Gen Z problem?

SUS*lightbringer*
post Jun 6 2025, 09:51 AM, updated 7 months ago

259 posts

Just morning rant.

My company usually take in interns from various university for various post. All of them are pursuing degree from local University. Now I have 4 engineering interns, 2 man and 2 women. I noticed that they have this kind of attitude, do as they wish. They came in as they wish, and clock out as they wish too. My company have this policy where u can clock in between 8-9am, and then u just clock out accordingly after 9 hours (8 hours working + 1 hour rest). From my point of view, we gave leeway already on being flexible on your working time.

However these interns came in almost 10, at least once a week. So my HR did an investigation and call those that have this problem. Their reason for being late? Simply overslept. Cant brain someone who went to university to overslept. I mean, they usually have class at 8am or 9am, they did their study for 4 years, and by this time they are not accustomed to waking up early? Don't they have to wake up early to pray also? I am not a muslim, yet I woke up when there is Azan because that is the way we are raised. Azan mean its beginning of the day. And this is not special case. Last year I had few interns with the same attitude, and some of my engineers also have this problem, especially fresh grad. Never in my life I was late to work due to overslept, even in my youth days where I partied until 3am, reached home and slept, and still manage to clock in at 8.30am.

I guess kids nowadays dont have that sense of responsibility and integrity.

Sekian rant untuk hari ini.
oldKyoo
post Jun 6 2025, 09:54 AM

Flashing at a street near you.
961 posts

its a gen z issue. the good news is that we no longer need to worry having upcoming competition to kick us out of mid-senior mgmt level.
SUSSihambodoh
post Jun 6 2025, 09:55 AM

436 posts

You need to bring light into their life.
kons
post Jun 6 2025, 09:58 AM

Конс
6,181 posts

last time when i first started to work, i went into office at 6.30 am..

no one was there but i did my work anyway
SUS*lightbringer*
post Jun 6 2025, 09:59 AM

259 posts

QUOTE(oldKyoo @ Jun 6 2025, 09:54 AM)
its a gen z issue. the good news is that we no longer need to worry having upcoming competition to kick us out of mid-senior mgmt level.
when I had the same problem last year with another intern and employer, i thought it just personal problem. Now it seems like generational problem. They just dont care. At this rate, my bangla even better, can wake up early to cook, solat and clock in at 8am.
DogeGamingPRO

169 posts

Ayam gen z and do the same
But depends on industry la, as long as I get my work done don’t kacau me can dy, just judge me based on the results
But depends whether can really do work, for me only excusable if your work is good. If work is like shit and do this then it’s unacceptable.

But if I clock in late I definitely do more and clock out later than I should’ve even after making up for the time that I’m late
And I don’t mind doing work off hours, I often do and respond to emails and messages in the middle of the night to other region teams etc
Just don’t like the rigidity, no actual point most of the time. I know some ppl work better under rigid structure but not me

This post has been edited by DogeGamingPRO: Jun 6 2025, 10:03 AM
maxpudding

165 posts

Hah

Welcome to gen alpha

They simply dont care

Please whack them

This post has been edited by maxpudding: Jun 6 2025, 11:46 AM
SUS*lightbringer*
post Jun 6 2025, 10:00 AM

259 posts

QUOTE(kons @ Jun 6 2025, 09:58 AM)
last time when i first started to work, i went into office at 6.30 am..

no one was there but i did my work anyway
I am not that rajin, but i do clock out late. I know I am not getting paid for overtime, but I do have sense of responsibility to get my work done. And get free aircond at office too.

Nowadays they are just plain lazy and ambitionless.
GHBZDK
post Jun 6 2025, 10:02 AM

173 posts

Responsibility isn’t about clocking on time but their response when faced with a work issue.
Anyways I am kaki ponteng back in uni and sometimes work and walked out with a 3.7 ha ha ha
Obviously in the army time is everything and I’ll be dead so best is to find a suitable field

This post has been edited by GHBZDK: Jun 6 2025, 10:04 AM
xCM
post Jun 6 2025, 10:04 AM

536 posts

Come 10 go back 7 je
SUS*lightbringer*
post Jun 6 2025, 10:05 AM

259 posts

QUOTE(DogeGamingPRO @ Jun 6 2025, 09:59 AM)
But depends on industry la, as long as I get my work done don’t kacau me can dy, just judge me based on the results
But depends whether can really do work, for me only excusable if your work is good. If work is like shit and do this then it’s unacceptable.

But if I clock in late I definitely do more and clock out later than I should’ve even after making up for the time that I’m late
And I don’t mind doing work off hours
Just don’t like the rigidity
I understand, and that is why my company is flexible. U can clock in from 8-9am, and go back accordingly lah. During puasa, some of them clock in as early as 7am, and clock out at 4pm. I do understand that.

But for them to take advantage to clock in and out suka hati, not finishing work is just too much.

I dont like rigidity too. We are all adults anyway, somemore educated with degree. So act like one. Company gave them the flexibility, use it but dont abuse it.

My HR even told me some of the interns curi biscuit, coffee, milo to bring home bangwall.gif bangwall.gif
DogeGamingPRO
post Jun 6 2025, 10:06 AM

169 posts

QUOTE(*lightbringer* @ Jun 6 2025, 10:05 AM)

But for them to take advantage to clock in and out suka hati, not finishing work is just too much.

My HR even told me some of the interns curi biscuit, coffee, milo to bring home bangwall.gif  bangwall.gif
Then itu memang sohai haha pantry also wanna sapu balik rumah
xCM
post Jun 6 2025, 10:08 AM

536 posts

QUOTE(*lightbringer* @ Jun 6 2025, 10:05 AM)
I understand, and that is why my company is flexible. U can clock in from 8-9am, and go back accordingly lah. During puasa, some of them clock in as early as 7am, and clock out at 4pm. I do understand that.

I dont like rigidity too. We are all adults anyway, somemore educated with degree. So act like one. Company gave them the flexibility, use it but dont abuse it.

My HR even told me some of the interns curi biscuit, coffee, milo to bring home bangwall.gif  bangwall.gif
Actually every gen working also got some issues themselves
Then just focus on the most important - work output
Icehart
post Jun 6 2025, 10:09 AM

14,901 posts

Intern right? Terminate them within 24 hours? Set one as example. They will be fearful since intern is part of the study module. Failing one means repeat.
MegaCanonF
post Jun 6 2025, 10:09 AM

875 posts

if attitude problem will be really hard to fix ..

some ppl if kena "basuh" will ok one...

ayam these days reach opis 6.30.. go nearby bfast 1st .
kitkat86
post Jun 6 2025, 10:10 AM

140 posts

Let them be. Don't forget that later yr company still needs to fill up their performance evaluation form. Just imagine them begging yr company for mercy when they're flunking their internship 😈
ps3 fanboy

18 posts

pay them more
SUS*lightbringer*

259 posts

QUOTE(DogeGamingPRO @ Jun 6 2025, 10:06 AM)
Then itu memang sohai haha pantry also wanna sapu balik rumah
Last time my HR got put maggi cup at pantry. Now they stop already because they caught interns curi bawa balik. Not one cup, but 3-4cups. Same goes for coffee, milo. Last time we used to provide 3-in-1, but they always bring back. So now my HR say we just buy the powder one, they mix themselves.

SUS*lightbringer*
post Jun 6 2025, 10:13 AM

259 posts

QUOTE(Icehart @ Jun 6 2025, 10:09 AM)
Intern right? Terminate them within 24 hours? Set one as example. They will be fearful since intern is part of the study module. Failing one means repeat.
My HR suggest the same, but I kesian. But I do know their lecturer personally, so Im going to lodge complain to them instead.

QUOTE(MegaCanonF @ Jun 6 2025, 10:09 AM)

usually like that, especially when u work at KL. Most people I know will reached early, some go for breakfast, some just sleep in car.

QUOTE(kitkat86 @ Jun 6 2025, 10:10 AM)
Let them be. Don't forget that later yr company still needs to fill up their performance evaluation form. Just imagine them begging yr company for mercy when they're flunking their internship 😈
Exactly. Just wait until their lecturer come for visit, will show them the attendance record. But u know, being local uni, i dont think the lecturer care.

QUOTE(ps3 fanboy @ Jun 6 2025, 10:10 AM)
pay them more
They are paid Rm1,700 for internship. Its higher that what GLC or MNC paid for them.
DogeGamingPRO
post Jun 6 2025, 10:14 AM

169 posts

QUOTE(*lightbringer* @ Jun 6 2025, 10:10 AM)
Last time my HR got put maggi cup at pantry. Now they stop already because they caught interns curi bawa balik. Not one cup, but 3-4cups. Same goes for coffee, milo. Last time we used to provide 3-in-1, but they always bring back. So now my HR say we just buy the powder one, they mix themselves.
If intern all of this issue can just kasi stern warning if continue all this bullshit behavior then u will fail them

Unless they don’t care about failing also then nothing to say dy kek
SUS*lightbringer*
post Jun 6 2025, 10:16 AM

259 posts

QUOTE(DogeGamingPRO @ Jun 6 2025, 10:14 AM)
If intern all of this issue can just kasi stern warning if continue all this bullshit behavior then u will fail them

Unless they don’t care about failing also then nothing to say dy kek
My HR will have talk with them later evening lol. I dont really micro manage the intern, but its still annoying.

Imagine being in University for 4 years and failing on internship and still dont care, that one fcked up already bangwall.gif bangwall.gif
kitkat86

140 posts

QUOTE(*lightbringer* @ Jun 6 2025, 10:13 AM)
Exactly. Just wait until their lecturer come for visit, will show them the attendance record. But u know, being local uni, i dont think the lecturer care.
Well can u ask yr HR not to accept interns frm this specific uni in future?
DarkAeon

774 posts

this happened long time ago, i brought in a few interns. after 2 weeks, the pantry supplies meant to last 1 month was completely consumed. it has never happened before this

turns out, them interns have their bfast, lunch, dinner and tea time in office.

biar betik bro
SUS*lightbringer*
post Jun 6 2025, 10:20 AM

259 posts

QUOTE(kitkat86 @ Jun 6 2025, 10:16 AM)
Well can u ask yr HR not to accept interns frm this specific uni in future?
We do actually banned few university interns. But since their lecturer know me personally, so the lecturer asked for help for placement. And not just my company, many company also banned interns from this university. Got 2 universities. One in the middle of PJ, the other one at Bangi. This morning my HR came to my room and gave me the "I told u so" talk about accepting them.

QUOTE(DarkAeon @ Jun 6 2025, 10:16 AM)
this happened long time ago, i brought in a few interns. after 2 weeks, the pantry supplies meant to last 1 month was completely consumed. it has never happened before this

turns out, them interns have their bfast, lunch, dinner and tea time in office.

biar betik bro
same bro. Apart from tapau everything and bring back home, they even eat the milo 3-in-1 for breakfast and tea time. Its not like they are not getting paid. They are paid RM 1,700/month. Its enough for intern. Last time I intern under gomen, satu sen pun xdak.
Chadlonso
post Jun 6 2025, 10:22 AM

115 posts

QUOTE(MegaCanonF @ Jun 6 2025, 10:09 AM)

what time you wake up then? 6.30 reached ofis is damn early
soul78
post Jun 6 2025, 10:24 AM

937 posts

dont call them man and women... they still boy and girl...
caviars
post Jun 6 2025, 10:24 AM

1,144 posts

If you get one bad intern, it could a bad one. If you get all bad, something wrong with your process.

Many hiring managers are lazy and take intern because they have to. Simply take candidate without filter and assign to subordinate with no bandwidth to monitor them. Any problem, ask HR to handle.

Chrix
post Jun 6 2025, 10:25 AM

1,188 posts

overall yes but not every single one

we had interns that are proactive to perform tasks, and even ask for anything else they can assist with, and we also had one that sleep on the desk & dont even inform when they completed task but take that time to rest.
MegaCanonF
post Jun 6 2025, 10:27 AM

875 posts

QUOTE(Chadlonso @ Jun 6 2025, 10:22 AM)
around 5.50 . as TS said good thing Azan is early these days so easier wake up

no choice , traffic to PJ is horrendous if late .

