I thought it's default formula from car guru expert?
1 year salary is the value of the car that we should buy.
Spending 1 year worth of salary on car
Dec 5 2025, 09:15 AM
35 posts Joined: Feb 2018 |
I thought it's default formula from car guru expert? 1 year salary is the value of the car that we should buy. Rusty Nail liked this post
Dec 5 2025, 09:17 AM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
2,940 posts Joined: Jan 2010 |
Dec 5 2025, 09:22 AM
3,581 posts Joined: Oct 2007 From: everywhere in sabah |
QUOTE(ah78 @ Dec 5 2025, 09:15 AM) I thought it's default formula from car guru expert? should =/= would1 year salary is the value of the car that we should buy. financially "should" follow this way to stay comfortable but people "would" not want to follow that route because that's not the car they "wanted" that's why bank set the formula of minimum 1/3 to get the loan approved comfortably 1/3 car, 1/3 house, 1/3 everything else but some people's car payment is still over 1/3 of their salary "1/3" formula is actually worse than 1 year salary formula BTW |
Dec 5 2025, 09:28 AM
304 posts Joined: Oct 2004 |
Can buy if and only if down payment is big. 240K car also comes with expensive tyres and servicing and oil if it's an ICE. People usually forgot to count that. But I do actually think that generally most gullible buyers are at the bottom end. Like supposed to buy an Axia or Saga, end up with City or Vios.
Dec 5 2025, 09:41 AM
672 posts Joined: Oct 2004 |
1st car 40k, 2nd car 80k, 3rd 120k, 4th car 160k? in 20 years...
total paid 400k edi for car... if living cost B40, can retire edi with the cash... |
Dec 5 2025, 09:42 AM
1,372 posts Joined: Mar 2013 |
QUOTE(statikinetic @ Dec 5 2025, 09:17 AM) Different markets different formula. Agreed. While in USA, it would be 6 months, here 12 to 18 months. 24 months would be too much money on a car, beyond your means.Cannot use in the Malaysia & Singapore market due to inflated car prices. Also down payment about 15-25%. Having just about 10% shows that it is too early and should save more; showing that there's too little savings to afford that particular car at the moment. To be financially prudence, loan should not be more than 5 years. 6 years is pushing it, yet still okay for a first car. Beyond the 1st car, should be financially sound to handle higher installments, keeping it less than 4 years. noien liked this post
Dec 5 2025, 09:44 AM
409 posts Joined: Apr 2019 |
I wish I don't have to buy a car and can just us mrt I saved so much money when working in Singapore Garysydney, MegaCanonF, and 2 others liked this post
Dec 5 2025, 09:48 AM
1,712 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
y not, u spend so much time on the road everyday in Msia
Dec 5 2025, 09:51 AM
120 posts Joined: May 2014 From: Kuala Lumpur |
Live a little. Buy the car you enjoy and trust me, it's a life like no other. Don't waste your money buying an MPV, SUV or heck even a Civic. (Unless it's a manual Civic like the FL1 or Type R) Go out and get a driver's car. Fk all these gurus and a holes that say save save use public transport, don't do this, don't do that, in the end they don't go anywhere, don't amount to anything. Let them live in the matrix with their shitty jobs, driving shitty cars. This post has been edited by bismaximus: Dec 5 2025, 09:56 AM masaka90 and MegaCanonF liked this post
Dec 5 2025, 09:56 AM
965 posts Joined: Apr 2006 |
Depends on the car in long term also la.. I bought a car 1 year of my salary 13 years ago.. still in great condition and only need regular maintenance servicing..
Compared to some who spent loads in conti cars, constantly paying for workshop fixes.. eventually adds up also.. plus time wasted |
Dec 5 2025, 09:56 AM
3,669 posts Joined: Apr 2006 |
QUOTE(contagiouseddie @ Dec 5 2025, 09:28 AM) Can buy if and only if down payment is big. 240K car also comes with expensive tyres and servicing and oil if it's an ICE. People usually forgot to count that. But I do actually think that generally most gullible buyers are at the bottom end. Like supposed to buy an Axia or Saga, end up with City or Vios. The main problem is that our so call local car from Proton and Perodua are way overpriced.Even the so called affordable Axia Rahmah also no longer in production when I went to Perodua center to ask about it. |
Dec 5 2025, 09:57 AM
193 posts Joined: Sep 2010 |
QUOTE(MalcomShorten @ Dec 5 2025, 12:20 AM) Sounds quite insane to me. That's the proper calculation to determine if you can afford a car. Let's say you earn RM240k a year and you buy a RM240k car, you literally have spent your entire year's worth of hard work just to buy something that brings you from point A to point B. Imagine that, 1 whole year of suffering all goes into 1 thing. If you consider this from a disposable income perspective, that's even worse! After reducing tax and all other living expenses for the year, you could be only left with RM5k a month and that's considering you aren't the spendthrift type. You would have spent at least 3 years of your life, working hard just to purchase that car. I discounted 1 year for bonus, increment, and investment income, which is more than generous. What do you guys think? 3 years worth of blood sweat and tears for a car, worth it? In reality, most Malaysian would actually be spending more than 5 years worth of blood, sweat, and tears on a car cause most either buy a car worth more than their 1 year salary, took long loans with high interest, or have a super low disposable income because of commitments. So if your annual salary is 120K (10K a month) then the car you can afford is 120K. Most people spend more than 3 years of salary in car, just because bank approves it doesn't mean they can really afford the car. |
Dec 5 2025, 10:02 AM
555 posts Joined: Aug 2013 From: Bolehland |
Jangan kedekut sgt dgn wang sendiri Spend sudeh, later youll be 50+ yrs old in no time and still be stingy af sampai mampos masaka90, MegaCanonF, and 1 other liked this post
Dec 5 2025, 10:03 AM
5,483 posts Joined: Feb 2009 |
QUOTE(MegaCanonF @ Dec 5 2025, 08:20 AM) I drive cheap car now so that I can save up to afford more expensive car in future QUOTE(ry8128 @ Dec 5 2025, 09:12 AM) Instruction unclear, got a 10 years old BMW 5 series Rusty Nail liked this post
Dec 5 2025, 10:03 AM
8,652 posts Joined: Sep 2005 From: lolyat |
one year salary is fine, so many fresh graduate earning RM3k+ and driving Axia/Bezza/Saga which cost more than the annual salary
For some job it require the staff to have a car to travel around to get sales or to go client office/factory. The car probably bring more job opportunity for the person. If u are earning RM50k annually and go buy BMW 3 series of RM250k, then yes that is a big financial mistake. |
Dec 5 2025, 10:10 AM
1,872 posts Joined: Aug 2006 From: Singapore & KL |
mana millionaire tapi drive axia?
Dec 5 2025, 10:11 AM
4,491 posts Joined: Mar 2014 |
Dec 5 2025, 10:21 AM
36 posts Joined: Jan 2022 |
QUOTE(Fantasia @ Dec 5 2025, 12:32 AM) 1 year of salary for car in Malaysia is considered very conservative due to high car price. Many Malaysians pay much more for car. My friend earns 3k per month is driving a Toyota vios while my paid is more than double of his and I drive Proton Iriz Iris and Persona is very good car. |
Dec 5 2025, 10:23 AM
414 posts Joined: Jun 2022 |
so buy house not stupid?
pay 25 years just for a roof over your head. |
Dec 5 2025, 10:36 AM