Home Theatre AV Room / Home Theatre Build Report, Build Completed, pics on Pg 6.

TSjasonlky
post Apr 10 2008, 03:42 AM

451 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Apr 10 2008, 01:28 AM)
abuthen? save $$ mar blush.gif

ah jason ar...
i went thru ur pics again, the frame is just the frame? cos i notice wood colour b4 u place ur screen, is tat the background of the frame?
Err... lemme try to explain that entire section my AV room...

That entire area is a large piece of "wooden wall" that covers that entire wall from the floor to the ceiling, the nice part that will be visible is veneered. The screen part is not veneered as it will be covered by the screen, so it is left "naked". Since cannot see, no need to waste time and money to veneer it lah.

Now the frame for the blackout cloth is just the 4 planks of wood that is cut to the correct size and then nailed & glued to the "wooden wall".

Jason biggrin.gif
TSjasonlky
post Apr 10 2008, 06:27 PM

451 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Apr 10 2008, 10:18 AM)
ohhhhhhh, kekekek thanks

so u wrap the frame with black cloth 1st or the other way?
im not very good at this, as i was thiking, if u wrap ur frame 1st, how are u gonna nail it to the wall?

wat abt the cloth joining part btwn the short and long panels, 45 degree look?
Well it depends...

If u wanna hang the frame on the wall then attach the cloth first.

If u wanna glue the frame to the wall, the install the frame first and then glue the cloth to the frame. THis is the way I did it.

It does not matter how u join the cloth coz its not really visible.

Jason biggrin.gif

ps- Ignore the guys that tell you not to DIY.. they are wimps!!!
TSjasonlky
post Apr 10 2008, 09:16 PM

451 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Apr 10 2008, 07:15 PM)
wimps , hahhahahaah laugh.gif

i would prefer hanging, but how shud i hang? like hangin a picture?

last time shudnt have ponteng kemahiran hidup sad.gif
Yes, exactly... just hang like a picture. But u gotto use heavy duty brackets and not just 1, but maybe 2 or 3. And u have to use at least 1.5-2 inch screws with wall plugs too.

Jason biggrin.gif
TSjasonlky
post Apr 10 2008, 10:45 PM

451 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Apr 10 2008, 09:46 PM)
jason, kamxia very much

i just now while beraking tot of something to ask u, but forget liao blush.gif

but if hang with bracket, will it have some space in btwn the frame and hte wall?
the frame has to be virtually on the wall, so tat the inner screen will not fall off, rite?

ascii , u do tat always is it? laugh.gif
I am not sure what brackets u have in mind, but the brackets I am talking about will mount ur frame flush against the wall. Now about your inner frame if its not a perfect fit, then there is a risk that the inner frame will still call outwards, so you may still need to secure it to the inner frame using brackets

Have a look at ur harware shop and I am sure u can find the type of brackets I am talking about.

Jason biggrin.gif
TSjasonlky
post Apr 11 2008, 10:09 AM

451 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Apr 10 2008, 11:30 PM)
got pics of the bracket ar? biggrin.gif
i am really bad at this....
but somehow, i think flush against the wall means, its backed up fully to the wall?
I am not at home so I can't take pictures of the brackets I have. I found this bracket from the internet. Its a bit small, you will need to find larger and thicker brackets, but this gives u an idea of what to look for. Come to think of it, you will need to secure the 3-4 brackets on both the top and bottom of the frame.

I also found this, removable system. Not sure if it can be found here, but I am sure that you can get it thru ebay. Its not flush against the wall but the gap is small and there is no chance for the inner frame to fall thru.
Attached ImageAttached Image

Jason biggrin.gif
TSjasonlky
post Apr 11 2008, 12:01 PM

451 posts

The 2 smaller holes screw to the back of ur frame. the big hole srew to the wall.... you may want to counter sink the bracket to be flush with the frame so that it looks neater.

Jason biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by jasonlky: Apr 11 2008, 12:03 PM
TSjasonlky
post Apr 11 2008, 12:50 PM

451 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Apr 11 2008, 12:15 PM)
ic, paham laio
tat means thebig hole is actually protuding out of the fram rite?
rite

Jason biggrin.gif
TSjasonlky
post Apr 11 2008, 02:40 PM

451 posts

i also not sure.... i guess use picture hanger as the keyword to search

Jason biggrin.gif

5 Pages « < 3 4 5Top

0.0222sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled