Dec 17 2025, 11:14 AM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
308 posts Joined: Oct 2004 |
There's no 2 ways of having it. You sell the house to fund the care taking, people will say "see, he quickly cash out for himself use". If you keep the house, they will say "so lucky already got house all paid for, life must be easy". In any way you choose, no need to care about what others has to say because people will say whatever they like to hear only. If you think selling the house helps you, go ahead. Decide earlier because the longer it drags, the more it hit you emotionally and add more stress. Eventually it will also affect your partner. I know you will feel bad selling what your parents bought, but if it solves your problem, it has to be done. Try the siblng sharing route 1st (I also doubt if it can work it will last for long either).
Dec 17 2025, 11:18 AM
877 posts Joined: Jan 2018 |
QUOTE(contagiouseddie @ Dec 17 2025, 11:14 AM) There's no 2 ways of having it. You sell the house to fund the care taking, people will say "see, he quickly cash out for himself use". If you keep the house, they will say "so lucky already got house all paid for, life must be easy". In any way you choose, no need to care about what others has to say because people will say whatever they like to hear only. If you think selling the house helps you, go ahead. Decide earlier because the longer it drags, the more it hit you emotionally and add more stress. Eventually it will also affect your partner. I know you will feel bad selling what your parents bought, but if it solves your problem, it has to be done. Try the siblng sharing route 1st (I also doubt if it can work it will last for long either). If I do sell the house, where would the elderly stay? |
Dec 17 2025, 11:23 AM
484 posts Joined: Jan 2010 |
QUOTE(MegaCanonF @ Dec 17 2025, 07:57 AM) I do have the family house under my name, so yeah . Guess they expecting me since "you get the house, so u pandai2 sindiri jaga" that kind of thing inform your other siblings that you will be selling the house use the money to fund it. cannot expect other sibling who didnt get the house to pitch in unless they also got something as well.but even then , the max prolly I can afford now is 2k ++ / month, definitely couldn't afford up to 4k+ monthly. once money from the house is gone, then ask the other siblings to pitch in. MegaCanonF liked this post
Dec 17 2025, 11:24 AM
308 posts Joined: Oct 2004 |
Dec 17 2025, 12:21 PM
Dec 17 2025, 01:03 PM
554 posts Joined: Apr 2006 |
Can try cagamas reverse mortgage to fund the nursing care
Dec 17 2025, 01:46 PM
100 posts Joined: Oct 2022 |
Having a private caregiver was already your first mistake, you're burning money twice as fast as sending your elderly to a nursing home..
Dec 17 2025, 01:47 PM
536 posts Joined: Oct 2010 From: 4:44 am |
Ask siblings to help financially or effort. If you pay everything, they will assume you are financially good. Saying have family is an excuse tbh. Every sibling needs to contribute. Worse is, you selloff the house and ask elderly stay with you in a smaller place - since none of the siblings are actively helping. contagiouseddie liked this post
Dec 17 2025, 01:54 PM
2,799 posts Joined: Nov 2007 From: On the beach |
Dec 17 2025, 02:10 PM
3,101 posts Joined: Dec 2007 |
QUOTE(MegaCanonF @ Dec 17 2025, 11:18 AM) Correct me if I'm wrong but you're currently hiring full time caretaker that stays with your dad? Have you considered going to elderly care center instead? Of course I'm not referring to the overcrowded with less than desirable quality of care one. |
Dec 17 2025, 02:17 PM
355 posts Joined: Aug 2014 |
Sell the house and use the money to send him to elderly care home
This post has been edited by Le Don: Dec 17 2025, 02:18 PM |
Dec 17 2025, 02:19 PM
QUOTE(Atrocious @ Dec 17 2025, 01:46 PM) Having a private caregiver was already your first mistake, you're burning money twice as fast as sending your elderly to a nursing home.. QUOTE(talexeh @ Dec 17 2025, 02:10 PM) Correct me if I'm wrong but you're currently hiring full time caretaker that stays with your dad? Have you considered going to elderly care center instead? Of course I'm not referring to the overcrowded with less than desirable quality of care one. Since me type M, sending to elderly nursing home seems to be the least preferable or the taboo option . also my fault in not foreseeing things get plateaued . QUOTE(xCM @ Dec 17 2025, 01:47 PM) Ask siblings to help financially or effort. thinking of remortgaging the house instead . is anyone have experience?If you pay everything, they will assume you are financially good. Saying have family is an excuse tbh. Every sibling needs to contribute. Worse is, you selloff the house and ask elderly stay with you in a smaller place - since none of the siblings are actively helping. QUOTE(munkeyflo @ Dec 17 2025, 01:54 PM) yes, the elderly stays with me, and the private caregiver . ppl see we nice life, but actually our merid life suffered since not much privacy . the caregiver oso need breaks n groceries/ etc which also me provide . now with reserves low, more headache to me |
