Chat Why FISH & CHIPS is expensive?, What's the logic behind of it

TSAlternate Gabriel
post May 12 2025, 01:01 PM, updated 8 months ago

158 posts

Can someone tell me why Fish & Chips food is so expensive compared to you eat chicken as your meal?

I checked price at Fish & Co and Manhattan Fish Market restaurants; the price of the fish & chips is really expensive.
Same goes with other restaurants that sells Fish & Chips. confused.gif shocking.gif

Even when I went to frozen section at grocery stores, I saw some of the frozen fish & chips are quite expensive.

The cheapest fish & chip that I saw usually around RM15-RM18, but most of the time the price would be RM28 and above.
ZerOne01
post May 12 2025, 01:01 PM

124 posts

It's cuz you poor
SUSSihambodoh
post May 12 2025, 01:04 PM

436 posts

And they only give you doly fish. kesian.

but we must plotek them yo, because they give us jobs and pay tax
ZeaXG
post May 12 2025, 01:04 PM

342 posts

Got angmoh name ma. Import direct from UK kut
knwong
post May 12 2025, 01:05 PM

3,562 posts

Cos raw material aka fish is expensive in the first place

DarkNite
post May 12 2025, 01:06 PM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(knwong @ May 12 2025, 01:05 PM)
TS tak pernah beli ikan di pasar.
Autocountstick
post May 12 2025, 01:06 PM

675 posts

frozen or fresh fish?
BOTAK_WAI
post May 12 2025, 01:07 PM

Blow Water First Class
4,162 posts

dory vs pollock
azack
post May 12 2025, 01:09 PM

14 posts

Fish n chip is probably one of cheapest options when eating out in amdk countries. Go hawker centre that sell western food maybe cheaper. Forget about fish n co and Manhattan.
treblecase
post May 12 2025, 01:09 PM

IHI
779 posts

Gimme haddock anyday
ShadowR1
post May 12 2025, 01:10 PM

Im still HeRe ...
1,883 posts

Fish > Beef > Pork > Lamb > Chicken ... ngam not ?
IamBlind
post May 12 2025, 01:10 PM

20 posts

the higher the price mean the meat is able to run freely, you nampak chicken harga murah krn ayam tu come from cage. lu tengok harga babi dan harga lembu mahal nak mampus. Ikan pula tingal di kawasan luas itu sebab mahal.

boleh makan sayur kalau nak murah, pihak farmer in cameron nanti kasi buang juga sayur say tak ada org nak makan sayur
Raddus
post May 12 2025, 01:16 PM

239 posts

QUOTE(Alternate Gabriel @ May 12 2025, 01:01 PM)
Can someone tell me why Fish & Chips food is so expensive compared to you eat chicken as your meal?

I checked price at Fish & Co and Manhattan Fish Market restaurants; the price of the fish & chips is really expensive.
Same goes with other restaurants that sells Fish & Chips. :confused:  shocking.gif

Even when I went to frozen section at grocery stores, I saw some of the frozen fish & chips are quite expensive.

The cheapest fish & chip that I saw usually around RM15-RM18, but most of the time the price would be RM28 and above.
Because need to import from UK
TSAlternate Gabriel
post May 12 2025, 01:19 PM

158 posts

QUOTE(azack @ May 12 2025, 01:09 PM)
Fish n chip is probably one of cheapest options when eating out in amdk countries. Go hawker centre that sell western food maybe cheaper. Forget about fish n co and Manhattan.
Yes exactly.

That's why I don't understand why they sell it so expensive here in our country.

It's freaking cheap at amdk countries.

I can afford to pay expensive food, but I don't see the justification of paying so much for a fish & chip.

This post has been edited by Alternate Gabriel: May 12 2025, 01:19 PM
MR_alien
post May 12 2025, 01:20 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,582 posts

Fish aka seafood already expensive in WM
And don't think those fish are locally sourced too

But depending on price lah
If price comparable to chicken...always opt for fish or seafood
icemanfx
post May 12 2025, 01:20 PM

21,457 posts

ts doesn't know price of fish.

