[2025] iPhone 17/Air Discussion

chongkiatz
post Sep 11 2025, 09:36 AM

6,779 posts

QUOTE(attw @ Sep 11 2025, 08:55 AM)
For me, any phone that requires a mid day charge or a power bank is a fail in my books, hahaha…
Also, I can’t brain why they would put the A19 Pro in the Air but give it only USB 2.0 speed as opposed to USB 3.0 on the Pro Max? That is strange… Anyways, many reviewers online concluded yesterday that the Air is like a first gen experimental product for Apple - just like the MacBook Air when Steve Jobs pulled it out of an envelope all those years ago - and today, MacBook Air is the best selling laptop in the world. So I guess we need to give the Air some time to see if it sticks.
I dont mean it will die on the mid day , like u fully charge at the morning , replying email , social media some photo/video , and it might left around 40-50% in the 2-3pm , so to be more secure , might need topup alittle bit back to 80-90% for maybe night dinner or meeting til home , for such slim and light weight phone , i think topup in the middle of day is fair enough.

About the USB 2.0 , i think apple really focus more on cloud service or wirelessly rather than cable. Me myself also rarely use cable expect for charging only biggrin.gif If want to transfer anything to windows laptop , just using LocalSend and it can cross-over all platform.

QUOTE(Skeuomorphic @ Sep 11 2025, 09:03 AM)
if can preorder tomorrow with this price after rm300 platform voucher it would be a crazy good deal

Definitely worth for first launching laugh.gif , then buy a magsafe powerbank to backup then u wont ever have battery life anxiety smile.gif

This post has been edited by chongkiatz: Sep 11 2025, 09:40 AM
chongkiatz
post Sep 11 2025, 10:10 AM

6,779 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Sep 11 2025, 10:03 AM)
But cannot replace the backup via iTunes rite? If usb 2.0 the transfer will still be slow. Although I never have the experience with backup via iTunes using iPhone 15 pro and above yet.
yes the only downside was backup via iTunes might be slow for usb 2.0 , but i think just use wireless backup will do laugh.gif

And in 2025 , do actually people stil using iTunes? At least among my friend and family , dont surprise that non-of them actually knowing iTunes biggrin.gif , only old user might know iTunes because we need using it to update our device in old day biggrin.gif and now , everything to cloud and wireless.

Found back 2012 picture , using itunes to update the iOS biggrin.gif , updating iOS in old day was damn scary , will sudden pop-up error sweat.gif

This post has been edited by chongkiatz: Sep 11 2025, 10:16 AM
chongkiatz
post Sep 11 2025, 02:17 PM

6,779 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Sep 11 2025, 11:38 AM)
When u said backup wireless, how to do so? You are not referring to iCloud rite? I dun want to subscribe to icloud+, I prefer to use local storage only. And I prefer to keep the money spent on iCloud+ monthly for a bigger capacity iPhone instead.

My frequently of backup of my iPhone is like once a month to iTunes on my PC to external HDD.

First time backup will take super long time, but subsequent backup will be incremental which takes about 1 hour or 2.
I still backup to iTunes now. 🤪
I never try the wireless iTunes before but i do heard it can be done , maybe u can follow this guide line.

chongkiatz
post Sep 11 2025, 07:53 PM

6,779 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Sep 11 2025, 07:34 PM)
Yes this in what I do actually. I backup to external hdd. iCloud+ is ex actually which many may not have noticed it.
this is the reason why i backup at least once for a period of a month or two.

imessages are backup via 5GB free data as well as whatsapp. so these are the things no concern. only thing more important is photos and videos taken only.

iCloud+ is good but as i mentioned 200GB is not even enough to backup the 256GB in full, apple is smart that's why the next tier is 2TB instead.
it is really useful in the case of phone lost but the amount paid is significantly as well. even pay for 1 year already rm800+, add a bit more already can get 2x more storage than what u have.
ok. will try. thanks.
200GB is not even enough to backup a 256gb fully used iphone to be frank.
Maybe can find few family member and friend to share the 2tb , as i know it can share up to 5 user right. And it will be totally seperate , wont mix your thing to the share acc.

This post has been edited by chongkiatz: Sep 11 2025, 07:58 PM
chongkiatz
post Sep 11 2025, 08:34 PM

6,779 posts

QUOTE(XeactorZ @ Sep 11 2025, 08:05 PM)
this is nightmare shakehead.gif

my siblings whenever run out of space of their iphone then use itunes to connect with computer and backup

I would say fast/slow, but whenever transfer photo/change ringtone need to use itunes, very troublesome laugh.gif

Pros and cons anyway, get use to it then ok already
That why i dont use itunes for a long long long time , my video and photo in the google photo and important file in google drive , nothing had to worry and really totally forgot about itunes.

QUOTE(westlife @ Sep 11 2025, 08:23 PM)
just check, sync via wifi and full backup actually are totally different things. so it cannot replace itunes backup via cable.

technically only two ways to do full backup of iphone, one is via icloud one is via itunes over cable.
no other methods.
transfer over wifi is only to move data to new iphone = so it is also not a long term backup solution.

