The Canon EOS 350D/400D Thread, Digital Rebel XT/XTi/KISS Territory~

myjunk
post Jan 6 2008, 09:31 PM

3,446 posts

QUOTE(vikingw2k @ Jan 6 2008, 09:23 PM)
If you are looking for new, I guess Sigma 70-200mm f2.8 used by vincent_audio that day fits your budget.
Viking... I also need advice.. :-)

55-250mm IS (IS Is important!) Rm900
70-200 f4L (no IS) RM 5K
70-300 IS USM(hidden L lens) RM2.5K

I initially wanted a 70-300 before I found out the new canon 55-250 and the sweet price

myjunk
post Jan 6 2008, 09:34 PM

3,446 posts

QUOTE(-vip3rleon9- @ Jan 6 2008, 09:31 PM)
yeah, will try to get my dad to buy into the idea of getting a used one. tongue.gif
what's YL? laugh.gif

yup, will definitely get a 50mm prime. most probably a Canon. build quality's not so good but what you pay is what you get, i suppose. tongue.gif
YL Camera in Pudu Plaza..

if you getting a 50mm, I think you can find a thread in LYn where a dude bought from pertama complex for Rm300(incl filter) I paid RM350 from Foto Edar...
myjunk
post Jan 6 2008, 09:46 PM

3,446 posts

QUOTE(vikingw2k @ Jan 6 2008, 09:34 PM)
What's your budget? What do you shoot more?
Current budget = No Budget. (means I have to start saving money.. if get the 55-250mm, then at least can get it earlier.. keke..)

Hard to say what i shoot more, since I will shoot anything which is interesting enough.

In anycase, there will be a few weddings I will be attending (as guests) and would like to shoot some there. (perhaps should get a speedlite .... but not really like to shoot with flash. Too distracting, and to add to that, the 580ex is like nearly 2K!!!)

So.. The 70-300 IS not all that good? Hmm if that's the case and the 70-200L F4 is Rm3K then, could be OK, I guess. But is this price with IS? I want those lenses with IS.(USM would be nice but not really _that_ important I guess)

This post has been edited by myjunk: Jan 6 2008, 09:51 PM
myjunk
post Jan 6 2008, 10:02 PM

3,446 posts

QUOTE(vikingw2k @ Jan 6 2008, 09:54 PM)
The 70-200mm f4 L IS version should be around RM4.5k+-
2nd Hand from FTZ :

Reluctant sale!!! Like new, super SHARP, 2 mth old Canon EF 70-200mm f4IS, everything included box, leather pouch, manual etc. Still got another 10mths shop warranty. I need to get MK3 additional body soon and already have the 2.8 version of the lens. Askin price is RM3400 FIRM

70-200mm, f/4L IS - 9 months old, ORIGINAL Canon Malaysia, Case and Hood, 10/10 RM 3.880

Do you think this lens would be usable under low light like in a wedding? It's constant f4 and with IS to boot as well.

Looking through FTS, the NON-IS version is going for Rm1.9 - 2K

Here's another one

WTS)CANON EF 70-200mm f/2.8 USM L ,CONDITION 9/10 , WWARRANTY EXPIRED / NO BOX ,JUST LENS & CAP .SELLING PRICE RM3600

myjunk
post Jan 6 2008, 10:16 PM

3,446 posts

QUOTE(./Hack-Fusion @ Jan 6 2008, 10:06 PM)
i only know it behind the time square , where the plaza is behind @ beside a school i think...i also hvnt go there yet..unless i want hunt down the 70-200mm F4 L~~
it's very easy to find actually..

You don't think it's better to just get it directly from ppl on FTZ? At least no need to go through 3rd party/middleman who take away a percentage?

valho: What is CC?

