Change Auto transmission oil, Car service

TSechho
post May 8 2025, 11:12 AM

286 posts

QUOTE(zuozi @ May 8 2025, 02:03 AM)
most automatic transmission have torque converter and itu torque converter dalam ada minyak juga when you fluid change you only partial fluid change is not entirely emptied , i mean depending the size most torque converter can hold 2 to 9 liter oil if including the atf oil pan depends the size i think more than 4 liter .

If machine flush can flushing entire system rather than partial oil change so u need to know how the way they change your atf fluid too.
If change all the atf time taken to flush out and top up definitely takes longer than 90 min kan (change M oil, ac flushing, road test)? Then the cost can't be only 220. Will involve replacing the atf filter which forumer says rm240 per filter. If market price 180/4L this 220 is about there la. So wow. Half tank. Where the other half went? Burn or dried up over time? Probably if regularly serviced top up 1-2L is common that is why he initially told me won't cost a bomb, berpuluhan only. I saw 2 open cans of BP castrol (looks like 4L size) on the floor lah.

TSechho
post May 8 2025, 11:14 AM

286 posts

QUOTE(submergedx @ May 8 2025, 10:56 AM)
yup TS kena up car.

Look at your manual, should have told your ATF need to change at what millage.

BTW it's okay to service your car la, close one eyes lo.

My compressor got issue already, went workshop they quote me Compressor+cooling coil+Condensor need RM3-4k....dam....i was like this is my last service and im going to switch EV this year end.
Damit.
EV not stable yet if u asked me. Giant battery sitting in the house need to buy very big insurance for car n house.
TSechho
post May 8 2025, 11:20 AM

286 posts

QUOTE(ShadowR1 @ May 8 2025, 10:17 AM)
This.

What does hand brake too high have anything to do with transmission oil ?  rclxub.gif
Lol. I was wondering the same until one forumer mentioned there may be confusion with another system
guest54321
post May 8 2025, 11:20 AM

186 posts

QUOTE(newtunes @ May 8 2025, 10:24 AM)
I wonder also.
Refrigerator - no such thing of preventive change of compressor oil, use until spoil, norm to use 5 to 10 years never change.
Room air cond - never heard of change of compressor oil also, only top up if gas no enough, or wash blower when dirty. Last time I asked maintenance people, they said already got lubricant within.
But for Car - need to periodic change of compressor oil?

I taught all work the same principle
or car use different compressor mechanism?
So that the local ah chong ac guy can make a living.
TSechho
post May 8 2025, 11:23 AM

286 posts

QUOTE(kevinc @ May 8 2025, 01:29 AM)
he must have confused it with electronic parking brake where it shares the same hydraulic system as transmission. epb might not work properly when atf is low
But my vios is 2014 got so advanced system already?
LA773
post May 8 2025, 11:32 AM

1,067 posts

After reading through, I think is u confused rather than the mechanic.
Most probably he was listing the things need to do, like hand brake is high and change atf oil.
Then u misinterpreted as need to change atf oil due to handbrake high

This post has been edited by LA773: May 8 2025, 11:33 AM
Zot
post May 8 2025, 11:33 AM

7,938 posts

Most car that use a lever with cable to pull brake will engage the rear brake pads (left and right). However, there are cars that will engage all four tires through certain mechanism. So, when the brake pad becomes thinner, the lever will end up higher for good grip.

Changing brake pads are not difficult job. You can opt for all pads change when flushing brake fluid. At initial stage, you can see the brake fluid is at Hi position. When brake pads wear out, the brake fluid level will drop down. When the level hits Lo, then you know it is time to change brake pad. This can be your indicator but don't let workshop top up the fluid in between brake pads change just because they want to charge you smile.gif

For the air-cond not cold, you should ask if the refrigerant was low when checked initially. Then they can top up. If low again after even a year, if not months, then most likely the cooling coil inside car (called evaporator coil) got leak due to corrosion over time.

