[Photography lesson] Dont be afraid to use ISO

TSRT8081
post May 27 2025, 12:09 PM, updated 5 months ago

355 posts

TLDR : Ur sifu probably said stick to lowest ISO (100 or 50) if possible for less noise. Not true as it depends on where and when u shoot.

Using Higher ISO has less noise than lower ISO but darker due to shutter speed, and if u in try to lower shutter speed to compensate light, Ur frame will not be sharp.

Sekian terima kasih

This post has been edited by RT8081: May 27 2025, 12:10 PM
Zot
post May 27 2025, 02:18 PM

7,938 posts

Looks like this guy is making beginners more confused.

Comparing low vs high ISO as same shutter speed, then of course the low ISO picture will be darker. Then increase brightness digitally to show more noise and say lower ISO more noise. rclxub.gif

Try to shoot picture at correct exposure with low ISO and also with high ISO, meaning the low ISO one with longer exposure compare to the high ISO one. This will give both picture with same brightness. Then magnify the picture to see which one is grainier. I can bet the the one with high ISO will have more noise.

Your statement is only valid looking at one perspective. smile.gif
Jasonist
post May 27 2025, 02:20 PM

Oldfag
1,176 posts

ISO tu quality standard ke
TSRT8081
post May 27 2025, 02:23 PM

355 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ May 27 2025, 02:18 PM)

Comparing low vs high ISO as same shutter speed, then of course the low ISO picture will be darker. Then increase brightness digitally to show more noise and say lower ISO more noise.  rclxub.gif

Try to shoot picture at correct exposure with low ISO and also with high ISO, meaning the low ISO one with longer exposure compare to the high ISO one. This will give both picture with same brightness. Then magnify the picture to see which one is grainier. I can bet the the one with high ISO will have more noise.

Your statement is only valid looking at one perspective.  smile.gif
Correct la, i did said depends on location and when u shoot lol

Indoor and evening shot where light is dimmer or less light, it is ok to crank the ISO but compensate with right aperture and shutter speed. Some juniors i met so afraid to crank iso higher than 3600 because worried will be too noisy, so they ended taking darker shot and post process it

This post has been edited by RT8081: May 27 2025, 02:30 PM
whyamiblack
post May 27 2025, 02:24 PM

70 posts

Comparing low vs high ISO as same shutter speed, then of course the low ISO picture will be darker. Then increase brightness digitally to show more noise and say lower ISO more noise.  rclxub.gif

Anything for view count these days. Obviously, you could use higher ISO, it just depends on situation. People who stick to 50-100 guideline just tend to stay safe and don't like to do much of tests or trial. But to say lower ISO produces noisy photo compared to higher ISO is just misleading.

This post has been edited by whyamiblack: May 27 2025, 02:26 PM
TSRT8081
post May 27 2025, 02:24 PM

355 posts

QUOTE(Jasonist @ May 27 2025, 02:20 PM)
ISO tu quality standard ke
Lain ISO bang
TSRT8081
post May 27 2025, 02:25 PM

355 posts

QUOTE(whyamiblack @ May 27 2025, 02:24 PM)
Anything for view count these days.
That guy is an established photographer. Sudah view sebelum comment ?
BOTAK_WAI

Blow Water First Class
4,164 posts

sensor nowadays so good, crank up iso je.

noisier image is better than blur image.
TSRT8081

355 posts

QUOTE(BOTAK_WAI @ May 27 2025, 02:25 PM)

Exactly
tahfeikei
post May 27 2025, 02:26 PM

TALK TO MY ENGRISH
1,248 posts

embrace the shadows, dont be afraid of the dark
a good photo not necessary must be bright and sharp
DM3

INSPIRATOR
6,620 posts

Never get these IsO thingy even with leica lens cam n hP
TSRT8081

355 posts

QUOTE(tahfeikei @ May 27 2025, 02:26 PM)
embrace the shadows, dont be afraid of the dark
a good photo not necessary must be bright and sharp
That depend on what u are shooting lol
damonlbs

487 posts

get a faster lens
TSRT8081
post May 27 2025, 02:28 PM

355 posts

QUOTE(DM3 @ May 27 2025, 02:26 PM)
Never get these IsO thingy even with leica lens cam n hP
It is just increase ur sensor's sensitivity to capture in dimly lit environments
whyamiblack

70 posts

Depends who you ask but most artists I know rather have abit of blur than noise.
TSRT8081

355 posts

QUOTE(damonlbs @ May 27 2025, 02:26 PM)
get a faster lens
Correct. Faster lens produce better shots
BOTAK_WAI
post May 27 2025, 02:29 PM

Blow Water First Class
4,164 posts

QUOTE(RT8081 @ May 27 2025, 02:25 PM)
Exactly
yang master tu pandai use any kind of light source.

