Any Plant engineers at here?, Work matters record
submergedx
Jun 11 2025, 06:43 PM
QUOTE(plouffle0789 @ Jun 11 2025, 06:30 PM) My job involves assembling assembly machines. There are around 200++ pages of work instruction Our work instructions provided by HQ are very old and not very detailed. So during on-the-job training, we have to take a lot of photos and record the steps ourselves. Some seniors created at least 50++ WhatsApp contacts and named each contact after a process name when they learning. They then send photos to these contacts in their phone as part of the documentation for easy finding. So when you search some keyword of the process,you can easy to find the photo of the process. I will fire you all and hire Optimus working at my kilang 24/7 if I were the boss Lucky im not the boss OWAI
kelvinlym
Jun 11 2025, 06:44 PM
QUOTE(plouffle0789 @ Jun 11 2025, 06:40 PM) There are more than 200 pages of work instructions provided by HQ. We don’t do the same tasks every day — it depends on the tool assembly process. Sometimes, we only do a certain process once a month. So?
DogeGamingPRO
Jun 11 2025, 06:44 PM

https://obsidian.md/try to gather all the knowledge from the whatsapp chats and organize this, can do bunch of linking and tagging stuff if done right should be much more organized but need someone savvy and organized enough to do but if u do the work either use sendiri or make sure get something out of it from boss inb4 after doing the documentation kena kick out sebab sudah well documented can find cheaper kuli do This post has been edited by DogeGamingPRO: Jun 11 2025, 06:54 PM
red_satu
Jun 11 2025, 06:45 PM
QUOTE(plouffle0789 @ Jun 11 2025, 06:43 PM) Have.... But the work instruction is not very details Many important steps never show Then dump everything on a shared file then update bit by bit la. You guys are engineer, not technician.
maxpudding
Jun 11 2025, 06:46 PM

Better way involved some money
There are people who’s jobs are to create documentation/videos for this kind of thing.
Of course not cheap, and I cannot recommend who.
rd33
Jun 11 2025, 06:46 PM
U shud suk ur boss kok so u can get promoted faster and forget all this shitshow. Just another suggestion for u.
azbro
Jun 11 2025, 06:48 PM
I'm the head of engineering
Been doing and organising WI all my life
cempedaklife
Jun 11 2025, 06:50 PM
Why doc do in contact and WhatsApp wtf lol. Say 200 pages macam a lot then complain not enough detail.
Give you guys do doc also messy. Throw into notes taking app like notion then dump to AI and ask AI the question better.
Can try notebook lm.
This post has been edited by cempedaklife: Jun 11 2025, 06:57 PM
hotdayum
Jun 11 2025, 06:51 PM

Eventually someone would need to put that on paper tho
lj0000
Jun 11 2025, 06:53 PM
Good job. Remember to back up
loserguy
Jun 11 2025, 06:59 PM
Just use google docs or Microsoft word depending on which one your company subscribes to.
Use subheadings to separate the steps and navigate the document.
This is easier because, the original documentation should be in a document file. Any additional pictures can be easily added to the necessary subsections.
The guys who started the whole whatsapp bullshit will cry when there is an audit.
loserguy
Jun 11 2025, 07:00 PM
QUOTE(cempedaklife @ Jun 11 2025, 06:50 PM) Why doc do in contact and WhatsApp wtf lol. Say 200 pages macam a lot then complain not enough detail. Give you guys do doc also messy. Throw into notes taking app like notion then dump to AI and ask AI the question better. Can try notebook lm. Notebooklm doesn't do pictures.
TSplouffle0789
Jun 11 2025, 07:00 PM
QUOTE(azbro @ Jun 11 2025, 06:48 PM) I'm the head of engineering Been doing and organising WI all my life So do you think put in whatsapp contact is a good method?
cempedaklife
Jun 11 2025, 07:04 PM
QUOTE(loserguy @ Jun 11 2025, 07:00 PM) Notebooklm doesn't do pictures. I didn’t try this but just dump the picture into a doc. Ask it to tell which page to refer to, should work no? Better that search WhatsApp by name then see chat for pic lmao
netmatrix
Jun 11 2025, 07:11 PM
What you mentioned is no different than people documenting installation steps for apps. These were the only method of teaching included in documentation in the 90s. From installing games to hardware, all are documented with print screen and attached into a Word document to be printed later.
For your machine assembly thing, you need to delegate a person to do these documentation.
The hard part is when a process in between is updated. And when to do a revision for the documentation.
But Chinaman companies conlanfirm does not do this.
Also there isn't an app to do this. You can only minimize the documentation work with automation. Like using voice input to type the documentation. I would not trust AI to do this either as it would not know what the instructions are that corelate to the picture.
loserguy
Jun 11 2025, 07:16 PM
QUOTE(cempedaklife @ Jun 11 2025, 07:04 PM) I didn’t try this but just dump the picture into a doc. Ask it to tell which page to refer to, should work no? Better that search WhatsApp by name then see chat for pic lmao Not really, it depends on how the picture is added into the doc. If there is alt text description for the pictures that might help. Notebooklm may be able to refer to the pictures based on the descriptions but I don't think it has vision capabilities. But for guys who are forwarding pictures to a whatsapp channel lol, I don't think they are going to bother adding alt text descriptions to their pictures.
sunami
Jun 11 2025, 07:42 PM
QUOTE(plouffle0789 @ Jun 11 2025, 07:35 PM) I am Ask for a suggestion Resign
ticke
Jun 11 2025, 07:43 PM
QUOTE(plouffle0789 @ Jun 11 2025, 06:30 PM) My job involves assembling assembly machines. There are around 200++ pages of work instruction Our work instructions provided by HQ are very old and not very detailed. So during on-the-job training, we have to take a lot of photos and record the steps ourselves. Some seniors created at least 50++ WhatsApp contacts and named each contact after a process name when they learning. They then send photos to these contacts in their phone as part of the documentation for easy finding. So when you search some keyword of the process,you can easy to find the photo of the process. u go to ur boss and ask for bajet (ask kompeni pay u extra for tge trouble). then u go digitalize it into 1 proper documentation.
TSplouffle0789
Jun 11 2025, 07:49 PM
QUOTE(loserguy @ Jun 11 2025, 06:59 PM) Just use google docs or Microsoft word depending on which one your company subscribes to. Use subheadings to separate the steps and navigate the document. This is easier because, the original documentation should be in a document file. Any additional pictures can be easily added to the necessary subsections. The guys who started the whole whatsapp bullshit will cry when there is an audit. Audit? Do you means it is not legal to put in whatsapp? Or can you explain more?
Balanced
Jun 11 2025, 07:58 PM
QUOTE(plouffle0789 @ Jun 11 2025, 07:49 PM) Audit? Do you means it is not legal to put in whatsapp? Or can you explain more? The heck? Your company is pama company?