Wifi coverage for 1000sqft

TSzero5177
post Oct 24 2025, 12:12 PM, updated 2 months ago

Sixth Sense Unlocked
1,552 posts

Hi I need advise on my home Wifi network coverage in 1000sqft condo

Problem : In living room using 5Ghz network I can get full speed 500mbps, but when I moved to Bedroom 2 or Master room I can only get <10% of the speed even with full Wifi signal with help from Mesh extender RE305 connected via WPS. Even with 2.4Ghz netowork I observed more than 50% drop in speed when I use it at bedroom 2 or master bedroom.

Current machine : Unifi provided D-link AX3000 @ Living room TV area marked in red
Extender : TP-link RE305 plugged at Bedroom 2 marked in red

I tried seek opinion from TP-link official store in Lazada, they suggested to me to get TP-Link Deco X20 or X50 2 units, 1 put next to main modem and another replacing the position in my bedroom 2, but before I actually invest in to this which may cost me about RM600+ anyone can give some opinion about this setup? I don't want to end up spent half k with no convincing result, I'm aiming at 80% speed at those dead zone if that is realistic.

pysh
post Oct 24 2025, 12:25 PM

382 posts

dont use extender but use a proper mesh

This post has been edited by pysh: Oct 24 2025, 12:25 PM
SourLemons
post Oct 24 2025, 12:27 PM

223 posts

mesh , extender, dan lain lain will never win ethernet cable. Any possibility to do some hardwiring ?
BOTAK_WAI
post Oct 24 2025, 12:33 PM

Blow Water First Class
4,140 posts

best position for 1 strong wifi router to cover whole house
kopiride
post Oct 24 2025, 12:42 PM

782 posts

Along the years, I have accumulated routers from internet subscription. What I do is just connect a lan cable from main router, then plug into the wan port in another router near my room. So I will connect to my room router wifi instead. I don't even need to spend a dime, except buying lan cable 20M cat8. I can't figure out why people want to waste money on mesh.

For your case, If u going my way, I believe u can route the lan cable behind your tv cabinet from the floor, then up to your balcony curtain hiding the wires behind the rail, then come back down on the floor edge and go to master room.
Or u can go further over the door edge to your bedroom 2.

If u have false ceiling that has opening, easier to hide the cable
Gargamel_gibson
post Oct 24 2025, 01:06 PM

526 posts

Check wifi channel. Change to clear channels

This post has been edited by Gargamel_gibson: Oct 24 2025, 01:06 PM
yamin07
post Oct 24 2025, 01:25 PM

74 posts

Wifi extender can only transmit max speed that it receives. If you place it somewhere with weak signal, it can only extend that weak signal. So change and play around with the extender placement if possible. Easier if you install some wifi analyzer app on your phone and look at the wifi signal strength at the place you want.
19 Degree South
post Oct 24 2025, 01:28 PM

1,674 posts

even with mesh you can maybe improve another 30% speed in room.
lj0000
post Oct 24 2025, 01:49 PM

2,198 posts

moving the router to center of condo will greatly help.
TSzero5177
post Oct 24 2025, 02:01 PM

Sixth Sense Unlocked
1,552 posts

QUOTE(pysh @ Oct 24 2025, 12:25 PM)
dont use extender but use a proper mesh
I see comment like this from some of my research but I don't quite get what this means because Extender they also call it Mesh
Is it something like this?

QUOTE(SourLemons @ Oct 24 2025, 12:27 PM)
mesh , extender, dan lain lain will never win ethernet cable. Any possibility to do some hardwiring ?
Understand cable is the real winner, but I need the Wifi for multiple devices and I also don't want to keep changing network when I walk in/out of a room.

QUOTE(BOTAK_WAI @ Oct 24 2025, 12:33 PM)

If I don't want to pull cable to reach this position, then this should be the desired location for the additional Mesh unit?

QUOTE(kopiride @ Oct 24 2025, 12:42 PM)
Along the years, I have accumulated routers from internet subscription. What I do is just connect a lan cable from main router, then plug into the wan port in another router near my room. So I will connect to my room router wifi instead. I don't even need to spend a dime, except buying lan cable 20M cat8. I can't figure out why people want to waste money on mesh.

For your case, If u going my way, I believe u can route the lan cable behind your tv cabinet from the floor, then up to your balcony curtain hiding the wires behind the rail, then come back down on the floor edge and go to master room.

Understand cable is most stable, but I hope to do it clean, concealing wiring all those also involve cost and if leave it open it doesn't look pleasant + trapping dusts. I don't hope to achieve 100%, but I'll be pretty happy to get 70% from the full speed, Maybe I consider positioning extender Mesh outside bedroom 2

QUOTE(yamin07 @ Oct 24 2025, 01:25 PM)
Wifi extender can only transmit max speed that it receives. If you place it somewhere with weak signal, it can only extend that weak signal. So change and play around with the extender placement if possible. Easier if you install some wifi analyzer app on your phone and look at the wifi signal strength at the place you want.
Ok this gives me an idea how to play around the positioning, will install Wifi Analyzer to help with positioning.

pysh
post Oct 24 2025, 02:16 PM

382 posts

QUOTE(zero5177 @ Oct 24 2025, 02:01 PM)
I see comment like this from some of my research but I don't quite get what this means because Extender they also call it Mesh

yes this is a type of mesh.. its usually much expensive than extender because itself, its also a full capability router..
it duplicates what you have as master within range..
with extender, you only extend what is left to you..
Momo33
post Oct 24 2025, 02:18 PM

1,448 posts

QUOTE(zero5177 @ Oct 24 2025, 01:12 PM)

Problem : In living room using 5Ghz network  I can get full speed 500mbps, but when I moved to Bedroom 2 or Master room I can only get <10% of the speed even with full Wifi signal with help from Mesh extender RE305 connected via WPS. Even with 2.4Ghz netowork I observed more than 50% drop in speed when I use it at bedroom 2 or master bedroom.

Current machine : Unifi provided D-link AX3000 @ Living room TV area marked in red

I tried seek opinion from TP-link official store in Lazada, they suggested to me to get TP-Link Deco X20 or X50 2 units, 1 put next to main modem and another replacing the position in my bedroom 2, but before I actually invest in to this which may cost me about RM600+ anyone can give some opinion about this setup? I don't want to end up spent half k with no convincing result, I'm aiming at 80% speed at those dead zone if that is realistic.
i ask Ai .
It sounds like you want to know about your expected mesh speed with a dual-band system, a wireless backhaul, and one concrete wall.

With a 500 Mbps internet connection, a dual-band mesh system, a wireless backhaul, and one concrete wall, your expected speed at the satellite mesh node will likely be in the range of 75 Mbps to 150 Mbps.

1. is it possible you move your main router to get line of sight with re305 and test speed.
unifi guy did give me about 15 feet extra play/fiber.

that ax3000 d dink seem weak
i tested my case only tplink AX73 /place in hall, 500mbps ,tested 25 feet away , in room same floor , behind a thick concrete wall , I lost 20 % speed. on AC .
and tested in my upstairs room get max 30 % lost speed.

This post has been edited by Momo33: Oct 24 2025, 07:59 PM
jmas
post Oct 24 2025, 02:26 PM

I can edit title???
828 posts

QUOTE(zero5177 @ Oct 24 2025, 02:01 PM)

Understand cable is the real winner, but I need the Wifi for multiple devices and I also don't want to keep changing network when I walk in/out of a room.
If I don't want to pull cable to reach this position, then this should be the desired location for the additional Mesh unit?
Understand cable is most stable, but I hope to do it clean, concealing wiring all those also involve cost and if leave it open it doesn't look pleasant + trapping dusts. I don't hope to achieve 100%, but I'll be pretty happy to get 70% from the full speed, Maybe I consider positioning extender Mesh outside bedroom 2
Ok this gives me an idea how to play around the positioning, will install Wifi Analyzer to help with positioning.
quickest way to test is to put your extender there, should somewhat improve your wifi
yamin07
post Oct 24 2025, 03:12 PM

74 posts

If using android, I suggest this app for checking wifi signal:
https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?...em.wifianalyzer

No ads, easy to use, it also show details about other wifi signal in the area. You can then adjust wifi settings on your router to avoid congested channels.
jusbella
post Oct 24 2025, 03:14 PM

3,031 posts

Use better wired AP and mount to ceiling, get few AP to install at different location for best coverage.

You can use Ruckus AP or Ruijie AP or Cambium AP.
Everdying
post Oct 24 2025, 04:00 PM

Two is One and One is None.
30,730 posts

tldr.
either move the main further down so it's opposite dining table...
or move extender so its more in line with main... which is in front bathroom.
pretty sure at current setup...wifi analyzer is not gonna show anything good in 2nd room... especially going thru 2 walls...

1000sqft isnt big and a good router can easily cover it provided if nothing much is blocking...or much interference from other neighbors wifi channels...
zerorating
post Oct 24 2025, 04:12 PM

Miskin Adab
970 posts

have a look on transparent optical solution.

mesh solution helps, but you need to look at other factor like wifi congestion especially if you are living in condo. anyway what you ask is unreliastic. you must expect speed drop in place with weak signal.

This post has been edited by zerorating: Oct 24 2025, 04:14 PM
GamersFamilia
post Oct 24 2025, 04:37 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,733 posts

Use lan cable, pay wiring guy to do proper wiring to your room, that's will solve the problem
ramzi87
post Oct 24 2025, 04:57 PM

This is the best and cheapest option that you can try. (If you have extra fiber cable /LAN cable)

If you can let us know how many device (more detail the better) then can we can best advice if spending on a new hardware if worth it or not. Unifi provided router is so basic that it is much worth it to invest for a good router if the current does not suit your requirement.
KitZhai
post Oct 24 2025, 05:02 PM

372 posts

Apply another line. Inside the bedroom
Medufsaid
post Oct 24 2025, 06:03 PM

3,485 posts

Use lan cable, pay wiring guy to do proper wiring to your room, that's will solve the problem
i just DIY and wire it in. of course neither this nor wiring guy will solve "ugly" or "dust" issue

dest9116
post Oct 24 2025, 06:06 PM

495 posts

Mesh router/extender is bullshit la

Its not magic, its basically a wifi extender only. Without a solid backbone (aka ethernet/lan cable), the speed will be halved due to laws of physics. Now even have routers advertise using the 6ghz band for the backbone to solve this issue but 6ghz band is even worse at penetrating walls, so it's another bullshit gimmick.

You need a single high powered router smack in the middle, either tp link top router or Asus top router which will cost you few k, if u wish for 80% speed meaning 400mbps

This post has been edited by dest9116: Oct 24 2025, 06:13 PM
GamersFamilia
post Oct 24 2025, 07:24 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,733 posts

QUOTE(dest9116 @ Oct 24 2025, 06:06 PM)
Mesh router/extender is bullshit la

Its not magic, its basically a wifi extender only. Without a solid backbone (aka ethernet/lan cable), the speed will be halved due to laws of physics. Now even have routers advertise using the 6ghz band for the backbone to solve this issue but 6ghz band is even worse at penetrating walls, so it's another bullshit gimmick.

You need a single high powered router smack in the middle, either tp link top router or Asus top router which will cost you few k, if u wish for 80% speed meaning 400mbps
Are you using one of the router you mentioned? Which model is that? Care to share 🐝🐝🐝
Momo33
post Oct 24 2025, 07:57 PM

1,448 posts

QUOTE(GamersFamilia @ Oct 24 2025, 08:24 PM)
Are you using one of the router you mentioned? Which model is that? Care to share 🐝🐝🐝
i use a tplink ax73 /500mbps line place in house center / near stairs of my double storey 24x70
and getting about 300mbps and higher on wifi .
There are 4 antennas for AX/AC band . so 2 focus on 1 st floor , 2 focus on ground .

i am sure the Asus AX6000 or RT-AX86U Pro can do the job too. but cost is bit higher .

This post has been edited by Momo33: Oct 24 2025, 08:03 PM
ktek
post Oct 24 2025, 07:58 PM

小喇叭
13,187 posts

skip any cheap mesh. use tplink omoda ap (some supports mesh is u insist)
ktek
post Oct 24 2025, 08:00 PM

小喇叭
13,187 posts

QUOTE(Medufsaid @ Oct 24 2025, 06:03 PM)
i just DIY and wire it in. of course neither this nor wiring guy will solve "ugly" or "dust" issue

nail susah. got ppl introduce me wire clip that uses double side tape. i found in daiso.

easy. toolless
Medufsaid
post Oct 24 2025, 08:02 PM

3,485 posts

ktek good tip... no holes to putty fill if no longer using
ktek
post Oct 24 2025, 08:03 PM

小喇叭
13,187 posts

QUOTE(yamin07 @ Oct 24 2025, 03:12 PM)
If using android, I suggest this app for checking wifi signal:
https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?...em.wifianalyzer

No ads, easy to use, it also show details about other wifi signal in the area. You can then adjust wifi settings on your router to avoid congested channels.
i use wifiman. branded product app & easy to understand
ktek
post Oct 24 2025, 08:08 PM

小喇叭
13,187 posts

ur method works. we call this router acting as ap (access point)
ulet
post Oct 24 2025, 08:11 PM

1,698 posts

QUOTE(zero5177 @ Oct 24 2025, 12:12 PM)

Problem : In living room using 5Ghz network  I can get full speed 500mbps, but when I moved to Bedroom 2 or Master room I can only get <10% of the speed even with full Wifi signal with help from Mesh extender RE305 connected via WPS. Even with 2.4Ghz netowork I observed more than 50% drop in speed when I use it at bedroom 2 or master bedroom.

for 1000sqft condo and same floor, just get a better wifi router and no need this extender or mesh.
even tplink ax73 is powerful enough for this layout
ktek
post Oct 24 2025, 08:18 PM

小喇叭
13,187 posts

since u got budget 500 or so.
i would begin from replace dlink router (bottleneck) to tenda tx or rx 12. it cost about 200. fairly easy to setup wizard provided.
stock wifi cover big area d (limited to minimal interfere zone),

2nd option to max out budget, buy tplink eap225-outdoor (must be outdoor model). able cover one school block using smart tv in classrooms.
mushigen
post Oct 24 2025, 08:30 PM

4,949 posts

Condo memang problematic due to walls.