pandai camera ×
pandai lighting ✓
TSRT8081
post May 27 2025, 02:29 PM

355 posts

QUOTE(whyamiblack @ May 27 2025, 02:24 PM)
Anything for view count these days. Obviously, you could use higher ISO, it just depends on situation. People who stick to 50-100 guideline just tend to stay safe and don't like to do much of tests or trial. But to say lower ISO produces noisy photo compared to higher ISO is just misleading.
He already shown u a sample, go and watch it lol adui
TSRT8081
post May 27 2025, 02:30 PM

355 posts

QUOTE(BOTAK_WAI @ May 27 2025, 02:29 PM)
yang master tu pandai use any kind of light source.

pandai camera ×
pandai lighting ✓
This!

Zot
post May 27 2025, 02:31 PM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(damonlbs @ May 27 2025, 02:26 PM)
get a faster lens
Everything is interrelated in photography. Faster lenses just means lenses with wider aperture capability than most lenses but that will reduce depth of field (focus zone).
Virlution
post May 27 2025, 02:32 PM

483 posts

go up to ISO 800... grainy effect not too bad
cakoilembutgebu
post May 27 2025, 02:35 PM

150 posts

Rule of thumb is... crank up iso only as the last resort, where slower shutter speed and wider aperture is already at it's extreme level and cannot be further adjusted without causing blurrness to your image.

Itu saja, sekian.
Zot
post May 27 2025, 02:36 PM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(RT8081 @ May 27 2025, 02:23 PM)

Indoor and evening shot where light is dimmer or less light, it is ok to crank the ISO but compensate with right aperture and shutter speed. Some juniors i met so afraid to crank iso higher than 3600 because worried will be too noisy, so they ended taking darker shot and post process it
Yes you can play around the ISO because sometimes lighting condition is a fixed condition because you want to capture the ambience. Otherwise you can use flash if desired.

Well, all I can say is higher ISO will always be grainier than lower ISO if both picture are at correct exposure. smile.gif
faizalfaizal
post May 27 2025, 02:55 PM

104 posts

Almost mid 2025 already. Ramp up those ISO lah. This isn't 2007.
jmas
post May 27 2025, 03:00 PM

I can edit title???
830 posts

is this noisy?

BOTAK_WAI
post May 27 2025, 03:05 PM

Blow Water First Class
4,164 posts

QUOTE(RT8081 @ May 27 2025, 02:28 PM)
bigger aperture reduce depth of field la...

i would prefer m-mode

set the safe shutter speed according to the environment/movement
lens/sensor stabilization works for stationary

set the aperture size according to your intended depth of field

set the iso to auto, some ppl might put a capped on max iso
exposure indicator will blink if under or over exposed, that time baru re-adjust shutter speed and/or aperture size.

adjust exposure compensation when needed

dawnreaver
post May 27 2025, 03:07 PM

661 posts

ISO 12800 terus.
countingcrows
post May 27 2025, 03:13 PM

259 posts

It depends on the amount of light avail
and the F stop of your lens?
Silfer
post May 27 2025, 03:21 PM

1,053 posts

bump the ISO jer. grainy pic better than blur pic << sifu kentang emas teach one last time.
khelben
post May 27 2025, 03:37 PM

I love my mum & dad
6,056 posts

QUOTE(RT8081 @ May 27 2025, 02:28 PM)
Faster lens just have the ability to shoot with shallower depth of field. It wont have the ability to produce better shots.
TSRT8081
post May 27 2025, 03:38 PM

355 posts

QUOTE(khelben @ May 27 2025, 03:37 PM)
Faster lens just have the ability to shoot with shallower depth of field. It wont have the ability to produce better shots.
Tq vm, ayam wrong. Still learning 🙏
TSRT8081
post May 27 2025, 03:39 PM

355 posts

QUOTE(BOTAK_WAI @ May 27 2025, 03:05 PM)
bigger aperture reduce depth of field la...

i would prefer m-mode

set the safe shutter speed according to the environment/movement
lens/sensor stabilization works for stationary

set the aperture size according to your intended depth of field

set the iso to auto, some ppl might put a capped on max iso
exposure indicator will blink if under or over exposed, that time baru re-adjust shutter speed and/or aperture size.

adjust exposure compensation when needed
My bad, you are correct 🙏
LegendLee
post May 27 2025, 04:00 PM

><3LG3|\|D
2,725 posts

QUOTE(RT8081 @ May 27 2025, 12:09 PM)

TLDR : Ur sifu probably said stick to lowest ISO (100 or 50) if possible for less noise. Not true as it depends on where and when u shoot.

