your head outta ya arse mate!" as a form of motivation. We also give "lembut" people shit all the time.

As a professional, your choices of union are very very very small and next to none will take up most cases for you. That's why even though I'm an engineer, I'm still a member of the Electrical Trades Union by virtue of the fact I have an apprenticeship and restricted electrical license.
Job hunting for 3 months is relatively short. Set aside 1 year. I did, I just cleaned jambans and supermarkets in the mean time while going for my licenses and courses. Remember that your degree is the least valuable of your education, it is a requirement, but the most basic one that people don't really look at.

eg; If you want to get into OnG / Mining people look for the below aside from a degree
- BOP Multi-Level Training
- Shotfiring Ticket
- EEM/MEM Qualification
- MR/HR Drivers License
- Hazardous Materials License
- First Aid + CPR Qualification
- Standard 11 Coal Induction
- TUV Rhineland Safety Cert
- BOESIET
- Confined Spaces Qual

Remember that depending on the general industry you aim for, you will have to tailor your skill set. I'm an engineer, but I can weld, drive a forklift and do EEHA assessments. That's the value e here look for, because labour is so expensive.
What?....engineers doing welding and driving forklifts? And what @#%& certifications are those? I expect NDT certs, API certs etc. Yeahh...Australia is an island where they send convicts, killers and rapers to die.
empire23
post Jul 8 2013, 05:01 AM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(kamilnu @ Jul 7 2013, 11:12 PM)
What?....engineers doing welding and driving forklifts? And what @#%& certifications are those? I expect NDT certs, API certs etc. Yeahh...Australia is an island where they send convicts, killers and rapers to die.
Nothing wrong with welding and driving lifts. No point in having an NDT cert if you can't even weld. You wouldn't even pass the exam here tongue.gif

Plus driving a forklift isn't something I do everyday, BUT if I need something from racking or need to move stuff, I'm expected to do it myself instead of wasting the storeman's time, which saves on labour.

If you have the right skillset and know people, getting a job here isn't an issue. A person with an EnE postgrad, EEM ticket and with an electrician's license will get paid around 200k AUD a year out in the mines with a 5/5 roster.
Nemesis1980
post Aug 30 2013, 04:40 PM

1,066 posts

QUOTE(empire23 @ Jul 8 2013, 05:01 AM)
Nothing wrong with welding and driving lifts. No point in having an NDT cert if you can't even weld. You wouldn't even pass the exam here tongue.gif

Plus driving a forklift isn't something I do everyday, BUT if I need something from racking or need to move stuff, I'm expected to do it myself instead of wasting the storeman's time, which saves on labour.

If you have the right skillset and know people, getting a job here isn't an issue. A person with an EnE postgrad, EEM ticket and with an electrician's license will get paid around 200k AUD a year out in the mines with a 5/5 roster.
Yo, i always wanna drive a forklift but never have the chance. Thinking of getting a license cost me AUD300

empire23
post Aug 30 2013, 04:49 PM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(Nemesis1980 @ Aug 30 2013, 04:40 PM)
Yo, i always wanna drive a forklift but never have the chance. Thinking of getting a license cost me AUD300
It's a good idea especially if you're in the construction industry and have the need to move gear around.

There are a lot of other tickets that are useful, but I'm not sure what would apply to your industry.
Nemesis1980
post Aug 31 2013, 12:11 AM

1,066 posts

QUOTE(empire23 @ Aug 30 2013, 04:49 PM)
It's a good idea especially if you're in the construction industry and have the need to move gear around.

There are a lot of other tickets that are useful, but I'm not sure what would apply to your industry.
you know i really like the bobcat very much. actually i do request contractor to let hv a try but too bad. there's no open space for me to handle it.
i'll see how can i get a license for that. i know it's not expensive to get 1 but just that where's the opportunity to drive one?
Pete the great
post Aug 31 2013, 10:32 AM

519 posts

Hi Folks,

Regards
I ask you, what is purpose you want to migrate?

For career or for better quality of life?

If it is the former, then you can forget it. By the time you and your partner get married, get the PR and decide to migrate you be 31. Then when you go over there to work, your msian experience will be nullified and you have to compete against the fresh grads, 21 years old people there. Australia is not like Hong Kong or UK, where they got diversified industries and high roller job vacancies. But there is a lot of demand for simple jobs, yeah like you say, supermarket jobs, low level mid size firms, SMCs.

Reason why people migrate there is to enjoy the quality of life. Over there, you need not worry about whether you earning enough cause the govt will take care of you. Work from 9 to 5, go back home, take up cycling, jogging, contribute to community, enjoy walking by the park, get a dog, good schools for your kids, state of the art amenities like trains and trams, fast internet connectivity. If I not mistaken, doctors over there don't earn more than other professionals.

If you are career here is a high paying job, my advice to you is, not to migrate. But if you feel that you want to migrate because you want to enjoy the western quality of life and you're sick of the asian mentality of making money and stressful job environment, then Australia is the place for you.
zephyrus9999
post Aug 31 2013, 11:50 AM

649 posts

Haha definitely overseas is always better.

One thing is we are lacking of identity. In bolehland, cainis are treated as second class, and the whole population cannot be labelled as 'malaysians'. and even if you obtain PR at aus, sg or whereever, the perception status aint gonna change any better. Institutionalized racism is intrinsic. Reminds me of chinese in certain part of indonesia; grew up in government schools, learn their culture etc etc. When adult, cant speak chinese at all, lack of own race culture that defines himself, and sidelined 9 9..

0.0695sec    0.45    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 01:42 PM