4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

⚡️ 💵 TNB new ToU scheme for Domestic Low Voltage, To subscribe or not?

soonwai
post Aug 15 2025, 03:50 PM

11,450 posts

QUOTE(romuluz777 @ Aug 15 2025, 10:08 AM)
I'm a heavy user during peak hrs from 8.00 to 4 pm due to WFH most days, I was considering TOU, but end up not signing up as it could cause my bills to rise further. Need to pay fixed RM10 per mth somemore.
Dont wanna be penny wise pound foolish.
Maybe calculate your actual usage. I work from home all the time and my wife 2 of 5 days. My average peak usage is 18.39% for the past 123 days.

This post has been edited by soonwai: Aug 15 2025, 03:50 PM
soonwai
post Aug 15 2025, 03:54 PM

11,450 posts

QUOTE(romuluz777 @ Aug 15 2025, 03:50 PM)
The RM10 1x time upfront is no issue, but I don't wanna pay the RM10 monthly retail charge because I consume more than 600 kwh per mth.
Non-ToU also pay the 600 kWh RM10 right?

This post has been edited by soonwai: Aug 15 2025, 03:56 PM
soonwai
post Aug 15 2025, 05:42 PM

11,450 posts

QUOTE(The.Lucas.DaY @ Aug 15 2025, 04:08 PM)
Do you know why everytime i login to my brother's account (owner), i got this error, while no issue when i login using mine to view the same house's bill  confused.gif

I get that all the time on Chrome & Firefox. Try private window.

Try other browsers. For me, Safari & Opera are ok.

Can also try to clear browser cache/cookies. I didn't try this.
soonwai
post Aug 15 2025, 08:45 PM

11,450 posts

QUOTE(romuluz777 @ Aug 15 2025, 06:51 PM)
Yes, its prorated starting from 1-July
Don't understand. Didn't you say you didn't change to ToU because "you don't wanna pay the RM10 monthly retail charge because you consume more than 600 kwh per mth."

This post has been edited by soonwai: Aug 15 2025, 08:48 PM
soonwai
post Aug 16 2025, 02:11 PM

11,450 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Aug 16 2025, 01:52 PM)
Worth taking if use less than 600kwh/month?
If 599 kWh and 64% peak usage, it'll be about equal. 23% peak usage, about RM10 savings each month.

What's your peak usage % ?

This post has been edited by soonwai: Aug 16 2025, 02:12 PM
soonwai
post Aug 17 2025, 12:54 PM

11,450 posts

QUOTE(xiaomoon @ Aug 16 2025, 11:50 AM)
anyone bill more expensive this month? last month usage 400kwh rm96, this month usage 402kwh but rm122...?
Yeah, expect to be the same here. The transition bills are quite a bit cheaper.

kWh: 432 - 493 - 388 - 408

Jul is new tariff transition.
Aug is ToU transition.
Sep will be first full month on ToU. Expect 420 kWh or RM120.

This post has been edited by soonwai: Aug 17 2025, 12:59 PM
soonwai
post Aug 17 2025, 08:36 PM

11,450 posts

QUOTE(N9484640 @ Aug 17 2025, 08:08 PM)
my bill came today - only 15 days of usage
I calculated I save about RM5.85 for ToU. Not sure how to calculate KWTBB though
Hopefully will see a better picture next full month
You can use mcchin's google sheet to calc. I think KWTBB is just flat 1.6% for 300 & above.

This post has been edited by soonwai: Aug 18 2025, 01:55 AM
soonwai
post Aug 17 2025, 08:39 PM

11,450 posts

QUOTE(Optizorb @ Aug 17 2025, 02:22 PM)
mahai my bill shoot from average 150 to 180 now..

normal tariff.
You mean from May to Jun? My cousin also notice jump in kWh after change to smart meter.
soonwai
post Aug 17 2025, 10:43 PM

11,450 posts

QUOTE(N9484640 @ Aug 17 2025, 08:43 PM)
TNB website have their own calculator and its accurate. Can calculate both ToU and non ToU
Yes, indeed, that's the first one I use. Very well done.
soonwai
post Aug 17 2025, 10:56 PM

11,450 posts

QUOTE(Optizorb @ Aug 17 2025, 09:18 PM)
i change to smart meter quite some time ago.. not recently..

and yes from May to June jump.. but june was very hot month and memang got use more air-cond, so i can understand if bill higher..

but then July bill drop till 127 damn low.. and then now August jump back up to 187..

It feels like the smart meter damn wonky..
Bro you not smart meter consider good ler..

like the poster above said and including my own experience, i notice ever since change to smart meter my bill on average increased by about 10~20 bucks every month..

My condo not that old, 2016 till now.. Was changed to smart meter last year iirc..
Ya, July bill consider as bonus lah. Drop low bcos of the calculations involved in the tariff change. Look at your kWh instead.

As for smart meter, mine changed 2020, during the few months of relaxed MCO. My recorded kWh didn't differ much though.
soonwai
post Aug 17 2025, 11:15 PM

11,450 posts

QUOTE(N9484640 @ Aug 17 2025, 08:43 PM)
TNB website have their own calculator and its accurate. Can calculate both ToU and non ToU
Actually, do you have a link to TNB's calculator? I can't seem to find it now. blush.gif
soonwai
post Aug 18 2025, 07:42 PM

11,450 posts

The energy usage dashboard has gone from bad to worse. Reload, reload, click, reload, reload, reload, reload then too many redirects.
soonwai
post Aug 18 2025, 09:35 PM

11,450 posts

QUOTE(coolguy_0925 @ Aug 18 2025, 08:57 PM)
It was like that since my home got switched to Smart Meter donkey years ago

I use it almost daily and the thing is certain time it become very stable but most of the time you will have to be very patient reloading it until you get what you want

By the way, since you are now on Tou, did your myTNB portal Switch to ToU button now changed to Switch to Domestic Am?
Dunnolah, maybe just luck but last week I managed to download CSV files for 122 days. Today, want to go in to just have a look also cannot. bangwall.gif

No "Switch to Domestic Am" button, just 1 button "View Account Details". Ya, how to change back if need be.
soonwai
post Aug 18 2025, 09:42 PM

11,450 posts

QUOTE(joeblow @ Aug 18 2025, 09:00 PM)
Yeah I like to know too. Recently TNB just switched to Smart Meter and I applied for TOU. Few days ago they charge me the rm10 and I paid it. But it doesn't show Switch to Domestic, still Switch to TOU. I guess come 22nd I will know via the bill how it works for this TOU.