If ts couldn't afford better quality fish could choose McDonald's fillet o fish.

countingcrows
post May 12 2025, 01:22 PM

259 posts

I like this one...for the chip shop feels

https://www.corblimeymy.com/

Eating on paper by the beach...simply the best! 😁

SUSheadache
post May 12 2025, 01:23 PM

282 posts

So, boycotte?

Nak murah, make it urself. What white fish is cheap these days?
iGamer
post May 12 2025, 01:27 PM

Toxic ktards probably losers irl
1,374 posts

Mostly use cheap frozen dory fish…
Skylinestar
post May 12 2025, 01:29 PM

Mega Duck
10,477 posts

only expensive in Malaysia.
in white man place, it is the cheapest menu.
new in IT
post May 12 2025, 01:30 PM

378 posts

Piece of fish that being used are fillets. Local fish if do fillet, how small the fillet going to be? Summore, local here cook fish in whole rather than cut it out to fillet.

Big fish, which is rare here are more easier to be cut to fillets. Hence, the bigger the fish, the more expensive it is.
Capt. Marble
post May 12 2025, 01:32 PM

221 posts

I think S&S cheaper there.
heinlein
post May 12 2025, 01:32 PM

1,794 posts

Same goes with other restaurants that sells Fish & Chips. confused.gif  shocking.gif

dun like fish and chip, oily and soggy
Lada Putih
post May 12 2025, 01:35 PM

214 posts

try compare ayam goreng tepi jalan, vs Kepci vs high end restaurant.
you tell me apa beza dia
Lord_froz
post May 12 2025, 01:40 PM

152 posts

i try this cheap fish and chip one that went viral in kajang, just street store and my god it taste so good and crispy. i think almost 2 year already and still lot of people queuing when i go there. those sos also yummy. way delicious and chipper than manhattan
raymancantona
post May 12 2025, 01:42 PM

73 posts

Cor Blimey! nyum nyum!!!
smallcrab
post May 12 2025, 01:43 PM

140 posts

Fish & Co
Sedappp though only dory fish
keyibukeyi
post May 12 2025, 01:47 PM

150 posts

Fry food sux
laksamana
post May 12 2025, 01:51 PM

1,356 posts

The fish needs to be flaky but not oily, not dense and dry (which you will get if the wrong type of fish is used).

Manhattan is not bad in terms of quality and price.

In London, a good F&C will cost you around 15-20 pounds these days.
machomama
post May 12 2025, 01:51 PM

63 posts

ikang en kentang murah skit
motherland
post May 12 2025, 01:54 PM

70 posts

Eat fish chip muak
netmatrix
post May 12 2025, 01:56 PM

The machine... it sees everything.
6,733 posts

Stop eating fish like me and senile and you will find out why.
ShadowR1
post May 12 2025, 01:59 PM

Im still HeRe ...
1,883 posts

QUOTE(Lord_froz @ May 12 2025, 01:40 PM)
i try this cheap fish and chip one that went viral in kajang, just street store and my god it taste so good and crispy. i think almost 2 year already and still lot of people queuing when i go there. those sos also yummy. way delicious and chipper than manhattan
Mana ?
azbro
post May 12 2025, 02:02 PM

4,403 posts

Dunno why I don't like marrybrowm fish and chips, the fish got one kind of smell one.
evangelion
post May 12 2025, 02:06 PM

The Ancient Ones
1,057 posts

QUOTE(laksamana @ May 12 2025, 01:51 PM)
The fish needs to be flaky but not oily, not dense and dry (which you will get if the wrong type of fish is used).

Manhattan is not bad in terms of quality and price.

Is their fish frozen? Since I think it will affect the texture and flavor….
Phoenix_KL
post May 12 2025, 02:11 PM

156 posts

fried fish, typically cod or haddock, served with chips,
xCM
post May 12 2025, 02:11 PM

535 posts

Because those fish are flown from UK - Cod and Haddock.
If you go UK eat fish and chip, it's only 1-2 pounds and they consider as street food.
For local fish, opt for Seabass/Barramundi. That is Ikan Siakap. I find this fish also nice to make fish and chip. They are not as flaky as cod but they offer firm fish texture.

