4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Technical PlayStation 3 FAQ For Beginners, anyone here like2maintain V2 FAQ thread?

SSJBen
post May 27 2008, 06:11 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

Yes HDMI has audio.

Make sure you set your audio setting to HDMI under your PS3 settings.
SSJBen
post May 29 2008, 01:55 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(Mgsrulz @ May 29 2008, 12:57 PM)
finished updating after an hour. laugh.gif
funny thing is,it didnt download until 100% rclxub.gif
i think reach 57%,then stop.
PS3 restarts,installs until 27%,then jump to 100% shocking.gif rclxub.gif

is that normal?
Its normal dude.

Next time just update by downloading the update file from your PC then copy it onto a USB mass storage drive(be it thumbdrive or ext. HDD or anything else). Then update from there, will save you hell alot of time.
SSJBen
post May 31 2008, 01:34 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(marky @ May 31 2008, 01:06 PM)
the wireless ds3 controller doesnt come with the charging cable?? surprisingly the postman work today lol....play-asia box came today ><
Yea it doesn't, which is stupid. Pay RM160-RM180 for it and Sony can't even afford to throw in a stinkin USB cable. Cheap asses.
SSJBen
post Jul 1 2008, 04:29 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(wah chai @ Jun 30 2008, 05:23 PM)
hi,anyone can teach me how to record video?i mean record my ps3 game replay ,trailer or anything.(not using mobile and video cam).maybe a software
There are many ways.

But the cheapest way is to get a TV Tuner/Capture Card for your PC and then hook your PS3 up to it. Play and record. You will however need a somewhat spacious HDD, a decent CPU and atleast 2GB of RAM to avoid any sort of framerate drops when recording though.
SSJBen
post Jul 1 2008, 11:15 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

Any electronic device can overheat, heck even handphones can.

Just make sure your PS3 is well ventilated, nothing covering the vents and play in atleast a room with a ceiling fan on, your PS3 shouldn't have problems with overheating.
SSJBen
post Jul 15 2008, 03:43 AM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(sengwee1988 @ Jul 15 2008, 01:41 AM)
I just bought a ps3, I wanted to register for a psn account but I do not have a credit card, can i still apply for an account?? Where can i dl all the demos and themes from the ps3?? Do i need a psn account oso?? And does it cost any money to dl them??
Registering onto PSN is completely free, as is all content unless otherwise charged. Charged content are usually PSN games(PSN games, PS1 classics) , add-on content(not all), and Qore itself.

Demos, themes, trailers, and so on are completely free.

All you need is a valid post-code for the street address you input during registration. Google up some hotel/restaurant/public places in the region you want to register your PSN on.
SSJBen
post Jul 16 2008, 03:53 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

You're using component cable on your CRT TV, so just use that for your Bravia. You will still get 720p and 1080i no problem.
SSJBen
post Jul 20 2008, 10:44 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

Yes those are the vents.

Feel free to have fans blowing at it, but thats actually ventilation for the air to escape from the system.
SSJBen
post Jul 23 2008, 05:05 AM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

Reformat means everything is wiped out, no way to get it back.

For PSN ID just create a new user and input the same PSN ID you had.

This post has been edited by SSJBen: Jul 23 2008, 05:05 AM
SSJBen
post Jul 24 2008, 05:13 AM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

The PS3's fan has variable speed.

During certain operations, the fan automatically kick up its speed in regards to the temperature inside the PS3. So this will depend on your ambient temp as well.

During the the day, when my room has no air-cond turned on with only just a ceiling fan spinning relatively slow, my room's ambient temp is about 25c-28c(yea its pretty damn warm). I found out that even when I left my PS3 to download stuff(basically idling) from the PSN store, the fan will kick up to a rather noticeable noise.

At night when my air-cond is turned on, my room temp is about 18c-22c. My PS3 at this time is pretty much "mulnaz".

I also know that the fans in the PS3 80GB and 60GB versions has higher RPM at its lowest and highes speed compared to the 40GB PS3s(though the latest revision seems to be using the same fan as the 80GB ones, not entirely sure on that).
SSJBen
post Jul 24 2008, 07:14 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(rlyp @ Jul 24 2008, 12:44 PM)
hello to all pros,

i have an inquiry

im using HDMI as my video output to my lcd tv, but for audio, i wish to play 5.1 surround ...
so my options are either get a surround amplifier + speaker (which is bloody expensive) ...as alternative, i was thinking whether i can use computer 5.1 speaker (altec,creative..etc) to play surround sound system?

and my other concern is, is there any computer speaker comes with multiple chanel? like i wanna switch between PS3 and my computer.

i understnad my problem can b resolved by getting an amplifier, but it'll cost me a lot sad.gif
sorry, if my questions sounded dumb and unclear ><... just need a piece of advise here.
QUOTE(Borneo928 @ Jul 24 2008, 01:56 PM)
same here bro i was thinking the same too, i was just wondering is it possible to connect an optical cable to a computer 5.1 speaker? cos i understand the Red and White AV cable can only produce 2.1 surround sound (correct me if i'm wrong)

help us out guys, thanks!  smile.gif
The answer is yes and no.