I use Asus Tuff AX-4200, can get whole coverage for my 1200ft² condo.
I was prepared to add another asus router via AI mesh, but it's not required.
GamersFamilia
post Oct 24 2025, 08:36 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,733 posts

QUOTE(Momo33 @ Oct 24 2025, 07:57 PM)
i use a tplink ax73 /500mbps line    place in  house center / near stairs of my double storey  24x70 
and getting about  300mbps  and higher  on wifi  .
There are 4 antennas  for  AX/AC  band .  so  2 focus on 1 st floor , 2 focus on ground .

i am sure the Asus AX6000  or RT-AX86U Pro  can do the job too.  but cost is bit  higher .
Currently im using standard tm unifi router, not sure what model or brand but lately thinking to get a good router but my max budget not more than rm1.5k, at the same time didnt know which one is the best and powerful since im not expert in this matter 🐝🐝🐝
Momo33
post Oct 24 2025, 08:41 PM

1,448 posts

QUOTE(GamersFamilia @ Oct 24 2025, 09:36 PM)
Currently im using standard tm unifi router, not sure what model or brand but lately thinking to get a good router but my max budget not more than rm1.5k, at the same time didnt know which one is the best and powerful since im not expert in this matter 🐝🐝🐝
whats your house configuration .
2 storey ?
or Apartment or ?
floor plan

Router placement in critical.
what speed ur fiber ?

GamersFamilia
post Oct 24 2025, 09:22 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,733 posts

QUOTE(Momo33 @ Oct 24 2025, 08:41 PM)
whats your house configuration .
2 storey ? 
or Apartment or ? 
floor plan

Router placement in critical.
what speed ur fiber ?
2 storey average size bungalow house, 500mbps, all bed room on the 2nd floor, usually all family members will be using or surfing net at 2nd floor which the router located, only sometimes on the 1st floor

Router on 2nd floor, centre facing all room
Momo33
post Oct 24 2025, 09:39 PM

1,448 posts

QUOTE(GamersFamilia @ Oct 24 2025, 10:22 PM)
2 storey average size bungalow house, 500mbps, all bed room on the 2nd floor, usually all family members will be using or surfing net at 2nd floor which the router located, only sometimes on the 1st floor

Router on 2nd floor, centre facing all room
As u did not mention any speed issues , or weak signal/low speed location.
i assume u ok.

i guess u getting about 300 mbps in rooms on second floor
and about 200 on the ground floor .
use your best fastest phone to test .

if above is about true speed figures then go for the Asus Asus AX6000 or RT-AX86U Pro
you may get about 50 to 100 mbps on top of old router

GamersFamilia
post Oct 24 2025, 09:53 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,733 posts

QUOTE(Momo33 @ Oct 24 2025, 09:39 PM)
As  u did not mention any speed issues , or  weak signal/low speed  location.
i assume u ok.

i guess u  getting  about  300 mbps  in rooms on second floor
and about 200 on the ground floor .
use your best fastest phone to test . 

if above is about true speed  figures then go for the Asus  Asus AX6000  or RT-AX86U Pro
you may get  about 50 to 100 mbps on top of old router
Yes, no complaint bout the speed, yea i guess i will go for the router you suggested, just make it better
xHj09
post Oct 24 2025, 11:09 PM

Your Friendly Neighborhood
1,614 posts

you can consider using celcomdigi 1Gbps to get free FTTR. TIME also offers it if not wrong.

fibre to the room, they'll use super thin fibre line and you get basically full speed entire house.
Panda12
post Oct 24 2025, 11:21 PM

1,107 posts

QUOTE(xHj09 @ Oct 25 2025, 12:09 AM)
you can consider using celcomdigi 1Gbps to get free FTTR. TIME also offers it if not wrong.

fibre to the room, they'll use super thin fibre line and you get basically full speed entire house.
I was about to say this. Time FTTR.

You wont even notice the cables running round your walls.

https://www.time.com.my/for-home/gig-speed-home
msacras
post Oct 24 2025, 11:30 PM

1,766 posts

RC shear wall is faraday cage which trap and block most of the signals.