Icehart
post May 12 2025, 02:12 PM

14,899 posts

QUOTE(Lord_froz @ May 12 2025, 01:40 PM)
where
icemanfx
post May 12 2025, 02:14 PM

21,457 posts

QUOTE(xCM @ May 12 2025, 02:11 PM)
If you go UK eat fish and chip, it's only 1-2 pounds and they consider as street food.
For local fish, opt for Seabass/Barramundi. That is Ikan Siakap. I find this fish also nice to make fish and chip. They are not as flaky as cod but they offer firm fish texture.
When was the last time you visited UK?

lerijiso
post May 12 2025, 02:15 PM

842 posts

QUOTE(netmatrix @ May 12 2025, 01:56 PM)
Stop eating fish like me and senile and you will find out why.
Why?
TSAlternate Gabriel
post May 12 2025, 02:17 PM

158 posts

QUOTE(Lada Putih @ May 12 2025, 01:35 PM)
try compare ayam goreng tepi jalan, vs Kepci vs high end restaurant.
you tell me apa beza dia
To be honest, ayam goreng tepi jalan taste miless better than KFC.
KFC taste already bad and went downhill.
Taste worse than tepi jalan.

High end restaurant chicken taste also not that different
Zot
post May 12 2025, 02:21 PM

7,938 posts

Ang moh named it cheap.
xCM
post May 12 2025, 02:24 PM

535 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ May 12 2025, 02:14 PM)
When was the last time you visited UK?
10 years ago LOL
now berapa?
sexysarah1992
post May 12 2025, 02:27 PM

316 posts

Its not expesnive dude. Its because your currency is weak
TSAlternate Gabriel
post May 12 2025, 02:30 PM

158 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ May 12 2025, 01:20 PM)
ts doesn't know price of fish.

If ts couldn't afford better quality fish could choose McDonald's fillet o fish.
Yes, I know the price of the fish. But the thing is that I don't see it's worth to pay is because they will cook the fish using oil

While for chicken, you can justify paying high price due to the way they cook their chicken. Some of the restaurants cook the chicken using charcoal grill and it taste way way better than you cook it using oil.

laksamana
post May 12 2025, 02:36 PM

1,356 posts

QUOTE(evangelion @ May 12 2025, 02:06 PM)
Is their fish frozen? Since I think it will affect the texture and flavor….
Not really sure, I think dory fish is farmed so it could be fresh. If cod or pollock, I'm pretty sure it's fresh frozen, air flown from somewhere.
God Grid
post May 12 2025, 02:39 PM

35 posts

Barramundi the minimum can eat

Dory taste like shit, how the fuck people eat that

Sea bass also nice
Randomization
post May 12 2025, 02:44 PM

460 posts

If TS can accept ikan kembong or ikan keli used for Fish and chip, then can cheap la.

KEK
a_dot_el
post May 12 2025, 02:45 PM

194 posts

You think fish is cheap?

You think oil is cheap?

You think running a deep fryer with proper ventilation and grease trap is cheap?

Maybe you should stick to eating fish cake.
laksamana
post May 12 2025, 02:45 PM

1,356 posts

QUOTE(xCM @ May 12 2025, 02:11 PM)
Uhhh mate, this is one of the top-rated fish & chips in London, check the prices on the menu .....

https://www.opentable.co.uk/the-seashell-of-lisson-grove

Traditional Fresh Fish & Chips
Cooked in your choice of batter: Traditional batter, Panko, Matzo, or Gluten-free*. All our fish can be fried** or grilled and is served with your choice of side. Please note: Fish may contain some small bones.

Cod
£25.00
Mild, delicate flavour; firm and flaky

Haddock
£24.00
White lean flesh with flakes

Plaice Fillet
£25.00
Mild sweet flavour with a tender texture

Newlyn Bay Dover Sole 20/24
£47.00
Flatfish, mild and sweet, the royalty of the sea

Salmon Fillet
£27.00
Rich distinctive flavour

Seabass 6/800
£30.00
Served whole or Filleted

Fish of the day
Price varies based on daily availability

a13solut3
post May 12 2025, 02:52 PM

Whiner FTW!
1,759 posts

QUOTE(Alternate Gabriel @ May 12 2025, 01:19 PM)
Yes exactly.

