Lower arm, anyone change them self?

bo093
post Jul 23 2025, 09:38 PM

1,185 posts

QUOTE(Zhik @ Jul 22 2025, 09:01 AM)
My city gm6 has change the suspension before but still got sound.
I thk he dint change the lower arm that time.
It has been 11 years.
Do u advice to change it ourself?
Or buy part and change at mechanic shop? What is the damage?
Or just change at mechanic shop?
Oem or original better?
change what part of the suspension before this?
sure 11 years, but have you done any diagnostic?
how do you know is the lower arm making noise?

TSZhik
post Jul 23 2025, 09:45 PM

eeerrrmmmnnn, stupidity has no limit?
1,228 posts

QUOTE(speedy3210 @ Jul 23 2025, 09:01 PM)
you mentioned on 1st post that your car still have sound. What sound is that coz sometimes it wasn't suspension sound. also where did it come from, front or rear? It may well be brake caliper sound but you go change the entire suspension in hope to solve something it is not and waste money in doing so.
The car age 11 year old. Ya, the sound is from front, when crossing the bump and also uneven bump.
The steering inclined to one side that time due to broken suspension bush.
I tot i have changed whole set front suspension for the 1st time. The mechanic dint changed the lower arm previously.
Brake caliper? No la, i just done the inspection and testing when i changed the brake oil myself recently.
guest54321
post Jul 24 2025, 02:03 PM

186 posts

QUOTE(Zhik @ Jul 23 2025, 09:45 PM)
The car age 11 year old. Ya, the sound is from front, when crossing the bump and also uneven bump.
The steering inclined to one side that time due to broken suspension bush.
I tot i have changed whole set front suspension for the 1st time. The mechanic dint changed the lower arm previously.
Brake caliper? No la, i just done the inspection and testing when i changed the brake oil myself recently.
I suggest you bring your car to a workshop with a suspension tester.

Just like your case, I changed the whole front suspension but the creaking sound is still there. Yet to fix it.
TSZhik
post Jul 24 2025, 04:59 PM

eeerrrmmmnnn, stupidity has no limit?
1,228 posts

QUOTE(guest54321 @ Jul 24 2025, 02:03 PM)
I suggest you bring your car to a workshop with a suspension tester.

Just like your case, I changed the whole front suspension but the creaking sound is still there. Yet to fix it.
Where to find those noise check mechanic?
guest54321
post Jul 24 2025, 10:01 PM

186 posts

QUOTE(Zhik @ Jul 24 2025, 04:59 PM)
Where to find those noise check mechanic?
I know Scrut Auto in jln ampang got the machine.
zuozi
post Jul 24 2025, 10:43 PM

1,267 posts

Don't go for fake oem lower arm , most cheapo lower arm the camber is horrible either too much negative or too positive position, unless is adjustable by default , so you need to know what you buying, as usual cheap things no good, good thing not cheap

If you want diy sure and you can, if you have no dea how tight should be/bolt one time use or not all this can be found on workshop manual, don't do things agak2 if this is your first time everything have their own proper way to do it , oh ya cordless impact wrench mostly the battery expensive than the machine

Basically for diy you still need many proper tools which also ain't cheap at all at the end so, is really depends your hobby

basic tools is needed or don't need at all depends your experience

I take 1 or 2 photo for Example
tighten with impact air/electric wrench then remaining tighten with torque wrench , most have 2 set impact wrench as u can see max 350 torque if i set level 2 should be around 200 ish torque then the remaining torque using torque wrench to finish the job if i need greater torque for loosening larger bolt i will use the other set impact wrench greater then 560 torque , but bkful not all bolt and nut can handle higher torque some bolt will just snap then lagi susah if stuck inside need to use extractors

Then torque wrench also most have 3 set, since mid range torque wrench the higher the number the harder to adjust because the loaded spring getting tighter for me i will just get larger number torque wrench much easier to adjust this 3 set alone also ain't cheap already i mean already cost you few K if kira with cordless impact wrench etc

Then breaker bar useful for stubborn bolt but also need to use it properly if not breaker bar break liao the bolt also not loosen up, breaker bar usually come with few size 18 , 24 then 30 inch, or you can use L bar with steel pipe will do the job too if you know what u doing

Then low profile car jack then jack stand then impact socket for impact purpose etc all this cost money
Glhf if u want diy , unless you really like it then is well spends for all this tool

This post has been edited by zuozi: Jul 24 2025, 10:54 PM
cempedaklife
post Jul 25 2025, 10:14 AM

Master Decoy
4,361 posts

buy ori parts from honda genuine stockist
go to honda specialist workshop to change.
any workshop also can if you trust them.

0.0124sec    0.46    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 01:11 AM