Try to run wired between the walls
imalmighty
post Oct 25 2025, 12:13 PM

mic test
729 posts

Why so many pipu judge TS requirement? I bet TS is very well aware that wired is superior, yet still many captain obvious despite serious kopitiam

Nothing wrong with wireless, I suggest you look into two triband units and try for yourself. Why triband? So that you can have a dedicated wireless backhaul that is mostly reserved for communication among routers(Asus aimesh), client won't eat into available wireless bandwidth.

As dest9116 mentioned, 6GHz's wall penetration capability is inherently inferior, so try to get two units of router with this setup, two 5GHz radios and one 2.4GHz radio.

This post has been edited by imalmighty: Oct 25 2025, 12:16 PM
momusu
post Oct 25 2025, 03:17 PM

~morning musume fanboy~
812 posts

Ceiling mounted wifi router?
GamersFamilia
post Oct 25 2025, 08:32 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,733 posts

QUOTE(momusu @ Oct 25 2025, 03:17 PM)
Does it make any difference? 🤔🐝🤔🐝🤔
afoka
post Oct 25 2025, 08:35 PM

313 posts

lan cable maa...not any house can hide it well
andyng38
post Oct 26 2025, 09:13 AM

2,398 posts

when on 2.4GHz, try experimenting with different channels and see if it can improve matters in the other rooms. wifi from external 2.4GHz sources on the same channel can cause congestion, slowing down your network.
andrekua2
post Oct 26 2025, 04:25 PM

13,465 posts

Forget about using 2.4ghz in a condo... only 11 channels available and everyone turned on dual channel. Interference on 2.4ghz is too great unless you really need to connect smart home devices.

5Ghz should have no problem reaching your room unless you use a thick metal based door. You dont even need to move the router imo. Just place it on the edge of the living room wall nearing your rooms. That should do it.

If still got problem, then login to your router and see can lower the 5ghz channel to dual digits like 40, 44 or 48. That would help.

This post has been edited by andrekua2: Oct 26 2025, 04:26 PM
jimmylim85
post Oct 26 2025, 09:26 PM

iPhone world....
7,820 posts

Recently bought a ASUS TUF AX6000 from Shopee for rm 400 brand new. Fantastic coverage and able to support my 1GBps package without issue. Main reason to get this is because it have 4x4 transmit 5Ghz band and 4x4 2.4GHz Band. It have 6 antennas. I have no faith in TPLINK
GamersFamilia
post Oct 27 2025, 04:54 AM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,733 posts

QUOTE(jimmylim85 @ Oct 26 2025, 09:26 PM)
Recently bought a ASUS TUF AX6000 from Shopee for rm 400 brand new. Fantastic coverage and able to support my 1GBps package without issue. Main reason to get this is because it have 4x4 transmit 5Ghz band and 4x4 2.4GHz Band. It have 6 antennas. I have no faith in TPLINK
Care to share link, thinking to upgrade mine too 🐝🐝🐝
jimmylim85
post Oct 27 2025, 09:16 AM

iPhone world....
7,820 posts

QUOTE(GamersFamilia @ Oct 27 2025, 04:54 AM)
Care to share link, thinking to upgrade mine too 🐝🐝🐝
Sadly is sold out. Probably stock clearance sales. Cause this model if not mistaken came out in 2023.

https://my.shp.ee/L4861JE

Alternatively can consider TUF AX4200 pricing around rm 420-450. It’s a 3x3 antenna band configuration which is good. BlackTubi had review this model and give very positive feedback on performance. Normally those AX3000 provided by ISP are just barebones specification with 2x2 antenna bands which limits its potential speed and performance. Those days we thought Broadcom chipset is the best turns out Mediatek ain’t bad either. Worst experience I’ve had is TP-LINK AX20 AX3000 using Intel chipset.
anakkk
post Oct 27 2025, 09:23 AM

2,111 posts

while yellow is the best spot, but you dont wana pull cable to there, so I think is better to add another 2 at the green spot.

GamersFamilia
post Oct 27 2025, 09:57 AM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,733 posts

QUOTE(jimmylim85 @ Oct 27 2025, 09:16 AM)
Sadly is sold out. Probably stock clearance sales. Cause this model if not mistaken came out in 2023.

https://my.shp.ee/L4861JE

Alternatively can consider TUF AX4200 pricing around rm 420-450. It’s a 3x3 antenna band configuration which is good. BlackTubi had review this model and give very positive feedback on performance. Normally those AX3000 provided by ISP are just barebones specification with 2x2 antenna bands which limits its potential speed and performance. Those days we thought Broadcom chipset is the best turns out Mediatek ain’t bad either. Worst experience I’ve had is TP-LINK AX20 AX3000 using Intel chipset.
I'll go for asus, i will google both variants that you recommend, thank you 🙂🐝🐝🙂
pgsiemkia
post Oct 27 2025, 10:05 AM

470 posts

I live in 3 storey hse. I invested in 4 mesh Decos, one in each floor and also in my working room. Setel. Buy masa 11/11, 12/12.