For those with TOU, have you gotten bill and is there a breakdown peak vs non-peak kwh?
Did you received Application Success email? Mine is like this.

Day 1 AM: Apply
Day 1 PM: Received bill for RM10 stamp and paid. Followed by Application Success email.
Day 3: Received Interim Bill. Basically bill for non-ToU usage.
Few days later: Received ToU bill for the remaining days in my billing cycle.

Also, forgot which day, but Energy Usage dash changed to showing peak/off-peak.

This post has been edited by soonwai: Aug 18 2025, 09:42 PM
soonwai
post Aug 19 2025, 04:04 PM

11,450 posts

QUOTE(joeblow @ Aug 19 2025, 01:58 PM)
Already paid a week ago but online portal smart meter still showing normal rate bar, ie no two colours bar. Also no email to indicate now I am on TOU.
What is the status of your "Change Tariff" application in "Apply"->"I want to check my application status" ? Must have got stuck for some reason.

QUOTE(joeblow @ Aug 19 2025, 01:58 PM)
Already paid a week ago but online portal smart meter still showing normal rate bar, ie no two colours bar. Also no email to indicate now I am on TOU.
I just checked another house. Even after application successful email, the "2 colour bar" doesn't show until after the interim bill has been issued.

This post has been edited by soonwai: Aug 19 2025, 04:43 PM
soonwai
post Aug 19 2025, 05:35 PM

11,450 posts

QUOTE(joeblow @ Aug 19 2025, 05:06 PM)
It says last updated 9th Aug and status is Changing meter. I think some screw up since my meter just changed to Smart meter. I will just wait until the next bill see how. Especially if the rm10 I paid reflected in the upcoming bill, if not then messy.
Ya, looks like TNB screwed up there. After "Site Verified", mine was "Reading Interim Bill". Maybe somehow they couldn't get that done, that's why need to change the meter again.

This post has been edited by soonwai: Aug 19 2025, 05:37 PM
soonwai
post Aug 20 2025, 04:12 PM

11,450 posts

QUOTE(romuluz777 @ Aug 20 2025, 03:12 PM)
If you subscribe to TOU, and then a few months later, decide to change back. Is it allowed ?
I believe so but I think have to go TNB shop to change. Can't find a way to change back to non-ToU on the website. Maybe can do via ticket?

Also every time change, need to pay Stamp Duty RM10.

This post has been edited by soonwai: Aug 20 2025, 06:16 PM
soonwai
post Aug 20 2025, 04:27 PM

11,450 posts

This is the Excel 365 Mac file that I use to calc my average usage. Thought I share it here.

• Noob spreadsheet. Before this I've only ever used +_/* and SUM in Excel.
• No VBA so it's safe. (sos: trust me bro)
• Get your daily usage from TNB Energy Dashboard - [View Energy Usage] button and paste into the table.
• You may need current versions of Excel since I use some relatively newer functions like TAKE.
• Ya, I know, I found out later that I didn't have to split DateTime to 2 separate columns.

20250821_1625: Updated xls - just more reference info and fix old tariff tab a bit.
20250829_1706: Cleaned up the xls. Fix some logic errors. Left a months sample data in the table. Delete and add your own.

This post has been edited by soonwai: Aug 29 2025, 05:08 PM

Attached File(s)
Attached File  TNB_Usage_Cost_20250829.xlsx.zip ( 241.02k ) Number of downloads: 9
soonwai
post Aug 21 2025, 01:04 AM

11,450 posts

QUOTE(LaiN87 @ Aug 20 2025, 11:02 PM)
Whoever changing to TOU just putting it here so that don't get bill shock.

Everytime you change TOU, there will be cutoff and prorated bills.

Every prorated bill <28 days, all kWh will be charged SST 8%
I received my prorated bill 27 days today and all my 676kWh is fully charged 8%. So every time you change between TOU and non-TOU,
+ RM10 stamp duty
+ Additional 8% SST on your bill. No without SST for first 600kWh even prorated.
Thanks for the heads up. Next month check. Already received non-ToU interim bill but it's only for 1-day, 40kWh so no SST. Expect remaining ToU days to be around 1100 kWh.

This post has been edited by soonwai: Aug 21 2025, 04:34 PM
soonwai
post Aug 21 2025, 02:43 PM

11,450 posts

QUOTE(RiriRuruRara @ Aug 21 2025, 01:03 AM)
My most recent bill shot up a lot if I opt in for this tou will it help reduce the bill??

2. Also cannot opt in from the app??? Is the username and password the same for the website portal??
Almost all ppl should get cheaper bills with ToU unless you go over approx 63% peak usage.

can use mcchin's google sheet to check your bills for old, new and ToU tariffs. What's your typical kWh for a month?

I posted an Excel spreadsheet to calc peak % based on the daily data that you can dl from TNB web.

So far, switch to ToU, app cannot, web only.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0171sec    0.37    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th November 2025 - 07:17 PM