Cluster Headache

hikashi
post Jun 4 2025, 05:11 AM

Pusheeeeeeeett
1,065 posts

QUOTE(zero5177 @ Jun 3 2025, 05:23 PM)
Neuro prescribed Celebrex as he suspect the Occipital nerve inflammation, will follow up with him again next week
My job mostly staring at screen and make calls, previous clicnic did suspect might be migrane, some say is sinus, but I think otherwise, thus I look for neurologist to see if they can solve my problem, now they suspect is nerve inflammation and prescribed me Celebrex

Nanti I check the IG see
Totally agree, a lot ppl thought is migraine, like u said I can feel it is coming, then it just peak on its own, tearing eye at one side, runny nose, and serious pain. Recently I find some small relief if I apply ice pack behind my neck at the affected side, temple, forehead, wherever the pain goes.

Any side effect taking sumatriptan?
yeah know this case pretty well, for my case doctor said should not be major because I have lived >10 years when I first got this and there is no other symptoms like vomitting/nausea/fainting, just pain alone, but really really serios pain at its peak, pain enough for u to have thoughts to give up living.

let's see how this prescription goes after a week.
The side effect sumatriptan varied from person to person. For me it is God sent. Only feel slightly tired from it and i still can be productive. No other medicine can abort my CH attack. I tried every class of medication, panadol, celebrex, naproxen, caffox and none of them as effective as triptan.

The problem with CH is you need to abort it early as soon as you felt it. Any later and your day will be ruined when the CH is on its highest strength and it is difficult to subside even on triptan.

Side note, triptan is really expensive. Each pill can go up to RM25-30 for ori brand (imigran-gsk). Generic is about rm5 each. A price to pay for quality of life.

Again, please do look for physician to rule out other possible underlying issue. Dont self prescribe the medicine.

TSzero5177
post Jun 4 2025, 11:03 PM

Sixth Sense Unlocked
1,552 posts

QUOTE(hikashi @ Jun 4 2025, 05:11 AM)
The side effect sumatriptan varied from person to person. For me it is God sent. Only feel slightly tired from it and i still can be productive. No other medicine can abort my CH attack. I tried every class of medication, panadol, celebrex, naproxen, caffox and none of them as effective as triptan.

The problem with CH is you need to abort it early as soon as you felt it. Any later and your day will be ruined when the CH is on its highest strength and it is difficult to subside even on triptan.

Side note, triptan is really expensive. Each pill can go up to RM25-30 for ori brand (imigran-gsk). Generic is about rm5 each. A price to pay for quality of life.

Again, please do look for physician to rule out other possible underlying issue. Dont self prescribe the medicine.
Just started Celebrex yesterday, 2x 200mg a day

But still yesterday night around 10pm my headache attacked again,

then this afternoon around 12pm my headache attacked once more.

Made me feel the cerebrex is useless, I read online that it will at its peak effect at around 3rd hour, I took med around 10am but 12pm still headache.

Btw have u ever tried inhaling oxygen? like those Portable ones we get 1000ml per bottle
hikashi
post Jun 5 2025, 07:46 AM

Pusheeeeeeeett
1,065 posts

QUOTE(zero5177 @ Jun 4 2025, 11:03 PM)
Just started Celebrex yesterday, 2x 200mg a day

But still yesterday night around 10pm my headache attacked again,

then this afternoon around 12pm my headache attacked once more.

Made me feel the cerebrex is useless, I read online that it will at its peak effect at around 3rd hour, I took med around 10am but 12pm still headache.

Btw have u ever tried inhaling oxygen? like those Portable ones we get 1000ml per bottle
Cerebrex is not effective in aborting CH attack for my case.

Yes i tried those portable O2 canister. Doesnt work. Not strong enough. Technically speaking you need huge O2 tank type for it to work. I did consider for that too but my doctor also got warn me about the physical side effect. The volume intake quite high and may damage the lung for long term usage.

Keep a CH attack diary. Note when the attack start and end, what medication you took, and scale 1-10 of the pain. This way you can show to your doctor.