Less than 1k investment, T20 /k level, btw.

mushigen
post Oct 27 2025, 11:52 AM

4,949 posts

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Oct 26 2025, 04:25 PM)
Forget about using 2.4ghz in a condo... only 11 channels available and everyone turned on dual channel. Interference on 2.4ghz is too great unless you really need to connect smart home devices.

5Ghz should have no problem reaching your room unless you use a thick metal based door. You dont even need to move the router imo. Just place it on the edge of the living room wall nearing your rooms. That should do it.

If still got problem, then login to your router and see can lower the 5ghz channel to dual digits like 40, 44 or 48. That would help.
Unfortunately 5GHz memang very weak for condo use. I'm using Asus Tuff 4200 which is known good signal, and it's struggling with 5GHz. Just one wall will be enough to cut down the signal drastically.
jimmylim85
post Oct 27 2025, 01:40 PM

iPhone world....
7,820 posts

QUOTE(GamersFamilia @ Oct 27 2025, 09:57 AM)
I'll go for asus, i will google both variants that you recommend, thank you 🙂🐝🐝🙂
Yeah, ASUS have one of the best router in the market. It’s AiMesh is one of the most user friendly setup where you can use any model router to pair AiMesh unlike some brand require the same model.

QUOTE(mushigen @ Oct 27 2025, 11:52 AM)
Unfortunately 5GHz memang very weak for condo use. I'm using Asus Tuff 4200 which is known good signal, and it's struggling with 5GHz. Just one wall will be enough to cut down the signal drastically.
Try play around with the 5GHz channels. If you require wide area try use 80Mhz for few walls as 160MHz gives you the best speed throughput but short range. Usually I use channel 60 or channel 160 for DFS.
GamersFamilia
post Oct 27 2025, 01:53 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,733 posts

QUOTE(jimmylim85 @ Oct 27 2025, 01:40 PM)
Yeah, ASUS have one of the best router in the market. It’s AiMesh is one of the most user friendly setup where you can use any model router to pair AiMesh unlike some brand require the same model.
Yes, definitely go for asus 🙂🐝🙂
Kiding
post Oct 27 2025, 02:05 PM

1,134 posts

QUOTE(momusu @ Oct 25 2025, 03:17 PM)
I'm using tp link ceiling mount wifi 7 AP mounted at the center of condo unit, just a single AP powered by POE covers entire 1150 square feet area.

the best position for the layout in this thread is installing ceiling mounted WIFI 7 AP nearby dining area, it will covers all corners.

the ceiling mounted WiFi 7 AP looks similar like below model

https://www.omadanetworks.com/my/business-n...g-mount/eap723/
GamersFamilia
post Oct 27 2025, 05:47 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,733 posts

QUOTE(Kiding @ Oct 27 2025, 02:05 PM)
I'm using tp link ceiling mount wifi 7 AP mounted at the center of condo unit, just a single AP powered by POE covers entire 1150 square feet area.

the best position for the layout in this thread is installing ceiling mounted WIFI 7 AP nearby dining area, it will covers all corners.
the ceiling mounted WiFi 7 AP looks similar like below model

https://www.omadanetworks.com/my/business-n...g-mount/eap723/
If wall mount how? Put slightly higher 🤔🐝🐝🤔
JimbeamofNRT
post Oct 27 2025, 06:12 PM

the Original Lanji@_ Chicken Rice Shop Since 2002
1,902 posts

You can consider ASUS RT-AX59U AX4200
RM327 only

ASUS RT-AX59U AX4200 DUAL BAND WIFI 6 AIMESH ROUTER

review
https://www.blacktubi.com/review/asus-rt-ax59u/

ASUS RT-AX59U Review: AX4200 with a sleek design

- comes with 5 internal antenna
- MIMO technology
2.4GHz 2x2
5GHz 3x3
- 128 MB Flash,512 MB RAM , should be able to handle normal traffics+
- got USB 3.2 Gen 1 x 1, USB 2.0 x 1

This post has been edited by JimbeamofNRT: Oct 27 2025, 06:13 PM
JimbeamofNRT
post Oct 27 2025, 06:18 PM

1,902 posts

QUOTE(imalmighty @ Oct 25 2025, 12:13 PM)
Why so many pipu judge TS requirement? I bet TS is very well aware that wired is superior, yet still many captain obvious despite serious kopitiam

Nothing wrong with wireless, I suggest you look into two triband units and try for yourself. Why triband? So that you can have a dedicated wireless backhaul that is mostly reserved for communication among routers(Asus aimesh), client won't eat into available wireless bandwidth.

