Frugal partner

MasBoleh!
post Jul 31 2025, 05:09 PM

3,599 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jul 22 2025, 04:24 PM)
Minimum 50% savings rate.
Using phones until they are obsolete (banking app no longer support) or dead or too slow
Able to shop second hand, buy pre loved clothing, buy reduce to clear fruits and veges.
Wait for discount to buy things.
Know what is expensive.
No fancy facial, aesthetic treatment or fancy makeup.
No branded items.
Able to choose a RM500 rental Vs a RM1500 rental. This one shows me that she is being frugal even though she damn well can afford the RM1500 place.
Appreciate just walking in parks
Able to eat at kopitiam or economy rice stall.
Able to say no to overseas holiday to save up for the future.
No Starbucks, mixue, chatime, no netflix.
how many properties do you owned? Respect to you, I can't be that frugal even if i wanted to.
MasBoleh!
post Jul 31 2025, 05:27 PM

3,599 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jul 23 2025, 07:00 AM)
There is a fine line between frugal and stingy. Being frugal means you are able to pay more for quality items. I don't know how to differentiate stingy and fungal until one girl pointed out to me.
I don't want Chinese educated girls as my furure wife. I want they are like in their own world. Men must be provider. If you cannot be the provider you fail already lo. That is my believe.
Sorry, do you mind explaining the different between stingy and frugal? You said frugal can pay more for quality items, can you give an example? Because you were sharing this:
Minimum 50% savings rate.
Using phones until they are obsolete (banking app no longer support) or dead or too slow
Able to shop second hand, buy pre loved clothing, buy reduce to clear fruits and veges.
Wait for discount to buy things.
Know what is expensive.
No fancy facial, aesthetic treatment or fancy makeup.
No branded items.
Able to choose a RM500 rental Vs a RM1500 rental. This one shows me that she is being frugal even though she damn well can afford the RM1500 place.
Appreciate just walking in parks
Able to eat at kopitiam or economy rice stall.
Able to say no to overseas holiday to save up for the future.
No Starbucks, mixue, chatime, no netflix.

What sort of quality items you talking about by being frugal?

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jul 26 2025, 06:01 PM)
Exception maybe honeymoon use wedding expenses to earn miles. After that likely no overseas trip until FIRE. We both agreed for delayed gratification. Being FIRE is more important to use than spending money.
I wanna asked but someone edi asked. So your aim is 45, you really reminded me someone that I know. smile.gif

Seriously I think we can set up a Whatsapp group to discuss biggrin.gif
MasBoleh!
post Jul 31 2025, 10:04 PM

3,599 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jul 31 2025, 09:53 PM)
I don't do properties or intend to own properties as
1. You pay lots of tax. I prefer to be tax free or pay as much minimum tax as possible. I tend to pay zero tax except for maybe car tax and tax for my parents. That's all. Zero income tax.
2. Having a property means you are locking substantial amount of your money in ringgit which is a bad idea as it is a depreciation currency.
Never sacrifice your health. For me, I buy and shipped lots of wild blue berries and other black/purple berries and high quality Japanese green tea from overseas as buying form Malaysia means paying extra 200-500% more. This is willing to pay for your health.

Few way I can think of are
1. Pay only RM40 for phone bill Vs paying few hundred for phone bill
2. Buying reduce to clear stuff as majority of them are still in very good.
3. Buying the same  food when they are offering 50% discount as it is the end of the day.
4. Using a RM10 ugly shoes that last for like 1y+ Vs fancy shoes paying few hundred.
5. Using budget airline vs normal economy, business or first class even though can afford economy.
6. Know when is something is expensive
7. Buying bulk to save cost.
I only know LEAN and FAT FIRE.
This is where our strategy is different. Well, you are right about the taxes. Your second point, I beg to differ. I knew it is a depreciation currency, that's why I opted for property due to its "wealth retainer" nature. This is provided I don't invest in wrong properties, otherwise Holland is the way I go biggrin.gif so this is one of my investing style to fight against currency depreciation, I left very less MYR with me, either in properties or in oversea.

