4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

SAP Talk, A thread on everything about SAP

wiraone
post May 8 2009, 07:35 AM

Who cares about all the stars?
3,892 posts

QUOTE(Doppelgriff @ May 7 2009, 11:51 PM)
Watch it mister... 
a lot of people are quick to judge based on one person or one situation and then jumping into conclusion. 
Been working with AC guys for a long time already .. was in Petronas, was in Shell and I know what I'm talking about and not jumping to the conclusion .. enough said.
wiraone
post May 8 2009, 10:49 AM

3,892 posts

*** deleted *** not worth to fight over ..

This post has been edited by wiraone: May 8 2009, 11:00 AM
wiraone
post May 9 2009, 05:13 PM

3,892 posts

Texas? EA project ka? I've few friends having green cards now and happy doing SAP consultancy in Houston.

This post has been edited by wiraone: May 9 2009, 05:14 PM
wiraone
post May 11 2009, 07:14 PM

3,892 posts

QUOTE(chezzball @ May 11 2009, 03:19 PM)
shoot....a lot ppl start msg me dy.

EVERYONE !! do not PM me coz mah company not taking fresh grads !! they taking 4 yrs minimum for senior SAP consultant post... don't PM me !!!!! (inbox full dy) !.!
Haa.. haa.. there you go cool2.gif Anyway, is your company willing to take someone with 15 yrs of experience? whistling.gif

wiraone
post May 12 2009, 09:16 AM

3,892 posts

QUOTE(cywings @ May 12 2009, 03:01 AM)
eh apa expensive.. wah lao... very cheap only..ur company sure can afford..

din play texas cowboy lar..fyi...texas not all cowboy lar..pretty much advanced lol..but at the same time can be nothing much.. hahah okay i'm crapping..
Ditto. smile.gif
cywings, were you the one that brought back my antenna analyzer from US last year? or was it someone else .. hee..hee.. I've lost contact with my friend Nik .. have no idea if he is in the US or came back to Malaysia already.

wiraone
post May 21 2009, 10:57 AM

3,892 posts

QUOTE(kenlee23 @ May 21 2009, 12:24 AM)
yeah, supporting mostly UK clients. Quite big sap consultancy in UK... tongue.gif
Yah.. and I'm having a bad headache trying to cleaning up the mess the left on our crm project .. argh!!!
wiraone
post May 22 2009, 12:25 PM

3,892 posts

Kalau touch itu extractor .. can consider boleh buat BW ka? Thee..hee..
wiraone
post Jun 10 2009, 09:12 AM

3,892 posts

My suggestion is, to go for end user environment first .. and then build up your experience in SAP .. and off you go.. Many 'consulting' companies want someone who can start working from day one.. they'll value people with configuration knowledge rather than process knowledge..

This post has been edited by wiraone: Jun 10 2009, 09:13 AM
wiraone
post Jun 17 2009, 07:33 PM

3,892 posts

I want a handsome paycheck too .. anyone willing to make an offer? smile.gif
wiraone
post Jun 18 2009, 12:25 PM

3,892 posts

QUOTE(chezzball @ Jun 18 2009, 11:34 AM)
try Shell loh..i saw some of their CV... he's getting RM2000 per day...i couldn't believe it but its the truth
Hee..hee.. if I need to go back, surely they won't allow me coming as contractor lah ..
wiraone
post Jun 18 2009, 04:18 PM

3,892 posts

Tak pa.. UK£ is raising against MYR .. boleh survive lagi .. but when ppl talking about handsome pay .. I want too! Hee..hee.. just yesterday I read the CEO of British Airways is taking a £61K a month .. WTF...!!
wiraone
post Jun 19 2009, 02:23 PM

3,892 posts

QUOTE(nitsujyuen @ Jun 19 2009, 10:50 AM)
yeah, true also..no work den go home sleep aje biggrin.gif  paid per day basis
Syok what .. kerja 15 days enuff already .. the rest of the days can do what you want to do ..
wiraone
post Jul 5 2009, 02:01 PM

3,892 posts

Guys .. please keep this thread as job related discussion .. programming or technical questions, please bring it to programming thread in the programming subforum..

This post has been edited by wiraone: Jul 5 2009, 02:01 PM
wiraone
post Jul 13 2009, 09:55 PM

3,892 posts

Go for functional if you can .. otherwise, start with may be with ABAP and after at most two years, switch to functional .. the demand for a good functional is surely very high .. ABAPers usually will be the last to be called in any new project, most of the time..the last quarter of most project.. whereas functional consultants are needed from day one .. proposal till .. final handover..

