Those cheap car tint can last how long?, Raytech,3M, Llumar,V-Kool,Solargard

WH4CockcooBird
post Jun 16 2025, 08:13 AM

194 posts

QUOTE(tgeoklin @ Jun 16 2025, 07:30 AM)
My Civic, over 10 years with V-kool Elite also no issue. Don't know after that as car sold lieu šŸ˜‡
Only ā€œissueā€ it will get darker
ry8128
post Jun 16 2025, 08:18 AM

♣Just a noob♣
3,642 posts

QUOTE(WH4CockcooBird @ Jun 16 2025, 08:11 AM)
I have elite installed on my cars from both sg and my.

I go direct to their head office to install and not any dealer.
Ya. I mean how to prove that the elite my and elite in sg is different? Any web or specs we can refer?
Iceman74
post Jun 16 2025, 08:56 AM

1,407 posts

QUOTE(WH4CockcooBird @ Jun 16 2025, 07:25 AM)
Going by top spec theory is wrong too.

Just my 2 cents
Of cos is wrong if you have insider info.
For normal consumer, you just pray it use better OEM tint if not original tint.
They won't show you the tinted roll packaging and proof anyway
anakkk
post Jun 16 2025, 08:58 AM

2,116 posts

3M is good brand, not sure about the tint :X
pgsiemkia
post Jun 16 2025, 09:22 AM

473 posts

QUOTE(keyser soze @ Jun 16 2025, 06:43 AM)
my previous car using V-cool but compare to the smart shield I'm using now. Surprisingly smart shield is better like 20-30% better.
Vkool still can use smart tag, just have to drive slower but this smart shield can't use at all. Have to install the stupid RFID.
Another car using Ecotint but can't even beat Vkool, the worst is 3M crystalline.
Yah, Vkool can use smart tag but some places like pucheong towards kinrara kenot cos reader low power. 3M got fakes too, many shops offering below 1K even Honda SA also kenot trust. Do own homework if want real 3M. VKool onli 1 real installer, shop at section 19, PJ opp P2. Smart shield haven’t tried, maybe next time.

submergedx
post Jun 16 2025, 09:55 AM

1,132 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Jun 15 2025, 09:51 AM)
Dont cheapskate in tinting. U drive the car almost every day and is good to invest good tint
my gf said the same thing

We use it daily hence must not buy cheap price thing.

when 2 things put at same basket, will automatically choose the expensive one without reason although the cheap one are more practical

cb one

submergedx
post Jun 16 2025, 09:58 AM

1,132 posts

QUOTE(keyser soze @ Jun 16 2025, 12:16 AM)
was using 3M that come with new Honda, not impress with the performance.
My another car using a brand call smart shield applied by the sales man, but heat rejection is top notch. Better than V-cool.
Most of the tint that came in package with car dealer story that we heard are mostly 99% tak boleh pakai.

Dweller
post Jun 16 2025, 10:06 AM

105 posts

I bought total gard from shopee and ask tint shop help install. Got huge "finger" at side windows and installer said because of low quality tint not thick enough. Only suited for house windows. vmad.gif Did not admit they incompetent sad.gif
keyser soze
post Jun 16 2025, 11:29 AM

569 posts

QUOTE(submergedx @ Jun 16 2025, 09:58 AM)
Most of the tint that came in package with car dealer story that we heard are mostly 99% tak boleh pakai.
the 3M was Honda Malaysia collaborated with 3M that's why I think it should be real one. Maybe the fake 3M perform better than the real one.
TSplouffle0789
post Jun 16 2025, 11:47 AM

1,836 posts

QUOTE(pgsiemkia @ Jun 16 2025, 09:22 AM)
Yah, Vkool can use smart tag but some places like pucheong towards kinrara kenot cos reader low power. 3M got fakes too, many shops offering below 1K even Honda SA also kenot trust. Do own homework if want real 3M. VKool onli 1 real installer, shop at section 19, PJ opp P2. Smart shield haven’t tried, maybe next time.
3M website have show all dealer in malaysia...

Those info is correct?
pgsiemkia
post Jun 16 2025, 01:09 PM

473 posts

QUOTE(plouffle0789 @ Jun 16 2025, 11:47 AM)
3M website have show all dealer in malaysia...

Those info is correct?
Check the customer comments of the dealers. Some may be fake comments but usually fake comments generated by AI feel fake. Also location, conmen usually rent cheap places so can cut and run (my experience). Places that invest a lot will need to stay longer and get their principle to visit and certify.

submergedx
post Jun 16 2025, 02:14 PM

1,132 posts

QUOTE(keyser soze @ Jun 16 2025, 11:29 AM)
the 3M was Honda Malaysia collaborated with 3M that's why I think it should be real one. Maybe the fake 3M perform better than the real one.
Real is real, but low quality with high margin since leave them no choice.
BuKeYi
post Jun 16 2025, 02:24 PM

Dame Dame
909 posts

I got Raytech 70%, last time max is 70% for Raytech. not sure now
My wife got 3m, she go for I forgot is 80 or 90. Now she don't dare drive on night time because it darken the sight.