It depends on where and how your PC is working. RLYP, if you are using your LCD TV for your PC as well then the problem is pretty easy to resolve.

Check at the back of your PC I/O, if theres an optical cable input then you can simply just connect your PS3 to your PC directly. Your PC sound output will go through to your speakers. So whenever you play your PS3, you'll automatically get the sound from your PC itself. The downside of course is that your PC needs to be turned on(obviously) whenever you play your PS3.

You switch freely between PC and PS3 that way. Infact, this is the method I'm currently using now. Good for me, no need for custom soundtracks from the XMB, just play my music through my PC while I'm playing my PS3.

If your PC doesn't have optical in, then the only other way is to get a PC speaker which has optical in. Somewhat tedious though, as only fairly high-end 5.1 speakers have them, they are of course pretty pricey as well(not anywhere near HT amps yet though). I'm not exactly sure, but I think some speakers do have function for switching through input channels.

QUOTE(aiyish @ Jul 24 2008, 02:40 PM)
hi there pros-pros!!!

i got something...

Can i connect my darn USB maxis to the pc, and then use a long ethernet cable to connect to my ps3 to go online??

Some suggest this technique, but i dunno how about u guys with Maxis Broadband??

thnx
Yes you can. But you can expect to forget playing online anyways. Maxis BB DC like hell, internet speed is..... shakehead.gif

SSJBen
post Jul 25 2008, 02:13 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(Neo_Y @ Jul 25 2008, 11:38 AM)
actually how the gaming work on the ps3? i mean is it using the blu ray dics while playing? then what is the huge storage capacity for? save file?
besides, i know the storage capacity can use for store the media file like what we dose on pc.. just getting confuse for the gaming part..

sorry for those noob question..
Games run off the Blu-Ray disc.

I'm not going to explain the entire terminology on why the installation process on so many games for the PS3.

To keep it short and simple, games that are needed to be installed onto the PS3's HDD is due to the fact that the PS3's BD drive speed is only 2x and Blu-Ray's read speed is slow as a matter of fact compared to 360's DVD drive. This obviously will hamper load times alot and in some cases make levels load unfinished(example: Uncharted) for a few seconds.

The installation onto the PS3's HDD reduces the load time of the games on the PS3, till the point of being slightly or as fast as the same on the 360.

Need more info, PM me.
SSJBen
post Jul 25 2008, 08:50 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

Technically, the best position to place a PS3 is horizontally(lying down). When placed horizontal, the PS3 doesn't run as hot as it is being vertical. In other words, the PS3's internals are cooler when it is lying down. Trade-off is of course space. The PS3 isn't a small console to begin with.

Standing the PS3 vertically saves space, and in a way does improve your Wifi signal as well(I tested with mine, horizontal position my signal is 66-70%. Vertical position my PS3 gets 75-92% usually). Saves space and IMO, looks cooler biggrin.gif

Vertical or horizontal, my PS3 has yet to scratch any of my games yet since 5 months ago I bought it.

FYI, Blu-Ray discs has a thicker layer of protection so it isn't as vulnerable to scratches as opposed to DVDs and CDs.

This post has been edited by SSJBen: Jul 25 2008, 08:51 PM
SSJBen
post Jul 26 2008, 12:49 AM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(bitebug @ Jul 25 2008, 11:58 PM)
Wanna ask here so if i get the Asia or SG version, where do I send it to if the system has any problem?
If its Asia, then it would most probably mean it is a HK model. So send back to HK.

If SG, then Singapore obviously.

QUOTE(mAzTT @ Jul 26 2008, 12:27 AM)
Am about to take a plunge on the Metal Gear Solid 80GB Bundle, (sold by keane)

Does this one come with 4 usb ports ?
Yes, the MGS4 80GB bundle is the same as the last old 80GB bundle which comes with PS2 B/C, 4 USB ports, and card readers.
SSJBen
post Jul 26 2008, 01:12 AM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(Neo_Y @ Jul 26 2008, 01:06 AM)

So thats mean we can play those game directly which already installed onto the PS3's HDD without running the BD? Due to the lens problem, thats why i do need to ask this..
Doing research, survey and observation before having my very 1st ps3.. Thnks..
No, games which are installed onto the PS3 are mainly data caches. You will still NEED to have the BD in your drive to play the game. The game runs off from the disc. The data installed onto the HDD eases up on load-times and those unusual pop-in occlusions(example GTA4).

As for the lens problem, this is very much the luck factor here.
SSJBen
post Jul 26 2008, 07:54 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(mAzTT @ Jul 26 2008, 10:55 AM)
Ahh thank you very much for that bit of info. Unfortunately now im torn between the Hagane and the 80GB bundle..
sigh...

Ben, personally for you, which one would you pick ?
I would go for the 80GB bundle version personally. IINM, its about the same price as the Hagane 40GB. Sure the Hagane's paint job looks real good.