Sync over Wi-Fi only transfers selected iTunes content (music, movies, photos, etc.) from PC to device.
Full backup saves nearly everything on your device (apps, settings, messages, photos, etc.) so you can fully restore it later.

👉 Sync = media management, Backup = complete safety copy.
Owh , mean that it doesnt work on air for full backup , i think apple give up to update the itunes feature.
chongkiatz
post Sep 12 2025, 10:43 AM

6,779 posts

QUOTE(YoungMan @ Sep 12 2025, 10:40 AM)
Those still using iTunes in 2025, go to Microsoft Store and download Apple Devices. It is less bloated, enough to do the work of backing up your iPhone.
iTunes has been discontinued already
Thx for the information. That help.
chongkiatz
post Sep 12 2025, 04:17 PM

6,779 posts

QUOTE(N9484640 @ Sep 12 2025, 10:23 AM)
should I downgrade from 15 Pro 128gb to 17? I feel 17 Pro is asking for too much money and 17 is good enough. Or maybe change to 16 Pro? I be only missing the telephoto....

opinions please
Ask yourself are u heavy user and game? If yes , the VC and full alluminium body might help on release the heat , if u are not heavy user , the telezoom + VC might be not justify the extra rm1500. I will only go 17 pro if the price below rm5000 , anything more than that isnt worth.

Apple very clever this round , kill the 128gb of PRO , make the gap diff only rm500 for pro & max , and i doubt most of the people consider the PRO might just add-on the extra rm500 for bigger battery and forgot about the size 😆 (ala beza rm500 only ma , then u got better battery life and big screen , direct go pro max la) that mind 😂

This post has been edited by chongkiatz: Sep 12 2025, 04:26 PM
chongkiatz
post Sep 12 2025, 04:24 PM

6,779 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Sep 12 2025, 10:54 AM)
Second hand market could be higher but you have to sell it yourself and probably dealing with fussy buyers.
Cod , x jadi
2nd cod , x jadi
3rd cod , x jadi

At the end waste time , trade in to apple , peace of mind 😂
chongkiatz
post Sep 12 2025, 09:35 PM

6,779 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Sep 12 2025, 08:23 PM)
based on the pre-order status at apple store.

iphone 17 pro max only has market.
silver -> orange -> blue

512gb/2tb - less popular storage option.

blue colour most unwanted colour

iphone 17 pro, air, 17 all not sold out for day 1.
not pre-order. but will buy at different online platform during sale period.  tongue.gif
not going to repeat the mistake by paying extra premium for just less than 1 month to be the first adoptor this round.  tongue.gif

air no one is fighting over it. sure will have stocks later during sale period.
I think due to iphone drop their price starting from the 15 series , and 16 drop even more , people are getting clever , wont pre-order on the first batch and wait drop price only grab it.
chongkiatz
post Sep 13 2025, 08:55 AM

6,779 posts

Air priced at rm4999 , for this price , it got too much choice, spending almost rm4999 just to get the light weight feeling cant justify the price i think , the air is just like spending for the technology for a small group of people.
chongkiatz
post Sep 13 2025, 11:04 AM

6,779 posts

i do read some china article show that why Apple this round going for 120hz for the base device.

The reason might be not much company stil making the 60hz screen anymore , 60hz will be discontinue soon , and the cost of 120hz screen nowaday might cheaper than 60hz , just like if u finding a DDR2 ram for your PC might be more pricy than DDR4/5. laugh.gif

Not sure how true is this but it's good for consumer to get the upgrade feeling.

This post has been edited by chongkiatz: Sep 13 2025, 11:05 AM
chongkiatz
post Sep 13 2025, 01:48 PM

6,779 posts

QUOTE(attw @ Sep 13 2025, 12:45 PM)
And don’t forget to factor in the MagSafe battery pack for RM479 if you need the peace of mind for your battery life. You might be better off getting the 17 Pro.
Yeah , the only reason for me to go air is that u appreciate the technology and willing to pay that much money , rm4999 just not practical for such phone in my own opinion.
chongkiatz
post Sep 13 2025, 02:02 PM

6,779 posts

QUOTE(dev/numb @ Sep 13 2025, 01:54 PM)
If true, I hope this is the case for larger tablet screens also. The iPad mini is my favourite Apple device, and the only thing I hate is the slow screen. If you’re the type that reads quickly while simultaneously scrolling, it makes a huge difference. Considering that Apple’s new foldable will likely get 120hz, I hope they don’t neglect the iPad mini line.
Because alot of screen company already widely use 120hz even for their low end phone , 60hz already can enter to museum haha , anything can widely process will be the most low price , for tablet size i think stil not widely use , because some android tablet stil using at least 90hz , maybe will see a 90hz ipad mini? laugh.gif

Apple very pandai kira one under tim lead , they just can be as kedekut as much as they can.

China dont want to implement e-SIM , so iphone AIR temporary doesnt open sell in China. That is big impact for Apple.