That's why I don't understand why they sell it so expensive here in our country.

I can afford to pay expensive food, but I don't see the justification of paying so much for a fish & chip.
have you tried to compare durian in overseas country vs malaysia already or not?

unless you want ikan kembung or siakap or tilapia fish n chips.

apart from the cursed vietnam dory fish.

UK / Europe / AMDK dory is not the dory that we eat fyi.

This post has been edited by a13solut3: May 12 2025, 02:53 PM
overthemoon
post May 12 2025, 03:04 PM

232 posts

I dem fussy when eating F&C, almost never had it back home.

Even in Blighty, I choose with care cos there’s a wide spectrum to its taste/quality.

My two fav places are in Whitley Bay.

Or a non fanciful F&C truck that used to park in our friends’ caravan park in North Yorkshire.

Like eating nasi lemak mahhh. When asked where is the best nasi lemak, my answer would be the nondescript stall set up by some makcik in the local neighbourhood. Sometimes bukak, sometimes no bukak one.

This post has been edited by overthemoon: May 12 2025, 03:05 PM
Virlution
post May 12 2025, 03:13 PM

483 posts

QUOTE(God Grid @ May 12 2025, 02:39 PM)

Sea bass also nice
dory most often is imported vietnamese basa rubbish

barramundi cannot overcooked, else taste very rough, dory over cook no difference

icemanfx
post May 12 2025, 04:06 PM

21,457 posts

QUOTE(Alternate Gabriel @ May 12 2025, 02:30 PM)
Yes, I know the price of the fish. But the thing is that I don't see it's worth to pay is because they will cook the fish using oil

While for chicken, you can justify paying high price due to the way they cook their chicken. Some of the restaurants cook the chicken using charcoal grill and it taste way way better than you cook it using oil.
Not every batter is the same. Besides fish species, batter is important to a good quality fish and chips.

How chips is cooked contribute to the overall experience also.

Arthur's at Shangri-la serve a jolly good fish and chips.

QUOTE(God Grid @ May 12 2025, 02:39 PM)

Sea bass also nice
QUOTE(Virlution @ May 12 2025, 03:13 PM)

barramundi cannot overcooked, else taste very rough, dory over cook no difference
Pangasius aka Basa/dory belongs to the same catfish family as Patin, may be affordable but is not inferior. In blind rest, few if any could tell the difference between patin and dory fish fillet.

Small size e.g 500g barramundi aka siakap or seabass may be affordable but big size e.g >5kg is a lot more expensive. Few places in kl use big size barramundi for fish and chips.
God Grid
post May 12 2025, 04:14 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(Virlution @ May 12 2025, 03:13 PM)

QUOTE(icemanfx @ May 12 2025, 04:06 PM)
Not every batter is the same. Besides fish species, batter is important to a good quality fish and chips.

How chips is cooked contribute to the overall experience also.

Arthur's at Shangri-la serve a jolly good fish and chips.
Pangasius aka Basa/dory belongs to the same catfish family as Patin, may be affordable but is not inferior. In blind rest, few if any could tell the difference between patin and dory fish fillet.

Small size e.g 500g barramundi aka siakap or seabass may be affordable but big size e.g >5kg is a lot more expensive. Few places in kl use big size barramundi for fish and chips.
i cannot than the smell of dory, patin and tilapia

they have this smell/taste, dunno how to say

very fishy taste? makes me nauseous when eating them

maybe i am just allergic to them
bengang15
post May 12 2025, 04:16 PM

421 posts

fish is generally more expensive than chicken.
blanket84
post May 12 2025, 05:35 PM

1,520 posts

Kesian TS never know that chicken is the cheapest protein available in Malaysia.
Jasonist
post May 12 2025, 05:37 PM

Oldfag
1,176 posts

where got expensive??? price reasonable mah.. cor blimey fish and chips is the best and price is affordable..
thesoothsayer
post May 12 2025, 05:39 PM

954 posts

Depends on the type of fish. Raw haddock fillet already about 80/kg. Cod will be 100+.

