Pusaka Kecil, Anyone has experience?

TSjex-koi
post Jul 22 2025, 09:05 AM, updated 5 months ago

273 posts

if someone passes away with or without a will, what is the best process to claim assets ? Assets < RM2million

Can proceed to do "Pembahagian Pusaka Kecil" ? Or maybe go through AmanahRaya ?

for "Pembahagian Pusaka Kecil". I read in few years old post, some did it and waited a few months for it to be processed. https://www.jkptg.gov.my/my/pembahagian-pusaka-kecil

Read some good info here : https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=60544132

Please share your experience.

This post has been edited by jex-koi: Jul 22 2025, 09:42 AM
serdangonline
post Jul 22 2025, 09:24 AM

140 posts

If you have immovable property, you can apply for pusaka kecil. Get all the land details and you have fill the online form at jkptg website. If you do by amanah raya, they also will fill up the form on your behalf. Later on, it's just the same process, just u pay extra for their services.
TSjex-koi
post Jul 22 2025, 09:38 AM

273 posts

how about movable property, like car ?
soulknight
post Jul 22 2025, 09:43 AM

549 posts

QUOTE(jex-koi @ Jul 22 2025, 09:38 AM)
how about movable property, like car ?
Can use pusaka kecil as well, where you can just discuss with your family members and lantik one of yours as executors and then after pusaka kecil completed, you can go to JPJ for change of name. Also pusaka kecil for the total assets total value less than 5M.
sohailayhun
post Jul 22 2025, 10:21 AM

132 posts

Just hired a lawyer to do it for u. Amanah Raya damn mahkawfan...need paper work, proof, cert, a to z.....i just give up.
ScooterBoi
post Jul 22 2025, 10:52 AM

1,372 posts

That topic linked is 15 years old and some posts are correct.

Pejabat Pusaka Kecil is the authority in the Distribution Act. If you hired lawyers or amanah raya, they still have to go through this pejabat. Unless the inheritance is more than 5 million, then it will be the High Court which you will really need a lawyer.

Pejabat Pusaka Kecil... many many years ago and depending on the location/state, some were dragging their feet for duit kopi before releasing the letter of administration.
There were changes since then and now they even publish standard guide lines listing the procedures and what documents are needed and how many copies for submission to begin the process.

Some even have their own new building. If not doing it online for more info, go there...

ScooterBoi
post Jul 22 2025, 11:03 AM

1,372 posts

QUOTE(soulknight @ Jul 22 2025, 09:43 AM)
Can use pusaka kecil as well, where you can just discuss with your family members and lantik one of yours as executors and then after pusaka kecil completed, you can go to JPJ for change of name. Also pusaka kecil for the total assets total value less than 5M.
There is a form to fill in all assets - including bank accounts, cars, etc.

soulknight
post Jul 22 2025, 11:21 AM

549 posts

QUOTE(ScooterBoi @ Jul 22 2025, 11:03 AM)
There is a form to fill in all assets - including bank accounts, cars, etc.
Yes, need all the bank statements and all related docs to be verified and stamped as original copy before can submit to the pusaka kecil. Before this all the process a bit hassle as you need to submit all the docs physically at the pejabat pusaka. The new system allows all docs to be uploaded directly and the processing is faster.
nexona88
post Jul 22 2025, 11:39 AM

The Royal Club Member
48,418 posts

Nowadays the valuations till 5mil MYR

As long got House, shops like that... Related to land...

You good to go... Everything online application & documents summit....
Agent 45
post Jul 22 2025, 01:36 PM

934 posts

Hi, firstly u need to compile all the related doc, like death cert, house & car geran, bank account statement, FD cert, share statement, insurance policy & etc. Then go to myland.gov.my, register an account and fill in the details there, then upload all the doc. After that print out the application form and get it stamp at any pesuruhjaya sumpah near u, and then reupload the stamped doc. They will call u once its ready for hearing. I just received the grant or probate letter recently, the process took around 6months and they charged me around RM1.2k before released the probate letter.
ScooterBoi
post Jul 22 2025, 01:55 PM

1,372 posts

QUOTE(soulknight @ Jul 22 2025, 11:21 AM)
Yes, need all the bank statements and all related docs to be verified and stamped as original copy before can submit to the pusaka kecil. Before this all the process a bit hassle as you need to submit all the docs physically at the pejabat pusaka. The new system allows all docs to be uploaded directly and the processing is faster.
Good to hear that the documents can be submitted online now.