As dest9116 mentioned, 6GHz's wall penetration capability is inherently inferior, so try to get two units of router with this setup, two 5GHz radios and one 2.4GHz radio.
I think cheapest ASUS triband wifi router brand new would be ASUS RT-BE92U, around RM1150
With this spec I think it should last for another 5 years plus and beyond

2.4GHz 3x3
5GHz 2x2
6GHz 2x2
256 MB Flash and 1 GB DDR4 RAM

JimbeamofNRT
post Oct 27 2025, 06:24 PM

1,902 posts

QUOTE(GamersFamilia @ Oct 24 2025, 04:37 PM)
lan cable would be pretty ugly, FTTR is the way to go now, looks neat and tidy

GamersFamilia
post Oct 27 2025, 07:16 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,733 posts

QUOTE(JimbeamofNRT @ Oct 27 2025, 06:24 PM)
lan cable would be pretty ugly, FTTR is the way to go now, looks neat and tidy

I just knew bout this fttr transparent optical cable, wonder how much does it cost? Yea it definitely looks neat and tidy 🐝👍
jimmylim85
post Oct 27 2025, 07:33 PM

iPhone world....
7,820 posts

QUOTE(JimbeamofNRT @ Oct 27 2025, 06:18 PM)
I think cheapest ASUS triband wifi router brand new would be ASUS RT-BE92U, around RM1150
With this spec I think it should last for another 5 years plus and beyond

2.4GHz 3x3
5GHz 2x2
6GHz 2x2
256 MB Flash and 1 GB DDR4 RAM

With just 2x2 transmission unable to push higher speed. And 6Ghz is almost pointless for big space. It only work best in very short distance without wall blocking signal. Higher frequency gives us larger packet transmission but lose out on distance cause the higher the frequency the shorter the signal is. Thats why all IoT devices uses 2.4Ghz heavily.
JimbeamofNRT
post Oct 27 2025, 08:10 PM

1,902 posts

QUOTE(jimmylim85 @ Oct 27 2025, 07:33 PM)
With just 2x2 transmission unable to push higher speed. And 6Ghz is almost pointless for big space. It only work best in very short distance without wall blocking signal. Higher frequency gives us larger packet transmission but lose out on distance cause the higher the frequency the shorter the signal is. Thats why all IoT devices uses 2.4Ghz heavily.
in that case, better get ROG Rapture GT-AX11000 PRO ( RM2,100 )

Tri-band Wi-Fi: 2.4 GHz / 5 GHz-1 / 5 GHz-2

2.4GHz 4x4
5GHz-1 4x4
5GHz-2 4x4

256MB NAND flash and 1GB DDR4 RAM

---------

in minute 14:00 , can see that guy do the speed test outside the house. demmmm

This post has been edited by JimbeamofNRT: Oct 27 2025, 08:22 PM
JimbeamofNRT
post Oct 27 2025, 08:26 PM

1,902 posts

QUOTE(GamersFamilia @ Oct 27 2025, 07:16 PM)
I just knew bout this fttr transparent optical cable, wonder how much does it cost? Yea it definitely looks neat and tidy 🐝👍
TIME offer the FTTR service to their 500Mbps, 600Mbps and 1Gbps subscribers.

https://www.time.com.my/for-home/gig-speed-home?

GamersFamilia
post Oct 27 2025, 08:44 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,733 posts

QUOTE(JimbeamofNRT @ Oct 27 2025, 08:26 PM)
TIME offer the FTTR service to their 500Mbps, 600Mbps and 1Gbps subscribers.

https://www.time.com.my/for-home/gig-speed-home?

That's good, at least i knew time got such service, currently im on unifi, still get good speed from my room 😉🐝
JimbeamofNRT
post Oct 27 2025, 08:48 PM

1,902 posts

QUOTE(GamersFamilia @ Oct 27 2025, 08:44 PM)
That's good, at least i knew time got such service, currently im on unifi, still get good speed from my room 😉🐝
as long the ping is low, should be allright. what router you are using now, if u dont mind sharing the info with us?
westernkl
post Oct 27 2025, 08:50 PM

552 posts

I like your idea, can u draw in pictures for better understanding?
JimbeamofNRT
post Oct 27 2025, 09:08 PM

1,902 posts

- because router degraded over time. stock router are notorious on this part.

- because not everyone have same house layout like yours

- i cant stand to see fugly cables around my house. even it is a white flat LAN cables

what makes you think buying CAT 8 cables can guarantee you better speed?