Icehart
post Jun 6 2025, 10:28 AM

14,901 posts

My HR suggest the same, but I kesian. But I do know their lecturer personally, so Im going to lodge complain to them instead.
Nah, you need to prep them for the reality.
And this is the reality.
Underperform -> Door is there.
hirano
post Jun 6 2025, 10:29 AM

凸(`△´#)
3,336 posts

Not Gen Z issue. I sometimes overslept and late for work too, since i'm a night owl. Not a morning person.
AyamBlend
post Jun 6 2025, 10:29 AM

27 posts

QUOTE(Chadlonso @ Jun 6 2025, 10:22 AM)
Nowadays if u depart 6 maybe u reach 6.30

But if u depart 6.30. u may arrive 7.30

Friend worked in IT field in PJ

Morning start work 4 or 5 am , go home at around 3 pm

Best ever
SUS*lightbringer*
post Jun 6 2025, 10:31 AM

259 posts

QUOTE(caviars @ Jun 6 2025, 10:24 AM)
If you get one bad intern, it could a bad one. If you get all bad, something wrong with your process.

Many hiring managers are lazy and take intern because they have to. Simply take candidate without filter and assign to subordinate with no bandwidth to monitor them. Any problem, ask HR to handle.
Initially one, but now become 2. 2 more are ok. We do have filters and assign each intern with specific project, and Senior engineer to monitor them. It help us with our CPD points.

QUOTE(Chrix @ Jun 6 2025, 10:25 AM)
overall yes but not every single one

we had interns that are proactive to perform tasks, and even ask for anything else they can assist with, and we also had one that sleep on the desk & dont even inform when they completed task but take that time to rest.
lol same. I have 2 good interns now. About to finish end of this month, but we gave them one year contract to sambung.

myteam94
post Jun 6 2025, 10:31 AM

438 posts

QUOTE(hirano @ Jun 6 2025, 10:29 AM)
Not Gen Z issue. I sometimes overslept and late for work too, since i'm a night owl. Not a morning person.
same here

but i reach office early so i can clock out early

i follow europe style working.. if finish at 5pm and still got task, continue tomorrow unless betul2 urgent, then i complete on same day. sweat.gif
Baconateer
post Jun 6 2025, 10:32 AM

Meh..... (TM)
5,088 posts

QUOTE(maxpudding @ Jun 6 2025, 09:59 AM)
Hah

Welcome to gen millenials

They simply dont care

Please whack them
Millenials are ppl born between mid 1980s to mid 1990s
Baconateer
post Jun 6 2025, 10:32 AM

Meh..... (TM)
5,088 posts

QUOTE(hirano @ Jun 6 2025, 10:29 AM)
Gen Z lettew
caviars
post Jun 6 2025, 10:44 AM

1,144 posts

QUOTE(*lightbringer* @ Jun 6 2025, 10:31 AM)
Initially one, but now become 2. 2 more are ok. We do have filters and assign each intern with specific project, and Senior engineer to monitor them. It help us with our CPD points.
lol same. I have 2 good interns now. About to finish end of this month, but we gave them one year contract to sambung.
Then it is not gen-z problem since some are ok. When hiring, you bound to get some bad one.
St0rmFury
post Jun 6 2025, 11:02 AM

225 posts

QUOTE(*lightbringer* @ Jun 6 2025, 10:10 AM)
That's fucked... temp staff caused perm staff to lose privileges.
SUS*lightbringer*
post Jun 6 2025, 11:06 AM

259 posts

QUOTE(St0rmFury @ Jun 6 2025, 11:02 AM)
That's fucked... temp staff caused perm staff to lose privileges.
Last time we used to have different pantry for perm staff and intern. But the younger gen pointed out that this is some kind of discrimination, so my HR say ok lah, open for all. So now the temp staff buat hal, all perm staff marah the younger gen for suggesting the idea of pantry for all lol.
nihility
post Jun 6 2025, 11:08 AM

1,596 posts

Partly Upbringing. Partly Individual Mindset. Partly Society’s Silence.

Partly Upbringing
No rightful family would raise a child to believe that showing up late, doing the bare minimum, or treating time like a joke is acceptable.
When someone dares to behave like that in public, it reflects one of two things: either poor upbringing, or a family that has no clue how to guide its own generation.

Worse, some parents defend this lack of discipline — continuing to back their kids in all the wrong ways.
That’s love done wrongly, and it ends up spoiling an entire generation.

Partly Individual Mindset
If someone doesn't care how their actions affect others, it’s not just immaturity — it’s selfishness.
It’s the mindset of someone who demands freedom but refuses to carry responsibility.

Let’s be honest: if you can’t even show up on time, you’re not ready for anything bigger in life.
Not leadership. Not trust. Not opportunity.

Partly Society’s Apathy
We see the problem. We talk about it. We rant online.
But do we actually correct it? Rarely.

We let it slide - “Not my problem.”

Every generation that isn’t corrected becomes everyone’s burden later.
And when reality finally steps in — it won’t be gentle. It won’t be kind.

~

Given the choice, I’ll take the hard path.
If they can’t even show basic discipline, there’s no need for them to continue their internship.
Fail them. Let them find a replacement placement elsewhere.
If they can’t, let them extend their graduation by another semester.

Their parents seem rich enough to back them — let them enjoy the extra time.
Some lessons only sink in when comfort is disrupted.

St0rmFury
post Jun 6 2025, 11:09 AM

225 posts

QUOTE(*lightbringer* @ Jun 6 2025, 11:06 AM)
Last time we used to have different pantry for perm staff and intern. But the younger gen pointed out that this is some kind of discrimination, so my HR say ok lah, open for all. So now the temp staff buat hal, all perm staff marah the younger gen for suggesting the idea of pantry for all lol.
Ya wei, temp staff got nothing to lose. Work a few months then chow, while perm staff have to bear their consequences. bangwall.gif
KitZhai
post Jun 6 2025, 11:27 AM

382 posts

QUOTE(*lightbringer* @ Jun 6 2025, 10:51 AM)
Just morning rant.

My company usually take in interns from various university for various post. All of them are pursuing degree from local University. Now I have 4 engineering interns, 2 man and 2 women. I noticed that they have this kind of attitude, do as they wish. They came in as they wish, and clock out as they wish too. My company have this policy where u can clock in between 8-9am, and then u just clock out accordingly after 9 hours (8 hours working + 1 hour rest). From my point of view, we gave leeway already on being flexible on your working time.