This post has been edited by myjunk: Jan 6 2008, 10:17 PM
myjunk
post Jan 6 2008, 10:19 PM

3,446 posts

QUOTE(vikingw2k @ Jan 6 2008, 10:17 PM)
CreditCard
I see.. But based on my experience. Using CC is more expensive. Either you get charged 2% extra or that the 0% interest free is not really interest free. Cheaper price when you tell them you pay by cash. Like when I bought my 400D, the price differnce ~Rm400 w and w/o using Credit Card

This post has been edited by myjunk: Jan 6 2008, 10:20 PM
myjunk
post Jan 6 2008, 10:42 PM

3,446 posts

QUOTE(valho @ Jan 6 2008, 10:38 PM)
sometime is because I don't want to bring so much cash out, and most shop dun take cheque, so had to use CC, but pay off after that loh. Did the same for my 400D, pay off all after statement arrive
Thats a good idea.. can get points too. But after I find out if there's additional charges
myjunk
post Jan 6 2008, 11:29 PM

3,446 posts

QUOTE(xavierchan @ Jan 6 2008, 11:11 PM)
frankly, I am also pay my 350D by installments... and with extra charges that is for sure since people let u easy wor, sure got interest lo... thumbup.gif
For some people, that is fine, but for me, I would rather wait and save money rather than pay by installment with charges. If 0% interest free and no extra charge and no extra anything, then fine. (like when I bought my laptop)

QUOTE(R a D ! c 4 L @ Jan 6 2008, 11:12 PM)
if im not wrong, FotoKem does this kind of installment thingy with 0% installment. That is if u pay it up in time.
Yeah.. I asked fotokem, cash and 0% installment = Rm400 difference. (but didn't buy from them anyway). According to them, some Credit Card company _do_ offer 0% interest w/o any extra charges.

QUOTE(sacrosanct @ Jan 6 2008, 11:14 PM)
430EX is good enough for 400D or 350D, IMO, unless you're talking about the need of faster recycles.
Not really. 430EX = 1/2 price of 530, but I guess I need to read up more on the difference etc.
I just like more lighting for indoor/wedding shots kind of thing. Else have to bump up the ISO and additionally, the 50mm f1.8 doesn't even look that good wide open, so kind of defeat its purpose of being a fast lens.

myjunk
post Jan 6 2008, 11:43 PM

3,446 posts

QUOTE(sacrosanct @ Jan 6 2008, 11:34 PM)
I used 430EX for indoor photography and it performed well; for me.

As for the 50mm f/1.8, are you talking about the lens itself or when collaborated with the external flash? It's rather confusing.
talking bout the lens itself. I don't have a flash.. rclxub.gif
myjunk
post Jan 6 2008, 11:53 PM

3,446 posts

QUOTE(sacrosanct @ Jan 6 2008, 11:45 PM)
You definitely need a flash for indoor photography unless the surroundings are bright enough for you to shoot without the external flash.
flash distracting lah.. and no more chance for long-range candid shots.

320mm (35mm equil) on a 200mm!! what's more, those shots, even the flash won't help.
myjunk
post Jan 7 2008, 12:02 AM

3,446 posts

QUOTE(sacrosanct @ Jan 6 2008, 11:58 PM)
Of course it can be distracting and it's the user's choice, always. Anyway, either you lug a tripod along which may halt you from taking candid photos or you have to hold the camera sturdy enough to avoid vibration or shakes.
which is the reason why I stipulated that I need IS lenses.

I can at least offset the slowness of a slow lense with high ISO and IS right?

myjunk
post Jan 7 2008, 12:32 PM

3,446 posts

QUOTE(valho @ Jan 7 2008, 09:34 AM)
really they do kah, hmmm must go find that shop haha biggrin.gif
ic less than 1k no extra, good good biggrin.gif
bank will charge the merchant for CC service (around 2-3%) which should be payed by merchant, but certain shop will charge it to the customer instead. you'll know when u try to buy pc parts from lowyat using CC
foto Edar Bb plaza no extra charge. I got my D400 and f1.8 there using CC
myjunk
post Jan 7 2008, 03:30 PM

3,446 posts

QUOTE(cheefai7 @ Jan 7 2008, 01:38 PM)
How about save up another 600 bucks to get the 580EXII.

poison...poison
Are you sure that's the correct price? I thought it was like near 2K?
myjunk
post Jan 8 2008, 06:39 AM

3,446 posts

How does this guy do it? He's using a 300D and a 50mm f1.8 MKII

is this 1.8 much different from what I have? also a f.18 Rm300 lens

Robert M

His looks much sharper than what i can achieve.
myjunk
post Jan 8 2008, 10:19 PM

3,446 posts

Need some advice.. Will likely go to USA sometime next month.

