4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

⚡️ 💵 TNB new ToU scheme for Domestic Low Voltage, To subscribe or not?

soonwai
post Aug 22 2025, 02:16 PM

11,450 posts

QUOTE(Kelefeh @ Aug 22 2025, 01:18 PM)
once applied tou cannot change back right
Can. Pay RM10 stamp duty again.
soonwai
post Aug 22 2025, 05:28 PM

11,450 posts

QUOTE(RiriRuruRara @ Aug 22 2025, 02:56 PM)
Thanks for sharing. My kwh for last month was 850. Don’t understand what you mean by 63% peak usage but will try to read up about it tonight
You can go to TNB web to see your energy usage.
If your usage graph is something like this then worth already lah. If want to have a clearer idea, can download the daily usage for many days and calc in spreadsheet. I got attach one Excel a few posts up.

For 850kWh (AFA: -1.45 sen) using mcchin's Google Sheet.
I use 20% peak since that's mine. Of course, yours will be different.

This post has been edited by soonwai: Aug 22 2025, 07:11 PM
soonwai
post Aug 23 2025, 02:33 PM

11,450 posts

QUOTE(romuluz777 @ Aug 20 2025, 05:23 PM)
Hopefully can change via the TNB app.
I will ask the smartmeter installer whether he knows when he comes to chg limpeh meter in a few weeks time.
Today TNB came to change my neighbour's smart meter. The technician mentioned it's for ToU but didn't say why had to change again.

Anyway his old smart meter was installed around the same time in 2020 as mine but is different from mine.

Mine is exactly like this.

Neighbour's old one had a bigger green button on the right in place of the 2 white ones and doesn't have that circle feature on the left.

The new one installed today looks similar to mine but has a smaller screen with the 2 white buttons moved up to the immediate right of the screen.

Macam TNB trying many different models. Maybe some not working so well.

This post has been edited by soonwai: Aug 23 2025, 02:34 PM
soonwai
post Aug 23 2025, 08:23 PM

11,450 posts

QUOTE(omron @ Aug 23 2025, 05:22 PM)
if on behalf owner how to subscribe tou
Can't do, have to be account owner. So need his IC (back & front) to verify as owner.

Can't do, myTNB login has to be owner verified. Otherwise no "Switch to ToU" button. Need his IC (back & front) to verify as owner.

If myTNB is already owner verified i.e.: has the "Switch to ToU" button then can do even with non-owner IC.

Updated answer, thanks to input from:
QUOTE(xiaomoon @ Aug 29 2025, 03:41 PM)
do online...mytnb portal, click switch to tou, fill up owner info(my brother), but submit IC part i submit my own IC
This post has been edited by soonwai: Aug 29 2025, 05:14 PM
soonwai
post Aug 29 2025, 02:08 PM

11,450 posts

TIL while helping neighbour with ToU. He already have IC verified myTNB login but forgot password so proceeded to setup another new login. Verifying this new account again as owner with IC will not work. TNB didn't inform and just marked the service request as Solved. No house number, no energy usage, no switch to TOU button.

In the end, just reset the password for the old login.
soonwai
post Aug 29 2025, 03:34 PM

11,450 posts

QUOTE(xiaomoon @ Aug 29 2025, 02:56 PM)
i submitted my ic instead of my brother(tnb bill owner), tnb approved also
That's good, please elaborate what you did so we can learn from you. Did online or at Kedai Tenaga?

This post has been edited by soonwai: Aug 29 2025, 03:35 PM
soonwai
post Aug 29 2025, 03:39 PM

11,450 posts

QUOTE(xiaomoon @ Aug 29 2025, 03:35 PM)
normal step...but when upload IC part i upload my IC
More details please.
soonwai
post Aug 29 2025, 04:39 PM

11,450 posts

QUOTE(xiaomoon @ Aug 29 2025, 03:41 PM)
do online...mytnb portal, click switch to tou, fill up owner info(my brother), but submit IC part i submit my own IC
Thanks boss. That'll make it easier for ppl to apply.
soonwai
post Aug 31 2025, 12:55 PM

11,450 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Aug 31 2025, 06:47 AM)
Does tnb apps works for u guys?
Working but can't apply ToU.
soonwai
post Sep 2 2025, 10:47 AM

11,450 posts

AFA for Sep 2025 is -1.10 sen/kWh.

Less discount sad.gif than forecasted -1.23.

