Need help on vista hanging..., processor keep loading at 50% or 100%
TSgenkis3
Dec 4 2007, 02:40 AM, updated 19y ago
hi all, just start using vista home premium for few days.
im always facing this prob, when browsing folder, it will freeze and my processor will full load and never end...need restart.. or after browsing the folder in drive C , processor just keep running at 50% . also need restart...if not it will keep running the processor at 50% all the way. mad.gif
open the task manager , it show explorer.exe that using the resources.
anyone facing this problem? how to solve this probs? happen almost everytime i browse folder,very annoying la. if i didn't realise the processor keep full loading and didn't restart it, guess will hurt my new lappy in long run coz im often left it on 24hours. vmad.gif
thinking to switch back to XP if canot solve this problem...
P/S: JUST TESTED, EVERYTIME BROWSE DRIVE C, PROCESSOR WILL START KEEP LOADING AT 50% TILL SHUT IT DOWN! OMG!
This post has been edited by genkis3: Dec 4 2007, 03:08 AM
iKen
Dec 4 2007, 10:22 AM

It would be best if you show us your lappy's information and performance such as RAM etc.
TSgenkis3
Dec 4 2007, 11:43 AM
core2duo t7500 2.2ghz, 2gb ram, 8400m gs, 160gb 5400rpm hdd, on vista home premium.
beelzebob13
Dec 4 2007, 11:48 AM
just kill the explorer.exe in the task manager...i get that in winxp too sometimes. if explorer does not reload itself press the start(windows?) button on your keyboard to go to Run...and type in explorer.exe and ok...the desktop/explorer should start and you get things to normal for now. if not reboot.
This post has been edited by beelzebob13: Dec 4 2007, 11:48 AM
songbo
Dec 4 2007, 08:08 PM
my notebook also having same prob.. keep running at 100%.. could it be due to virus or trojen?
TSgenkis3
Dec 4 2007, 09:05 PM
after kill the explorer.exe , the windows button also not working... mine is not virus i think, fresh new platform just install my fav programs and didn't surt in unsecure web... Added on December 4, 2007, 9:41 pm  using process explorer and found is ntdll.dll and ntkrnlpa.exe keep loading the cpu... what's that programs actually? Added on December 6, 2007, 1:43 amp/s :problem solve, by turn the bluetooth off This post has been edited by genkis3: Dec 6 2007, 01:45 AM
limyuh
Dec 28 2007, 09:56 AM
My notebook Dell 1520 also lagging and hang when using window vista, but only when i using battery without using power supply?? any1 have this problem?? when i use window Xp then no this kind of problem, who can help me to solve this problem??
My spec: Intel(R) CoreTM 2 Duo Processor T7300(2.0GHz, 2MB L2 cache) Genuine Windows Vista Home Basic with Licence 2Gb Dual Channel 667MHz DDR2 SDRAM NVIDIA(R) GeForceTM Go 8400GS with 128MB DDR2 dedicated graphic memory 15.4" WXGA TFT Display with (1280x800) True Life 162Gb 5400 RPM SATA hard drive DVD +/-RW with Dual Layer DVD+R write capacity USB 2.0 (4),Integrated 10/100 (RJ45) & and 56K Modem (RJ11) IEEE1394a (Firewire) , 8-in-1 Memory Card Reader Bluetooth (yes Bluetooth) VGA video output & S-Video Stereo in, headphone/speaker out & Dual digital mics Original Dell 6-cell 56W Li-Ion Battery Alpine White Color With Microsatin Finish Built In 2.0Mp Camera
This post has been edited by limyuh: Dec 28 2007, 09:59 AM
Lineage
Dec 31 2007, 01:01 PM
OEM vista or pirated vista? i'm using OEM vista home premium..never face this problem before..no matter what i do..
SUSXbox 360
Dec 31 2007, 04:19 PM

Ultimate Advice For Vista Users : NEVER RUN MANY BACKGROUND APPLICATIONSYou don't want to know the number of services by default, running in Vista. Its a lot of them. Note : I am more than happy to use my old 3.4 rated Desktop Machine. It performs admirably with NO issues at all. Even with Aero interface and all. It really performs. PS : Vista users with issues need to "tame" Vista. That's the problem. This post has been edited by Xbox 360: Dec 31 2007, 08:36 PM Attached image(s)
Darkmage12
Jan 1 2008, 02:28 PM
QUOTE(Xbox 360 @ Dec 31 2007, 04:19 PM) Ultimate Advice For Vista Users : NEVER RUN MANY BACKGROUND APPLICATIONSYou don't want to know the number of services by default, running in Vista. Its a lot of them. Note : I am more than happy to use my old 3.4 rated Desktop Machine. It performs admirably with NO issues at all. Even with Aero interface and all. It really performs. PS : Vista users with issues need to "tame" Vista. That's the problem. how to 'tame' it? by doing the thing in bold?
TechnoDude94
Jan 1 2008, 03:50 PM
Can I stop all the background services? I would like to try that, anybody try before?
Darkmage12
Jan 2 2008, 12:44 AM
after the windows refuse to boot how?
TechnoDude94
Jan 2 2008, 03:09 AM
If the Windows refuse to boot for me. I get frustrated and reformat the HDD.
Darkmage12
Jan 2 2008, 06:08 PM
so you should try out and give us feedback
Lineage
Jan 2 2008, 10:30 PM
QUOTE(TechnoDude94 @ Jan 1 2008, 03:50 PM) Can I stop all the background services? I would like to try that, anybody try before? background services u can stop , but ar..need be careful lor..can make ur windows run not properly and need reformat...i tried before..
Darkmage12
Jan 3 2008, 09:58 PM
QUOTE(StevenQ @ Jan 2 2008, 10:30 PM) background services u can stop , but ar..need be careful lor..can make ur windows run not properly and need reformat...i tried before..  which 1 can stop?
Lineage
Jan 4 2008, 09:58 AM
i cant teach u here, can u try to google it? i forgot where i put the link..but it is easy to search, just type services.msc in google then can already.. Good luck !
limyuh
Jan 4 2008, 02:10 PM
QUOTE(StevenQ @ Dec 31 2007, 01:01 PM) OEM vista or pirated vista? i'm using OEM vista home premium..never face this problem before..no matter what i do.. i using the OEM vista home premium....
Darkmage12
Jan 4 2008, 11:00 PM
QUOTE(StevenQ @ Jan 4 2008, 09:58 AM) i cant teach u here, can u try to google it? i forgot where i put the link..but it is easy to search, just type services.msc in google then can already.. Good luck ! you can't teach me cos you forget or what? btw when you stop those services did the bootup improved? any performance boost?
Hou_JaI
Jan 5 2008, 06:47 PM
go get the latest update using windows update!