Can request TNB check meter before tukar nama?
TSPorkycorgi5588
Nov 10 2025, 12:14 AM, updated 2w ago

TLDR, Imma be a home owner soon.
However, I noticed that the house that I am buying got old TNB sticker and looks like pernah potong electric.
How do I get TNB to come and have a look, certify everything A-OK before tukar nama?
I heard some people get fined by TNB before for tampering with meter etc. in similar situation where they move into property without knowing the meter got messed with before
sadlyfalways
Nov 10 2025, 06:26 AM
Just call them. I also kena 15k fine a year after move in
COOLPINK
Nov 10 2025, 07:34 AM
You can go to nearest TNB office and request them to check the meter for tempering. Show them pictures of the suspected old meter.
If still using old meter, request them to change it as they will check the old meter before changing the new one.
Check meter they very efficient one so no need to wait long for it.
desmond2020
Nov 10 2025, 07:38 AM
the outstanding will still tie to your address
what is the point?
KenM
Nov 10 2025, 07:47 AM

QUOTE(desmond2020 @ Nov 10 2025, 06:38 AM) the outstanding will still tie to your address what is the point? isn't the outstanding is former owner responsibility, but they won't change until the outstanding is paid?.. the normal procedure to buy a second hand home, is the lawyer will ask for all utility bills and ensure that all is paid before transferring to you ( the new owner)?.. if there's outstanding, it's deemed as not to proceed with the snp?..as proceeding means you are willing to accept the responsibility
anakkk
Nov 10 2025, 07:50 AM
your lawyer no ask the previous owner to clear the bill first?
lj0000
Nov 10 2025, 07:54 AM
good move. in case previous owner mod meter
COOLPINK
Nov 10 2025, 08:03 AM
QUOTE(desmond2020 @ Nov 10 2025, 07:38 AM) the outstanding will still tie to your address what is the point? You are right but its always advisable to protect yourself and mitigate the circumstances as TS has not yet change name. By doing this he has evidence for legal option to claim back from the previous owner and negotiate with TNB as he is not the perpetrator.
galkelly
Nov 10 2025, 08:04 AM
Better have them come and check. Otherwise later anything masuk your bil dy
Mel2
Nov 10 2025, 08:12 AM
I think, yes, can call tnb to check..
At least there's a record to prove that they have checked it in case you're accused of tampering the meter in the future..
I've called them over to check for "electricity leakage" because my tnb bill was too high..😂
Good service, i must say, they turned up... helped to check ... And confirmed nothing wrong with the meter or wiring issues.
nihility
Nov 10 2025, 08:51 AM
The utility accounts such as Air, IWK, TNB, and TM/Maxis must be registered under the new owner’s name. A new application is required, along with the necessary documents such as your IC, SPA, and other supporting forms.
For TNB, do not agree to simply reconnect the fuse under the previous owner’s account. The issue is not merely non-payment. Under TNB’s SOP, when outstanding charges exceed the security deposit, the supply will be cut. This previous disconnection is a relatively minor concern.
The major risk to avoid is any potential dispute related to meter tampering, which falls under the Electricity Supply Act 1990.
If TNB detects irregularities or tampering, they may issue a back-billing claim—and such claims can go back up to 6 years under the Limitation Act 1953. The financial implications can be substantial, and in most cases, consumers end up on the losing end.
To safeguard yourself, request a meter verification or a new smart meter installation during the Change of Tenancy process. Be present during the meter handover or installation, and take clear photographs of the meter’s condition, including the reading, seals, and serial number.
This documentation is important because any future inspection will rely heavily on evidence of the meter’s condition at the time you took over.
By completing a proper Change of Tenancy, providing your SPA, and documenting the meter condition, you establish a clear “start date” of your responsibility and limit any future disputes to the period after you became the legal owner.
jojolicia
Nov 10 2025, 09:28 AM
Go Tnb, new account new meter. No need check check old meter.
You hope old account no outstandings. If have go back to your lawyer. In any case, walk in local Tnb soonest as in when seller handover keys as per your lawyer notice. You share or own lawyer?
This post has been edited by jojolicia: Nov 10 2025, 09:42 AM
knwong
Nov 10 2025, 09:46 AM
Why buy old house? Where?
lemon5969
Nov 10 2025, 10:30 AM
Im using old meter. Last 3 month just tukar to meter digital. Bill lagi cheap yoo.
YoungMan
Nov 10 2025, 10:53 AM
I suggest you get the previous owner to terminate electricity. After handover, you apply new account and ask for new digital meter if house still using old meter. No need to carry any risk from old owner's account.
BladeRider
Nov 10 2025, 11:32 AM
Tumpang space for asking question. If I brought a flat in different state, the tnb still the old owner name, can I apply to change the tnb name online of from the state where I'm staying now?
TS, how you plan to change the name? Going to TNB office?
ScooterBoi
Nov 10 2025, 02:33 PM
QUOTE(BladeRider @ Nov 10 2025, 11:32 AM) Tumpang space for asking question. If I brought a flat in different state, the tnb still the old owner name, can I apply to change the tnb name online of from the state where I'm staying now? TS, how you plan to change the name? Going to TNB office? Your lawyer should get this done when purchasing the property. Aside from land title transfer, the lawyer can arrange the name transfer for water and electricity utilities and also indah water and town council (for cukai pintu). The outstanding bills are paid first by the previous owner or deducted by the lawyer.
ScooterBoi
Nov 10 2025, 02:59 PM
QUOTE(Porkycorgi5588 @ Nov 10 2025, 12:14 AM) TLDR, Imma be a home owner soon. However, I noticed that the house that I am buying got old TNB sticker and looks like pernah potong electric. How do I get TNB to come and have a look, certify everything A-OK before tukar nama? I heard some people get fined by TNB before for tampering with meter etc. in similar situation where they move into property without knowing the meter got messed with before Aside from the land/property title transfer (which of course any outstanding in the cukai tanah would be cleared first), the lawyer can transfer too the utilities and other bills tied to the property. Then only you accept vacant procession of the house. Then only you check whether the tnb meter is running accurately after staying there a few months, then only you call a electrician if it's not accurate (based on your own estimation of your consumption and the monthly bill) or make complain to tnb of meter rosak.
soonwai
Nov 10 2025, 04:20 PM
QUOTE(BladeRider @ Nov 10 2025, 11:32 AM) Tumpang space for asking question. If I brought a flat in different state, the tnb still the old owner name, can I apply to change the tnb name online of from the state where I'm staying now? TS, how you plan to change the name? Going to TNB office? You can do Change of Tenancy online at MyTNB website. Can refer here: https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...ost&p=112059198I did for my FIL's house in August. I think should complete this month.
TSPorkycorgi5588
Nov 10 2025, 08:35 PM

QUOTE(ScooterBoi @ Nov 10 2025, 02:59 PM) Aside from the land/property title transfer (which of course any outstanding in the cukai tanah would be cleared first), the lawyer can transfer too the utilities and other bills tied to the property. Then only you accept vacant procession of the house. Then only you check whether the tnb meter is running accurately after staying there a few months, then only you call a electrician if it's not accurate (based on your own estimation of your consumption and the monthly bill) or make complain to tnb of meter rosak. outstanding cukai tanah all cleared. IWK, I need to pay. Air selangor and TNB, I can just do new account. but what happens to existing account at the same address though:?