As for heat rejection, i find it about the same compare with these 2 if on the go or just park below 1 hour. if park more than an hour, heat still can trap inside but 3m one i find it easily cool down compare with Raytech. Didn't use the machine to check la, just by feel.

So far both didn't have any bubble, but the 3m one they put every 3m brand sticker on each windows. which I removed it afterward, lmao. Only the back one cant be remove because it macam already imprint on the tint.

Btw, 3m one can bypass toll also. But you need to move slowly or even stop for a while if you're using smarttag. Raytech no issue, can detect easily

This post has been edited by BuKeYi: Jun 16 2025, 02:26 PM
thuwed1732
post Jun 16 2025, 02:44 PM

99 posts

QUOTE(rooney723 @ Jun 15 2025, 12:24 PM)
good quality house brand is good enough, and dont go for those creap and crappy rm200 to 300 whole car tints, those are basically just "screen protectors" with no UV or heat rejection

i installed my house brand tint for rm1.2k 5 years ago and now no single bubble have formed, tint is still fine and heat rejection is strong

those rm3k 4k 5k tints are just overpriced tints and heat rejection might even lose to those house brands lol
care to share which shop you go?
bigduck
post Jun 16 2025, 02:58 PM

156 posts

QUOTE(Dweller @ Jun 16 2025, 10:06 AM)
I bought total gard from shopee and ask tint shop help install. Got huge "finger" at side windows and installer said because of low quality tint not thick enough. Only suited for house windows. vmad.gif Did not admit they incompetent sad.gif
well if it makes you feel better, the installers at totalgard aren't the best as well
netflix2019
post Jun 16 2025, 03:38 PM

416 posts

i installed v-kool elite on both car from 2011.

Until now no bubbling on either one of car.

Only damage is on one of my car, due to installing the suction type phone holder, the tint peeled off when i tried to remove the holder.

The heat resist thing so far i think okay la. Color still the same, i think? Didn't look into it much. My only issue is scratches on the tint itself after so many years it's like cataract now, feels like the tint plastic is breaking down. Macam your spectacles punya coating problem after 3 years.

From my observation no need spend thousands on tinting. My BIL pakai RM500 tint okay only, never see him got bubble issue. According to calculation per panel only rm100, if got bubble just change it. Heat resist actually better than my decade old vcool cos the one he install gelap2.
TSplouffle0789
post Jun 16 2025, 04:07 PM

1,836 posts

QUOTE(BuKeYi @ Jun 16 2025, 02:24 PM)
I got Raytech 70%, last time max is 70% for Raytech. not sure now
My wife got 3m, she go for I forgot is 80 or 90. Now she don't dare drive on night time because it darken the sight.

As for heat rejection, i find it about the same compare with these 2 if on the go or just park below 1 hour. if park more than an hour, heat still can trap inside but 3m one i find it easily cool down compare with Raytech. Didn't use the machine to check la, just by feel.

So far both didn't have any bubble, but the 3m one they put every 3m brand sticker on each windows. which I removed it afterward, lmao. Only the back one cant be remove because it macam already imprint on the tint.

Btw, 3m one can bypass toll also. But you need to move slowly or even stop for a while if you're using smarttag. Raytech no issue, can detect easily
3M can go until 80 or 90?

Do you means behind one?

Because infront cannnot until 90.

It is violate JPJ rules

a_dot_el
post Jun 16 2025, 04:14 PM

194 posts

Used to be on VKool until they become smart tag unfriendly, then switch to 3M. Never look back since then.
BuKeYi
post Jun 16 2025, 06:02 PM

Dame Dame
909 posts

QUOTE(plouffle0789 @ Jun 16 2025, 04:07 PM)
3M can go until 80 or 90?

Do you means behind one?

Because infront cannnot until 90.

It is violate JPJ rules
can, they got the tint. see you want or not only, need sign when habis tint. As it is against the rules, they not responsible for it.

TSplouffle0789
post Jun 22 2025, 12:14 AM

1,836 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Jun 15 2025, 10:00 AM)
The uv, the heat, then the bubbles

Rm600 wasted just like that
I just reached home.
My car is super dark at night — I feel like I can't see the motorcycles behind me.
It's really dangerous. The workshop did a crazy job!

This post has been edited by plouffle0789: Jun 22 2025, 12:15 AM

8 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 >Top

0.0206sec    1.05    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 05:40 PM