I think the process became easier 10-15 years back when govment departments introduced KPI.

Immigration got deadline on issuing passports, pejabat pusaka got deadline to hold hearing after they accepted all completed documents and deadline on issuing the letter after the hearing.

If it take months to get the letter after the hearing... maybe should voice out in forums... because some offices are slow, some are better run with better services and more friendly faces at the counter.

("KPI stands for key performance indicator, a quantifiable measure of performance over time for a specific objective.")

soulknight
post Jul 22 2025, 01:57 PM

549 posts

QUOTE(ScooterBoi @ Jul 22 2025, 01:55 PM)
Good to hear that the documents can be submitted online now.

I think the process became easier 10-15 years back when govment departments introduced KPI.

Immigration got deadline on issuing passports, pejabat pusaka got deadline to hold hearing after they accepted all completed documents and deadline on issuing the letter after the hearing.

If it take months to get the letter after the hearing... maybe should voice out in forums... because some offices are slow, some are better run with better services and more friendly faces at the counter.

("KPI stands for key performance indicator, a quantifiable measure of performance over time for a specific objective.")
I've submitted my docs back on 2020, then they put it somewhere and forgot about it. My case only completed in 2023 after many times calling here and there to get it resolved.
ScooterBoi
post Jul 22 2025, 01:58 PM

1,372 posts

QUOTE(Agent 45 @ Jul 22 2025, 01:36 PM)
Hi, firstly u need to compile all the related doc, like death cert, house & car geran, bank account statement, FD cert, share statement, insurance policy & etc. Then go to myland.gov.my, register an account and fill in the details there, then upload all the doc. After that print out the application form and get it stamp at any pesuruhjaya sumpah near u, and then reupload the stamped doc. They will call u once its ready for hearing. I just received the grant or probate letter recently, the process took around 6months and they charged me around RM1.2k before released the probate letter.
The amount charged for stamp duty is based on the value of the property.

Clueless07
post Jul 22 2025, 02:19 PM

1,367 posts

QUOTE(Agent 45 @ Jul 22 2025, 01:36 PM)
sound ok ma....
Take longer la.... with will also take 3 month. i recall paying around 7k to lawyer.

ScooterBoi
post Jul 22 2025, 02:21 PM

1,372 posts

QUOTE(soulknight @ Jul 22 2025, 01:57 PM)
I've submitted my docs back on 2020, then they put it somewhere and forgot about it. My case only completed in 2023 after many times calling here and there to get it resolved.
This is really bad. This is like more than 20 years back what I experienced. That time before things went online. And the pejabat is in another district, Banting (Kuala Langat). The hearing was at pejabat tanah, Klang.

Some years back, Klang got its own pejabat in a new standalone building with own parking. Very convenient and friendly services.

That time, same as you... called several times. During the last call, I mentioned that I already file a complain at the town council when it held a meet-the-public campaign.

Oso mentioned that I'm not in any hurry... it is a family home and not in any hurry to sale. I think he got the picture... pointless for him to delay further.

Then only the letter was sent to pejabat tanah, Klang for collection. And the letter was dated months ago, about 2-3 weeks after the date of hearing.

At the hearing... even more funny. The officer keep asking irrelevant questions where I work, how far the travel distance, how often stop by police and how I handle the traffic summons. LOL 😆

soulknight
post Jul 22 2025, 02:29 PM

549 posts

QUOTE(ScooterBoi @ Jul 22 2025, 02:21 PM)
This is really bad. This is like more than 20 years back what I experienced. That time before things went online. And the pejabat is in another district, Banting (Kuala Langat). The hearing was at pejabat tanah, Klang.