But I'd prefer more space and B/C(yea I know whats the use of B/C when PS2 games are.... well so "cheap" here).
SSJBen
post Jul 26 2008, 09:55 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(merajey @ Jul 26 2008, 08:31 PM)
herm...want to ask for those using the old 80gb ps3 with 4usb and card reader...r u using all the usb port??since that i've being reading at wiki telling that sony will start shipping the new configuration setup of ps3 80gb with 2usb port without card reader.....( i thought ps3 initially want to market ps3 as the next home computing device? blink.gif ) but the good news is it will reduce the price...is the card reader will come out as additional accessories?
The "new" 80GB SKU is actually not new. It is basically the current 40GB version, just with a 80GB HDD. The price will remain the same as the 40GB version currently. Think of it as a free upgrade of HDD space for new buyers. Other than that, the differences between the current 40GB version and the new 80GB SKU are mostly minor(technical differences).

If you need more USB ports, you can always go to any computer store and pick up an extra 4-in-1 USB hub with a card reader for less than RM20. So I don't see whats the issue here of having only 2 USB ports and no card readers.

QUOTE(bitebug @ Jul 26 2008, 08:49 PM)
Hagane is what region? SG? Asia?
Hagane PS3 is Jap region.

SSJBen
post Jul 27 2008, 07:26 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(dies8000 @ Jul 27 2008, 08:30 AM)
wen i played GTA4, there is some weird sound wen the disc started spinning, esp wen it is loading and in cinematic movie. other game doing just fine w/o any sound of the disc spinning. i wonder anyone has experienced it? is it normal? plz help...
Its normal. It is the drive picking up speed to spin the disc when it loads a huge chunk of data.

Happens to all games, so don't worry about it.

SSJBen
post Jul 28 2008, 03:00 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(ruztynail @ Jul 28 2008, 11:52 AM)
Guys, need some help.. its this two games that kinda show symptoms that my ps3 graphics is crashing down..

First it the oblivion GOTY game.. at only one location. The opening portal will I see a black box there.. and walking to the river around it.. I get black screen.. but its only once. Whn I restarted everytin was alright.. after tat ever since notin came out..

Now I got a 2nd hand BF- Bad company. I get more Z axis black lines and often small black boxes.. I need to tak pic of video to post it up..

Funny thing is whn I play other games.. notin like tat sort come out.. I tried MGS4 the most power hungry game we know to date. Noting. COD4 notin.. gta4 also notin..

Any ideas wat I should do? Do u think its my hardware? Or the disc? Anyone came across of this defect bfr?

Am going to benard to try the copy out later.. sigh. I don wanna buy another ps3 ler.. exp sial.

Calm down.

Its not a problem with your hardware nor the problem with the software. Its just like in many cases which is the same with PC where your PS3's RSX GPU is overheating. Causing erractic behaviours like having artifacts, geometry problems, blocked textures and so on. Not only happen on the PS3, it happens on the PC as well. So on worries, restarting your PS3 will solve the prob.

MGS4 isn't the most "power hungry" game to date btw.

QUOTE(ikan_semilang @ Jul 28 2008, 01:25 PM)

Need asking a few question:-

- Where can i get carrying bag for PS3 and how much for it?
- Where i can get HDMI - DVi cable and price for it?
Go to any game shop, should be able to find the PS3 bag you are looking for. Price probably around RM40-RM70 depending on the brand, size and what not.

HDMI-DVI cable is widely available at most computer stores, or rather in LYP itself. Price usually less than RM30, so don't pay more than that. Get the cheapest you can find.

SSJBen
post Jul 28 2008, 11:45 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(atnot @ Jul 28 2008, 10:27 PM)
Need help...

how to purchase game/add-on from uk psn? in the 1st page only mentioned about how to get game/add-on from us psn (using entropay.com) but what about uk psn? cannot use normal credit card la......

thanks..
Try using a debit card.
If not, buy from the US store. Ambank NexG works on that.

QUOTE(hagon81 @ Jul 28 2008, 11:21 PM)
i need some helps here too.
for some reason, i cant connect my internet to ps3. it is restricted to a pc (one pc per room)
So, the only way to connect my ps3 to internet is thru pc using internet sharing technique. I tried wifimax, but it seems to be not working properlly. ps3 always give DNS error.
any better brands or a working brand usb internet connector can introduce me?
USB modems don't work with PS3.

Get a router, connect your modem to it and configure the router to your PC and PS3.

QUOTE(ruztynail @ Jul 28 2008, 11:32 PM)
hopeful as it may.. the problem still persist. despite leaving it to cool for 12 hours or so.. only that particular game shows the symptoms..

wat game as it may for ps3 do u reckon is the most "power hungry"?
Well.... its hard to say, I see those geometry problems too on GT5: P, GTA4(yea I did, even if you didn't), and in one point Uncharted as well. Its not on my PS3, but I've seen them. Most of these cases is due to the RSX overheating though.... hmm.gif

What game is the most "power hungry" currently for the PS3? Well, the game you are having problems with.... Oblivion.

Bethesda claimed they optimized Oblivion on the PS3 with the Cell CPU, problem is that the game's engine takes a bigger emphasis on the GPU. Being that the RSX is a rather "crappy"(okay, bar MGS4 and Uncharted here for a moment), problems arise within the game. Don't worry about it, many people have gotten those geometry and artifacts on the game.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0412sec    0.45    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 04:41 PM