Chicken only 15/kg for drumstick and thigh. Might even be lower sometimes.
akidos
post May 12 2025, 05:41 PM

606 posts

QUOTE(Alternate Gabriel @ May 12 2025, 02:01 PM)

Same goes with other restaurants that sells Fish & Chips. confused.gif  shocking.gif

Check baramudi price .
KitZhai
post May 12 2025, 05:44 PM

381 posts

I cook my own fish n chip
ktek
post May 12 2025, 05:46 PM

小喇叭
13,210 posts

fried or grillz u suka
chicaman
post May 12 2025, 05:47 PM

( ;゚Д゚) t(-.-t)
9,707 posts

cheap restaurant gives dorry fish, lousy crap fish
Lord_froz
post May 12 2025, 07:39 PM

152 posts

QUOTE(ShadowR1 @ May 12 2025, 01:59 PM)
Mana ?
soodaap fish & chips, the cheff who own the store basically just comeback from dublin. those tartar source with the batter is really gooding

This post has been edited by Lord_froz: May 12 2025, 07:42 PM
Boomwick
post May 12 2025, 08:50 PM

1,002 posts

Same goes with other restaurants that sells Fish & Chips. :confused:  shocking.gif

India fish n chip maybe rm5 ..
U dare to eat?
marfccy
post May 12 2025, 09:18 PM

Le Ponyland!!!
4,254 posts

QUOTE(Alternate Gabriel @ May 12 2025, 02:30 PM)

i dont think you understand how a restaurant works in first place if you complain stuff like "cook fish with just oil only mah". youre paying way more for beyond ingredient itself.

anyway back to topic why its expensive, its simple to sum up as below;

1. "angmor food" branding
2. actual fish and chips are using expensive imported fish (cod, haddock, pollock etc)

in general a fried battered fish with chips isnt expensive if you use local ingredients. but try cooking fish and chips with our local fishes and tell me same anot in taste and flavor

QUOTE(laksamana @ May 12 2025, 02:45 PM)
Uhhh mate, this is one of the top-rated fish & chips in London, check the prices on the menu .....

bruh still living in year 1980s maybe to get that price for fish and chips in UK. nowadays averaging 10 pounds for fish and chips or more ed eventho its supposed to be commoner's food
AyamBannedTwice
post May 12 2025, 09:20 PM

130 posts

Recently i saw a roadside seller defending her price by saying “bukan rasa & kualiti bahan punca mahal tapi idea”
Kimak
kcchong2000
post May 12 2025, 09:23 PM

189 posts

QUOTE(ZeaXG @ May 12 2025, 01:04 PM)
pgsiemkia
post May 12 2025, 09:47 PM

473 posts

QUOTE(ZeaXG @ May 12 2025, 01:04 PM)
Dory fish kum from engrand?

empyreal
post May 12 2025, 09:51 PM

2,036 posts

To me, if a place can't get their mushy peas right, then don't bother about the fish whatever species it is.
Chaud
post May 12 2025, 09:54 PM

1,119 posts

RM15-RM18 is what year price? now what year?
ShadowR1
post May 12 2025, 09:56 PM

Im still HeRe ...
1,883 posts

QUOTE(Lord_froz @ May 12 2025, 07:39 PM)
soodaap fish & chips, the cheff who own the store basically just comeback from dublin. those tartar source with the batter is really gooding

Wokay, I go try. Thanks ya.
icemanfx
post May 12 2025, 10:10 PM

21,457 posts

Saveloy with pickle onion from Chippy is 👍

This post has been edited by icemanfx: May 12 2025, 10:12 PM
countingcrows
post May 12 2025, 10:13 PM