Some years back, Klang got its own pejabat in a new standalone building with own parking. Very convenient and friendly services.

That time, same as you... called several times. During the last call, I mentioned that I already file a complain at the town council when it held a meet-the-public campaign.

Oso mentioned that I'm not in any hurry... it is a family home and not in any hurry to sale. I think he got the picture... pointless for him to delay further.

Then only the letter was sent to pejabat tanah, Klang for collection. And the letter was dated months ago, about 2-3 weeks after the date of hearing.

At the hearing... even more funny. The officer keep asking irrelevant questions where I work, how far the travel distance, how often stop by police and how I handle the traffic summons. LOL 😆
In my case, I'm staying at Dengkil, and my case under Penang Pusaka kecil. quite far away to go there. New rules, I read that you can create a new pusaka case at the pusaka office nearest to your home. As for the calling them, they introduce whatsapp number now for faster response. Phone call they wont entertain, but wsp they did reply. Maybe too shy to talk. doh.gif
afoka
post Jul 22 2025, 02:33 PM

313 posts

hire lawyer jer bang. terus naik High Court.

pusaka kecil takes long time la dey.

below 2 million case file already massive backlog der at pusaka kecil. Hakim pun nk muntah...lol
soulknight
post Jul 22 2025, 02:45 PM

549 posts

QUOTE(afoka @ Jul 22 2025, 02:33 PM)
hire lawyer jer bang. terus naik High Court.

pusaka kecil takes long time la dey.

below 2 million case file already massive backlog der at pusaka kecil. Hakim pun nk muntah...lol
Go high court only if more than 5M and need to spend some money first. Pusaka kecil u can do urself and their process these days would take about 2-3 months only compared to the old time where can take years.
ScooterBoi
post Jul 22 2025, 03:02 PM

1,372 posts

QUOTE(soulknight @ Jul 22 2025, 02:29 PM)
In my case, I'm staying at Dengkil, and my case under Penang Pusaka kecil. quite far away to go there. New rules, I read that you can create a new pusaka case at the pusaka office nearest to your home. As for the calling them, they introduce whatsapp number now for faster response. Phone call they wont entertain, but wsp they did reply. Maybe too shy to talk.  doh.gif
Yeah, first time doing it... there was so little info... people pushing lawyer lawyer lawyer. Even at the pesuruhjaya sumpah to chop the photostat copies as true copies, he said can introduce his son, a lawyer, for quicker completion.

At that time, I was adamant to do it myself. Was very fedup with kutu and runners... go to JPJ, got runners... go renew passport, got kutu queuing as early as 5am for numbers and then selling the queue numbers.

This is what's in mind... if the distribution under the Distribution Act is the same as what is in mind who are the beneficiaries, then don't write will. Let Pejabat Pusaka Kecil handle the distribution. (Bear in mind this is for total assets less than 5 million.)

soulknight
post Jul 22 2025, 03:26 PM

549 posts

QUOTE(ScooterBoi @ Jul 22 2025, 03:02 PM)
Yeah, first time doing it... there was so little info... people pushing lawyer lawyer lawyer. Even at the pesuruhjaya sumpah to chop the photostat copies as true copies, he said can introduce his son, a lawyer, for quicker completion.

At that time, I was adamant to do it myself. Was very fedup with kutu and runners... go to JPJ, got runners... go renew passport, got kutu queuing as early as 5am for numbers and then selling the queue numbers.

This is what's in mind... if the distribution under the Distribution Act is the same as what is in mind who are the beneficiaries, then don't write will. Let Pejabat Pusaka Kecil handle the distribution. (Bear in mind this is for total assets less than 5 million.)
Pusaka Kecil a bit relax, not like court. If court, u need written statement for those who release their share of the harta pusaka. Pusaka kecil, you just need to explain properly on how the distribution plan that you've agreed with your family member.

0.0181sec    0.55    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 01:27 PM