However these interns came in almost 10, at least once a week. So my HR did an investigation and call those that have this problem. Their reason for being late? Simply overslept. Cant brain someone who went to university to overslept. I mean, they usually have class at 8am or 9am, they did their study for 4 years, and by this time they are not accustomed to waking up early? Don't they have to wake up early to pray also? I am not a muslim, yet I woke up when there is Azan because that is the way we are raised. Azan mean its beginning of the day. And this is not special case. Last year I had few interns with the same attitude, and some of my engineers also have this problem, especially fresh grad. Never in my life I was late to work due to overslept, even in my youth days where I partied until 3am, reached home and slept, and still manage to clock in at 8.30am.

Gen z really strawberry generation.

Got this girl graduate from Taylor. On this interview special request, claim that one month she needs to take 2 days leave for golf competition because her body not that healthy and needs exercise

SUSipohps3
post Jun 6 2025, 11:34 AM

1,974 posts

ok, genz with eMas7

no need lah, in Penang MNC depend on the type of work, can just clock in show face to HR and have meeting, do some work. then leave early to avoid traffic jam and continue WFH after that as what you said below
And I don’t mind doing work off hours, I often do and respond to emails and messages in the middle of the night to other region teams etc

Just don’t like the rigidity, no actual point most of the time. thumbup.gif
also more like TS is old school.

of course, this depend on type of work.

This post has been edited by ipohps3: Jun 6 2025, 11:38 AM
damonlbs
post Jun 6 2025, 11:36 AM

487 posts

gen x are bad parents

spoiled their kids
machomama
post Jun 6 2025, 11:39 AM

63 posts

dont really mind gen z's misbehavin
make me look good

what we need to be aware of is this gen after the z, the Alphas
when they come into the pic, that'll be interesting to watch

This post has been edited by machomama: Jun 6 2025, 11:40 AM
miromiro
post Jun 6 2025, 11:44 AM

560 posts

So I guys likes intern follow ka? But they didn't earn much
maxpudding
post Jun 6 2025, 11:46 AM

165 posts

QUOTE(Baconateer @ Jun 6 2025, 10:32 AM)
Millenials are ppl born between mid 1980s to mid 1990s
Gen alpha then lulz
killdavid
post Jun 6 2025, 11:48 AM

Senior Satire Officer
1,638 posts

QUOTE(*lightbringer* @ Jun 6 2025, 09:51 AM)
Just morning rant.

We created this problem.

We tell ourselves we need to be caring and be positive. Cannot scold or punish kids if the break small rules like tardiness , etc.
Children grow up not fearing the consequences of non compliance to rules.

Like that lor.
SUSipohps3
post Jun 6 2025, 11:48 AM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(machomama @ Jun 6 2025, 11:39 AM)
make me look good

gen alpha will be a smaller gen also? with declining birth rate
machomama
post Jun 6 2025, 11:53 AM

63 posts

QUOTE(ipohps3 @ Jun 6 2025, 11:48 AM)
gen alpha will be a smaller gen also? with declining birth rate
doubt it
with the overall population increase
it about evens it out
SUS*lightbringer*
post Jun 6 2025, 11:55 AM

259 posts

[quote=ipohps3,Jun 6 2025, 11:34 AM]
Just don’t like the rigidity, no actual point most of the time. thumbup.gif

[/quote]

[/quote]

Read post #11. My company have flexible working hours, as long as they complete 9hours. The problem is intern masuk suka-suka, balik suka-suka.
SUSAzurues
post Jun 6 2025, 11:57 AM

▲▲▲▲
958 posts

ADA KELIK AWEK GEN Z MACAM NI KE TAK HAH pepegaman
DogeGamingPRO
post Jun 6 2025, 11:58 AM

169 posts

QUOTE(ipohps3 @ Jun 6 2025, 11:34 AM)
ok, genz with eMas7
Janganlah make fun of my genz topkek crippling financial decision

Tapi I not as brave as the 2.5k celery beli seal
nihility
post Jun 6 2025, 12:00 PM

1,596 posts

QUOTE(machomama @ Jun 6 2025, 11:39 AM)
make me look good

There’s one category that’s often overlooked by society — the Cusper Generations. These are people born on the edge of two generations, often called “cuspers.” They tend to carry traits from both sides — the one before and the one after.

Here’s a quick breakdown:

**Cusper Name** **Birth Years** **Current Age (2025)** **Between**
------------------------------- - ------------------ ---------------------------- --------------------------------
**Silents–Boomers Cusp** 1943–1949 76–82 years old Silent Generation ↔ Baby Boomers
**Generation Jones** 1955–1965 60–70 years old Baby Boomers ↔ Gen X
**Xennials** 1977–1983 42–48 years old Gen X ↔ Millennials
**Zillennials** 1992–1998 27–33 years old Millennials ↔ Gen Z
**Zoomers–Alphas Cusp** 2010–2015 10–15 years old Gen Z ↔ Gen Alpha

From what I’ve observed so far, these cuspers are highly adaptive — they’re fluid like water. They blend in. They shift. They adjust. They can relate to the generation before them and connect easily with the one that comes after.

It’s like they’re made for in-between spaces — not fully one, not fully the other, but capable of understanding both.
DogeGamingPRO
post Jun 6 2025, 12:02 PM

169 posts

QUOTE(nihility @ Jun 6 2025, 12:00 PM)
There’s one category that’s often overlooked by society — the Cusper Generations. These are people born on the edge of two generations, often called “cuspers.” They tend to carry traits from both sides — the one before and the one after.

Here’s a quick breakdown:

**Cusper Name**                **Birth Years** **Current Age (2025)** **Between**                     
------------------------------- - ------------------ ---------------------------- --------------------------------
**Silents–Boomers Cusp**  1943–1949        76–82 years old            Silent Generation ↔ Baby Boomers
**Generation Jones**          1955–1965        60–70 years old            Baby Boomers ↔ Gen X           
**Xennials**                      1977–1983        42–48 years old            Gen X ↔ Millennials             
**Zillennials**                    1992–1998        27–33 years old              Millennials ↔ Gen Z             
**Zoomers–Alphas Cusp**  2010–2015        10–15 years old            Gen Z ↔ Gen Alpha               

From what I’ve observed so far, these cuspers are highly adaptive — they’re fluid like water. They blend in. They shift. They adjust. They can relate to the generation before them and connect easily with the one that comes after.