Fight on bro. Any season will start and end.
hikashi
post Jun 5 2025, 08:35 AM

Pusheeeeeeeett
1,065 posts

CH treatment is split into two:

Abortive - used to stop the incoming pain quickly.
- high o2 flow
- sumatriptan (oral, spray or injection)

Preventive - used to reduce frequency of attack until 0.
- verapamil
- prednisone (high dose to low dose)
- high dose of Vitamin D

Quite frankly if your headache is really Cluster Headache, the doctor is wasting your time prescribing Celecoxib. It works for inflammation and arthritis but CH need fast acting treatment to abort the pain like o2 treatment or sumatriptan. If your doctor not actively ruling out other issue (mri scan or ecg), please go find 2nd opinion. Meanwhile log your pain diary.
TSzero5177
post Jun 5 2025, 10:23 AM

Sixth Sense Unlocked
1,552 posts

QUOTE(hikashi @ Jun 5 2025, 08:35 AM)
CH treatment is split into two:

Abortive - used to stop the incoming pain quickly.
- high o2 flow
- sumatriptan (oral, spray or injection)

Preventive - used to reduce frequency of attack until 0.
- verapamil
- prednisone (high dose to low dose)
- high dose of Vitamin D

Quite frankly if your headache is really Cluster Headache, the doctor is wasting your time prescribing Celecoxib. It works for inflammation and arthritis but CH need fast acting treatment to abort the pain like o2 treatment or sumatriptan. If your doctor not actively ruling out other issue (mri scan or ecg), please go find 2nd opinion. Meanwhile log your pain diary.
You have any specialist/doctor to recommend? I too felt like wasting time and continue suffering daily
Blofeld
post Jun 5 2025, 10:30 AM

4,700 posts

have u monitored your sleeping schedule?
TSzero5177
post Jun 5 2025, 10:33 AM

Sixth Sense Unlocked
1,552 posts

QUOTE(Blofeld @ Jun 5 2025, 10:30 AM)
have u monitored your sleeping schedule?
7-8 hours sleep daily, this morning woke up then att came
Prestigemedia
post Jun 5 2025, 12:02 PM

87 posts

Bro ,
Honest sincere advise . Headache cluster is not something we should take lightly

I’m sorry but I don’t want things to go bad. But however could be migraine .. just take extra precautions
AriesChai
post Jun 5 2025, 12:09 PM

338 posts

Try this

Eat raw
Tumeric 2g-3g
Old ginger 2g-3g

Twice a day
every morning and before sleep

Can feel the instant effect

TSzero5177
post Jun 5 2025, 12:15 PM

Sixth Sense Unlocked
1,552 posts

QUOTE(AriesChai @ Jun 5 2025, 12:09 PM)
Try this

Eat raw
Tumeric 2g-3g
Old ginger 2g-3g

Twice a day
every morning and before sleep

Can feel the instant effect
Is this for Migraine or Cluster Headache?
AriesChai
post Jun 5 2025, 12:44 PM

338 posts

QUOTE(zero5177 @ Jun 5 2025, 12:15 PM)
Is this for Migraine or Cluster Headache?
turmeric and old ginger have many benefit, it jus cost RM1-RM2 and can last for 1 week consumption, slice and keep in the fridge.
hikashi
post Jun 5 2025, 04:19 PM

Pusheeeeeeeett
1,065 posts

QUOTE(zero5177 @ Jun 5 2025, 10:23 AM)
You have any specialist/doctor to recommend? I too felt like wasting time and continue suffering daily
I went to columbia asia (miri) like 15+ years back. The GP recommended me to their specialist.

The specialist did MRI scan and other health check.
Then prescribed me with triptan.
Boomwick
post Jun 5 2025, 05:02 PM

983 posts

Did some parasite climb up ur brain ad ?

Cysticerosis

Tape worm larvae? Hookworm larvea
SUShzmaz2017
post Jun 5 2025, 08:18 PM

45 posts

Attached File(s)
Attached File  Headache_Help.pdf ( 2.85mb ) Number of downloads: 4
AEROZ
post Jun 5 2025, 11:02 PM

224 posts

I highly suspected it's your work posture issue.
It had greatly strained your neck/SCM muscles, which can contribute to headache, dizziness, nausea, etc.
I recommend that you go for physio to get it checked.
OnePiece999
post Jun 6 2025, 03:57 PM

405 posts

Go do full body blood test, pay the maximum package one don’t cheap out, the usual 1000 to 2000 ringgit one, which do more than 100 advance sample blood test, from that then only see what to do next. Don’t go for cheap govt one also which they also cheap out the test to bare minimum.
ragk
post Jun 9 2025, 05:19 PM

BooBoo~
2,353 posts

Other than headache, did u felt any tightness behind your neck?

I used to have migraine for many years, can felt the tightness inside my head like something pulling from inner part of my head, straining my eye sometimes causing me to have blur vision.

It's headache so i keep checking on my head, but end up it's something unrelated, it's my neck/back issue which is stretching my head and eye, physio and chiropractic resolved my issue in the end... I'm a programmer so I need sit and stare at monitor for many hours a day too.

This post has been edited by ragk: Jun 9 2025, 05:20 PM
TSzero5177
post Jun 10 2025, 06:34 PM

Sixth Sense Unlocked
1,552 posts

QUOTE(Boomwick @ Jun 5 2025, 05:02 PM)
Did some parasite climb up ur brain ad ?