If the pressure said to be high on the high side, it can be due to many reasons. This can happen due to too much refrigerant filled in but in your case it should not because it was just filled buy the workshop. It could be blocked condenser or malfunctioned expansion valve. These can be cause by dirt in cooling system. Compressor is like car engine too. Compressor piston wears and metal dust could blocked the expansion valve. It can be cause by bad compressor but I would out it as last possibility because it cost more to change smile.gif
TSechho
post May 8 2025, 11:38 AM

286 posts

QUOTE(LA773 @ May 8 2025, 11:32 AM)
After reading through, I think is u confused rather than the mechanic.
Most probably he was listing the things need to do, like hand brake is high and change atf oil.
Then u misinterpreted as need to change atf oil due to handbrake high
Actually he asked me to sit next to him to observe how the hand brake level should be. Then he said it's too high so need to change ATF. I did asked what's atf got to do with hand brake he didn't respond. Probably thinking how to explain in layman term then decided to move on to other topic. Lol.
Autocountstick
post May 8 2025, 11:40 AM

675 posts

https://www.toyota.com.my/en/servicing-and-...aintenance.html
i suggest print out and show to SA.Nowdays SA simply quote, think got target and commission
TSechho
post May 8 2025, 11:43 AM

286 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ May 8 2025, 11:33 AM)
Most car that use a lever with cable to pull brake will engage the rear brake pads (left and right). However, there are cars that will engage all four tires through certain mechanism. So, when the brake pad becomes thinner, the lever will end up higher for good grip.

Changing brake pads are not difficult job. You can opt for all pads change when flushing brake fluid. At initial stage, you can see the brake fluid is at Hi position. When brake pads wear out, the brake fluid level will drop down. When the level hits Lo, then you know it is time to change brake pad. This can be your indicator but don't let workshop top up the fluid in between brake pads change just because they want to charge you  smile.gif

For the air-cond not cold, you should ask if the refrigerant was low when checked initially. Then they can top up. If low again after even a year, if not months, then most likely the cooling coil inside car (called evaporator coil) got leak due to corrosion over time.

If the pressure said to be high on the high side, it can be due to many reasons. This can happen due to too much refrigerant filled in but in your case it should not because it was just filled buy the workshop. It could be blocked condenser or malfunctioned expansion valve. These can be cause by dirt in cooling system. Compressor is like car engine too. Compressor piston wears and metal dust could blocked the expansion valve. It can be cause by bad compressor but I would out it as last possibility because it cost more to change  smile.gif
I think it's likely near blocked because when mechanic removed the ac filter can see dried leafs big n small. And it's never done anything since birth. Lol. So I figured next time not cold change compressor is highly likely. Just not sure how much will cost. Dulu dulu maybe 15 years ago was like 1.1k by the same shop.
LA773
post May 8 2025, 12:19 PM

1,067 posts

QUOTE(echho @ May 8 2025, 11:38 AM)
Actually he asked me to sit next to him to observe how the hand brake level should be. Then he said it's too high so need to change ATF. I did asked what's atf got to do with hand brake he didn't respond. Probably thinking how to explain in layman term then decided to move on to other topic. Lol.
Wtf
Then this guy is really red flag liao

BTW, anything just use back Toyota oil or parts is better
Toyota atf oil only change every 50K km

Just follow their service manual or slightly longer is ok

YouTube, "the car care nuts" is the best Toyota advise u can get

This post has been edited by LA773: May 8 2025, 12:20 PM
Kasawari 2
post May 8 2025, 01:37 PM

127 posts

QUOTE(kevinc @ May 8 2025, 12:16 AM)
when handbrake cable is stretched over time
Are you sure ? Normally due to worn out rear brake shoe, becomes thinner and therefore need pull handbrake higher. Solution is to adjust brake cable or change new brake shoe.
zuozi
post May 8 2025, 05:12 PM

1,267 posts

QUOTE(echho @ May 8 2025, 11:12 AM)
If change all the atf time taken to flush out and top up definitely takes longer than 90 min kan (change M oil, ac flushing, road test)? Then the cost can't be only 220. Will involve replacing the atf filter which forumer says rm240 per filter. If market price 180/4L this 220 is about there la. So wow. Half tank. Where the other half went? Burn or dried up over time? Probably if regularly serviced top up 1-2L is common that is why he initially told me won't cost a bomb, berpuluhan only. I saw 2 open cans of BP castrol (looks like 4L size) on the floor lah.
Changing ATF fluid got two way via machine or manually, manually mean go under gearbox loosen the bolt let it drains