It’s like they’re made for in-between spaces — not fully one, not fully the other, but capable of understanding both.
Yep can totally relate
Balanced
post Jun 6 2025, 12:06 PM

877 posts

Just don’t like the rigidity, no actual point most of the time. I know some ppl work better under rigid structure but not me
Every workplace have their rules. If u CHOOSE to work there, u have already agreed to follow the rules. Example rules say u have to come on monday to friday 8am-5pm, then come. Dont say like oh today no work because my machine is down and i cant do anythg without it, so i dont have to come etc.

U dont like the rigidity of that company and feel its pointless and doesnt suit you, then dont choose to work there. Dont work there than make your own rules and blame the company.

lopo90
post Jun 6 2025, 12:08 PM

695 posts

You become manager but no workers or lack of competent ones. Also problem
DogeGamingPRO
post Jun 6 2025, 12:10 PM

169 posts

QUOTE(Balanced @ Jun 6 2025, 12:06 PM)
Every workplace have their rules. If u CHOOSE to work there, u have already agreed to follow the rules. Example rules say u have to come on monday to friday 8am-5pm, then come. Dont say like oh today no work because my machine is down and i cant do anythg without it, so i dont have to come etc.

U dont like the rigidity of that company and feel its pointless and doesnt suit you, then dont choose to work there. Dont work there than make your own rules and blame the company.
Of course, I’m not saying otherwise. Definitely should not make your own rules if company does not allow.
Current company offers the flexibility and it works out for both sides, just saying in general.

I’m not defending his interns lol I also think they are in the wrong

This post has been edited by DogeGamingPRO: Jun 6 2025, 12:13 PM
Baconateer
post Jun 6 2025, 12:14 PM

Meh..... (TM)
5,088 posts

QUOTE(maxpudding @ Jun 6 2025, 11:46 AM)
Gen alpha then lulz
Is gen Z

Gen alpha too young to work unless the companies do child labour
SUSipohps3
post Jun 6 2025, 12:19 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(*lightbringer* @ Jun 6 2025, 11:55 AM)

Read post #11. My company have flexible working hours, as long as they complete 9hours. The problem is intern masuk suka-suka, balik suka-suka.
fixed 9hrs in office and you call that flexible? that's rigid. please update your definition of flexible.

again, it depends on the type of work.

This post has been edited by ipohps3: Jun 6 2025, 12:19 PM
SUSipohps3
post Jun 6 2025, 12:20 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(lopo90 @ Jun 6 2025, 12:08 PM)
You become manager but no workers or lack of competent ones. Also problem
managing AI icon_idea.gif
Volfeed
post Jun 6 2025, 12:23 PM

396 posts

They are just interns.If they are employees please whack la.
wagie
post Jun 6 2025, 12:24 PM

low pay with minimum effort. no point to work hard
Volfeed
post Jun 6 2025, 12:26 PM

396 posts

QUOTE(damonlbs @ Jun 6 2025, 11:36 AM)
gen x are bad parents

spoiled their kids
Me as GenX concur with this. Myself also guilty as well. Now I am wondering how my kids will be when they starts their adult world.
deepan84
post Jun 6 2025, 12:26 PM

White Rider
2,200 posts

QUOTE(*lightbringer* @ Jun 6 2025, 10:20 AM)
We do actually banned few university interns. But since their lecturer know me personally, so the lecturer asked for help for placement. And not just my company, many company also banned interns from this university. Got 2 universities. One in the middle of PJ, the other one at Bangi. This morning my HR came to my room and gave me the "I told u so" talk about accepting them.
same bro. Apart from tapau everything and bring back home, they even eat the milo 3-in-1 for breakfast and tea time. Its not like they are not getting paid. They are paid RM 1,700/month. Its enough for intern. Last time I intern under gomen, satu sen pun xdak.
That’s high. My time intern in 2007 RM500 only.
limfreelance
post Jun 6 2025, 12:27 PM

343 posts

my company kecil kecil apply to seek in term kat local few uni...but they dont give a f to our company sebab size kecil dik.
dua tahun no ppl give us a f.
economi manyak bagus

lorrydriverrocks
post Jun 6 2025, 12:28 PM

268 posts

Last time my first job got one intern can sleep in his cubicle lagi, somemore snoring. But kesian them la, my boss only give them menial tasks to do like photostat and bancuh kopi haha
SUSSihambodoh
post Jun 6 2025, 12:29 PM

436 posts

Looking at the replies here, walao. Unker so embarassed as someone of the older generation

Come on la, they are interns. What do you expect? How much are you paying them?

Even if they are full timers, cannot expect everyone to work in the same time right? Sometimes some people have morning exercise. Some have to take care of parents. Some have to work late for other commitments so prefer to start later.

Besides, going to work at 8-9am is stupid especially when it is not a customer facing role. You can say it is flexible, but it is during the worst hour to commute. Flexibility is as long as before 10.30am and you work the hours to compensate.

Speaking of hours worked, this is an outdated measure of contribution la. Some work fast some work slow. So when the fast worker completes his job, you give him more work. Essentially you are punishing good behaviors. Then when he leaves, you ask where are all the good people. If people finish already let him go la. Those who are slow stay back until 12am to finish the damn job.

inb4: tak suka jangan kirija

yhtan
post Jun 6 2025, 12:44 PM

8,653 posts

QUOTE(*lightbringer* @ Jun 6 2025, 10:20 AM)
1700 consider very high liao, market i think bagi 800-1k for internship.

If good intern will secure a slot in future employment if perform well. I guess they bring in their uni culture into workplace and piss off u.

Let me guess, Bangi one is government uni and PJ is private uni?

