tv broken because thunder

Zot
post Jun 3 2025, 02:22 PM

7,938 posts

At least you do not have to think twice whether to buy new TV or not.
Zot
post Jun 3 2025, 02:29 PM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(Momo33 @ Jun 3 2025, 02:25 PM)
you need  to pull out plugs  before lightning storm . 

your house  has poor earth grounding .
House grounding is not meant for lightning, unless you install lightning rod on rooftop. biggrin.gif
Zot
post Jun 3 2025, 02:49 PM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(khusyairi @ Jun 3 2025, 02:31 PM)
Even if u off plug or switch; there is electric leakage. This is normal. But normally it is very low leakage.
For yr case, it is very high leakage. Most probably, yr house light also cannot tahan lama even if u use LED light. Yr TV & light still take & consume electric when u switch off bcoz of this leak.
Then yr grounding also not very good. That's why yr TV broken after hit by thunder.

For yr case; u have 2 option... 1st- Make new wiring & replace main switch..
2nd- Take out yr TV plug everytime when not use..
How come there power leakage when plug is off. No such thing. The only way people talk about leakage is on appliance that is never off like when you off using remote or anything on standby. TV is one of them.

Your house grounding is to protect you from electrocution when touching faulty appliances with Live wire or AC short-circuited to appliances body. Protecting house from lightning means you need to install lightning rod on top of your house rooftop and have sizeable copper strip to grounding rod in the ground. House grounding wire is not capable to carry high current caused by lightning.
Zot
post Jun 3 2025, 03:05 PM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(Momo33 @ Jun 3 2025, 02:56 PM)
i see u like to play with words. or weak on your knowledge. 

1.when plug point is OFF .  the surge can jump  the gap  .  You can call this leakage thru the air. 
2. the neutral is still connected .  the surge can flow in/out .
I don't deny what you were saying but my understanding was that he was talking about leakage when power is off unrelated to lightning. If you read about leakage, it is described as what I explained.

The electrical jump spark between two point I believe is not called as leakage but electrical discharge.
Zot
post Jun 3 2025, 03:21 PM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(bani_prime @ Jun 3 2025, 01:17 PM)
i am so confuse. plug already off. already on voltage controller. why still broken after hit by thunder
What type of voltage controller are we talking about here? Did the controller also get damaged?
Zot
post Jun 4 2025, 09:52 AM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(khusyairi @ Jun 4 2025, 08:54 AM)
It's normal la for leakage & power loss for any house. It's no joke.
But the voltage is very low. U only put it to minimum which is tolerable.
However if switch is broken, low quality, wiring no good; then leakage very high.. Light or TV also can cepat rosak when not turn on..
U can see in minute 10:00 in video; there still electric leak (switch turn off)- no light turn on as voltage very low to turn on the light. This is normal.
That's why if long holiday or balik kampung, better pull out Tv plug..

I'm not sure what qualification this person has but his description is misleading. I would say it is not correct. The "leak" in this demo seems to me is not about switch leak. Even if you remove the switch and separate the two wires in the switch by few inches apart, you would still get the voltage reading. It has nothing to do with switch.

The phenomenon that we are seeing here is ghost or phantom voltage. Many people do not really understand the difference between voltage and current. It depends on the wiring in the wall. In my house also certain points even get 20V when measured with multimeter. This is the voltage reading but there is almost no power this voltage can supply. It probably can lit the neon indicator on the switch. That is why those switch with neon bulb still lightly lit up when switch is powered off.

The voltage on the wire is induced voltage by the live wire adjacent to disconnected wire laid next to it. In house wiring, you are most likely pull the L and N wire next to each other or they are laid together in conduit including the switch wire. Even when the switch is off, the AC on the L wire will induce the switch wire next to it and generate voltage. Same concept like transformer. The primary winding and secondary winding do not physically connect to each other but the voltage is produce at the secondary winding still. However, unlike the wire in the wall, there are many loops of winding wire that collect much of magnetic flux to generate power or current to power load at the secondary.

I bet if the guy use a LoZ (low impedance) multimeter, the voltage reading would be zero. smile.gif

0.0147sec    0.36    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 01:52 AM