And surely functional consultant gets better pay ..
wiraone
post Jul 15 2009, 06:34 PM

3,892 posts

QUOTE(lyk @ Jul 14 2009, 12:42 AM)
ya... how i wish i can get into functional... i'm fresh ABAPer and it's kinda difficult to find a job as most of the companies require at least 2 years experience... any idea of how to get into functional without paying highly cost of 30k?
If you're currently working as ABAPer, stay where you are .. and be patient for the next 2 years .. learn as much SAP from technical side .. you'll be grateful with the experience you gain while being an ABAPer after you've make a switch .. I've quite a number of friends who're doing functional right now and asking me if they could learn ABAP ..

wiraone
post Jul 25 2009, 04:59 PM

3,892 posts

QUOTE(imax80 @ Jul 24 2009, 02:35 PM)
they are two type of functional in my project, one with technical background and another one no-technical background. The latter is much better and excellent they can solve problem without abapers help.
Err.. you mean the former??? I've few funkies who're looking for an ABAP training .. so, I guess the latter is at disadvantage w/o technical/ABAP background..

Added on July 25, 2009, 5:03 pm
QUOTE(brownman90561495 @ Jul 24 2009, 02:17 PM)
oh why were you / did you transfer from BI to ABAP in the first place? smile.gif hmm and is abap really boring? i almost tried to switch to abap on my 2nd year in SAP, but decided to stay to basis to have more depth in my experience.
ABAP is boring if you're doing the same thing over and over again .. I do sometime get bored when what I need to do is debugging stuff .. for the whole week. But being in support, that what expected .. the good thing, there'll be something coming in between .. so I could leave the debugging for a day .. do the easy stuff with reporting etc.. and continue debugging the next day.

This post has been edited by wiraone: Jul 25 2009, 05:03 PM
wiraone
post Jul 28 2009, 11:47 AM

3,892 posts

QUOTE(showcase @ Jul 27 2009, 10:55 PM)
I have been SAP end-user (Customer & Material Master Data so to speak) for the past 2 & half years and really looking forward to venture into SAP Support position. However, when attending interviews, all of them prefer someone with support experience rather than end-user environment. Any advice on how to get to the next level without going through certification (because it is very expensive)? Many thanks!
Can you not get into support role in your current position? Supporting your department first .. and if possible, ask if your IT department needs extra support.. I've a colleague who came from end user environment, became the super user in his previous role in a subsidiary and now a full time consultant in a project.... and I've seen many that are going through this route too.
wiraone
post Jul 30 2009, 07:40 AM

3,892 posts

Hi there Hafiz, probably the company that you're going for an interview is the end user of SAP and not the company that provides SAP services or consultancy. I was an engineering graduate too but I'm stuck with programming I guess for my whole life .. it is just a piece of paper .. do whatever you think you're capable/love with after you've got the paper.
wiraone
post Jul 30 2009, 11:00 AM

3,892 posts

Hi there again, yes.. it seems that the company uses SAP as a tool. They might have in-house expertise which maintained the SAP system but you may not be directly involve in supporting the system .. just the end user dealing with normal logistics stuff .. you don't need to worry about SAP, you'll probably need to do some data entry, do some asset related processing in the system and churn a report out.
wiraone
post Jul 30 2009, 04:46 PM

3,892 posts

QUOTE(chezzball @ Jul 30 2009, 11:45 AM)
I assume it's MM - Inventory Management when you mentioned in bolded text.

Have you heard of Kanban? It is mostly used in manufacturing/production line as a KPI or guideline or... a tool to monitor and ensure the production system runs smoothly and most importantly to cut cost. I believe this is somewhat related to engineers right? Even when you're doing ur stuff, U have sets of KPI and a system to govern the production that u need to adhere to.
Cheezy .. you were talking more about manufacturing/production/sales .. while in O&G, most of them don't have these ... they're more on Plant Maintenance and stuff for the upstream.. no Kanban, no IM .. on downstream, they're more on IS-Oil/SD .. BUT... my O&G experience all rusted already .. so .. don't depend on what I said smile.gif

This post has been edited by wiraone: Jul 30 2009, 04:47 PM

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0214sec    0.29    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 05:09 AM