If someone in your family has cancer..

TSseiferalmercy
post Dec 21 2025, 10:56 PM, updated 2d ago

135 posts

How would u get funding for treatment?

Sell own home? Personal loan bank? Or just send to gomen hospital?

Someone in the family might get cancer soon, im preparing for the worst
Sha91
post Dec 21 2025, 10:58 PM

236 posts

Government hospital. Cancer is super expensive. I have a friend whose father exhausted his medical card, they transferred him to government hospital. They are rich ie. owner of petrol station still opted for government hospital at the end.
ry8128
post Dec 21 2025, 11:08 PM

♣Just a noob♣
3,650 posts

Urgent case, then private. Personally just spend 6 figure for operation last year for someone close to me, all in inlcuding a pacemaker. If not urgent, then go for gov. No point go for private if too expensive and not urgent.

And there is no such thing as might get a cancer. Cancer is either u have it or not. If your doctor not sure, then go for 2nd opinion. Time is critical and early detection makes a whole lot in saying cancer patient life
nazq
post Dec 21 2025, 11:11 PM

dead inside
1,180 posts

My late aunt got treatment at govt hospital, sometimes at university hospital. Being gomen staff helped with the cost

Other aunt currently recieving treatment at private.
smallcrab
post Dec 21 2025, 11:11 PM

140 posts

Minimum RM150k for Stage 1 or 2 cancer.
Private hosp.
Higher stage will cost more.
ridox_orimabu
post Dec 21 2025, 11:13 PM

Rightly Guided Leadership
1,873 posts

i'd buy a gun.
zerorating
post Dec 21 2025, 11:14 PM

Miskin Adab
977 posts

first, what is the patient age?
if the patient is very old, chemotheraphy are likely to kill that patient(example is my mother, she had no more cancer but become so skinny, no energy and had kidney and pancreas destroyed,pneumonia that never recover(possibility of lymph node being destroyed), she succumb to it(funny thing is the doctor wrote the death note as breast cancer, not end-stage kidney disease (she passed out during dialysis and died) or pneumonia) or the most accurate cause, chemotherapy toxicity). if very rich can go for immunotherapy which will be hella way too expensive.

This post has been edited by zerorating: Dec 21 2025, 11:22 PM
Wedchar2912
post Dec 21 2025, 11:14 PM

3,701 posts

how old is the family member? and what kind?

if above 80, I think just GH.
if young, like 50, can still consider hybrid private and then GH.

in between, all depends on the family's resources.
loserguy
post Dec 21 2025, 11:15 PM

500 posts

Cancer treatment is a long term thing. You will not be hit with a few hundred k all at once, but over a few years, it will total up to that number, maybe higher, maybe lower.

This post has been edited by loserguy: Dec 21 2025, 11:15 PM
pisces88
post Dec 21 2025, 11:18 PM

3,971 posts

HUKM.
ihm11
post Dec 21 2025, 11:19 PM

62 posts

my ma got cervical cancer, dad got colorectal cancer

both upcar ady

I was sole caretaker for my dad from diagnosis till death (9mths), treatment 97% at gleneagles jb 3% at HSI jb, total dmg ~rm120k

use private if got the $, service is fast n efficient, less stress 4 patient

gahmen hospital i really kenot lekomen, the rating i gip from bottom of my heart is oni 3/10

all STR recipients got sum kind of subsidy nao days i think, and certain private hospitals like beacon or sunway oso got their own subsidy programs but nid apply n qualify, subjected to certain types of cancers oni

alternative is sell haus sell car but sumtimes u really have to ask is it worth becos heartless as it may seem, sum cancers really oni prolonging the suffering

i went thru the entire gamut of emo rollercoaster ride so i think i shud know a bit better than most ppl who nvr went thru it b4

fyi i signed the DNR form
zerorating
post Dec 21 2025, 11:23 PM

Miskin Adab
977 posts

QUOTE(ihm11 @ Dec 21 2025, 11:19 PM)
my ma got cervical cancer, dad got colorectal cancer

