Malaysia lands, Embarrassment.

TSSyie9^_^
post Jun 6 2025, 01:16 PM, updated 7 months ago

Catwoman
1,072 posts

When Malaysia big hoo haa about Data Center; in reality lack of skilled talents.

so if youre major in HVAC or Electrical Engineering. you win.

xerox900
post Jun 6 2025, 01:40 PM

Thought some say only need security guards for data centers, no real talent needed.
TSSyie9^_^
post Jun 6 2025, 01:51 PM

Catwoman
1,072 posts

QUOTE(xerox900 @ Jun 6 2025, 03:10 PM)
Thought some say only need security guards for data centers, no real talent needed.
security like military complex?

owai..

Now even thailand become the more interesting place to go for DC.

knwong
post Jun 6 2025, 02:26 PM

3,560 posts

Those high value job in operating data centre can be managed remotely, so these workers WFH in their respective countries
TSSyie9^_^
post Jun 6 2025, 02:28 PM

Catwoman
1,072 posts

QUOTE(knwong @ Jun 6 2025, 03:56 PM)
Those high value job in operating data centre can be managed remotely, so these workers WFH in their respective countries
well. true. so why Malaysia so hyped about DC and cannot deliver even things like Power, and Water? confused.gif
knwong
post Jun 6 2025, 02:40 PM

3,560 posts

QUOTE(Syie9^_^ @ Jun 6 2025, 02:28 PM)
well. true. so why Malaysia so hyped about DC and cannot deliver even things like Power, and Water? confused.gif
Who say M'sia cannot supply power and water? There's enough supply, gomen can easily get IPP to generate more electricity, albeit not green.

The problem that I see is the execution is slow, so construction maybe delayed, those kind of problem...
Porkycorgi5588
post Jun 6 2025, 02:40 PM

250 posts

QUOTE(Syie9^_^ @ Jun 6 2025, 02:28 PM)
you got watch video or not?
it's distribution.

investor come in, expect data center only.
local authorities are expected to give TNB substation for free.

Which for big development, is unspoken requirement for you like resurfacing the roads around your site.
However, this usually means 33kV or 11kV substations only. Those are typically close to end user location.
Your problem is with 110kV substations which usually servers entire industrial parks.

Building those take time. C&S is 1 year + if you quick, but you also gotta wait 2 years for the transformers to be built and commissioned.

Land is cheap where these facilities don't exist.
Where these facilities exist, land is not cheap.

This is partially why there has been such a huge push for Solar for industrial players lately to shed TNB load in order for TNB to supply to data center instead.

Water infra also an issue for the same reason. Problem is clean water for cooling tower HVAC systems used by datacenters.

pobox
post Jun 6 2025, 02:43 PM

551 posts

Funny.

Did nothing and was condemned as Do Nothing.

Did something and was said "big hoo haa but lacking...."
RViN
post Jun 6 2025, 02:43 PM

There Is Only One United
5,827 posts

QUOTE(xerox900 @ Jun 6 2025, 01:40 PM)
He mentions in the video he saw less than 2 dozen people at max working on site.
nihility
post Jun 6 2025, 02:55 PM

1,596 posts

QUOTE(Porkycorgi5588 @ Jun 6 2025, 02:40 PM)
it's distribution.

Which for big development, is unspoken requirement for you like resurfacing the roads around your site.
However, this usually means 33kV or 11kV substations only. Those are typically close to end user location.
Your problem is with 110kV substations which usually servers entire industrial parks.

Building those take time. C&S is 1 year + if you quick, but you also gotta wait 2 years for the transformers to be built and commissioned.

This is partially why there has been such a huge push for Solar for industrial players lately to shed TNB load in order for TNB to supply to data center instead.