259 posts

QUOTE(Chaud @ May 12 2025, 09:54 PM)
RM15-RM18 is what year price? now what year?
Soodaap selling RM13.90 per Jan 2025 tiktok...
But Kajang is too damn far for me just for F&C 😁

roymustang
post May 12 2025, 10:16 PM

zenix
post May 12 2025, 10:32 PM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

coz fish and chips don't use local fish.
loserguy
post May 12 2025, 10:36 PM

500 posts

QUOTE(roymustang @ May 12 2025, 10:16 PM)
hnnngggghh
LemonHoneyIce
post May 12 2025, 10:41 PM

33 posts

most of the time you eat the batter more than the fish, and in the end your stomach not full compare to having chicken or other meat
SUSseriosekitt3h
post May 12 2025, 10:44 PM

310 posts

QUOTE(knwong @ May 12 2025, 01:05 PM)
medium sized bawal already RM35 for 2 ekor here.
Imagine how much is a cod fish?
SUSseriosekitt3h
post May 12 2025, 10:46 PM

310 posts

QUOTE(Alternate Gabriel @ May 12 2025, 02:17 PM)
To be honest, ayam goreng tepi jalan taste miless better than KFC.
KFC taste already bad and went downhill.
Taste worse than tepi jalan.

High end restaurant chicken taste also not that different
KFC maintains their taste, when I first eat in 1990, still taste the same yesterday
Ayam Goreng tepi jalan hit and miss, taste changes after a year
Some stall closed, new one opens.
silverhawk
post May 12 2025, 10:49 PM

Eyes on Target
4,956 posts

QUOTE(azack @ May 12 2025, 01:09 PM)
Depends where you go, just like here in M`sia you can get good nasi lemak and shiet nasi lemak at different price points.

If you go to nasi lemak shops overseas, the price sure more expensive than here with subpar taste, mostly due to sourcing of ingredients and cooking techniques.

QUOTE(Alternate Gabriel @ May 12 2025, 01:19 PM)
Yes exactly.
The same fish they use is much cheaper in UK than it is in Malaysia. 125g of Cod would cost you about RM32 (frozen), the same weight in UK is 3.75GBP/RM21 (fresh).

QUOTE(smallcrab @ May 12 2025, 01:43 PM)
Fish & Co
Sedappp though only dory fish
FIsh & Co you can choose haddock, red snapper and pollock also.
darkmusses
post May 13 2025, 08:48 AM

595 posts

First of all, the 2 company you mentioned food is "gross" .. I will never go there unless extremely crave for one which usually happened once in 6 mths to 1 yrs ..

Secondly, those "cheap" Dory fish they use as standard food meal I ate at home like COD and Salmon is just unbearable for my taste bud .. worst coming from cheap frozen fish ..

I can't fathom ppl will go for such low quality food TBH but hey .. that IMO anyway ..

Forget to add on they dont even have proper condiment for it .. I'm talking Malt vinegar specifically ..

lorrydriverrocks
post May 13 2025, 09:06 AM

268 posts

I only pay rm11, sedap beb
Got fries, salad and lemon squeeze
laksamana
post May 13 2025, 10:15 AM

1,356 posts

QUOTE(marfccy @ May 12 2025, 09:18 PM)
bruh still living in year 1980s maybe to get that price for fish and chips in UK. nowadays averaging 10 pounds for fish and chips or more ed eventho its supposed to be commoner's food
Yeah agree, I remember being in London during early-80's.

Price was between 2 - 4 quid for fish & chips (wrapped in paper), big portion, will be very full and satisfied.

Can still find something < 10 quid now, but that will be for the fish only. Chips / mash / peas / sauce etc will be charged extra.

This post has been edited by laksamana: May 13 2025, 10:17 AM
LDP
post May 13 2025, 10:18 AM

633 posts

Its quite cheap in Europe...but it can be also expensive..I have eaten expensive fish and chips coz the fish are not harvested..It is caught from the sea and the chips are hand made or hand crafted....(not salty or filled with MSG)
KevProp
post May 13 2025, 10:23 AM

81 posts

the money you pay for the fisherman, vendor and the restaurant staff salary

if you think is expensive then you go pancing and cook yourself, much much cheaper

0.0294sec    0.37    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 01:22 AM