Forecast:
1 – 31 Oct 2025-0.0231
1 – 30 Nov 2025-0.0106
1 – 31 Dec 2025-0.0288

*600 kWh and below exempted from AFA.

Source: https://www.mytnb.com.my/tariff/index.html?v=1.1.39#afa

This post has been edited by soonwai: Sep 2 2025, 10:53 AM
soonwai
post Sep 2 2025, 03:24 PM

11,450 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Aug 23 2025, 02:33 PM)
Today TNB came to change my neighbour's smart meter. The technician mentioned it's for ToU but didn't say why had to change again.

Anyway his old smart meter was installed around the same time in 2020 as mine but is different from mine.
Update to this. Now I know why TNB changed my neighbour's meter (digital) to new smart meter.

Turns out back in 2020, when the whole road changed to smart meter, my neighbour got caught with tampered meter. So TNB installed another meter to monitor. Now want to change to ToU so TNB installed smart meter. I guess the monitoring meter wasn't a smart meter.

No idea what happened with regard to the tampering.

Interestingly, I told another neighbour, with smart meter (can see usage in web, change to ToU) also installed in 2020, about ToU. He's not going to change because his smart meter is modified. Man, I think 50% of the houses on road have modified meters, old or new. Mine, of course, is innocent.gif

This post has been edited by soonwai: Sep 2 2025, 05:30 PM
soonwai
post Sep 2 2025, 05:28 PM

11,450 posts

QUOTE(toi @ Sep 2 2025, 04:21 PM)
Submit the TOU application on 28 Aug 2025, then received an email for my application for payment on 29 Aug 2025.

Then I make payment via myTNB app on 30 Aug 2025.

Today received the status update, my application got cancelled.
Has anyone encountered this before? What's went wrong?

Better call them and ask. Did they call you? No email also?

When I wanted to do Change of Tenant, I accidentally did Owner Verification. Obviously not going to work since bill owner is different from MyKad name. TNB actually called to inform that the request failed because names are different.
soonwai
post Sep 3 2025, 07:06 PM

11,450 posts

QUOTE(LaiN87 @ Aug 20 2025, 11:02 PM)
Whoever changing to TOU just putting it here so that don't get bill shock.

Everytime you change TOU, there will be cutoff and prorated bills.

Every prorated bill <28 days, all kWh will be charged SST 8%
I received my prorated bill 27 days today and all my 676kWh is fully charged 8%. So every time you change between TOU and non-TOU,
+ RM10 stamp duty
+ Additional 8% SST on your bill. No without SST for first 600kWh even prorated.
Confirm this. Just looked at 3 sets of non-ToU -> Tou interim bills with SST charged even though low kWh. Later I check and update with more details.

Non-ToU -> ToU Bills
1. 88 kWh no SST (28 days) & 9 kWh 9 got SST (3 days)
2. 1310 kWh 710 got SST (31 days) & 40 kWh 40 got SST (1 day)
3. 334 kWh 334 got SST (25 days) & 74 kWh 74 got SST (6 days)

more to come...

Earlier old tariff to new tariff, no such problems right?

This post has been edited by soonwai: Sep 4 2025, 06:22 PM
soonwai
post Sep 4 2025, 05:30 PM

11,450 posts

QUOTE(LaiN87 @ Sep 4 2025, 08:03 AM)
Yeah. Old tariff / new tariff (June / July bill) is prorated SST even both sides 14 days for me. Meaning 300kWh is without SST for each bill.

So it’s matter if they want to do it or not. I guess everyone is very sensitive during old tariff to new tariff, if all charge SST sure will show price increase.
kes #2 above, I can understand since 1310 kWh for sure kena SST. Cannot brain why total 88 kWh also kena for the 2nd interim bill of 3 days 9 kWh.

Have raised a ticket to TNB. See what they say.

This post has been edited by soonwai: Sep 4 2025, 05:31 PM
soonwai
post Sep 4 2025, 06:11 PM

11,450 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Sep 4 2025, 06:04 PM)
Actually dont really understand the whole pro-rated bill kena SST situation. Can help explain with example? Is there a way to avoid the SST if want to switch to ToU?
I also don't understand why. I only have the 3 examples of it happening and can't find any pattern to it. Could be mistake in TNB's calculation logic.

1. 88 kWh no SST (28 days) & 9 kWh 9 got SST (3 days)
2. 1310 kWh 710 got SST (31 days) & 40 kWh 40 got SST (1 day)
3. 334 kWh 334 got SST (25 days) & 74 kWh 74 got SST (6 days)

For #3 above, both bills kena SST. mad.gif

The only thing I know for sure is SST only charged for usage above 600 kWh. Stated on website and bill.