Cysticerosis

Tape worm larvae? Hookworm larvea
I would say unlikely, but anyway I'm doing a CT scan tomorrow

QUOTE(AEROZ @ Jun 5 2025, 11:02 PM)
I highly suspected it's your work posture issue.
It had greatly strained your neck/SCM muscles, which can contribute to headache, dizziness, nausea, etc.
I recommend that you go for physio to get it checked.
I'm not sure about posture because this occur before I get in to work, when studying around 19 years old.
Currently referred by doctor to check Sinus for any blockage, will do CT scan tomorrow

QUOTE(OnePiece999 @ Jun 6 2025, 03:57 PM)
Go do full body blood test, pay the maximum package one don’t cheap out, the usual 1000 to 2000 ringgit one, which do more than 100 advance sample blood test, from that then only see what to do next. Don’t go for cheap govt one also which they also cheap out the test to bare minimum.
I take almost everything from Pathlab, that doesn't show any red flag including tumor marker.
Currently checking sinus via CT scan tmr to see if there's any lead. The prescribed Cerebrex doesn't work and they say this seems like a long way till I get to identify what it is.

QUOTE(ragk @ Jun 9 2025, 05:19 PM)
Other than headache, did u felt any tightness behind your neck?

I used to have migraine for many years, can felt the tightness inside my head like something pulling from inner part of my head, straining my eye sometimes causing me to have blur vision.

It's headache so i keep checking on my head, but end up it's something unrelated, it's my neck/back issue which is stretching my head and eye, physio and chiropractic resolved my issue in the end... I'm a programmer so I need sit and stare at monitor for many hours a day too.
During headache, some of my muscle at neck is stiffer, I tried Chiropractic before who specialized on neck, but it doesn't solve my problem. Lets see CT scan tmr showing anything for Sinus.

ragk
post Jun 10 2025, 07:03 PM

BooBoo~
2,353 posts

QUOTE(zero5177 @ Jun 10 2025, 06:34 PM)
I'm not sure about posture because this occur before I get in to work, when studying around 19 years old.
FYI, I start feeling it when i was 17, but i do have Sinus issue, so i always think it's causing by my Sinus, but it's not. The symptom getting worst as im gaining age.

During headache, some of my muscle at neck is stiffer, I tried Chiropractic before who specialized on neck, but it doesn't solve my problem. Lets see CT scan tmr showing anything for Sinus.
Have u went to any massage sifu before? I can let u know u my whole experience of my problem, hope it helped.

In my older day when I still have very serious headache, on the most severe occasion I need to EL and rest at home, and almost everyday i wake up i've horrible headache.

I keep looking for solution by checking on my head until one day my friend suggest that it might have something to do with my neck/muscle, and he intro me to a Chinese massage sifu.

And the Sifu can tell which area of my muscle is abnormal/stiff by just touching on it, and from here my symptom started to mitigate. This Sifu can't cure my problem, but he identified my problem, because i can feel the improvement right away, i can see thing clearer thn usual, and after some weeks keep revisiting im getting better and better.

This Sifu is not the solution, but he clearly pointed out where my problem came from. So for the next few years, i keep visit this Sifu 3-4 times a month to minimize the impact, while also visiting different Doctor to find permanent solution.

My final solution is Chiropractic, i've minor scoliosis (proven by X-ray) which causing my back muscle to stay imbalance. Chiropractic didn't just cured me right away, I can felt some improvement on first few visit, and things stay stagnant for few months, not much improvement, and then I switch to Senior Chiropractor, thn things start to get better again until today.

Occasionally i still felt a little bit of headache, but I will say it's 95% better then older day. I still need to visit Chiropractor every 3 months now for maintenance, and I also worked with the Chiropractor to adjust my posture problem, change my bed, my chair, my working station etc, so that my condition won't reoccurred due to bad posture. That's lot of maintenance to do, but it's worthy.

Are u staying in KL area? The Sifu i mentioned above stay in USJ Area, if u are interested, i can pm u his phone number, u can find him to see if he can identify your issue.

This post has been edited by ragk: Jun 10 2025, 07:08 PM
Boomwick
post Jun 10 2025, 07:09 PM

983 posts

I would say unlikely, but anyway I'm doing a CT scan tomorrow
Currently referred by doctor to check Sinus for any blockage, will do CT scan tomorrow
Maybe is CTL spine
Maybe virus infection, those like neurovirus macam shingles
Sinus bacteria also possible.

Maybe try to use this gym stretcher.

https://www.precor.com/core-and-stretching

This post has been edited by Boomwick: Jun 10 2025, 07:12 PM

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0219sec    0.49    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 06:35 AM