Redhunt
post Jun 6 2025, 12:55 PM

51 posts

lets talk for real

1. internship is FORCED onto the student.
2. internship in Malaysia is shit.
3. how many companies actually have real interest to train intern and take them in after graduation ? It's a tax write off. Assign new laptop to intern, claim double tax relief...etc

This post has been edited by Redhunt: Jun 6 2025, 12:58 PM
cloudwan0
post Jun 6 2025, 01:03 PM

236 posts

env change, just change your policy... why so susah
Phoenix_KL
post Jun 6 2025, 01:05 PM

156 posts

your job is not their dream job.
if it is already reach before work.
they really want to be influencer, tiktoker, youtuber mrbeast etc.

This post has been edited by Phoenix_KL: Jun 6 2025, 01:06 PM
party
post Jun 6 2025, 01:08 PM

816 posts

Can see many old boomers n b40 here
faizalfaizal
post Jun 6 2025, 01:08 PM

104 posts

- lepak at mamak with friends until wee hours
- lying on bed watching TT until 3am-4am
- video call with bf/gf until 3am-4am
- late gaming
- live on TT asking for gifts 3am-4am
gemusw
post Jun 6 2025, 01:10 PM

Gen bodoh
KcX35
post Jun 6 2025, 01:11 PM

ㄨㄨ
2,364 posts

technically as the world progress, the newer generation gonna be more and more chill as technology do everything for us...
geelim77
post Jun 6 2025, 01:12 PM

181 posts

some new gen problem laaa.....my boy school got some student comes in late like 1hour, same reason overslept.....really WTF parents doing loooo
SUSBlackscreamerz
post Jun 6 2025, 01:29 PM

121 posts

because employers attitude like this, the problem persists.

if you let go like this, the cycle will continue.

to have a good culture, at least issue a reminder or warning letter. with deduction of allowance if late.

if you dont train them well, they will carry the attitude to the new workplace too.

thats how malaysia fails as a whole. ppl think their small action doesnt carry any meaning.
SUSBlackscreamerz
post Jun 6 2025, 01:33 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(Redhunt @ Jun 6 2025, 12:55 PM)
lets talk for real

1. internship is FORCED onto the student.
2. internship in Malaysia is shit.
3. how many companies actually have real interest to train intern and take them in after graduation ? It's a tax write off. Assign new laptop to intern, claim double tax relief...etc
1. there is no such thing as forced. students can always look for course without internship.
2. kinda true to certain level. but that doesnt mean the students need to act like a bad employee.
3. there is no real obligation to absorb intern after graduation, especially the internship is on the second last semester. double tax relief is not worthy to keep the intern for the pain.
Shanks747
post Jun 6 2025, 01:40 PM

198 posts

very rare i am early to work hahaha, my bosses dont care as long I got the job done plus I go back later then everyone else
AgogoLatoto
post Jun 6 2025, 02:00 PM

I notice youngsters these days veri hard wake up early. Like to sleep late and sleep in, so don’t mind working until sundown.

Not only during workdays, sometimes vacation also like to wake up late2 until afternoon. Wasted half day already.

Maybe they don’t like to spend time indoors? If wake up late means going home late, after work can go yumcha lepak till 12, then balik straight tido and wake up straight go to work, must means they don’t usually do anything at home right?
unknown_2
post Jun 6 2025, 02:04 PM

573 posts

Just morning rant.

boomer mentality.
8-9am is actually not a good time as traffic usually heaviest if plan to arrive by those hours.

this is my argument:
i'm gonna giv 8 hours of work a day to company anyway.
working 8 hours a day +1 hour commute beats working 8 hours a day +3 hours of commute.
this is just example of how much u lost your life in unproductive traffic jam.
Redhunt
post Jun 6 2025, 02:05 PM

51 posts

QUOTE(Blackscreamerz @ Jun 6 2025, 01:33 PM)
1. there is no such thing as forced. students can always look for course without internship.
2. kinda true to certain level. but that doesnt mean the students need to act like a bad employee.
3. there is no real obligation to absorb intern after graduation, especially the internship is on the second last semester. double tax relief is not worthy to keep the intern for the pain.
1. you don't know alot of courses in msia is forced meh ? You are going to argue next, that if don't like, go study overseas lor. The you are going to argue, if cannot study overseas, don;t study lor
2. bad working condition = bad attitude
3. no shit, hence (2)

This post has been edited by Redhunt: Jun 6 2025, 02:05 PM
SUS*lightbringer*
post Jun 6 2025, 02:24 PM

259 posts

QUOTE(ipohps3 @ Jun 6 2025, 12:19 PM)
fixed 9hrs in office and you call that flexible? that's rigid. please update your definition of flexible.

again, it depends on the type of work.
My employers can come in from 7-9, and check out 4-6. That is flexible enough. We are specialist consultant firm, cant expect people to come in 11am. We usually have meeting with clients as early as 9am. Most companies, in or out malaysia practice the same thing.

Like u said yourself, depends on type of work. In my line of work where we are office based, this is flexible enough.

Your company allow u to work 3 hours for 8 hours pay? or u get paid by hour?
SUSipohps3
post Jun 6 2025, 02:27 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(*lightbringer* @ Jun 6 2025, 02:24 PM)
My employers can come in from 7-9, and check out 4-6. That is flexible enough. We are specialist consultant firm, cant expect people to come in 11am. We usually have meeting with clients as early as 9am. Most companies, in or out malaysia practice the same thing.

Like u said yourself, depends on type of work. In my line of work where we are office based, this is flexible enough.

Your company allow u to work 3 hours for 8 hours pay? or u get paid by hour?
we work around the clock. work life integration. working with Intel AMD requires one to sync up with people in different time zones. sometimes late night like 12am. sometimes early morning like 6am. so you can split you work time at home.

This post has been edited by ipohps3: Jun 6 2025, 02:28 PM
SUS*lightbringer*
post Jun 6 2025, 02:29 PM

259 posts

QUOTE(ipohps3 @ Jun 6 2025, 02:27 PM)
we work around the clock. work life integration. working with Intel AMD requires one to sync up with people in different time zone. sometimes late night like 12am. sometimes early morning like 6am. so you can split you work time at home.
u see, u work in IT dept. My friend working at Intel also same. We are working with local companies, so we have to adhere to local time.

So our situation same or not?
SUSipohps3
post Jun 6 2025, 02:30 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(*lightbringer* @ Jun 6 2025, 02:29 PM)
u see, u work in IT dept. My friend working at Intel also same. We are working with local companies, so we have to adhere to local time.