This post has been edited by chongkiatz: Sep 13 2025, 02:12 PM
chongkiatz
post Sep 13 2025, 07:20 PM

6,779 posts

Iphone 17 in china already can hit rmb5099 , about MYR3000++ 😅😂

My friend in china already bought with rmb4899 , damn good price.

This post has been edited by chongkiatz: Sep 13 2025, 07:21 PM
chongkiatz
post Sep 14 2025, 06:55 AM

6,779 posts

QUOTE(cklove96 @ Sep 13 2025, 11:45 PM)
china model iphone have less function compare to other region iphone.
Less function? List me what do u mean by less function.
chongkiatz
post Sep 14 2025, 07:18 AM

6,779 posts

QUOTE(cklove96 @ Sep 14 2025, 07:09 AM)
Creating a link to a FaceTime call isn't supported on iPhone models purchased in China mainland, regardless of the country or region you're in.
Lol , because of this then iphone in china will cheaper? Then why call screening didnt support in malaysia then doesnt seen that malaysia iphone didnt sell at cheaper price?

And seriously, who stil using faceTime nowadays , whatsapp is the king , facetime and iMessage is only USA thing, totally useless feature out of the region. Even Europe people admit that facetime/iMessage is useless in their country.

This post has been edited by chongkiatz: Sep 14 2025, 07:18 AM
chongkiatz
post Sep 14 2025, 10:18 AM

6,779 posts

QUOTE(ericlaiys @ Sep 14 2025, 09:43 AM)
facetime and imessage not useless. if you got iphone family member, it is very useful. you can use with them. the correct word is not popular here but dont stop people from using it.
Yes , very unpopular here , even in the europe , go read the message on reddit , how many out of USA region people using facetime / imessage , cklove96 saying that iphone in CHINA cheap because of "Facetime" , but seriously , how many of people besides USA country buying an iphone because of FACETIME? that doesnt make sense , and i dont STOP people using facetime / imessage , i just saying that in malaysia , 99% most of the time people using whatsapp > those feature. The first thing people get new device or transfer from iOS > android > iOS , whatsapp is the first priority , did u ever seen a post in lowyat forum that iOS user plan to jumpship to Android , BUT will missing "Facetime / iMessage" thing? Or android user jumpship to iOS because of "Facetime / iMessage". Let face the reality.

i'm not arguing the Facetime feature , my point is , the "Facetime" alone doesnt make the iphone price cheaper on CHINA. That doesnt make sense at all. THe price drop so fast because their market competitive is another level , china now well known famous and very fast moving of technology , iphone no longer can hold the ORIGINAL PRICE like last time in there.

Then can i argue that Japan iphone cheaper than malaysia price by abit , because Japan iphone can't shut down the Shutter sound even in silent mode? No Right..... i feel cklove96 just give a dumb reason. I really laugh die when he reply "Because china can't use facetime that why iphone is cheaper there" laugh.gif

QUOTE(cklove96 @ Sep 14 2025, 07:37 AM)
yes you're right

Cant Facetime make iphone cheap in china - best joke of the year biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by chongkiatz: Sep 14 2025, 10:40 AM
chongkiatz
post Sep 14 2025, 10:30 AM

6,779 posts

QUOTE(dev/numb @ Sep 14 2025, 10:27 AM)
Would be cool if we were charged based on features used. Then I could ask Apple for 10% cashback for every iPhone year because I always disable Siri, or I can tell Google to sell me a Pixel half price because I plan to install GrapheneOS on it to avoid all their AI crap. laugh.gif
hahaha..... maybe , i say maybe ya , iphone in future will be like purchasing Tesla? The phone will come with basic feature , if u want SIRI add RM200 , if u want AI add RM500 , if u want Call Screening add Rm200 biggrin.gif tongue.gif
chongkiatz
post Sep 14 2025, 04:09 PM

6,779 posts

QUOTE(vin39 @ Sep 14 2025, 03:54 PM)
Is this call screening feature the one which blocks unknown/spam calls with AI?
yes correct , this feature doesn't available in our region.

QUOTE(lawliet88 @ Sep 14 2025, 01:50 PM)
Ip17 china display use boe supplier (china)
Other region using samsung, lg (lg if nt wrg)
U correct by half , for iphone 17 , the screen was MIX with BOE samsung LG , while iphone 17 pro and max will be stil using only Samsung & LG.

BOE stil a top notch screen company , do u own any BOE screen phone? I do own one actually and i got nothing bad comment on it , no rainbow effect , no light leaking , and i believe BOE already meet the requirement to qualify into the Apple device. It just time matter , china screen will soon widely use smile.gif

This post has been edited by chongkiatz: Sep 14 2025, 04:16 PM
chongkiatz
post Sep 14 2025, 04:16 PM

6,779 posts

-double post- admin can help del pls sad.gif

This post has been edited by chongkiatz: Sep 14 2025, 04:37 PM

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0214sec    0.57    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 12:25 AM