WiFI works well at 2.4GHz but not at 5GHz

TSaeonbig
post May 4 2025, 08:54 PM, updated 7 months ago

65 posts

Hi, not an IT expert here, just want to ask I have 2.4GHz WiFI and 5GHz WiFI, but everytime I connect to the 5GHz WiFI I cannot load anything, and only 2.4GHz one work, any ideas to solve this.

taitianhin
post May 4 2025, 09:13 PM

Look at my STARS, it never burn out
1,521 posts

What is the Device that connect?
What is the place you connect to it?
Cafe?
I hope u r not here for Thread count
error
post May 4 2025, 09:35 PM

869 posts

Google up "2.4ghz vs 5ghz wifi"
You might find your answer there
heinlein
post May 4 2025, 09:54 PM

1,788 posts

your device and modem too far to connect 5ghz, 2.4ghz can travel longer distance but if you live in apartment with a lot of wifi interference, your line gonna be serow
TSaeonbig
post May 4 2025, 09:54 PM

65 posts

QUOTE(taitianhin @ May 4 2025, 09:13 PM)
What is the Device that connect?
What is the place you connect to it?
Cafe?
I hope u r not here for Thread count
It's my home WiFI, any device that connects to it is the same, works with 2.4 but not the 5 one.
empstar2
post May 4 2025, 10:16 PM

185 posts

Dear TS,

let me share what I know about 5Ghz wifi, others /k also can share share
Sharing is caring.

I'm using ASUS RT-AX88U almoust (1.9K +++ few years back.)

1) not all wifi device are compatible to new 5Ghz protocol, (especially some older device)
so some new device also only support 2.4G, please refer to their manual.
2) my router 5G also giving problem gila-gila one. After power on, 5Ghz work fine, after 1 week ++++, 5Ghz fuck up. ( I dunno why)
after I power off and on again, 5Ghz work fine again.
so to resolve this I set timing to off and on 5Ghz (act like a reset). (refer to photo below.)
now everything work like what I want.

SET TIME

Difference router lain interface. refer to your router manual or provider. (don't ask me where to find set timer, don't be lazy to search.)

This post has been edited by empstar2: May 4 2025, 10:22 PM
taitianhin
post May 4 2025, 11:07 PM

Look at my STARS, it never burn out
1,521 posts

QUOTE(empstar2 @ May 4 2025, 10:16 PM)
Dear TS,

Sharing is caring.

1) not all wifi device are compatible to new 5Ghz protocol, (especially some older device)
2) my router 5G also giving problem gila-gila one. After power on, 5Ghz work fine, after 1 week ++++, 5Ghz fuck up. ( I dunno why)
so to resolve this I set timing to off and on 5Ghz (act like a reset). (refer to photo below.)
SET TIME
Difference router lain interface. refer to your router manual or provider. (don't ask me where to find set timer, don't be lazy to search.)
Check if you have set data Quota on your 5Ghz?
Satori 14118a
post May 4 2025, 11:12 PM

1,005 posts

What would help is you posting some screenshots of your router's wifi config here
empstar2
post May 4 2025, 11:12 PM

185 posts

QUOTE(taitianhin @ May 4 2025, 11:07 PM)
Check if you have set data Quota on your 5Ghz?
no quota

the problem is it won't connect and even after connect no internet for 5Ghz, after reset, (on-off-on) all working fine.
Chanwsan
post May 4 2025, 11:16 PM

सोहम
1,406 posts

Yes
galkelly
post May 4 2025, 11:18 PM

751 posts

Me too ... Certain games cant load on 5G, on 2.4G smooth saja....
nebula87
post May 4 2025, 11:25 PM

Fg = mg
1,420 posts

My Sony TV not working with 5Ghz, No Internet connection at all. No choice but to let it connect to 2.4Ghz.

This post has been edited by nebula87: May 4 2025, 11:26 PM
boonwuilow
post May 4 2025, 11:50 PM

Diesel rocks
3,834 posts

Have you try changing the 5ghz wifi channel ?
Odinn
post May 4 2025, 11:55 PM

Say what?!?&!%@
1,167 posts

Some devices will only work on 2.4Ghz if stated in the operating manual. Check the device specs.
vicky.max
post May 5 2025, 12:18 AM

167 posts

Unless you need to specifically connect on 5Ghz, please feel free to disable it completely and rely on 2.4Ghz alone. At times, 5Ghz doesn't go well with certain devices i.e. smart gateways, smart switches etc.
pillage2001
post May 5 2025, 01:14 AM

1,990 posts

QUOTE(empstar2 @ May 4 2025, 10:16 PM)
Dear TS,

Sharing is caring.

SET TIME
Do you have a fan cooling your router?
incognitroll
post May 5 2025, 02:30 AM

148 posts

2.4ghz wi-fi usually gives better coverage, especially when there are walls or some distance between your device and the router.

5ghz wi-fi is great for higher speeds and less interference, but it works best when your device is in the same room as the router.
Momo33
post May 5 2025, 10:04 AM

1,448 posts

QUOTE(aeonbig @ May 4 2025, 09:54 PM)
Hi, not an IT expert here, just want to ask I have 2.4GHz WiFI and 5GHz WiFI, but everytime I connect to the 5GHz WiFI I cannot load anything, and only 2.4GHz one work, any ideas to solve this.

is this test done in front of the Router like 5 feet away ??

possible issues.... 5g settings need optimize, OR router 5g died, i suspect this !

This post has been edited by Momo33: May 5 2025, 03:22 PM
CPURanger
post May 5 2025, 10:08 AM

889 posts

TS, test another device (phone, tablet, laptop) see if 5Ghz work. If 5Ghz work, means your current device wifi kaput or not compatible.

This post has been edited by CPURanger: May 5 2025, 10:15 AM
Moogle Stiltzkin
post May 5 2025, 10:36 AM

4,453 posts

the forum sub over here have technical sifus that may be able to help
https://forum.lowyat.net/NetworksandBroadband

a good app i find for troubleshoot wifi is wifiman on android, assuming ur client device is android. because then u can roam about ur home and check which has the best signal and throughput.

like others pointed out, even if u get the very latest wifi 7 router/ap, doesnt necessarily mean u can get those top speeds. its also very dependent on your client device wifi capability. maybe ur client device is old and stuck on an older wifi standard.

In that situation, if u got many of those old clients, i think a wifi 6e router is more than enough, because it's cheaper a wifi 7 router/ap last i checked.

then u got dual band, triband, quad band.... the later the most expensive. tri band is usually good enough. there is a whole article here that goes into that
https://dongknows.com/dual-band-vs-tri-band...i-fi-bandwidth/

there is simply just a lot to learn. if u check out dongknows blog he has a lot of articles that enlightens u on these things for wifi networking.

for my own setup, i have a dedicated pfsense router. my wifi is a separate access point which is a tplink eap-773 wifi 7. but for newbie like u, just getting an all in one router/wifi ap combo is ok. Just i rather have the feature of pfsense e.g. pfblocker which is why i went that route instead.

If u want to have multiple ap around the home, tplink has a good easy to configure mesh ap that comes in packs of 1-3 satelite nodes. Asus they have their AI mesh. if you search youtube for pendakwah teknologi, he explains the mesh wifi setup builds. just take note, each satelite note has a power consumption. i get by with 1 wifi ap, so depends on how big is your home for full wifi coverage to have good signal for the entire place.

also check youtube for useful info

This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: May 5 2025, 02:07 PM

0.0177sec    0.64    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 02:20 AM