So our situation same or not?
that's why I say depend on work lor. peace.
maxpudding
post Jun 6 2025, 02:39 PM

165 posts

QUOTE(Baconateer @ Jun 6 2025, 12:14 PM)
Is gen Z

Gen alpha too young to work unless the companies do child labour
Gen-dut then
jasontoh
post Jun 6 2025, 02:55 PM

8,446 posts

Just morning rant.

Not just kids nowadays. I mean when I was in uni, there are times that a lot of us skipped the morning session lecture. I'm pretty sure some of my gang are actually doing that, there is usually a guy or 2 who are more hardworking and he actually help us to sign the attendance
SUS*lightbringer*
post Jun 6 2025, 03:07 PM

259 posts

QUOTE(jasontoh @ Jun 6 2025, 02:55 PM)
Not just kids nowadays. I mean when I was in uni, there are times that a lot of us skipped the morning session lecture. I'm pretty sure some of my gang are actually doing that, there is usually a guy or 2 who are more hardworking and he actually help us to sign the attendance
Me too. im not the brightest student in my class, and I always skip morning class. Most of my gang did the same thing. But when it come to work life, none of us ever been late because of overslept. And yet we still party until 3am, lepak at Asia cafe until 3am shisha, drinking, watching footies. Because we know if we fcked this up, we will be fcked for life.
jasontoh
post Jun 6 2025, 03:09 PM

8,446 posts

QUOTE(*lightbringer* @ Jun 6 2025, 03:07 PM)
Me too. im not the brightest student in my class, and I always skip morning class. Most of my gang did the same thing. But when it come to work life, none of us ever been late because of overslept. And yet we still party until  3am, lepak at Asia cafe until 3am shisha, drinking, watching footies. Because we know if we fcked this up, we will be fcked for life.
Yea. Same, my early working life was sometimes party till late night (usually Friday onwards), but most weekdays we still play online games until 3-4am. I think the key different is we know that we have the responsibility so we make it a point to wake up early and go to work.
capatiroticanai
post Jun 6 2025, 03:16 PM

ini uncle yang rant mesti Gen X. sure this uncle born on 70th - 80th. i'm not gen Z btw but FYI, in local university we can arrange/choose our own class schedule. Me back then, i like to choose afternoon or evening class. haha
SUS*lightbringer*
post Jun 6 2025, 03:28 PM

259 posts

QUOTE(capatiroticanai @ Jun 6 2025, 03:16 PM)
ini uncle yang rant mesti Gen X. sure this uncle born on 70th - 80th. i'm not gen Z btw but FYI, in local university we can arrange/choose our own class schedule. Me back then, i like to choose afternoon or evening class. haha
First of all, its 70s - 80s. Not 70th - 80th. Learn what is ordinal number.

2nd of all, I was in local U too. We are not allowed to arrange our class. If the core subject is in morning, morning it is. U just register your subject, the schedule is up to the lecturer.

SUSBlackscreamerz
post Jun 6 2025, 03:33 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(Redhunt @ Jun 6 2025, 02:05 PM)
1. you don't know alot of courses in msia is forced meh ? You are going to argue next, that if don't like, go study overseas lor. The you are going to argue, if cannot study overseas, don;t study lor
2. bad working condition = bad attitude
3. no shit, hence (2)
Actually, the best argument is, internship is good if it is run correctly.

It gives the undergraduates a sense of what to expect in the future.

SUS*lightbringer*
post Jun 6 2025, 03:35 PM

259 posts

QUOTE(Blackscreamerz @ Jun 6 2025, 03:33 PM)
Actually, the best argument is, internship is good if it is run correctly.

It gives the undergraduates a sense of what to expect in the future.
Yes. Unfortunately many company take interns as free labor. But not my company. We pay them min wages, RM1700. And they dont do admin job. They get first hand experience on engineering work. Their supervisor will bring them to meeting, to discussion, etc.

anakkk
post Jun 6 2025, 09:53 PM

2,119 posts

will you meet up with their lecturer? If yes, I believe you can put this in their report :X
ShadowR1
post Jun 6 2025, 10:30 PM

Im still HeRe ...
1,886 posts

Those that have pattern, I send them to the morgue aka data center ... bertapa lah sana till the end.

Its not gen z problem, its the new gen problem.
ClessRV
post Jun 6 2025, 11:05 PM

702 posts

put in the comment when the lect ask for feedback, confirm they will say not surprise also, or if still in the early training, inform the uni, usually later they will "threaten" them saying they will fail, but ipta la, if ipts, maybe will brush off since most is money talks there
new in IT
post Jun 6 2025, 11:08 PM

378 posts

Sorry boss, morning go in site, settle some stuff, meet with PIC, ding dong here and there already near to 11 am when enter office.

Owaiii...
suikod3n
post Jun 6 2025, 11:14 PM

34 posts

my intern faked an excuse for EL, so call meetup with lecturer to evaluate internship.

HR called the lecturer whether you're meeting the intern, lecturer said mana ada laugh.gif

intern get terminated by HR the following day kek. kids now treat work like school hahaha.
Randomization
post Jun 6 2025, 11:44 PM

460 posts

QUOTE(unknown_2 @ Jun 6 2025, 02:04 PM)
boomer mentality.
8-9am is actually not a good time as traffic usually heaviest if plan to arrive by those hours.

this is my argument:
i'm gonna giv 8 hours of work a day to company anyway.
working 8 hours a day +1 hour commute beats working 8 hours a day +3 hours of commute.
this is just example of how much u lost your life in unproductive traffic jam.
Sign for internship, working hour starts from 8/9.

Come in late, claim overslept.

Salah mentality.

KEKWA
unknown_2
post Jun 7 2025, 01:39 PM

573 posts

QUOTE(Randomization @ Jun 6 2025, 11:44 PM)

Salah mentality.

KEKWA
time has changed, people thoughts & perception also has changed.
boomer refused or incapable to keep up with the changes.
just like fashion, taste, culture, practice, the norm changes over time.
people nowadays value flexibilities of working hours.
Randomization
post Jun 7 2025, 01:41 PM

460 posts

QUOTE(unknown_2 @ Jun 7 2025, 01:39 PM)
Or you can just reject signing the internship if you don't agree with the expectations.