both upcar ady

I was sole caretaker for my dad from diagnosis till death (9mths), treatment 97% at gleneagles jb 3% at HSI jb, total dmg ~rm120k

use private if got the $, service is fast n efficient, less stress 4 patient

gahmen hospital i really kenot lekomen, the rating i gip from bottom of my heart is oni 3/10

all STR recipients got sum kind of subsidy nao days i think, and certain private hospitals like beacon or sunway oso got their own subsidy programs but nid apply n qualify, subjected to certain types of cancers oni

alternative is sell haus sell car but sumtimes u really have to ask is it worth becos heartless as it may seem, sum cancers really oni prolonging the suffering

i went thru the entire gamut of emo rollercoaster ride so i think i shud know a bit better than most ppl who nvr went thru it b4

fyi i signed the DNR form
with insurance?
ihm11
post Dec 21 2025, 11:25 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(zerorating @ Dec 21 2025, 11:23 PM)
with insurance?
no, all cash from pocket

private hospitals hate insurance kompenis with a vengeance

if u pay cash everything will b super fast
zerorating
post Dec 21 2025, 11:27 PM

Miskin Adab
977 posts

QUOTE(ihm11 @ Dec 21 2025, 11:25 PM)
no, all cash from pocket

private hospitals hate insurance kompenis with a vengeance

if u pay cash everything will b super fast
120k doesnt seems large, but then again it could be treatment in year 1990s.
is it because you paid cash and insurance charge is different?

demn i really should focus on self-insure just incase my insurance make a mess. now only know reprice, reprice, reprice only.

This post has been edited by zerorating: Dec 21 2025, 11:29 PM
nelson969
post Dec 21 2025, 11:28 PM

323 posts

has uncle colon stage 3 out of no where

insurance medical card exhaust then go into gov hospital

my other advice for them is to immediately arrange family inheritance and funeral arrangement

and other than that spend whatever time is left on this earth

at the same time, whole family change diet, eat carefully and never sleep late
Selectt
post Dec 21 2025, 11:29 PM

wattttt!!
1,712 posts

whats the point of living if u are stucked in bed, require 247 external help. when its time to go, just go. dont prolong suffering of everyone
ihm11
post Dec 21 2025, 11:33 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(zerorating @ Dec 21 2025, 11:27 PM)
120k doesnt seems large, but then again it could be treatment in year 1990s.
is it because you paid cash and insurance charge is different?

demn i really should focus on self-insure just incase my insurance make a mess. now only know reprice, reprice, reprice only.
my dad time was in 2023, totally no insurance, all cash

but during payment time i see other ppl use insurance veli troublesome, hospital nid LOC from insurer then insurer u know lah play taichi dis treatment kenot dat 1 kenot

i see oso my head big even though not my bisnes tongue.gif
zerorating
post Dec 21 2025, 11:38 PM

Miskin Adab
977 posts

QUOTE(ihm11 @ Dec 21 2025, 11:33 PM)

but during payment time i see other ppl use insurance veli troublesome, hospital nid LOC from insurer then insurer u know lah play taichi dis treatment kenot dat 1 kenot

that is suprising, okay i should increase my emergency tabung even more. no wonder last time i went hospital, the staff said can do alot of thing(diagnostic and treatment) with rm50k cash.
GalaxyV
post Dec 21 2025, 11:43 PM

795 posts

QUOTE(ihm11 @ Dec 21 2025, 11:33 PM)

Many know insurance will taichi

Better use card

Card still needs LOC

Brapa
ultra_nyamuk
post Dec 21 2025, 11:45 PM

1,833 posts

Gh jer.. its not that bad.. but got to bear with the worn out facilities..eg beds/wards.. some of the best specialists are actually in the GH..due to the sheer volume of patients and "practice" they get

6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0152sec    0.78    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 10:55 PM