However, I don't think I will be able to do any mail-orders.

So, my question is, which lenses should I consider buying?

For one, the 55-250 canon is N/A in the USA, so the 1st option I want is off the list.

Then there's the 70-200 F4L IS going for ~USD1K (Non IS ~USD538)
70-200 F2.8 L IS USM ~USD1.5K
70-300 IS USM ~USD529
Tamron 28-300 (VC) USD600

Speedlite 530EX II going for ~USD350

I'm sure a lot of you guys have made research into US prices. can you give me some pointers as to what is cheap?

myjunk
post Jan 10 2008, 01:11 AM

3,446 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Jan 9 2008, 11:44 PM)
sigma 20-200 OS
Just wondering if have good experience with the OS from sigma. How it compare with Canon IS?
This lens should be much cheaper than canon original lens right?

Hmm.. I also read that you have a 70-300 Is this the hidden L lens from canon? How is it? You like it? Any good comments?
Me very confused as to what lens to get esp since the new 55-250 is so cheap and with IS!

This post has been edited by myjunk: Jan 10 2008, 01:14 AM
myjunk
post Jan 10 2008, 01:16 AM

3,446 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Jan 10 2008, 01:13 AM)
eh, since when i mentioned 20-200? smile.gif 18-200 OS.

from what i read, Sigma's OS is good.

then again what are you comparing with?
Sorry... I just saw some posts about the sigma lens @ 1.2K and I read that you have used something of that sort.

I believe you have sigma and canon lenses right? So how about comparing between them?
myjunk
post Jan 10 2008, 01:27 AM

3,446 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Jan 10 2008, 01:21 AM)
how to compare la.

my Canon lens are kit lens 18-55, 50mm f1.8 II
my Tamron lens 70-300mm
my Sigma 18-200 OS

as you can see, all also different class. price also different.
I see.. I thought the 70-300 was the canon hidden L @2.5K which was my initial target before the 55-250 came out.

The 70-200 F2.8L IS USM is great, but price is also very great @USD1.5+K

So.. no one here has the 55-250 (except for that one guy who didn't go to the zoo outing?)
myjunk
post Jan 10 2008, 01:51 AM

3,446 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Jan 10 2008, 01:35 AM)
yup. 70-200 F2.8L IS USM is also damn heavy too!

i'm eyeing on the 70-200 F4L. probably go for IS version. problem is the IS version is like going to break my bank even further.
2.8L Is is selling @RM5.7K in Japan and RM5.2K (before 7% Tax) in the US. (Me going USA soon mah..)

From FTZ
Less than a year old Canon 70-200L F2.8 with IS RM5800.

but that price is really VERY expensive leh..
The F4L IS is much cheaper (~900 USD) and the non IS version is even cheaper at USD530 (RM1.7k new)
EF70-200mm 4L Non IS - RM1900 very good condition and sharp copy,

Canon EF 70-200mm F/4L IS USM Bought on 20 October 2007 at Foto Shangrila Complete with box, manual, hood and also pouch. Used only twice. Once during MotoGP and Once during A1GP. Selling because getting a Sigma APO 170-500mm lens. Selling at RM3,000 firm. New unit is selling at RM4,050

decision..decision..decision rclxub.gif

myjunk
post Jan 11 2008, 10:49 PM

3,446 posts

QUOTE(hornetEJ @ Jan 11 2008, 10:39 PM)
I'm considering the 50mm f1.8 too. Let me know if you guys go. I'm free this weekend.
bear this in mind when you go..

if you go down <f2.8 it will start to be soft and area in focus becomes much smaller. >f2.8 is good.

BTW, if you guys go down, go ask some prices for me.

wondering on the 24-70mm or anything with f2.8 or lower. Something suitable for indoor shooting w/o flash. (weddings)

This post has been edited by myjunk: Jan 11 2008, 10:50 PM

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0463sec    0.45    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 02:40 AM