What you value doesn't mean you can do whatever you want to your whim.

unknown_2
post Jun 7 2025, 02:06 PM

573 posts

QUOTE(Randomization @ Jun 7 2025, 01:41 PM)
Or you can just reject signing the internship if you don't agree with the expectations.

What you value doesn't mean you can do whatever you want to your whim.
go on, keep up wit that kind of boomer mentality, u wont be able to manage gen z & next time gen alpha subordinates.

want to talk about technically of a legal document so much, your gen z employees wont answer your call/emails 1 minute early or after working hours.
non of them will be willing to work overtime for u when project requires it.
u wanna learn that the hard way, so be it.
Randomization
post Jun 7 2025, 02:28 PM

460 posts

QUOTE(unknown_2 @ Jun 7 2025, 02:06 PM)
go on, keep up wit that kind of boomer mentality, u wont be able to manage gen z & next time gen alpha subordinates.

want to talk about technically of a legal document so much, your gen z employees wont answer your call/emails 1 minute early or after working hours.
non of them will be willing to work overtime for u when project requires it.
u wanna learn that the hard way, so be it.
I manage them fine.
We communicate and agree on things to manage expectations
Unlike what you trying to say where we should throw all the policies out the window just to satisfy their value, just because they're from the new gen.

Anyway, I rest my case.

ruffy_z
post Jun 7 2025, 02:33 PM

17 posts

So what, theyre just interns, theyre not going to be absorbed anyway
unknown_2
post Jun 7 2025, 03:40 PM

573 posts

QUOTE(Randomization @ Jun 7 2025, 02:28 PM)
I manage them fine.
We communicate and agree on things to manage expectations
Unlike what you trying to say where we should throw all the policies out the window just to satisfy their value, just because they're from the new gen.

Anyway, I rest my case.
u lack understanding of what each generation priorities, & stuck in your old ways.

i too rest my case.
yungkit14
post Jun 7 2025, 03:55 PM

852 posts

wow didnt know this thread still normalising punctuality to finish work on time
Boomwick
post Jun 7 2025, 04:17 PM

1,005 posts

1st.. they dont have commitment

2nd, their celery is ciput.. mao goreng mah goreng lo

If they got commitment ad, then will play the good game and follow the 9 to 5 6 7 8 or wadever needed

This post has been edited by Boomwick: Jun 7 2025, 04:18 PM
Moshpit94
post Jun 7 2025, 05:02 PM

371 posts

QUOTE(Randomization @ Jun 6 2025, 11:44 PM)

Salah mentality.

KEKWA
QUOTE(unknown_2 @ Jun 7 2025, 01:39 PM)
I am a Millennial and I have Boomer (in terms of thinking) boss and Gen Z as Junior.

Gen Z:
- Output is way better than my boss / me as they work really smart and know how to keep things fun
- They don't believe work rigidly like 8 hour stares at computers

Boomer:
- Die die stare at screen even if u have no work as long as u come to office
- U must be passionate about your work even if it's a data entry job

What I can see is that the STYLE of work is different and doesn't complement each other, but the OUTPUT is there. I have the same junior who come in at 10-11 am and go back at 3pm although I'm in the Government-related.

I can vouch their output and they are very direct or low empathy in terms of communication. For Gen Z, they believe if u give them to settle 3 tasks today, then they do the 3 tasks and then go back home to enjoy personal life.

Devote lesser time to corporate slavery and have more freedom. Their aim is not to be rich, but to be free.

That's what I can see.
Penamer
post Jun 7 2025, 05:25 PM

Yes. No discipline because the father neutered by the mother already. Society has chosen, cannot be helped, this is destiny.

This post has been edited by Penamer: Jun 7 2025, 05:25 PM
Randomization
post Jun 7 2025, 06:05 PM

460 posts

QUOTE(Moshpit94 @ Jun 7 2025, 05:02 PM)
I am a Millennial and I have Boomer (in terms of thinking) boss and Gen Z as Junior.

Gen Z:
- Output is way better than my boss / me as they work really smart and know how to keep things fun

Boomer:
What I can see is that the STYLE of work is different and doesn't complement each other, but the OUTPUT is there. I have the same junior who come in at 10-11 am and go back at 3pm although I'm in the Government-related.

I can vouch their output and they are very direct or low empathy in terms of communication. For Gen Z, they believe if u give them to settle 3 tasks today, then they do the 3 tasks and then go back home to enjoy personal life.

Devote lesser time to corporate slavery and have more freedom. Their aim is not to be rich, but to be free.

That's what I can see.
The fact is nobody arguing about their output.

It's not about style either.

I value flexibility too but you can't go on coming in late as you wish just because you overslept.

People keep saying this is a boomer thing, I don't agree. I allow my staff to be flexible and come in late if needed. But oversleeping is not a good reason.

Imagine everyone prioritizing their own needs and coming in at odd hours.

unknown_2
post Jun 8 2025, 12:48 AM

573 posts

QUOTE(Moshpit94 @ Jun 7 2025, 05:02 PM)

Gen Z:

Boomer:

That's what I can see.
this is true.
boomer always complaint that gen z not loyal, not being thankful of opportunities, but they failed to understand what gen z wants & what they r willing to trade for.

i giv my team a lot of flexibilities in the normal operation days.
when project comes, or incident happens, they are willing to put in hours, the works, & the effort, even on an off day, to get things done/fix.
an employee is much willing to spend 10 hours wfh, than 8 hours office + 1 hour commute.

but of coz such flexibilities cannot be applied in every industry.
f&b/retail for example, u cannot allow flexibility on when your shop opens.
but for industry that has no impact, there'a no reason why flexible hours cannot be implemented.
LemonHoneyIce
post Jun 8 2025, 01:16 AM

33 posts

either we old ppl are slave mindset or them being too carefree.
My workplace everyday i'm 1st to arrive to office, open door, light, and turn on printer those.
Also cuz scare no parking space left so go early.
westernkl
post Jun 8 2025, 03:47 AM

552 posts

How old are u?
EncikSejati
post Jun 8 2025, 04:07 AM

18 posts

well , manner maketh a man after all . gen z is loser

0.1333sec    0.51    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 11:01 PM