Dec 17 2025, 02:22 PM
QUOTE(Le Don @ Dec 17 2025, 02:17 PM) actually the pricing for an elderly care home is more or less the same as the private caregiver . the cheapest one is shared with 6-8 bedded Wards, although yeah its cheap, but dunno la . that is the "worst come to worst option"https://www.seavoynursinghome.com/pricing/ This post has been edited by MegaCanonF: Dec 17 2025, 02:22 PM |
Dec 17 2025, 02:25 PM
5,756 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Sri Kembangan |
QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Dec 17 2025, 09:44 AM) Wait, pay 4.5k to send your elderly to nursery? Why not give up your job? Straight save 4.5k... jaga sendiri. If your salary is 5k, after income tax and everything probably less than 4.5k also. Send to daycare which means siblings house. Monday n Tuesday sibling 1. Wed n Thu sibling 2. Thu Friday sibing 3.Maybe go out do grab/food delivery for short period of time. Put camera at home. |
Dec 17 2025, 02:29 PM
QUOTE(g5sim @ Dec 17 2025, 02:25 PM) Send to daycare which means siblings house. Monday n Tuesday sibling 1. Wed n Thu sibling 2. Thu Friday sibing 3. we did tried this during the early stages when elderly was still able to walk without wheelchair . this is a good /acceptable actually that is the reason i bought a new car to facilitate the movement . but can only tahan like 6month plus b4 the elderly deteriorated n plateaued. when too much assistance needed, all siblings bailed . so even when caregiver holiday, it will always be me who wakes up at 3am to change pampers /etc |
Dec 17 2025, 02:34 PM
913 posts Joined: Mar 2011 From: Infinity & Beyond |
QUOTE(MegaCanonF @ Dec 16 2025, 10:32 PM) This thing made me no mood ady, feel kinda depressed, why am i the only one need to shoulder this burden? I can ask help from few of my siblings, but surely their excuse would be, we already have a family on our own. Damn , i dunno how i want to go through next year. Guess the earliest thing i can do is to sell off car and the house to free up commitment. I do make around 8-9k/month. But couldn’t afford to quit the job to become full time caregiver . Gg me. Hopefully not penang bridge stats next year . as you have mentioned, "I can ask help from few of my siblings, but surely their excuse would be, we already have a family on our own. " - if you are here, they x tolong, when u unalive, habis la your elderly you can try seek assistance from people like Uncle Kentang - maybe can find a care home/center for your elderly - there are those which requires lesser moneh(but location maybe more ulu/out of city center) - reach out to peeps who have similar experience to care for elderly, weight your options remember, STAY ALIVE - u can still make or do something when you are HERE. |
Dec 17 2025, 02:40 PM
1,555 posts Joined: May 2010 From: In your liver |
Is a tough conversation to take with siblings, like they may find excuses to not attend the meeting or remain silent reader in group. But at least u try first, maybe not the most equal distribution, say maybe u volunteer to pay the bigger portion while the rest pay smaller portion these should be negotiable, although feel like tak malu to ask for fund, but remember they are your family, raised up by the same father, is a tie they can't simply cut tie like unfriending someone. From here on the biggest hope to shoulder this buden is through this tough conversation u need to initiate with your siblings. MegaCanonF liked this post
Dec 17 2025, 02:43 PM
QUOTE(zero5177 @ Dec 17 2025, 02:40 PM) Is a tough conversation to take with siblings, like they may find excuses to not attend the meeting or remain silent reader in group. ya, maybe this kind of thing will need face to face rather than whatsapp. will bring this upBut at least u try first, maybe not the most equal distribution, say maybe u volunteer to pay the bigger portion while the rest pay smaller portion these should be negotiable, although feel like tak malu to ask for fund, but remember they are your family, raised up by the same father, is a tie they can't simply cut tie like unfriending someone. From here on the biggest hope to shoulder this buden is through this tough conversation u need to initiate with your siblings. |
Dec 17 2025, 02:52 PM
1,555 posts Joined: May 2010 From: In your liver |
QUOTE(MegaCanonF @ Dec 17 2025, 02:43 PM) Good luck man, tough step to initiate, but just leave the judgement at the door, sometimes it could be just we overthinking. Nothing much to lose from here, at the worst you get no extra fund and back to square 1 where you are now.Is a long commitment though like they might intentionally missed payment or sort, but nobody can judge u for what you have contributed in this portion. Is ok to feel like the bad guy asking for money while in reality you are doing good deeds for returning the favor. Don't walk the path some of our forumer took sacrificing all his prime of his life to shoulder burden of his parent alone. |
| Change to: | 0.0279sec
5 queries
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 03:00 AM |