Water infra also an issue for the same reason. Problem is clean water for cooling tower HVAC systems used by datacenters.
Rare to see someone from the industry willing to spill the beans.
Hardcore Leveling Warrior
post Jun 6 2025, 02:57 PM

112 posts

all these DC wants is someone who can work 24hours.

can go inside DC within 30minutes of ticket. just to push the reset or power button.
TSSyie9^_^
post Jun 6 2025, 03:14 PM

Catwoman
1,072 posts

QUOTE(knwong @ Jun 6 2025, 04:10 PM)
Who say M'sia cannot supply power and water? There's enough supply, gomen can easily get IPP to generate more electricity, albeit not green.

The problem that I see is the execution is slow, so construction maybe delayed, those kind of problem...
execution slow then how? bring katana? laugh.gif

QUOTE(Porkycorgi5588 @ Jun 6 2025, 04:10 PM)
it's distribution.

more beans please corgi. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(nihility @ Jun 6 2025, 04:25 PM)
Rare to see someone from the industry willing to spill the beans.
more beans please.

Porkycorgi5588
post Jun 6 2025, 03:26 PM

250 posts

QUOTE(RViN @ Jun 6 2025, 02:43 PM)
He mentions in the video he saw less than 2 dozen people at max working on site.
normal.

piling rig only need 2 guys.
1 operator, 1 welder.

RC construction also typically 12 man team only to built 60m x 20m plot of RC slab.
Then, steel structure different group of 12 man team with crane and boomlift.

Your team can be a whole village or can be lean and mean.
Depends on how you plan only.

Also, if concrete baru keras, opening formwork etc just 2 sohai with crowbar only.
plus, have to understand, he is not at site daily. perhaps got invite to visit during off-peak time.
poooky
post Jun 6 2025, 03:39 PM

844 posts

So the issue is taking too long to build becos of red tape?
SUSfuzzy
post Jun 6 2025, 03:49 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(pobox @ Jun 6 2025, 02:43 PM)
Funny.

Did nothing and was condemned as Do Nothing.

Did something and was said "big hoo haa but lacking...."
Build condo salah. Build mall salah. build DC salah.

Keep for forest and greenery, get kecam why no development.
wcnew
post Jun 6 2025, 03:49 PM

275 posts

SeSohai amdk demand this demand that..wait till they go to thailand sort out their messy electrical cable hanging every where..

This post has been edited by wcnew: Jun 6 2025, 03:49 PM
TSSyie9^_^
post Jun 6 2025, 04:30 PM

Catwoman
1,072 posts

QUOTE(fuzzy @ Jun 6 2025, 05:19 PM)
Build condo salah. Build mall salah. build DC salah.

Keep for forest and greenery, get kecam why no development.
that is forest and greenery? KEK.

that is a shamble scammer agri-mono industry that make you die faster, get diabetes and also stroke.

TSSyie9^_^
post Jun 6 2025, 04:31 PM

Catwoman
1,072 posts

QUOTE(wcnew @ Jun 6 2025, 05:19 PM)
SeSohai amdk demand this demand that..wait till they go to thailand sort out their messy electrical cable hanging every where..
they are rewiring. owai. thailand is ascending.
TSSyie9^_^
post Jun 6 2025, 04:32 PM

Catwoman
1,072 posts

QUOTE(Porkycorgi5588 @ Jun 6 2025, 04:56 PM)
normal.

piling rig only need 2 guys.
1 operator, 1 welder.
RC construction also typically 12 man team only to built 60m x 20m plot of RC slab.
Then, steel structure different group of 12 man team with crane and boomlift.

Your team can be a whole village or can be lean and mean.
Depends on how you plan only.

Also, if concrete baru keras, opening formwork etc just 2 sohai with crowbar only.
plus, have to understand, he is not at site daily. perhaps got invite to visit during off-peak time.
which DC you are in smarty corgi? blush.gif
SUSfuzzy
post Jun 6 2025, 04:41 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(Syie9^_^ @ Jun 6 2025, 04:30 PM)
that is forest and greenery? KEK.

that is a shamble scammer agri-mono industry that make you die faster, get diabetes and also stroke.
Live longer for what? You just gonna bitch about epf no money la, cannot retire la.

0.0202sec    0.34    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 06:25 PM