Using Higher ISO has less noise than lower ISO but darker due to shutter speed, and if u in try to lower shutter speed to compensate light, Ur frame will not be sharp.

Sekian terima kasih
Anyone still saying we must stick to ISO 100 or ISO 50?
Is that from a photography book/magazine published 20 years ago?

Current cameras can handle high iso without any issues.
Even if you’re using an ancient camera, plenty of great denoising options are available during post process.

This post has been edited by LegendLee: May 27 2025, 04:02 PM
TSRT8081
post May 27 2025, 04:01 PM

355 posts

QUOTE(LegendLee @ May 27 2025, 04:00 PM)
Anyone still saying we must stick to ISO 100 or ISO 50?
Is that from a photography book/magazine published 20 years ago?
Still got people i met giving me this advice lol
Matchy
post May 27 2025, 04:06 PM

1,327 posts

exposure triangle la... i think if beginner, hard to master coz need to find the right balance.
Mixxomon
post May 27 2025, 04:13 PM

126 posts

tl;dr
Better grainy photo than blurry photo.
rznrmolev
post May 27 2025, 04:29 PM

This youtuber mainly shooting wildlife photos, not same situation as indoor or control environment.

If he is using ISO100 or long exposure, he wouldn't able to do his job.
linkinstreet
post May 27 2025, 04:37 PM

Red Bull Addict
9,276 posts

QUOTE(jmas @ May 27 2025, 03:00 PM)
is this noisy?

Depends on where you're looking at.

Like this part of the pic is noisy

But you're not looking at this part. you're looking at the cobweb.
SUS~min~
post May 27 2025, 04:38 PM

SUN AND SUMMER!!
1,045 posts

most newer camera is iso invariance. you shoot high iso or increase brightness in ps/lr same also. so dont bother with iso
thuwed1732
post May 27 2025, 04:40 PM

99 posts

Nowadays nak jadi photographer also nee ISO certificate?
Gg now wonder wedding photographer service price skyrocket
Quantum Geist
post May 27 2025, 04:45 PM

109 posts

Time to crank up all the way to 100 gazilion bazilion ISO
cursetheroad01

55 posts

Kekwa
I've never been bothered with iso on my d3000. I let the camera do its job and I just mess with aperture and shutter speed according to available light, as mentioned by this guy. Been doing that since the beginning as it just make sense. Never had complaints with the quality.

As dude mentioned, nowadays any picture can be touched up in post processing. But to get there, you need a picture first.
sakuraboo

thereisnospoon
1,644 posts

Actually you need to know the noise floor and dynamic range of the iso also

Sometimes got intrinsic iso

Sometimes from iso 100 to sub 1600 all based on iso 100. So the noise floor is same when you adjust for underexposure correction. That means if you take a shot iso100, underexpose , fast shutter, it's the same when you bring up the shadows Vs a iso 800 shot, of the same scene

Then you realise some camera might have a 1600 iso that's suddenly better Dr and noise floor than 1500 because 1500 is based off 100. Sometimes it goes the other way as well

So it's not so simplistic
COOLPINK
post May 27 2025, 04:49 PM

3,666 posts

I shoot and compared at ISO from 100 to 25600 before.

ISO100 is the cleanest and sharpest.
Post processing the higher iso still cant beat it.

Many here dont know that at higher ISO not only noise will increase but your dynamic range will drop also.

There is an ancient tool last time that people use to negate camera shake at low shutter speed, its called a tripod.
So unless im shooting moving objects, i almost never use higher ISO.

Higher ISO is fine if you dun pixel peep though....

This post has been edited by COOLPINK: May 27 2025, 04:51 PM
Seybold
post May 27 2025, 04:50 PM

169 posts

I never ever touch iso until last steps adjust all my dslr or phone settings. unless i dare to break my photo or video quality.

This post has been edited by Seybold: May 27 2025, 04:51 PM
BOTAK_WAI
post Jul 28 2025, 04:15 PM

Blow Water First Class
4,164 posts

some situation darker shot is unavoidable. so

for example:

1. i need to freeze the motion of moving people (in my case i need at least 1/400s, but i ended with 1 stop faster 1/800s)
2. already max out the aperture (f1.8)
3. already max out the native iso (ISO 5000)

this was the sooc jpeg with 2.5-stop under exposure:

it's important to shoot raw so that can post-process later to make unusable photo to usable:

bare in mind that this photo was taken with small sensor camera Olympus E-PL5 that was introduced in 2012, so most camera that is newer than this and bigger sensor than this can produce better post-processed result.
Hexlord
post Jul 28 2025, 04:18 PM

991 posts

QUOTE(BOTAK_WAI @ Jul 28 2025, 04:15 PM)

for example:

1. i need to freeze the motion of moving people (in my case i need at least 1/400s, but i ended with 1 stop faster 1/800s)

it's important to shoot raw so that can post-process later to make unusable photo to usable:
bare in mind that this photo was taken with small sensor camera Olympus E-PL5 that was introduced in 2012, so most camera that is newer than this and bigger sensor than this can produce better post-processed result.
Professional shot~
BOTAK_WAI
post Jul 28 2025, 04:28 PM

Blow Water First Class
4,164 posts

QUOTE(Hexlord @ Jul 28 2025, 04:18 PM)
Professional shot~
it's just a random shot of street photograph.

what i want to point out are:
1. don't be afraid of shooting in high iso
2. don't be afraid of shooting your photo under-expose if you need to freeze the motion
3. don't shoot in jpeg only, shoot in raw+jpeg. you might able to save many great photos by post-processing
FrostLance
post Jul 28 2025, 04:31 PM

Dr.Frostie
607 posts

my a7rv selamber je iso 12800
Hexlord
post Jul 28 2025, 04:40 PM

991 posts

QUOTE(BOTAK_WAI @ Jul 28 2025, 04:28 PM)
it's just a random shot of street photograph.

what i want to point out are:
1. don't be afraid of shooting in high iso
2. don't be afraid of shooting your photo under-expose if you need to freeze the motion
3. don't shoot in jpeg only, shoot in raw+jpeg. you might able to save many great photos by post-processing
On the other hand, if there's no reason to shoot at high ISO... no need to do it. I rarely go above 1600 anyway.
keyibukeyi
post Jul 28 2025, 04:42 PM

150 posts

i got Lumix LX3, i use auto jerrr, now that the batt is kong, and the screen cacated, my samsneg exynos flagship camera to capture the Moment > noiseless
BOTAK_WAI
post Jul 28 2025, 04:52 PM

Blow Water First Class
4,164 posts

QUOTE(Hexlord @ Jul 28 2025, 04:40 PM)
On the other hand, if there's no reason to shoot at high ISO... no need to do it. I rarely go above 1600 anyway.
of course the lower the better if possible.

nowadays my camera IBIS dah koyak, so i can't handheld shoot slower than 1/250s.
failed.hashcheck
post Jul 28 2025, 05:00 PM

Neighborhood plant pathologist
2,096 posts

This guy only tokok know little but big mouth.
Each camera behaved differently there are no single better way. At the end you have your own requirements and ai noise reduction work so well nowadays that iso hardly matter anymore.

For me I just stick with 100 because I always shoot more than 1 sec on a tripod anyway.
SUS~min~
post Jul 28 2025, 05:01 PM

SUN AND SUMMER!!
1,045 posts

Dont care about iso if you shoot raw

You crank iso in camera or in lightroom same result

Then use lightroom raw denoise. Its almost magical
TSRT8081
post Jul 28 2025, 05:04 PM

355 posts

QUOTE(BOTAK_WAI @ Jul 28 2025, 04:15 PM)

for example:

Thanks for sharing tips!
TSRT8081
post Jul 28 2025, 05:05 PM

355 posts

QUOTE(keyibukeyi @ Jul 28 2025, 04:42 PM)
i got Lumix LX3, i use auto jerrr, now that the batt is kong, and the screen cacated, my samsneg exynos flagship camera to capture the Moment > noiseless
Auto is the best but sometime in tricky situation, need to learn how to shoot semi manual

QUOTE(failed.hashcheck @ Jul 28 2025, 05:00 PM)
This guy only tokok know little but big mouth.
Each camera behaved differently there are no single better way. At the end you have your own requirements and ai noise reduction work so well nowadays that iso hardly matter anymore.

For me I just stick with 100 because I always shoot more than 1 sec on a tripod anyway.
Lol, agree with 100.

QUOTE(~min~ @ Jul 28 2025, 05:01 PM)
Dont care about iso if you shoot raw

You crank iso in camera or in lightroom same result

Then use lightroom raw denoise. Its almost magical
Yup
lerijiso
post Jul 28 2025, 05:10 PM

843 posts

Yeah..exactly what i wanna say. If Full Frame latest camera, it is more forgiving to crank up the ISO compared to say, an older APSC sensor camera.

"noisier image is better than blur image."
This advice is a very good advice. And since, I mostly photograph street, i will try to keep my ISO as low as possible to minimise noise but in low light environment, it is easier for the photos to turn out blurry. For street photography, u don't have the luxury of controlled lighting so you must be more flexible and willing to crank up the ISO when necessary.

I normally set 3 auto ISO settings, one for day, one for low light, one for extreme low light and i change the auto ISO settings accordingly.

This post has been edited by lerijiso: Jul 28 2025, 05:28 PM

0.0272sec    0.74    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 07:04 AM