Cat 8 lan cables delivers 40 Gbps speeds and 2GHz bandwidth

your stock router cant even get that speed bro. it is like using pirelli p zero on kancil 660 automatic

This post has been edited by JimbeamofNRT: Oct 27 2025, 09:10 PM
GamersFamilia
post Oct 27 2025, 09:32 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,733 posts

QUOTE(JimbeamofNRT @ Oct 27 2025, 08:48 PM)
as long the ping is low, should be allright. what router you are using now, if u dont mind sharing the info with us?
Just unifi standard router only, forgot what brand, soon will be upgrading to asus tuf ax4200

The current router just infront of my room only 🙂🐝
jimmylim85
post Oct 28 2025, 12:05 AM

iPhone world....
7,820 posts

QUOTE(JimbeamofNRT @ Oct 27 2025, 08:10 PM)
in that case, better get ROG Rapture GT-AX11000 PRO ( RM2,100 )

Tri-band Wi-Fi: 2.4 GHz / 5 GHz-1 / 5 GHz-2

2.4GHz 4x4
5GHz-1 4x4
5GHz-2 4x4

256MB NAND flash and 1GB DDR4 RAM

---------

in minute 14:00 , can see that guy do the speed test outside the house. demmmm
Dual 5Ghz band is good for AiMesh wireless setup as the second 5Ghz act as backhaul transmission for mesh router to avoid sharing bandwidth with first 5Ghz which bound with all your devices. Honestly I won’t spend 2K on a router when gaming. I’m happy with my current TUF AX6000 setup. Cause my AiMesh is link via Ethernet cable for backhaul usage. Besides my PCIE WiFi card is Intel AX210 which is WiFi6E way sufficient.
kopiride
post Oct 28 2025, 02:25 AM

782 posts

QUOTE(JimbeamofNRT @ Oct 27 2025, 09:08 PM)
- because router degraded over time. stock router are notorious on this part.

- because not everyone have same house layout like yours

- i cant stand to see fugly cables around my house. even it is a white flat LAN cables

what makes you think buying CAT 8 cables can guarantee you better speed?

Cat 8 lan cables delivers 40 Gbps speeds and 2GHz bandwidth

your stock router cant even get that speed bro. it is like using pirelli p zero on kancil 660 automatic
its obvious that is your problem and is just my suggestion which i am using btw. Works wonder, cheap and good. Cat 8 cables are cheap now. I don't see any wrong going for Cat 5 or 6 but i just like Cat 8. Again your problem doesnt mean is other peoples problem. Some might like my suggestion.
why do i care about router degration. Every 2,3 years ISP changes for you. FIFO. Best thing is it works 100% without issue. U dig? cool2.gif
kopiride
post Oct 28 2025, 02:33 AM

782 posts

QUOTE(westernkl @ Oct 27 2025, 08:50 PM)
I like your idea, can u draw in pictures for better understanding?
pretty hard to draw for you. Which part you are not clear?
JimbeamofNRT
post Oct 28 2025, 08:13 AM

1,902 posts

QUOTE(jimmylim85 @ Oct 28 2025, 12:05 AM)
Dual 5Ghz band is good for AiMesh wireless setup as the second 5Ghz act as backhaul transmission for mesh router to avoid sharing bandwidth with first 5Ghz which bound with all your devices. Honestly I won’t spend 2K on a router when gaming. I’m happy with my current TUF AX6000 setup. Cause my AiMesh is link via Ethernet cable for backhaul usage. Besides my PCIE WiFi card is Intel AX210 which is WiFi6E way sufficient.
it is kinda overkill, but might be useful for those who have plenty of iot devices, especially on landed property

any specific reason why u dont use lan cable to your pc?

This post has been edited by JimbeamofNRT: Oct 28 2025, 08:14 AM
jimmylim85
post Oct 29 2025, 11:50 AM

iPhone world....
7,820 posts

QUOTE(JimbeamofNRT @ Oct 28 2025, 08:13 AM)
it is kinda overkill, but might be useful for those who have plenty of iot devices, especially on landed property

any specific reason why u dont use lan cable to your pc?
Not really, even how many IoT devices you had, most of it connects to your 2.4GHz band. Modern WiFi6 router design to handle around 256 connection.

My own preference against using LAN due limited bandwidth to 1Gbps even though provide the lowest ping ms but somehow WiFI6 protocol able to mitigate this issue hence WiFI6 especially the ones to connect to pci express lane able to max out 2.4Gbps (requires 160mhz band) and my gaming experience had zero issue. Besides less one cable to worry about lightning damage. Although my modem router are protected by Belkin SurgeMaster.

0.0246sec    0.35    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 05:49 AM