Machine can flush whole system including torque converter/hose/tiny hole etc in the system

Most ATF fluid change is partial change at outside then the pricing is depends the workshop what type ransmission packaging use, some come with 4 liter variant some 1 liter variant if workshop give you 4 liter variant then is charge you for 4 liter variant, i mean most owner will ask workshop is there any leftovers oil/ATF fluid most will collect back then if u no collect consider your rugi, but the botol is opened some will tell you overtime oxidation this and that which is true collect liao also pointless some say is not, so u either keep properly the leftovers oil or back to service center only them using per barrel type can pump out the amount needed to refill.
TSechho
post May 8 2025, 08:32 PM

286 posts

QUOTE(zuozi @ May 8 2025, 05:12 PM)
Changing ATF fluid got two way via machine or manually, manually mean go under gearbox loosen the bolt let it drains

Machine can flush whole system including torque converter/hose/tiny hole etc in the system

Most ATF fluid change is partial change at outside then the pricing is depends the workshop what type ransmission packaging use, some come with 4 liter variant some 1 liter variant if workshop give you 4 liter variant then is charge you for 4 liter variant, i mean most owner will ask workshop is there any leftovers oil/ATF fluid most will collect back then if u no collect consider your rugi, but the botol is opened some will tell you overtime oxidation this and that which is true collect liao also pointless some say is not, so u either keep properly the leftovers oil or back to service center only them using per barrel type can pump out the amount needed to refill.
I know for m oil but I don't have anything that can make use of it so I let them kumpul la. It's like 2-300ml left. For atf lagi I don't know how to use it. No bike or bicycle at home. So let them profit a bit as long as don't charge me if their work give me problem when I return to get refix. Lol

This post has been edited by echho: May 8 2025, 08:33 PM
kevinc
post May 8 2025, 08:34 PM

437 posts

QUOTE(echho @ May 8 2025, 11:23 AM)
But my vios is 2014 got so advanced system already?
of course no la
Lol
kevinc
post May 8 2025, 08:39 PM

437 posts

QUOTE(Kasawari 2 @ May 8 2025, 01:37 PM)
Solution is to adjust brake cable
ya so when cable is stretched then can be adjusted (tightening)
Kasawari 2
post May 8 2025, 11:41 PM

127 posts

QUOTE(kevinc @ May 8 2025, 08:39 PM)
ya so when cable is stretched then can be adjusted (tightening)
Wrong. When rear brake shoes worn out and becomes thinner, then yiu adjust cable to tighten it so that to bring the pads closer to original position.
TSechho
post May 9 2025, 12:16 AM

286 posts

QUOTE(Kasawari 2 @ May 8 2025, 11:41 PM)
Wrong. When rear brake shoes worn out and becomes thinner, then yiu adjust cable to tighten it so that to bring the pads closer to original position.
So the higher the hand brake means the thinner the brake pads?

And what are the signs the brake pads must be changed? Eg hissing sound when braking?
K.I.T.T
post May 9 2025, 12:33 AM

672 posts

QUOTE(echho @ May 8 2025, 12:48 AM)
How much time needed to do so much work? My car including M oil change, aircon flushing, road test all done in 90min.. Macam tak betul je. Flushing ac means flush out all n top up gas je kan? Tak buka dashboard pun.
dalam 1 ke 2 jam juga la.
lepas flushing tu SC ada tunjuk bacaan temp suhu aircon ?
should be after flushing bla bla u get below 10c

TSechho
post May 9 2025, 12:46 AM

286 posts

QUOTE(K.I.T.T @ May 9 2025, 12:33 AM)
dalam 1 ke 2 jam juga la.
lepas flushing tu SC ada tunjuk bacaan temp suhu aircon ?
should be after flushing bla bla u get below 10c
Guna thermometer takde lah. Cuma cakap pasti sejuk. Lol. Memang sejuk sbb da lama panas. Kena guna 1 minggu baru confirm tetap sejuk tak.

9 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0187sec    1.40    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 12:40 AM