If you don't intend to purchase any property, when old age stay where? Your fiancé also agreed with you on this?

You really crazy... haha. So well thought. I wanna emulate from you also can't notworthy.gif

QUOTE(Cubalagi @ Jul 31 2025, 09:42 PM)
There is frugal and there is FIRE frugal.

Frugal is living below your means, usually saving 10-30% of ones income monthly. This one is already tough for many people as can see people bank account gone at end of month.

FIRE frugal is living WAAY below your means, This is saving  more than 50%, maybe like 70% of ones income monthly.
For me, everything in life must be balance. Must learn to save but at the same time also have fun. What's the point of saving so much then later can't live long enough to enjoy the fruits? Future is important but present is equally important imo

This post has been edited by MasBoleh!: Jul 31 2025, 10:08 PM
MasBoleh!
post Aug 1 2025, 01:29 AM

3,599 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jul 31 2025, 10:42 PM)
Why would you want to retain wealth in ringgit when you can do it with other better currencies?

You buy say RM500k of property in Malaysia will not retain your wealth as much as RM500k in Singapore banks. When you invest in properties especially for rental you have to income tax, all kind of taxes. I don't get that with overseas stocks

Yes she agreed. Continue staying parents house.

That's why be healthy. That is why I focus a lot on healthcare prevention.There are ways to be healthy and continue to enjoy life Vs enjoying health and eat so call "atas food".
Because my root is here. I have this belief that our foundation aka root must be strong and stable, then only we are capable of progressing well in other sectors/fields. Which mean I will have better concentration on the current defined short-term and long-term goals, even though migration is a topic that is involved and may happens in future 10 years or less.
So i focus on setting up a strong foundation first, then need to chase back the lost time in investments.

However, imo having property is not all bad. First of all, tenant helped to fund one of the houses. It's true there will be some taxes involved, the biggest will be income tax, I can use the bank interest rate to offset that income tax.

Tell me, yea you got a lot of so-called liquid assets, but when old age, what you gonna do? You still eventually need a place to stay... be it right now or in future. You paying rental = paying for someone else mortgage instalment, it doesn't mean the money can be saved to invest into equities.

And the RM 500k not directly from my pocket, it is from Bank and currently my tenant is repaying back, so I don't see any problem. And I am saying in the context, provided the said property's rental able to cover both mortgage payment, maintenance fees and some other housing taxes. Otherwise, it is a different story.

Ramjade, I still got more to learn from you... from financial management to investing to healthy lifestyle smile.gif And you and Dreamer101 have been preaching to transfer and save in foreign stable currencies since many years ago, time has proven both of you 100% right. thumbsup.gif over the past 10 years, the MYR has weakened about 14.5% against SGD.

This post has been edited by MasBoleh!: Aug 1 2025, 01:35 AM
MasBoleh!
post Aug 2 2025, 01:16 PM

3,599 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Aug 1 2025, 07:23 AM)
Got nothing to do with roots. Roots is not as important as protecting your hard earned income.

I am staying in my parents house.

If you want to talk about tenant paying for your house/condo, come on. If you loan is say RM700-800k, and they are paying only say RM1500/month = RM18k p.a = 2.57%p.a or 2.25%p.a

I can get easily 4% with Singapore banks and Singapore banks are helping me to own the shares. Same concept

You do you, I do me.

Anyway off topic about keeping your money in Malaysia or overseas.

Back to topic of finance with spouse. Very important that future spouse and you be on the same page. He or she must know your financial capability and your loans. Live within expectations of each other salary. Whether want to combine salary or separately need to sit down properly and discuss it out.

Highly recommend anyone getting married or in boyfriend and girlfriend stage to seat down and read this book altogether.
https://www.amazon.com/Eight-Dates-Essentia...e/dp/1523504463
Noted bro. I will read that book notworthy.gif

0.0140sec    0.52    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 09:50 PM