Exact words on bill are:
Cukai Perkhidmatan 8% dikenakan kepada pelanggan Domestik bagi penggunaan melebihi 600 kWh untuk tempoh bil 28 hari dan ke atas.

inb4: so little money, also make so much noise. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by soonwai: Sep 4 2025, 06:40 PM
soonwai
post Sep 4 2025, 06:46 PM

11,450 posts

Found this at https://www.mytnb.com.my/faq

1. What are the tax charges that is applicable for electricity services?

Under the Service Tax Act 2018, provision of electricity is prescribed as a taxable service under the Service Tax. However, not all TNB customers are subject to Service Tax. Service Tax is only applicable to residential customers (Tariff A - Domestic) subject to the following conditions:

1️⃣ Total electricity consumption which exceeds 600 kWh; and the billing period is 28 days or more; OR
2️⃣ If the billing period is less than 28 days, Service Tax will be imposed on your entire electricity consumption
Note: TNB customers residing in Pulau Tioman, Pulau Langkawi and Pulau Pangkor are not subject to Service Tax.

Applied to my examples:
1. 88 kWh no SST (28 days)1️⃣ & 9 kWh 9 got SST (3 days)2️⃣
2. 1310 kWh 710 got SST (31 days)1️⃣ & 40 kWh 40 got SST (1 day)2️⃣
3. 334 kWh 334 got SST (25 days):2️⃣ & 74 kWh 74 got SST (6 days)2️⃣

OK, settled lah. Lucky I haven't submitted my ticket yet.

ZeneticX
Conclusion: To avoid SST for those below 600 kWh, do the TOU change on(?) or after the 28th day of your billing period. This will ensure no SST for the 1st interim bill but cannot avoid SST for the 2nd interim/final bill. Can also do at the beginning 1st, 2nd or 3rd day of your billing period but gg if application is delayed.

Alternatively, can move to Pulau Tioman, Pulau Langkawi or Pulau Pangkor. sweat.gif

Update:
For Jun/July bill (old-new tariff transition), dun have less-than-28-days-SST-charge as billing for both before and after were merged into one bill so the bill was 30 days.

Update:
Old style bill actually had this info.
Cukai Perkhidmatan 8% akan dikenakan kepada pelanggan Domestik bagi:
(A) Penggunaan tenaga yang melebihi 600 kWh untuk tempoh bil 28 hari dan ke atas atau
(B) Jumlah keseluruhan penggunaan tenaga sekiranya tempoh bil adalah kurang daripada 28 hari

This post has been edited by soonwai: Sep 5 2025, 01:23 AM
soonwai
post Sep 4 2025, 08:51 PM

11,450 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Sep 4 2025, 07:52 PM)
Thanks for the research and explanation. Will add this to first post also
Actually credit to LaiN87. If you look back at his post, he already gave the answer. I just didn't pick up on that.

QUOTE(LaiN87 @ Aug 20 2025, 11:02 PM)
Every prorated bill <28 days, all kWh will be charged SST 8%
soonwai
post Sep 10 2025, 11:52 AM

11,450 posts

20250910_1147:
• Updated Excel file.
• Now accounts for off-peak public holidays.
• The single cell formulas are on the Tariff sheet.
• Now includes formulas for old, non-ToU & ToU.

I will post future updates to this thread:
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/5538397

Attached File(s)
Attached File  TNB_Usage_Cost_20250910.xlsx.zip ( 268.38k ) Number of downloads: 10
soonwai
post Sep 11 2025, 12:32 AM

11,450 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Sep 10 2025, 11:46 PM)
Are we supposed to see how many kwh we used during peak and non peak hour on the usage graph on myTNB app after switching to ToU?

Already successfully switched over on Tuesday. Check the app just now and can see there's a separation on the graph for yesterday's usage.... but the tariff rate still showing the normal domestic rate

Just that little break in the daily barchart to indicate the peak/off-peak.

You're right, it doesn't show the peak/off-peak rates. Didn't realise that before.

This post has been edited by soonwai: Sep 11 2025, 12:34 AM
soonwai
post Sep 15 2025, 02:24 AM

11,450 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Sep 14 2025, 08:33 PM)
I wonder whether tomorrow 15th public holiday is counted for whole day off peak or normal peak/off-peak rate?
I think no, only 16/9 off-peak.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0170sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th November 2025 - 07:17 PM